728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Flushmount Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light

2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light

The Hampton Bay 2-Light Ceiling Mount Fluorescent Light features a round design and a brushed-nickel finish. This stylish ceiling light has a white acrylic diffuser and is designed to blend in with your decor. Uses one 22-watt and one 32-watt T9 circline fluorescent bulbs (included).
Overall rating:
2.823 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product23 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(6)
3
(6)
2
(11)
1
(21)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product23 of 58reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
Review 1 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Nashville, TN

Multiple Installations

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I am just a homeowner, I have purchased seven of these fluorescent light fixtures and two of the oval versions. When I purchased them, an electrician in line in front of me cautioned me saying that he had installed several in his grandmother's house and more than one had failed for the electronic ballast. The six that I have installed have worked correctly without any need for repair for over two years.
I found the installation to be very easy. The pan and all the mounting features are preassembled (unlike that noted by another reviewer). I am impressed that the lamp fixture comes complete with the necessary bulbs -- a rarity in today's market. Installing the lens retaining ring once the fixture is mounted to the ceiling can be a three handed job but once the first nut is on the others are easier.
One other thing that I like about this fixture is that bugs do not get into it. I have four installed in unheated and un-air conditioned garages. There have been no instances of bugs finding their way inside the semi-sealed lens.
We plan to purchase two more for our finished basement to replace the cheap incadescent fixtures.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful light, short life.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had many experiences with Hampton Bay products in the past and this is my first bad one. The light looked great, the installation couldn't of been easier (especially since i was replacing an existing ceiling light). When installation was finished it looked beautiful and really gave my kitchen a fantastic look and tons of light. Unfortunately the light only lasted about 6 months before the ballast went out. That's when i found out that apparently there is no warranty on this product (so i was told) and the T9 circline ballast is not exactly cheap to replace. In the end i bought another light of a different brand and cheaper mainly because the time it was going to take to order a ballast was going to leave me to long without light in my kitchen and the price of the new light was the same as the ballast. This is the first Hampton Bay product i have owned that i was not been happy with, so i don't think it will stop me from buying their products in the future. Although, i will be paying more attention to which of their products do and do not come with a warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Peckville PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BUYER BEWARE!!!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I loved the appearnce. Since we had all brushed nickel fixtures, we figured it would make a nice addition to our stick built home. In the first month, the balast BURNED UP. I replaced it under warranty. I got 2 months out of that one!! I replaced with a 3rd unit. I noticed they changed ballasts so they must have recognized they had a junky part. This one .. not much better. I got 6 years out of it..and back to square 1, blown balast. I noticed one reviewer replaced the ballast. I will do same because I do love appearance. But if you are thinking about buying this, beware of the fact they are all built in Indonesia and China, and are built with extremely inferior junky parts inside! Plan on replacing the balast with American made parts. FYI - My mother-in-law has her kitchen flourescent lighting for over 70 years. She only ever replaced the bulbs! I figured if I got 20 years out of my purchase, I would be grateful.. Good luck with that one! I was disappointed that a store as reputable as Home Depot would carry such a junky item!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: blows ballasts quickly and burns out
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light

Cheap Chinese ballast

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This lamp is ubiquitous in kitchen remodels of the 2010s because for a while it was one of the only affordable ceiling lamps of its size on the market. As a result, you’ll see it in flipped house after flipped house. And it looks and performs fine – until it does not.
We bought this lamp in early 2011 after looking high and low for a lamp of its size and light-giving power. It was one of the only options.
Based on the reviews here, we were lucky because we got 3+ years of use out of the thing before the ballast blew. Sounds like many folks get just 12-18 months.
Interestingly, to repair it, we took the ballast from the old, beaten up fixture (its predecessor) which has a 30 year old ballast manufactured in Rock Island, IL. And darn if that heavy old American-made ballast isn’t still humming away after three decades.
Cons: cheaply made
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Hillsboro Oregon

Great Light!

