728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chandeliers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Display this Hampton Bay 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier from your vaulted ceiling or entryway to create a welcoming focal point. Featuring a scrollwork frame in matte black offset by 5 milky-white alabaster glass shades, this chandelier seamlessly combines function with beauty. Simple to coordinate with a wide variety of decorating styles, this chandelier will provide plenty of gorgeous illumination and warm ambience. For a polished look throughout your home, coordinate with other matte black pieces from Hampton Bay.
Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(126 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product110 of 119reviews
Rating Breakdown 126 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(83)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product110 of 119reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Review 1 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I was looking for at a great price.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to install and looks great, glad I made this buy .
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Rock Hill, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excelent purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The two chandeliers are well made and well packaged, Installation was very easy. The net result is a significant improvement in the lighting and overall appearance of our living room.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not a one man job and takes some effort

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Wow, it took a number of attempts to get this one installed, wired correctly AND at the right height from the ceiling. You need to run the wiring up through the installation bracket middle to connect the electrical or you will be pulling it down to start again. Also, have something to sit the light on elevated as you connect the wiring, otherwise your helper will be straining waiting on you and holding it up. Patience is a good word for installing this one, but it looks great done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Great product for the money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a great value for what's included. Only a couple minor cons... because of the way it's packaged, it took a little bit of time to get all the arms adjusted to be spaced equally. Also, I wish it would have come with a longer chain and cord (it's only about 5', and I needed 8' for my 2 story entry). I had to replace the chain, then rewire it in order not to have a splice in the middle. Fortunately I had some leftover chain from another light fixture and lamp wire on hand, otherwise I would have had to purchase a both, which could have added another $30 or $40. Something to keep in mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Nice looking

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This chandelier looks great in our dining room. At first, I was concerned because I have 8 foot ceilings. I actually used about 8 links of the chain, and it hangs beautifully.
It takes 60 watt bulbs (or less), yet it still provides a nice bright light with the alabaster glass shades. Now I wish I had installed a dimmer at the time; however, I could use 40 watt bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

This product fills the need for a light over my dining table.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only problem is that this eats light bulbs. Within just a couple of days, it burned out 4 new out of the package light bulbs including the expensive twist type LCD bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: burns out new light bulbs at a very fast rate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Irvine, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay Matte Black Chandelier

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good and simple for a small area such as my condo.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Winters, TX 79567, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elegant light fixture for bedroom.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with this light fixture. It arrived with a broken globe so I asked Home Depot about purchasing a replacement globe. Didn't have to. They sent me a new one. Could not be more pleased. Thanks, Home Depot.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Shasta Lake, Ca
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really love this chandelier! We bought it to replace our outdated faux gold chandelier that came with the house when we bought it and it looks amazing! I got it mainly because of the great reviews and the price. I figured if I or my husband really didn't like it then we could switch it out in the future for something better but it really does look great! We have it hanging above our dark wood dining table with dark red accents and it just makes the room look much more put together. I highly recommend this chandelier!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from virginville PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

bare copper wire exposed - unsightly appearance

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good:
easy to install (excluding painting the copper wire)
price
looks more expensive than the price
Bad
there's a long exposed copper ground wire that goes from the fixture, through the chain and into the ceiling. it is very visible. the wife and others noticed, so i had to remove the chandelier, spray paint the wire black and then reinstall.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This light was smaller than pictured and ours arrived crooked. We could not get it to hang straight even by manipulating the moving arms. We ended up buying a larger more expensive fixture for the kitchen.
Cons: Appearance, crooked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Gaithersburg, Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we needed.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great looking. Just a little off center but I seem to be the only one who notices.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: needs a way to balance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from San Antonio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great design

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just what the wife was looking for to replace a 30 year old light fixture.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Exactly what it stated

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Product was exactly what it stated. Looks fairly decent. Little hard to instal but I'm no electritian. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Affordable Contemporary Chandelier

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased this particular chandelier to replace our pendant lighting in our nook and I do NOT regret it whatsoever! Not only was the price more than reasonable but it has a sleek and modern look to it that complements any decor given its black color. Furthermore, the connection of the wiring is very simple and installation was a breeze for the most part - the only difficulty came when having to hold the chandelier making sure it didn't fall since we have 12' ceilings and I was the only person doing the installation. Overall, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this chandelier if you're looking for something affordable, modern, sleek, and everything in between!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Morris Plains, NJ

Pretty, but looking at it across the room, the bulbs are exposed above the shades

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Very pretty in our dining room; however looking at it from across the room you can see the top of the light bulbs above the shades. It looks a little odd, and had I realized this before purchasing/installing it I probably would not have purchased it. If you are hanging it higher in your room this would not be an issue, but hanging lower (over a dining room table) you can see the tops of the bulbs from the kitchen/living room, and this look doesn't appeal to me. The fixture is pretty, but the black matte finish scratches easily so be careful during installation.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the final product. Was a little confusing to assemble. One of the steps was left out of the instructions but logic told us what to do. Secondly, it hangs off to one side and took quite a bit of playing to get it straight (this part had Nothing to do with the missing step in the instructions). Overall it is a nice light and will do exactly what we wanted.
Pros: Functional, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Charlotte, Nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best purchased ever

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very ease installation it took few minutes. I am very happy with this product.Good Size & Weight.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Jacksonville, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value for the price. Easy as any chandelier to install. Took me about 45 minutes.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Fairmont, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVED THIS FIXTURE - LIGHTS UP MY DINING ROOM

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HOME DEPOT SENT ME A MESSAGE ASKING WAS I READY TO REVIEW. WELL, YES, FINALLY HAD A FRIEND INSTALL THE LIGHT YESTERDAY. I'M 70 YEARS OLD, NO LONGER DO ELECTRICAL OR LADDER WORK. TOOK ABOUT 30 MINUTES TO ASSEMBLE AND INSTALL. I AM IN A SEMI RENOVATION OF A 1965 FORECLOSURE HOUSE, AND I'M FOLLOWING THE 2015 TREND OF RUSTIC MODERN. THE PROBLEM IS THAT I'VE ALWAYS BEEN RUSTIC MODERN - DID NOT KNOW I WOULD BE A TRENDSETTER IN VERY, VERY RURAL NORTH CAROLINA. I LOVED THIS LIGHT FIXTURE - LOOKS GREAT OVER A RECTANGULAR CHERRY/BLACK DINING SET WITH SIX CHAIRS. .I HAVE FIVE ACRES OF PINECONES, AND CONSIDERING ADDING A FEW TO THE FIXTURE. WELL, MAYBE NOT - A LITTLE TOO RUSTIC. THIS FIXTURE WOULD LOOK GREAT IN SEVERAL DECORATING VENUES AS IT IS NOT TOO FRILLY. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND - GREAT PRICE AND GREAT FIXTURE.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>