728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chandeliers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

5-Light Matte Black Chandelier

Display this Hampton Bay 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier from your vaulted ceiling or entryway to create a welcoming focal point. Featuring a scrollwork frame in matte black offset by 5 milky-white alabaster glass shades, this chandelier seamlessly combines function with beauty. Simple to coordinate with a wide variety of decorating styles, this chandelier will provide plenty of gorgeous illumination and plenty of warm ambience. For a polished look throughout your home, coordinate with other matte black pieces from Hampton Bay.
Overall rating:
4.475 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product71 of 76reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(54)
4
(19)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product71 of 76reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Review 1 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
KA0123

This product fills the need for a light over my dining table.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem is that this eats light bulbs. Within just a couple of days, it burned out 4 new out of the package light bulbs including the expensive twist type LCD bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: burns out new light bulbs at a very fast rate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
GMan

Great product for the money

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great value for what's included. Only a couple minor cons... because of the way it's packaged, it took a little bit of time to get all the arms adjusted to be spaced equally. Also, I wish it would have come with a longer chain and cord (it's only about 5', and I needed 8' for my 2 story entry). I had to replace the chain, then rewire it in order not to have a splice in the middle. Fortunately I had some leftover chain from another light fixture and lamp wire on hand, otherwise I would have had to purchase a both, which could have added another $30 or $40. Something to keep in mind.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
UCIsam
from Irvine, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hampton Bay Matte Black Chandelier

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good and simple for a small area such as my condo.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Elvisnavy
from Winters, TX 79567, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Elegant light fixture for bedroom.

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this light fixture. It arrived with a broken globe so I asked Home Depot about purchasing a replacement globe. Didn't have to. They sent me a new one. Could not be more pleased. Thanks, Home Depot.
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
HDepotbuyer

Nice looking

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chandelier looks great in our dining room. At first, I was concerned because I have 8 foot ceilings. I actually used about 8 links of the chain, and it hangs beautifully.
It takes 60 watt bulbs (or less), yet it still provides a nice bright light with the alabaster glass shades. Now I wish I had installed a dimmer at the time; however, I could use 40 watt bulbs.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
123me
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This light was smaller than pictured and ours arrived crooked. We could not get it to hang straight even by manipulating the moving arms. We ended up buying a larger more expensive fixture for the kitchen.
Cons: Appearance, crooked
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Mike030987

Exactly what it stated

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was exactly what it stated. Looks fairly decent. Little hard to instal but I'm no electritian. Overall very happy with my purchase.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
JulieinFlorida
from Florida, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect fixture for my needs!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been slowly but surely renovating my kitchen and breakfast nook area. I spent hours online and in stores searching for the perfect light fixture for the breakfast nook and here it is! It is very pretty with beautiful glass shades. I added a coordinating fabric sleeve over the chain for a custom touch. Simple, straightforward installation made it easy to switch out the old fixture for this new one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Favel
from BP
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light but is not easy to install

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this while on on cyber-monday. this is a decent unit but the installation is not easy and instructions are very difficult to follow.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Firebert
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good looking fixture, took extra effort to hang

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is a good looking chandelier once I overcame its' missing an essential part, the quick clip needed to attach the chain to the top loop of the fixture. I used one of the chain links to fashion a clip using a wire cutter and pair of pliers. It looked great after I used a black magic marker to color the cut. I normally would have assumed that this missing part was an oversight at the manufacturer but I bought 2 and it was missing in both.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: missing essential parts, broken glass shade
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Hambone
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect choice for my needs.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fast and secure shipping allowed me to meet my deadline.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
vladittude061983

Affordable Contemporary Chandelier

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased this particular chandelier to replace our pendant lighting in our nook and I do NOT regret it whatsoever! Not only was the price more than reasonable but it has a sleek and modern look to it that complements any decor given its black color. Furthermore, the connection of the wiring is very simple and installation was a breeze for the most part - the only difficulty came when having to hold the chandelier making sure it didn't fall since we have 12' ceilings and I was the only person doing the installation. Overall, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this chandelier if you're looking for something affordable, modern, sleek, and everything in between!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Laurie
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was the perfect light for our kitchen/eating area!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install...no surprises! The lighting was completely assembled. We just had to move the lights into position and hook up to the ceiling. It was also light-weight which helped when installing. We also installed a dimmer to create the perfect lighting atmosphere as needed.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
MIM1
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is simple but elegant. exactly what I wanted. The chain was too long but only a minor problem.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The ease of ordering this product was tremendous. Website is easy to navigate and ordering was very quick. I was notified of expected date and it was a day early. Very pleased with the service from Home depot. Only possible problem was the delivery person did not put on the porch but the sidewalk. Luckily it did not rain!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
C4D4
from Concord GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, easy to install

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The shipment arrived on time, in good condition. Looks better than the pictures. No problems installing other than getting the arms positioned the same distance apart to balance. Just pick a spot and measure till you get the same distance between all the arms.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Teacher
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great looking fixture!!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The light fixture looks wonderful in my dining room!!! Love the price and is very good quality light. I was worried it would be "cheap" looking but it isn't! I would recommend this product!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
walt
from Saginaw, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install.
Great Value.
Looks Really Good
Would buy again.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
Drucie
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent for the price!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was on sale, and it was such a bargain! It works great, looks nice, I'm happy!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
kathy
from St. Charles, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for over the Kitchen Table!

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this on sale a couple of yrs ago- Love it- It looks great! My ceilings are normal height so we have extra chain that is bundled up- so we have to shorten it- otherwise is perfect in my kitchen over our table. it does have to be adjusted sometimes as the 5 arms with the lights tend to move on their own??
I just wish I could find a smaller single hanging lamp to match- one for over the sink.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: the arms move about & have to be readjusted.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5-Light Matte Black Chandelier
johnwayne

This product is cheaply made of material.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I received the light and then noticed the top bracket was bent.
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>