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an overhead kitchen light that just didn't put out enough light. I was looking for something w/ a lot of power--and this has 2 circular fluorescents--that's what I needed.
Word of warning: the replacement of light fixtures isn't hard, but this one lacked some important details in the directions: you need to assemble the ceiling pan, the uppermost metal ring and the 3 posts prior to mounting it on the ceiling. After attaching the wire and that whole structure to the ceiling, then you attach the diffuser and lower metal ring.
I replaced the bulbs that came w/ it w/ softer white bulbs (husband thought it was too glary for our small kitchen) It throws a lot of light and it looks good. Will probably put a matching one in the other end of the kitchen. WOW! I can see what I'm doing again!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Westwood, NJ, USA

Beautiful light, but the ballast...

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this fixture (model DC018) about 5.5 years ago for the kitchen when I purchased new house and remodeled. Compared to many of the other reviews, I was *very* lucky to have my ballast last this long! It's in the kitchen and is on and off quite frequently. Problem started a few months back where the light would sometimes not come on after it had already been on for a while. Now it hardly comes on at all. The only reason I would not recommend is due to the other reviews where the ballast lasts even shorter time than my older version of this fixture. This week, instead of trying to get a replacement ballast or fixture, I'm going to Home Depot to buy 3-4 standard E27 bulb mounts and necessary hardware to replace the circline ballast and bulbs with CFLs. Wish me luck! ;)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Shelby Township, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good price, nice looking,

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this fixture in 2003 and installed it by myself. Gives off nice light and matches my other fixtures very nicely. Well it stopped working 2-3 years ago. Tried to replace the ballast, but it didn't work, so we replaced the fixture with the same one. Should be a quick 10 minute job to install the new one right? WRONG! Another trip to the hardware store to purchase an extender, because instead of having 1 keyhole & 1 slot the new fixture has 2 keyholes that don't line up with the ceiling box. Not impressed with the installation. Thank goodness my husband was home to help, because this time around it was definately a two person job. But now we have light, so let the countdown begin as to how long this lasts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Panama City Beach
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Maybe get another model

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great looking light, puts out a lot of brightness. Relatively simple to install if you've done a little home-repair electrical work. But, the first one I bought lasted about two weeks before it started going dim on me. Recycle the on-off switch and it came back bright. Thought I'd replace the ballast, but you can't buy it at the store. Brought the light back and exchanged it for a new one. Voila, works normally...for 10 months. Now can I find a ballast? Do I buy another light, because we really like it. Ballasts run in the 25-40 dollar range, if I can get one to fit this light, so a new light isn't much more, but I'd like it to last a couple of years...am I being unreasonable?
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright
Cons: ballast doesn't last long
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Salado, TX 76571, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

2-LIGHT FLUSH-MOUNT CEILING FLUORESCENT LIGHT

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought quite a few of these light fixtures, painted the frames and outer rims then I turn them into wall lights with a cord and switch, and I put logos on them. They make an outstanding 18 Inch LocoLamp.
I don't buy a similar light from LOWE'S because they don't include light bulbs. And I prefer the design.
I have to inspect 2-LIGHT FLUSH-MOUNT CEILING FLUORESCENT LIGHTS before I leave the store because some parts are frequently bent or warped.
Nonetheless, I am very pleased overall with these lights and intend to buy as many as my customers want into the future.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, makes a fine decorative wall lamp.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light

Big Surprise. Ballast Failed at 18 Months.

