728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shop Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED

2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED

The Commercial Electric 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light features high-quality steel construction and an extra-wide reflector. This light has a convenient pull-chain switch and is Energy Star qualified for savings.
Overall rating:
2.5 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product5 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product5 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Plano IL.

Not as good as they look

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 10 of these lights for my wood shop at home and i have had nothing but problems. Every time i turn on the lights i look to see if they are all coming on or not. The light socket that holds the blubs are very cheap and i have had two ballast go out in less then one year. To replace 4 sockets and 1 ballast it cost about 30.00, thats more then what the light cost ! And to get parts from Commercial Electric you will get the same cheap parts that will not last, so spend a little more and you will save time and money in the long run!!!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED

Don't Buy This One!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one fixture for my wife's workbench in our basement. It was easy to put together/install but it only worked for about a year and then died. I bought replacement bulbs and was disappointed to find that the fixture is the problem. Like the other reviewers, I'll be looking for a new fixture rather than paying for a new ballast.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Zelienople, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can I provide a rating of less than ZERO stars?

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I operated this light for about 4 hours over the period of a year. It blinked and then turned off. The ballast has failed.
I provided the lowest rating possible for ease of installation, since I will need to install a replacement. This requires two installations, which doubles the effort.
In terms of value, the value is less than 0. The product has wasted my time, purchasing, installing and uninstalling.
Given the consistent reviews concerning failures, I will be asking Home Depot why they continue to sell this product.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Portland Oregon

I can't believe they sell this stuff

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 of these. Two have been returned and exchanged and none of them work properly. I think the problem is with the ballast but you can not change the ballast, you have to install a whole new fixture. At least one light is always out in the 3 fixtures and the two lights in the one I have not exchange do not work. Sometimes all are out, then a couple come on. I will replace all of them.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor product

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for the garage, stays on for 5min +/- then trips gfi. JUNK
Pros: Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Mass/NH border

do not waste your money, will not last

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two and the ballasts weaken and failed within a year.One of the few Home Depot items that I bought that were total junk.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED

Ballast died after 14 months

PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible product the ballast broke after 14 months and will cost $18 for another. Terrible product, will contact manufacturer for replacement
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks good......BUT cheap chinese junk

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it looks just like the flourescent lights i used to buy in the seventies and eighties that were manufactured in the United States, however, when you look at the quality of the wiring and the ballast resistor inside of the light, the cheapness of it scares you......electrical fire or premature failure anyone?????? :(
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: lack of quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from chicago west burbs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pass on these

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Bought 5 fixtures 4 years ago and installed in my garage, which is heated all winter. Worked great for about a year, but then one fixture has died each year. The bulbs are not the issue. The ballast is junk. Not sure if I will replace 4 ballasts at $21 each, or just buy new fixtures. No way will I buy these again. Surprised that HD still carries them.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product. Perfect for my shop.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Highly recommend. Excellent quality. Great price. Easy to install (about 10 mins.).
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shop Light

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm pleased with this purchase at this time. I have noticed in cooler temperatures the lights have to warm up a while before lighting up completely.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Problems

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought one of these fixtures for my garage.
Easy to put together, no problems.
Overall, as expected. Decent value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Cherryville, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome light for the money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked around for along time, till I found this light. I purchaesd four installed them, very pleased went and bought four more.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Light Fluorescent Shop Light-DISCONTINUED
from Pasadena, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Shop lfluorescent light fixture

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is inexpensive and easy to install. You need to bulbs besides the fixture. The toggle switch was broken when I got it, but the plug was on a wall switch anyway. I may get another one.
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.