728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

The Goof Off Goodbye Cracks 4 oz. Elastic Crack Cover Spray is designed for interior use to repair cracks in plaster, drywall and wood. It sprays on in a manner similar to paint and dries to form a flexible elastic cover that helps prevent cracks from reappearing.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
Review 1 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Osage Beach, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest fix I've ever done!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saw this product advertised in a DIY type magazine and thought what a neat idea. Since there were a couple of hair line cracks in our drywall I thought I'd try it out. Found it online, ordered it through Home Depot and within 4 days it arrived at our local Home Depot store for pickup. Extremely simple to use with just two spray coats, let dry, then paint over the spray with your paint and "TADA" the cracks have disappeared. Fast, simple and the best part is, my wife thinks I'm quite the "Handyman".
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, great idea!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Essex County, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works sometimes on small cracks when other crack methods don't work

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this product over the years to repair nagging small cracks that always reappear after quick fixes with the "crack-resistance" crack fillers available in small tubs. This does the trick and with a good latex paint over the Goodbye Cracks spray,
There are some limitations; 1) This product only works effectively when applied to gypsum-based joint compounds and spackles. It never dries properly when sprayed over polymer-based fillers and spackles. 2) It is not affective when used by itself over deep, large cracks. The big cracks require gouging out with a can opener or other tool, to remove enough material to give a good plaster-based compound a solid foundation to bond and grab. Once large cracks are repaired this way, you'd need several cans of Goodbye Cracks to cover over it and if the initial repair is done properly, the additional overspray of Goodbye Cracks does not help. Nagging. large cracks are usually caused by other issues (water seepage, structural issues, etc.) and no amount of spackle or repair spray will provide a long term solution until the underlying cause is resolved.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, works on small cracks, quick fix
Cons: heavy hydrocarbon fumes like spray laquer, cannot be sanded, not for large cracks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from San Francisco
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I always have a couple of cans on hand

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this product in rental property for quite some time; when not cost efficient to re-plaster or sheetrock. I am currently re-doing a rental unit and ceiling cracks filled in about 9 years ago with goodbye cracks did not return. This is a hundred and forty year old Victorian with plaster walls. I always use an elastamertic caulk first and then spray. For some reason if I only caulk, the cracks return. I also love their caulk remover that is also difficult to purchase in the store.
This is like spray painting so remember to wear a mask and cover your hair.
Pros: High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: Aroma
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from HARRIMAN TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PURCHASE

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GOODBYE CRACK COVER SPRAY MAKES THE JOB MUCH EASIER AND BETTER LOOKING ALSO.
ITS QUICKER AND MUCH BETTER THAN ANYOTHER PRODUCT WE HAVE USED. DEFINITELY LESS MESSY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks promising

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great way to repair cracks without refinishing a big surface
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: not in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product really works well!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a very old house and the upstairs bedrooms have lath and plaster ceilings which had some cracks in them. I have patched them over the years with other products but the cracks kept coming back. Now using Goodbye-Cracks the cracks have not returned after 4 months. Only problem is the 4-oz cans do not go very far and they have to be ordered as no one in the Sacramento area carries this product on their shelves. The shipping was very fast by Home Depot!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Aroma
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not do the job.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After repairing the crack as directed in the instructions, applied two coats of the Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover and repainted after it was cured. Within two weeks the crack is back.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
Cons: ineffective, does not work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Garden City, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is amazing for repairing recurrent plaster and/or sheetrock fine wall cracks. As long as you fill in crack and sand correctly before applying this product in two fine coats, the problem is gone! I've got one repair that's already lasted seven years. No need to tape or mesh the repair if the crack is fine (say, pencil line width or so). Just remember that, once this product is prayed onto the wall, it is not sandable. So spray lightly, two coats will do.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Fast Results, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: Hard to Remove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Earlville, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product does an excellent job of hiding cracks!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I filled the cracks with painters caulk, sanded the lightly and then sprayed goodbye cracks over the cracks. After painting you could not see where the crack was.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Effective
Cons: Aroma
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Bogalusa, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have used this product for years and always been satisfied.

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For old homes like mine (plaster walls), this product has been great is hiding minor cracks. Paints covers nicely as long as you have a small texture. Only problem is finding this product in stores. Had to order on line. Painting project had to wait until product arrived.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Houston
Gender:Female

Good product.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good product. Be sure to follow directions.
Pros: Fast Results
Cons: Overpowering
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well with proper prep

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You must prepare the crack first.You need to sand down the area to make edges even and level. Then you spray on the goodbye cracks over the cracked area and a little on both sides. Then you can paint. I found the roller works better than a brush and you cannot go over it a lot or it will pull off.
I used this product years ago and still have good results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Long-Lasting, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Have no negatives about product

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was easy to use, preformed as advertised. I did't think when I purchased it that it would work as well as it did and so far continues to do.
I repair drywall and stucco professionally and so far no complaints.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from OHIO
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used this product many times over the years and it has always performed as advertised. It really does hide hairline cracks very well. However, it is a little expensive - but I guess you get what you pay for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Immediate Results, High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Missouri City, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Spray is too wide

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product but difficult to find on the local market scene.
Pros: Easy to Remove, Cost Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.