728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop T-Posts & U-Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

This Yardgard 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post offers optimal rust prevention and lasting strength for a durable fencing post.
Overall rating:
4.542 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product22 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
Review 1 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what i needed

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked all over Richmond VA. for 8 foot t-post could not find them anywhere, Home Depot order them and had them shipped to my farm and were cheaper than anyone else I saw online.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Suburban MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

T steel fence post

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fairly heavy sturdy steel fence post. The stability plate near the bottom is just pressed onto the anti slip protrusions on the face of the post. Hammering the post into the ground knocks the paint off the top of the post. Should work to hold the deer netting at the top end and the wire mesh at the bottom for woodchuck and deer exlusion.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Elmendrof, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

steel T post

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Once in the ground they are strong and hold the fences tight.
Pros: Multi Use
Cons: standing on a 10'ladder to drive them in the groun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stakes

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
T-post arrived intact and worked as advertised. I am using them to hold up deer mesh fence around my garden and so far I still have corn.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Pawcatuck, Stonington, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Posts

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Excellent product, sturdy, and stronger than I expected. Zip-ties are a must for this product as there are no holes, lips, or bends to attach fence product to. I would definitely purchase this product again.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect for the job

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every year we plant a garden. Every year the deer help themselves to the bounty. These posts, along with some 6' fencing, protects our garden so we can reap the benefits.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Economical
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Good for deer fence

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are building deer fence for our garden and these T-posts are high enough to hold 6-foot tall fence. Since we do not have a truck, free delivery is very convenient. Sturdy and good price.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Bothell WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Ok quality

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I rate 4 stars simply because the v piece at the bottom has fallen off some of my posts as i drove them into the ground!! I had soft tilled garden soil and pounded these in from the top!! Amazed to see 3 of 10 fall apart on the first use!! If they hold together ...they are strong and thicker gauge then they used to be back in the day! So basically its hit and miss on these post! Still not too bad for the price though! But once the v piece falls off they no longer hold straight in the ground as u add fencing!!!! Kinda a buger when that happens!!
Pros: pretty sturdy
Cons: lacks a little quality, some fall apart
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Kitsap, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the price

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These things are not available at the H.D. stores but the free shipping makes up for that, just need to plan ahead a bit. For the price they can't be beat. Local building supply stores that carry 8' posts wanted anywhere from $4-$6 MORE than H.D. My only complaints are that the flange height from the bottom of the post varies, rarely the post is slightly bowed from the flange installation, and that the paint seems a bit thin.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Reliable
Cons: Inconsistent, thin paint, can be bowed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

1-3/4 IN. X 3-1/2 IN. X 8 FT. STEEL T-POST ARE A GOOD VALUE

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although the 1-3/4 IN. X 3-1/2 IN. X 8 FT. STEEL T-POSTS I purchased from Home Depot are a good value and are what they say they are ... they're not the T-Posts of yesteryear. My old electric fence snap on insulators, that I took off the old 6' T-Posts that my dad purchased two or 3 decades ago, would not fit the new T-Posts, so I had to buy all new insulators. The steel T-Posts made today are made of lighter guage metal and the distance from the face/front of the steel T-Post to the backside of the steel T-Post is noticably shallower (skinnier) which is why the old plastic snap on insulators would not work. All in all, the new T-Posts did the job that I wanted them to. I just wish they were made heavier so I could have used the old plastic electric fence insulators, which are still in great shape (as they were shedded for many years).
Cons: lighter weight than the steel t-posts of yesterday
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Met all of our requirements for metal posts.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These posts were of higher quality than we had expected. Strong and well suited for wire or Deer fenceing.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Exactly what I needed

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The posts arrived on time, were in perfectly good shape, and now I have the best deer fence in my neighborhood!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Orlando, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good posts

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 8 of these and then ordered another 8. A couple came bent and a few had loose or disconnected step plates but overall they are very sturdy and worth the money.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: some bent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from MD
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slight bow

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Slight bow, otherwise perfect. Solid construction.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Great way to get these for your garden

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
poles are good - real benefit is free shipping - delivered to your door.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, delivery
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect height, sturdy too!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent quality, well colored with durable paint and easy to install!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

T-posts were solid and a great value.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The posts were priced right and represented a great value. Some of the posts were slightly bowed due to how they had been stacked, but for the purpose of garden fencing, it is not noticeable.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Cons: some posts slightly bowed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Summerville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just GREAT

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed a tall fence to protect our spring garden from the wildlife. These posts worked perfectly. Tall, sturdy, easy to work with.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Great product for a great price.

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works like any other t-post I've used but the extra height and the great value make it a real winner for me.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

T-post Garbage

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 16 of these T-posts and they were delivered as they do not carry them in the store. Each and every one of them were twisted, bowed or warped. I loaded all of them in my car and took them to the recycling center as they were all garbage and unusable for anything but an ugly fencing job. I have learned my lesson on not seeing the product before buying it from Home Depot.
Cons: extremly poor quality, poor quality workmanship
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>