728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chandeliers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Display this Hampton Bay 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier from your vaulted ceiling or entryway to create a welcoming focal point. Featuring a scrollwork frame in matte black offset by 5 milky-white alabaster glass shades, this chandelier seamlessly combines function with beauty. Simple to coordinate with a wide variety of decorating styles, this chandelier will provide plenty of gorgeous illumination and plenty of warm ambience. For a polished look throughout your home, coordinate with other matte black pieces from Hampton Bay.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product81 of 89reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product81 of 89reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Review 1 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

This product fills the need for a light over my dining table.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem is that this eats light bulbs. Within just a couple of days, it burned out 4 new out of the package light bulbs including the expensive twist type LCD bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: burns out new light bulbs at a very fast rate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Great product for the money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great value for what's included. Only a couple minor cons... because of the way it's packaged, it took a little bit of time to get all the arms adjusted to be spaced equally. Also, I wish it would have come with a longer chain and cord (it's only about 5', and I needed 8' for my 2 story entry). I had to replace the chain, then rewire it in order not to have a splice in the middle. Fortunately I had some leftover chain from another light fixture and lamp wire on hand, otherwise I would have had to purchase a both, which could have added another $30 or $40. Something to keep in mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Nice looking

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chandelier looks great in our dining room. At first, I was concerned because I have 8 foot ceilings. I actually used about 8 links of the chain, and it hangs beautifully.
It takes 60 watt bulbs (or less), yet it still provides a nice bright light with the alabaster glass shades. Now I wish I had installed a dimmer at the time; however, I could use 40 watt bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Irvine, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay Matte Black Chandelier

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good and simple for a small area such as my condo.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Winters, TX 79567, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elegant light fixture for bedroom.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this light fixture. It arrived with a broken globe so I asked Home Depot about purchasing a replacement globe. Didn't have to. They sent me a new one. Could not be more pleased. Thanks, Home Depot.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This light was smaller than pictured and ours arrived crooked. We could not get it to hang straight even by manipulating the moving arms. We ended up buying a larger more expensive fixture for the kitchen.
Cons: Appearance, crooked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Exactly what it stated

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was exactly what it stated. Looks fairly decent. Little hard to instal but I'm no electritian. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Affordable Contemporary Chandelier

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased this particular chandelier to replace our pendant lighting in our nook and I do NOT regret it whatsoever! Not only was the price more than reasonable but it has a sleek and modern look to it that complements any decor given its black color. Furthermore, the connection of the wiring is very simple and installation was a breeze for the most part - the only difficulty came when having to hold the chandelier making sure it didn't fall since we have 12' ceilings and I was the only person doing the installation. Overall, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this chandelier if you're looking for something affordable, modern, sleek, and everything in between!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple and elegant

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light was easy to install and looks so pretty above my dining room table. The black goes great with my decor.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Lewisville, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

light weight, but looks great..

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it looks's great. and I do like the light it puts out. easy install.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect fixture for my needs!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been slowly but surely renovating my kitchen and breakfast nook area. I spent hours online and in stores searching for the perfect light fixture for the breakfast nook and here it is! It is very pretty with beautiful glass shades. I added a coordinating fabric sleeve over the chain for a custom touch. Simple, straightforward installation made it easy to switch out the old fixture for this new one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was the perfect light for our kitchen/eating area!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install...no surprises! The lighting was completely assembled. We just had to move the lights into position and hook up to the ceiling. It was also light-weight which helped when installing. We also installed a dimmer to create the perfect lighting atmosphere as needed.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Danbury, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful chandelier

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this chandelier due to the casual elegance of the designed and the quality is well made and easy to install. For the price of this chandelier, it's worth its value.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Austin,Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light was on sale and it works beautifully in my dining area! Easy to install,took about 20 minutes and is exactly what I was expecting when I purchased it online. Recommend it? of course!
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good looking fixture, took extra effort to hang

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a good looking chandelier once I overcame its' missing an essential part, the quick clip needed to attach the chain to the top loop of the fixture. I used one of the chain links to fashion a clip using a wire cutter and pair of pliers. It looked great after I used a black magic marker to color the cut. I normally would have assumed that this missing part was an oversight at the manufacturer but I bought 2 and it was missing in both.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: missing essential parts, broken glass shade
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Chula Vista, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent value

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good value at this price point. If parts arrive broken, you can always seek replacement. Everything was delivered intact in my case. However, the fixture (arms & chain) is not heavy duty, but with the globes installed appears quite majestic. That is, until you realize it is hanging at an angle and the globe tops are at different heights, possibly from the arms holding each globe not being identical in all respects. Quality control issues, but nothing major unless you look for it. The globes do steal the show however.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, light duty fixture
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Love it!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Beautiful. Looked better in person than online. Can't believe the great price. I was expecting it to come in looking cheap since I was on such a tight budget. Def impressed.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from BP
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light but is not easy to install

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this while on on cyber-monday. this is a decent unit but the installation is not easy and instructions are very difficult to follow.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
from Front Royal, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great value!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. Delivery was super fast and everything came in one piece with nothing broken or damaged. The only reason I gave it four stars is because after it's installed you do have to mess with the four bars to try and get them spaced evenly since they aren't when you take them out. They are able to be bent a little to get them to adjust so it wasn't terrible. The picture on the internet doesn't do it justice; it looks much better in person. Great value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Beautiful and Bright

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the way it looks!! The light it brings to the room is fantastic. It hangs well, but the installation could have been easier. I would prefer the wire colors to be different and not the same black wires with one having slight edging. Other than that, I have no complaints. I'm pleasantly surprised!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>