728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chandeliers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Display this Hampton Bay 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier from your vaulted ceiling or entryway to create a welcoming focal point. Featuring a scrollwork frame in matte black offset by 5 milky-white alabaster glass shades, this chandelier seamlessly combines function with beauty. Simple to coordinate with a wide variety of decorating styles, this chandelier will provide plenty of gorgeous illumination and plenty of warm ambience. For a polished look throughout your home, coordinate with other matte black pieces from Hampton Bay.
Overall rating:
4.404 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(104 reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product89 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 104 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(24)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product89 of 97reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Review 1 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not a one man job and takes some effort

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Wow, it took a number of attempts to get this one installed, wired correctly AND at the right height from the ceiling. You need to run the wiring up through the installation bracket middle to connect the electrical or you will be pulling it down to start again. Also, have something to sit the light on elevated as you connect the wiring, otherwise your helper will be straining waiting on you and holding it up. Patience is a good word for installing this one, but it looks great done.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Great product for the money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great value for what's included. Only a couple minor cons... because of the way it's packaged, it took a little bit of time to get all the arms adjusted to be spaced equally. Also, I wish it would have come with a longer chain and cord (it's only about 5', and I needed 8' for my 2 story entry). I had to replace the chain, then rewire it in order not to have a splice in the middle. Fortunately I had some leftover chain from another light fixture and lamp wire on hand, otherwise I would have had to purchase a both, which could have added another $30 or $40. Something to keep in mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

This product fills the need for a light over my dining table.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem is that this eats light bulbs. Within just a couple of days, it burned out 4 new out of the package light bulbs including the expensive twist type LCD bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: burns out new light bulbs at a very fast rate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Nice looking

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chandelier looks great in our dining room. At first, I was concerned because I have 8 foot ceilings. I actually used about 8 links of the chain, and it hangs beautifully.
It takes 60 watt bulbs (or less), yet it still provides a nice bright light with the alabaster glass shades. Now I wish I had installed a dimmer at the time; however, I could use 40 watt bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Irvine, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay Matte Black Chandelier

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good and simple for a small area such as my condo.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Morris Plains, NJ

Pretty, but looking at it across the room, the bulbs are exposed above the shades

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Very pretty in our dining room; however looking at it from across the room you can see the top of the light bulbs above the shades. It looks a little odd, and had I realized this before purchasing/installing it I probably would not have purchased it. If you are hanging it higher in your room this would not be an issue, but hanging lower (over a dining room table) you can see the tops of the bulbs from the kitchen/living room, and this look doesn't appeal to me. The fixture is pretty, but the black matte finish scratches easily so be careful during installation.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from PA

Looks terrific

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Looks terrific. This replaced a dirty old ceiling fan and this is much classier and a good value.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Fullerton
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Chandelier

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It looks nice, easy to install, compare to price this is good product
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from EL PASO TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

NICE PRODUCT

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
NICE PRODUCT EASY TO CONNECT,BRIGHT ,SHIPPING TIME WAS FAST
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Winters, TX 79567, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elegant light fixture for bedroom.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this light fixture. It arrived with a broken globe so I asked Home Depot about purchasing a replacement globe. Didn't have to. They sent me a new one. Could not be more pleased. Thanks, Home Depot.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This light was smaller than pictured and ours arrived crooked. We could not get it to hang straight even by manipulating the moving arms. We ended up buying a larger more expensive fixture for the kitchen.
Cons: Appearance, crooked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Chandelier

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice looking chandelier for a good price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Edmond, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect!!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chandelier is perfect for my dinning room. Good quality and beautiful.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Exactly what it stated

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was exactly what it stated. Looks fairly decent. Little hard to instal but I'm no electritian. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

lamp

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived on time and was good description of my order thanks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Affordable Contemporary Chandelier

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased this particular chandelier to replace our pendant lighting in our nook and I do NOT regret it whatsoever! Not only was the price more than reasonable but it has a sleek and modern look to it that complements any decor given its black color. Furthermore, the connection of the wiring is very simple and installation was a breeze for the most part - the only difficulty came when having to hold the chandelier making sure it didn't fall since we have 12' ceilings and I was the only person doing the installation. Overall, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this chandelier if you're looking for something affordable, modern, sleek, and everything in between!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Black chandelier

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a wonderful looking chandelier. A great addition to my family room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple and elegant

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light was easy to install and looks so pretty above my dining room table. The black goes great with my decor.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was the perfect light for our kitchen/eating area!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install...no surprises! The lighting was completely assembled. We just had to move the lights into position and hook up to the ceiling. It was also light-weight which helped when installing. We also installed a dimmer to create the perfect lighting atmosphere as needed.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Lewisville, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light weight, but looks great..

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it looks's great. and I do like the light it puts out. easy install.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>