728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Photocell Replacement

Photocell Replacement

Use this Hampton Bay Photocell Replacement to add a dusk-to-dawn feature to an existing exterior lantern or to replace a current photocell. This photocell turns a light on at dusk and off at dawn to save energy (light and lantern not included). Easy to install.
Overall rating:
2.793 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product25 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
2.8 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(20)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product25 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Photocell Replacement
Review 1 for Photocell Replacement
from ATL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be very careful of overloading!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
FYI: This unit is for a single bulb fixture only. It is rated at only 100 watts. If you have 2 or more bulbs on the circuit, it will fail!
Better to step up to the Greenfield Weatherproof Dusk to Dawn Photosensor for $2 more. It is rated at 1000 volts/9 amps.
Also, be advised that they only work with incandescent or LED. No CFLs or dimmers!
Cons: poor longevity
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Photocell Replacement
from Houston TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It doesn't work with energy efficient light bulbs

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is the old fashion photocell and it doesn't work with energy efficient light bulbs, I am going to return it
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Photocell Replacement
from Huntington Beach, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Subscribe to this thing

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are looking at buying a light fixture that has one of these, be advised they have a shorter lifespan than the bulb in the fixture. They should offer a subscription service for replacements to be automatically sent to you every 8 months or so. Good thing they are easy to install, but you shouldn't need to so often. They work great right up until they don't. I recommend it because if you have one now, you will need another before long.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, low cost
Cons: frequent failures
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Photocell Replacement
from Ada, Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect addition

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The little module did exactly what I needed, turned lights on at night and off during day. Easy to install for those with at least some experience installing light fixtures. Does require using a drill if installing on a light that never had a sensor like I did, but works great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Photocell Replacement
from Buffalo NY

Put them everwhere

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Retrofit all your exterior lights with these. Easy to install. Saves energy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Photocell Replacement
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only worked for a month, and had to make hole larger . . .

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one at the store on April 3rd to replace one that lasted about three years. By the end of April it made the lights stay on night AND day (which is when I replace them). Reading the reviews here I see I may have made a poor choice. The last two were a different brand with a smaller diameter shaft. The Hampton Bay model was in the same place in the store and was the only 2-wire choice (other than with the plate). Very disappointed in life of product. I will check out smaller electrical specialty suppliers even if I have to pay more; I don‘t enjoy getting up on a ladder to replace the thing but I figured once every three years was acceptable.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Photocell Replacement
from Lowell, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to be modified to fit our older Hampton Bay outdoor lights

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This replacement photo cell is LARGER than the former replacements. The sensor eye and other areas of this new replacement are LARGER so my husband had to bore out part of the lantern to get it to fit. (The older version of the replacement cell had a clear plastic covering; the new covering is black and says "Hampton Bay" at the top of the package.) He also noted, as did another reviewer, that both black wires were the same length. It works but be prepared--you may have to modify your existing outdoor fixture. If Hampton Bay designed this replacement part themselves, THEY SHOULD GO BACK TO THE DRAWING BOARD!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Photocell Replacement

Photoelectric cell replacement

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Needed to enlarge hole w 5/16" drill. Easy installation after that
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Photocell Replacement
from Black Forest, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't use with CFL

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't work well with CFL bulbs. Flickers for several minutes during on/off and off/on transitions.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: lacks functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Photocell Replacement
from Bristow, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay - Forget This Photo Cell

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i needed a small photo cell to enable my new outside lights to automatically turn on-off (dusk-dawn). I wanted something small to keep it un-obtrusive (easily tucked away). I added one to each pair of outside door lighting fixtures. I noticed that for FCL bulbs, the light flickers until its really dark (halogen is instant bright). Then both lasted only a month before it stopped working. Unlike other photo cells, this comes with only two wires (no red). I bought the more expensive Defiant brand (3-wires, better construction) to replace it. The Defiant was not stocked on the shelf when I got the Hampton Bay item.
If you compare both items, you can tell that the Defiant has more quality in packaging, construction.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Photocell Replacement
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No good Lasted 3 days

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed these sensors on 2 outside porch lights as I wanted dusk to dawn operation. They were easy to in stall, however they only lasted 3 days. I was controlling CFL bulb and apparently they were not strong enough. The switch not only burned out but took the bulbs with them. as I misplaced my receipt I cannot return them.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Photocell Replacement
from Nampa Idaho
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best I have found

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Could be smaller, but the smallest I could find. I have used these for several years without problems.
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material, Good Size & Weight
Cons: could be smaller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Photocell Replacement
from Colorado

Working Great

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only thing that kept this from being a 5-star are the instructions. Instructions stated that one black wire would be shorter than the other. Nope! I have experience with DIY so it wasn't a show stopper but a beginner had a 50/50 chance of being wrong. One caution is placement. Don't drill too close to an edge or the base. The body of the sensor is wider than the business end of the sensor, be sure to account for that or you may have a problem with assembly of the light or inserting the sensor into the hole you've drilled. Dry Fit First!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Photocell Replacement
from Austin, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It Fits

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great small dusk-to-dawn switch that will fit into carriage lights and other front porch and patio lighting..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Photocell Replacement

Economical day/night light controller

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This controller is very good for mounting to an outside light for an entryway, turning the light off during the day automatically. It's small enough to fit inside the housing using a drilled hole to poke the sensing element out.
WARNING - this type of controller does not work with compact florescent bulbs as it has a period of intermittent on/off at dawn and dusk and the bulbs will fail in a day or two. Go with the other model available (the three wire version) for more premium operation. That model is larger and won't fit inside but works with any bulb and has a cleaner on/off transition.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: won't work with cfl bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Photocell Replacement

Not working

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these today with high hopes. Instructions say connect the 'longer wire to...'. The issue is that both wires are exactly the same length! I then installed according to the wiring diagram. Then my incandescent light that works without the sensor does not work with the sensor in-line (10pm with black cloth covering sensor). Turns out, by measuring with my voltmeter, 120v coming into the sensor, but only 98v going out. I'm returning these and will not even attempt to install the second unit after reading other reviews on this site.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Photocell Replacement
from mansfield,ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

junk ...stay away

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i have 3 of these on led fixtures. all of them flicker at dusk and dawn until its dark outside. one melted and was flamming hot, and ruined the led light after about 6 months. The replacement lasted less then a week. and another of the three failed before it reached a year. i dont expect the third to make it to the one year mark....buy a better sensor this thing is junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Photocell Replacement
from Fredonia New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

JUNK... DON'T BUY IT>>>>> !!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a piece of junk dont buy it... I took it back to HOME DEPOT... 92 days after it was bought, they would not take it back............
I bought a DEFIANT model 1000012076.. I'll let you know how it is..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Photocell Replacement
from San jose ça
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product idea BAD Engineering

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The original photoelectric switch lasted 4 years
The replacement lasted 1 year
Totally melted in place with 60 watt bulb
Replacement doesn’t fit existing hole be prepared to drill
And we all know about the short wire HA HA
I would recommend this product, only because there are NO others
You would have to buy the whole light fixture, great marketing plan
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Photocell Replacement
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I do not recommend this item.

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these and each has failed within a few weeks. Instructions refer to connecting the shorter wire ..... but both wires are exactly the same. Installation was easy and the small size allows an easy fit in tight spaces. Each was installed and tested perfectly but after a few weeks they did not turn off in the morning. If it is turned off for a while to cool and then back on, it will function that night but stays on the next day regardless of how bright it is. These units simply are not good at any price; even free.
Cons: very short life
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>