728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chandeliers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Display this Hampton Bay 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier from your vaulted ceiling or entryway to create a welcoming focal point. Featuring a scrollwork frame in matte black offset by 5 milky-white alabaster glass shades, this chandelier seamlessly combines function with beauty. Simple to coordinate with a wide variety of decorating styles, this chandelier will provide plenty of gorgeous illumination and warm ambience. For a polished look throughout your home, coordinate with other matte black pieces from Hampton Bay.
Overall rating:
4.454 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(119 reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product104 of 112reviews
Rating Breakdown 119 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(79)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product104 of 112reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Review 1 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not a one man job and takes some effort

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Wow, it took a number of attempts to get this one installed, wired correctly AND at the right height from the ceiling. You need to run the wiring up through the installation bracket middle to connect the electrical or you will be pulling it down to start again. Also, have something to sit the light on elevated as you connect the wiring, otherwise your helper will be straining waiting on you and holding it up. Patience is a good word for installing this one, but it looks great done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Rock Hill, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excelent purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The two chandeliers are well made and well packaged, Installation was very easy. The net result is a significant improvement in the lighting and overall appearance of our living room.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for at a great price.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to install and looks great, glad I made this buy .
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Great product for the money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great value for what's included. Only a couple minor cons... because of the way it's packaged, it took a little bit of time to get all the arms adjusted to be spaced equally. Also, I wish it would have come with a longer chain and cord (it's only about 5', and I needed 8' for my 2 story entry). I had to replace the chain, then rewire it in order not to have a splice in the middle. Fortunately I had some leftover chain from another light fixture and lamp wire on hand, otherwise I would have had to purchase a both, which could have added another $30 or $40. Something to keep in mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Nice looking

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This chandelier looks great in our dining room. At first, I was concerned because I have 8 foot ceilings. I actually used about 8 links of the chain, and it hangs beautifully.
It takes 60 watt bulbs (or less), yet it still provides a nice bright light with the alabaster glass shades. Now I wish I had installed a dimmer at the time; however, I could use 40 watt bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

This product fills the need for a light over my dining table.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only problem is that this eats light bulbs. Within just a couple of days, it burned out 4 new out of the package light bulbs including the expensive twist type LCD bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: burns out new light bulbs at a very fast rate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Irvine, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay Matte Black Chandelier

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good and simple for a small area such as my condo.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Winters, TX 79567, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elegant light fixture for bedroom.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with this light fixture. It arrived with a broken globe so I asked Home Depot about purchasing a replacement globe. Didn't have to. They sent me a new one. Could not be more pleased. Thanks, Home Depot.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This light was smaller than pictured and ours arrived crooked. We could not get it to hang straight even by manipulating the moving arms. We ended up buying a larger more expensive fixture for the kitchen.
Cons: Appearance, crooked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Morris Plains, NJ

Pretty, but looking at it across the room, the bulbs are exposed above the shades

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Very pretty in our dining room; however looking at it from across the room you can see the top of the light bulbs above the shades. It looks a little odd, and had I realized this before purchasing/installing it I probably would not have purchased it. If you are hanging it higher in your room this would not be an issue, but hanging lower (over a dining room table) you can see the tops of the bulbs from the kitchen/living room, and this look doesn't appeal to me. The fixture is pretty, but the black matte finish scratches easily so be careful during installation.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Good product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fixture arrived quickly and in great condition. It was just as nice as the picture shows and easy to install. I definitely recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Fairmont, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVED THIS FIXTURE - LIGHTS UP MY DINING ROOM

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HOME DEPOT SENT ME A MESSAGE ASKING WAS I READY TO REVIEW. WELL, YES, FINALLY HAD A FRIEND INSTALL THE LIGHT YESTERDAY. I'M 70 YEARS OLD, NO LONGER DO ELECTRICAL OR LADDER WORK. TOOK ABOUT 30 MINUTES TO ASSEMBLE AND INSTALL. I AM IN A SEMI RENOVATION OF A 1965 FORECLOSURE HOUSE, AND I'M FOLLOWING THE 2015 TREND OF RUSTIC MODERN. THE PROBLEM IS THAT I'VE ALWAYS BEEN RUSTIC MODERN - DID NOT KNOW I WOULD BE A TRENDSETTER IN VERY, VERY RURAL NORTH CAROLINA. I LOVED THIS LIGHT FIXTURE - LOOKS GREAT OVER A RECTANGULAR CHERRY/BLACK DINING SET WITH SIX CHAIRS. .I HAVE FIVE ACRES OF PINECONES, AND CONSIDERING ADDING A FEW TO THE FIXTURE. WELL, MAYBE NOT - A LITTLE TOO RUSTIC. THIS FIXTURE WOULD LOOK GREAT IN SEVERAL DECORATING VENUES AS IT IS NOT TOO FRILLY. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND - GREAT PRICE AND GREAT FIXTURE.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Chula Vista California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

5-Ligght matte black chandelier

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
really like and the price was excellent, I recommend it has a very good illumination. Looks great.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Exactly what it stated

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product was exactly what it stated. Looks fairly decent. Little hard to instal but I'm no electritian. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from PA

Looks terrific

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Looks terrific. This replaced a dirty old ceiling fan and this is much classier and a good value.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Affordable Contemporary Chandelier

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased this particular chandelier to replace our pendant lighting in our nook and I do NOT regret it whatsoever! Not only was the price more than reasonable but it has a sleek and modern look to it that complements any decor given its black color. Furthermore, the connection of the wiring is very simple and installation was a breeze for the most part - the only difficulty came when having to hold the chandelier making sure it didn't fall since we have 12' ceilings and I was the only person doing the installation. Overall, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this chandelier if you're looking for something affordable, modern, sleek, and everything in between!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

love it

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It look good where it was put. My husband put it up and could not figure out why it it was not hook up. He figured it out that the ground had to come through towards the light it self. I would by the product again if I had another spot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best value for the price

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Chandlier was exactly what I. Expected it to be. It will look beautiful in my hall. Delivery was really fast.. I would recomend this as a good quality ,fast delivery and a beautiful chandlier..
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Fullerton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Chandelier

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It looks nice, easy to install, compare to price this is good product
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Cocoa, fl
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Beautiful light fixture fairly easy installation the only problem was one of the lights sits a little higher than the other but I decided it wasn't significant enough to exchange it.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: one light higher than others
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>