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mounted this fixture in my kitchen, and it is actually nice-looking. Installation is not exactly friendly; it is a two person job to screw the light cover on. Ballast failed at about 18 months. Like everyone else who bought this cheap light, the ballast is obviously poor quality and completely unreliable. Replacements are available online, but I chose to replace it with a different ballast with the same specs, size and mounting configuration. The one I went with is the Viva 82223, 2 Lamp Circline Ballast (22 & 32 watt).
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: poorly made, defective ballast, fails within 2 years
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Springfield, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So far so GOOD!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second time purchasing this light. We bought a home and this light had been installed new and quit working. The ballast had gone bad, it was a very unusaul ballast to find therefore I repurchased the sane light new since that is what the ceiling was configured for. The NEW MODEL has a MUCH BETTER ballast so if there were to be a problem it could be replaced with miniaml cost. It seems and I am hoping their new design will continue to work for a long time. The light looks GREAT!! for a reasonable price!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Woodside, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable

PostedOctober 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fixture looks great and puts out a reasonable amount of light for the power it consumes. Unfortunately, it started turning itself off after being on a few minutes and then back on. It appeared that the ballast was overheating (too hot to touch) and shutting down until it cooled off. I returned the unit as it appears that the ballast was not designed to handle the power required. If I had read the reviews about the ballast failures ahead of time, I would not have bought the unit.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: unreliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Cheshire, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling light

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this light for my son's room. It was extremely "easy" to install. In fact, it took me longer to get the old ceiling fan down, than the installation itself. I also thought at first that it might be too big for the size of the room, knowing that Home Depot does sell a smaller size version, but it is perfect. Great lighting and not overly bright either! My son is happy that he no longer lives in a "cave." I highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design, diy novice "can do!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from New Jersey

Beautiful light, but the ballast... (follow-up)

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Updating my February entry ... instead of replacing the circline bulbs/ballast with the E27 sockets and CFL bulbs, I found a GE 2-bulb circline replacement ballast at Home Depot for about $20. I had to drill an extra hole in the base of the fixture and get some stray hardware to mount it, but was able to set it up pretty easily. I figure with the "GE" name-brand I should get another 5.5 years or more out of it! ...BBithead
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't waste your money on this light

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Having bought Hampton Bay products in the past, I thought that Home Depot was selling a reputable brand. I had our electrician install the unit in June 2011, and the ballast went bad less than 6 months later. Of course, the ballast is not available (non-standard parts for this light which is made in China). When will Home Depot and Hampton Bay buy good quality American-made goods? This product is a total waste of money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light

LIGHT IS A FAILURE

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
LIGHT IS A FAILURE
I am yet another person to have this light fail on me far too quickly -- less than a year -- with no ballast replacement available from the manufacturer. I will not be buying any Hampton Bay products again. The ballast went out after the return period and so not only am I out the cost of the light, but the electrician fee (both to install this one and whatever I have to buy to replace it).
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks real nice, installed in 20 minutes on my ceiling box.

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unlike other reviewer, the holes in the pan unit lined right up with screw mounting locations in my ceiling electrical box.
Like other reviewer, my ballast went out after 14 months and I am having a hard time finding a replacement. I ended up buying a new and ifferent lamp at Home Depot, circular cloud lamp which also take two circular bulbs and puts out twice the light - but does not look quite as classy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warranty ballasts now available

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like many others, my ballast failed within a year. Had to pay an electrician $85 to troubleshoot (who knew it could be the ballast when the previous fixture's ballast lasted 20+ years!) Anyway, called Hampton Bay/Home Depot customer service and they are sending me a new ballast at no charge. So although I can't really recommend this product, I can vouch for Home Depot warranty department.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: faulty ballast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
from Scottsboro, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light but ballast problems!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have owned 2 of these lights over the past 18 months and both have had the electronic ballast burn out in them. It is already pricey because to replace the bulbs it is about 9 bucks each (takes a 22W and a 32W). The light looks good and provides good lighting, they just simply do NOT last. So if you want to drop about 70 bucks every 6 to 9 months on a new light this light is for you.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: electrical ballast problems
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Light Flush-Mount Ceiling Fluorescent Light
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible life span but great looking.

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've purchased 2 of these lights from Hampton Bay in the past 3 years. The first lasted 2 years before the balast died. I found it cheaper to buy a new light instead of buying new bulbs and replacement balast. The new one out of the box is much lighter weight, made cheaply. The second light only lasted 1 year before the balast died. I will not be buying this fixture again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>