728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Photocell Replacement

Photocell Replacement

Use this Hampton Bay Photocell Replacement to add a dusk-to-dawn feature to an existing exterior lantern or to replace a current photocell. This photocell turns a light on at dusk and off at dawn to save energy (light and lantern not included). Easy to install.
Overall rating:
2.706 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product14 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(13)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product14 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Photocell Replacement
Review 1 for Photocell Replacement
Lionshooter
from ATL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be very careful of overloading!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
FYI: This unit is for a single bulb fixture only. It is rated at only 100 watts. If you have 2 or more bulbs on the circuit, it will fail!
Better to step up to the Greenfield Weatherproof Dusk to Dawn Photosensor for $2 more. It is rated at 1000 volts/9 amps.
Also, be advised that they only work with incandescent or LED. No CFLs or dimmers!
Cons: poor longevity
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Photocell Replacement
Robert
from Austin, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It Fits

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great small dusk-to-dawn switch that will fit into carriage lights and other front porch and patio lighting..
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Photocell Replacement
gbettygurl
from Reno, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Misleading/Incorrect Instructions

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions state to ONLY mount the photo cell on the bottom of the base. Problem is, when the light comes on, it shines down on the photo cell thus making it strobe, as another reviewer mentioned. If you have uplighting it's fine, but I have hooded light fixtures which are down lighting only. My only option now that I've drilled a hole in the bottom of my fixture, is to buy another and add it to the top, drilling another hole. Hampton Bay needs to take this into consideration, there are different kinds of light fixtures with different kinds light output. The instructions were adament that this is the only place it should be put.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Photocell Replacement
vt92
from SC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor instructions

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The instructions say to connection the shorter wire to the light. Both wires are the same length!
My first unit stopped working after two week. I'm not sure if it was due to the wattage issue or the possibility that it was wired backwards. I don't think the wiring matters if they are using a Triac circuit, but I can't be sure.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Photocell Replacement
UDAMAN

INCANDESCENT ONLY - should be marked in large font

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If the whole country is trying to convert to fluorescent bulbs, why is this product still on the market? and why was that not labelled correctly on the package?
I have an exterior light that works fine but wanted a dusk to dawn, saw this item for cheap and thought I could add it. Blew out my bulb and caused electrical problem inside my house also.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
Cons: incandescent only
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Photocell Replacement
JohnnyMac
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only worked for a month, and had to make hole larger . . .

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one at the store on April 3rd to replace one that lasted about three years. By the end of April it made the lights stay on night AND day (which is when I replace them). Reading the reviews here I see I may have made a poor choice. The last two were a different brand with a smaller diameter shaft. The Hampton Bay model was in the same place in the store and was the only 2-wire choice (other than with the plate). Very disappointed in life of product. I will check out smaller electrical specialty suppliers even if I have to pay more; I don‘t enjoy getting up on a ladder to replace the thing but I figured once every three years was acceptable.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Photocell Replacement
ajohnson007

Size of product is great. good price.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is hit or miss. I have 2 that had no issues. The 3rd one is a different story. I went through 3 till I found a good one. Very poor quality control. I would have bought a different brand if the size of the competitors would have fit my application.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: poorly made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Photocell Replacement
mnjcook
from Lowell, IN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to be modified to fit our older Hampton Bay outdoor lights

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This replacement photo cell is LARGER than the former replacements. The sensor eye and other areas of this new replacement are LARGER so my husband had to bore out part of the lantern to get it to fit. (The older version of the replacement cell had a clear plastic covering; the new covering is black and says "Hampton Bay" at the top of the package.) He also noted, as did another reviewer, that both black wires were the same length. It works but be prepared--you may have to modify your existing outdoor fixture. If Hampton Bay designed this replacement part themselves, THEY SHOULD GO BACK TO THE DRAWING BOARD!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Photocell Replacement
Maxamus
from San jose ça
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product idea BAD Engineering

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The original photoelectric switch lasted 4 years
The replacement lasted 1 year
Totally melted in place with 60 watt bulb
Replacement doesn’t fit existing hole be prepared to drill
And we all know about the short wire HA HA
I would recommend this product, only because there are NO others
You would have to buy the whole light fixture, great marketing plan
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Photocell Replacement
Steve
from Newark, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works GREAT !!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used for years and they work very well and are E Z to install.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Photocell Replacement
Budd
from Sedro Woolley, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only in the smallest font on the lableing does it point out this product will not work with fluorescent light bulbs

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Incandescent bulbs are, for the most part, obsolete.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Photocell Replacement
conagher
from Colorado

Working Great

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only thing that kept this from being a 5-star are the instructions. Instructions stated that one black wire would be shorter than the other. Nope! I have experience with DIY so it wasn't a show stopper but a beginner had a 50/50 chance of being wrong. One caution is placement. Don't drill too close to an edge or the base. The body of the sensor is wider than the business end of the sensor, be sure to account for that or you may have a problem with assembly of the light or inserting the sensor into the hole you've drilled. Dry Fit First!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Photocell Replacement
LMNC71

Not the same design as the old version

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Both old and new versions have same SKU #. Very disappointed that to replace the photocell it was more involved. The whole unit is wider than the old design. The threaded shaft won't fit through the existing opening. Was unable to drill the hole bigger. Just connected the wires and put the light back up - have to get a larger drill bit (3/8"). As someone else stated, the wires are the same length. The instructions do not state what to do with the 2 washers. We'll see how long this one lasts. My others lasted what seemed to be several years. Might be better to just buy some new light fixtures with photocell, but the fixtures are still in good condition.
Cons: might need to drill hole larger in fixture
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Photocell Replacement
CaliJB
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light for convenience and safety

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tried a few options before this with poor results. But this little gem fit well, practically disappears and works like a charm. Now I don't worry about coming home to a dark house. My porch is lit when it's dark out and not when it's not, all without me flipping a switch.
Pros: Looks Great, Eco-Friendly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Photocell Replacement
kdh20321

Doesn't Work Right

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I connected with my new LED lights and the lights strobe until there was enough daylight. Strobe at dusk too. My neighbors were calling because they thought our alarm was going off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Photocell Replacement
robo21
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy To Install - Works Well

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Other brands use 3 wires, this model uses 2 wires. The 3 wire models don't work on my outdoor lighting for some reason. I have tried every conceivable wiring combination and they seem to be problematic. This 2 wire model always works right out of the package.
They don't last forever, none of them do. They seem to be good for 2 to 3 years which is fine with me.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy to Install, works out of the box, two wire simplicity
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Photocell Replacement
Toenail7443
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I do not recommend this item.

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these and each has failed within a few weeks. Instructions refer to connecting the shorter wire ..... but both wires are exactly the same. Installation was easy and the small size allows an easy fit in tight spaces. Each was installed and tested perfectly but after a few weeks they did not turn off in the morning. If it is turned off for a while to cool and then back on, it will function that night but stays on the next day regardless of how bright it is. These units simply are not good at any price; even free.
Cons: very short life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Photocell Replacement
Peddlertoo
from Central PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lights at night

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These photocells are really handy for outside lighting as they don't make many lights with them. Easy to install but buy a spare as they don't last long.
Pros: Convenient
Cons: short life span
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Photocell Replacement
danxxx

perfect

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great performance.very neat and barely noticiable.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Photocell Replacement
Critter

Works perfectly.

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it's supposed to. Small enough that I was able to install it in the neck of my light fixture.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>