728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Patching & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

Goof Off Good-Bye Cracks 4 oz. Elastic Crack Cover Spray is designed for interior use to repair cracks in plaster, wood, and drywall. Features a convenient spray applicator. Applies like aerosol spray paint and dries to form a flexible elastic cover that streches with any new stress. Conforms to most surfaces without brush marks, knife lines or stippling.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product25 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product25 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
Review 1 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Canadiens, Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

goodbye cracks

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchase this because I had some hairline cracks that I hoped to cover. But once I read the directions, and had to plaster before using I didn't feel it was worth it.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: had to plaster before using
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Essex County, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works sometimes on small cracks when other crack methods don't work

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have used this product over the years to repair nagging small cracks that always reappear after quick fixes with the "crack-resistance" crack fillers available in small tubs. This does the trick and with a good latex paint over the Goodbye Cracks spray,
There are some limitations; 1) This product only works effectively when applied to gypsum-based joint compounds and spackles. It never dries properly when sprayed over polymer-based fillers and spackles. 2) It is not affective when used by itself over deep, large cracks. The big cracks require gouging out with a can opener or other tool, to remove enough material to give a good plaster-based compound a solid foundation to bond and grab. Once large cracks are repaired this way, you'd need several cans of Goodbye Cracks to cover over it and if the initial repair is done properly, the additional overspray of Goodbye Cracks does not help. Nagging. large cracks are usually caused by other issues (water seepage, structural issues, etc.) and no amount of spackle or repair spray will provide a long term solution until the underlying cause is resolved.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, works on small cracks, quick fix
Cons: heavy hydrocarbon fumes like spray laquer, cannot be sanded, not for large cracks
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Wisconsin
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only good with proper prep

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product covers small cracks only if the cracks have been gouged out and spackled over (filled and smoothed) and sanded if necessary. I used DAP lightweight sparkling. Spray this on lightly. Paint and crack disappears. Good prep is the key. Poor prep and the crack area will still show.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: cracks need prep before spray.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Gastonia, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good product

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product on two occasions for repairing fine stress cracks in walls and ceilings. The cracks were from hairline to 1/8 inch wide and up to two feet long. Following the instructions on the label I was able to make the repairs successfully. Obviously it is very important to match the surface finish to the adjacent areas for appearance and color. I definitely recommend this product. Too bad it is no longer sold in our local HD store, but as it was be delivered free to the store, it is no big deal.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Palm Desert, Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good!

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am only going to give this product 4 stars for now. I used this on thin stress cracks on the ceiling of our mobile home which is drywalled and the home is in the ground.
We live in the desert so there is settling going on all the time and I have very heavy granite countertops with a 6 foot by 6 foot island and this is where the cracks are occurring because of the weight.
I am a female and decided this was going to me my project to conquer and so I did. I followed the directions as stated and it has now been 4 weeks and no cracks yet.
Very good product, but be sure to wear a mask when spraying because the odor is quite strong. Keeping my fingers crossed that this will do the trick and then I will give it 5 stars for sure.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elastic wall board review

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the product and followed direction, worked like a charm. Highly recommend it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from some where
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

to soom to tell

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As stated, to soon to tell if it really does what it says.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: unknown as of today
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

Did not work as expected

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did everything as instructed. Opened up small crack and scraped, filled, sanded and applied the product. I wanted for the product to dry and applied 2 coats of paint. The ceiling still shows the stress crack.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
Cons: did not cover crack
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from st. Jospeh, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

covers cracks that keep coming back

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to use, the crack that kept opening back up after repairs was covered with this product and painted and did not come back. I used this product 7 years ago on another crack that would not stay fixed and it has not come back since I used this product.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Dayton, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cracks in Plaster Walls

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so good. Had walls crack in an old house with the heat turned down to 45. Applied this product and has been working through the cold weather for 30 days now.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

spray sealer

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product easy to apply, no mess and finish look is definately more appealing than that from using caulking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Palm Beach Shores FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for repairing hairline cracks in plaster, stucco, etc. This product expands and contracts with temperature changes keeping the crack from reappearing.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: not sandable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray

Great for not having cracks reappear on plaster walls!

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First tried this product 6 years ago on a crack in my dining room that was 3/4 of the way up the wall. To date the crack is no longer visible, this is a 100 plus year old house. Use as directed, it is great!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Bogalusa, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have used this product for years and always been satisfied.

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For old homes like mine (plaster walls), this product has been great is hiding minor cracks. Paints covers nicely as long as you have a small texture. Only problem is finding this product in stores. Had to order on line. Painting project had to wait until product arrived.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Osage Beach, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest fix I've ever done!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saw this product advertised in a DIY type magazine and thought what a neat idea. Since there were a couple of hair line cracks in our drywall I thought I'd try it out. Found it online, ordered it through Home Depot and within 4 days it arrived at our local Home Depot store for pickup. Extremely simple to use with just two spray coats, let dry, then paint over the spray with your paint and "TADA" the cracks have disappeared. Fast, simple and the best part is, my wife thinks I'm quite the "Handyman".
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, great idea!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from San Francisco
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I always have a couple of cans on hand

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this product in rental property for quite some time; when not cost efficient to re-plaster or sheetrock. I am currently re-doing a rental unit and ceiling cracks filled in about 9 years ago with goodbye cracks did not return. This is a hundred and forty year old Victorian with plaster walls. I always use an elastamertic caulk first and then spray. For some reason if I only caulk, the cracks return. I also love their caulk remover that is also difficult to purchase in the store.
This is like spray painting so remember to wear a mask and cover your hair.
Pros: High Quality, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: Aroma
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Earlville, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product does an excellent job of hiding cracks!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I filled the cracks with painters caulk, sanded the lightly and then sprayed goodbye cracks over the cracks. After painting you could not see where the crack was.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, High Quality, Effective
Cons: Aroma
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not do the job.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After repairing the crack as directed in the instructions, applied two coats of the Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover and repainted after it was cured. Within two weeks the crack is back.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use
Cons: ineffective, does not work
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product really works well!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a very old house and the upstairs bedrooms have lath and plaster ceilings which had some cracks in them. I have patched them over the years with other products but the cracks kept coming back. Now using Goodbye-Cracks the cracks have not returned after 4 months. Only problem is the 4-oz cans do not go very far and they have to be ordered as no one in the Sacramento area carries this product on their shelves. The shipping was very fast by Home Depot!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Aroma
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 oz. Goodbye Cracks Elastic Crack Cover Spray
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works well with proper prep

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You must prepare the crack first.You need to sand down the area to make edges even and level. Then you spray on the goodbye cracks over the cracked area and a little on both sides. Then you can paint. I found the roller works better than a brush and you cannot go over it a lot or it will pull off.
I used this product years ago and still have good results.
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Long-Lasting, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>