728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

This Yardgard 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post offers optimal rust prevention and lasting strength for a durable fencing post.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product31 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(21)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product31 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
Review 1 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Pasadena, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

T for post and post for T

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The t-posts do what they do. They won't rot like wooden posts. You can pound the snot out of them and they just stare at you as if to say "is THAT all you've got?" and then you go back and pound them some more.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Richmond, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what i needed

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked all over Richmond VA. for 8 foot t-post could not find them anywhere, Home Depot order them and had them shipped to my farm and were cheaper than anyone else I saw online.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Georgia

Solid T-post

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a very sturdy t-post. My only complaint, and I don't know if this is a function of the manufacturer or Home Depot), is that there were numerous places where the paint had chipped off. I felt compelled to repaint it before using. Other than that I highly recommend it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from St. Helens, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exactly what I needed.

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The posts were exactly what I needed to build my deer fence.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Suburban MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

T steel fence post

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fairly heavy sturdy steel fence post. The stability plate near the bottom is just pressed onto the anti slip protrusions on the face of the post. Hammering the post into the ground knocks the paint off the top of the post. Should work to hold the deer netting at the top end and the wire mesh at the bottom for woodchuck and deer exlusion.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Steel T-posts

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Standard T-posts. They were easy to install with volunteers!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Oregon

Free shipping was fantastic

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The size of post was not the easiest to find, so i was pleased to find them on the home depot site. The fence posts were of very good quality and the price was even better, but the free shipping was an amazing offer as i live a long way from the nearest home depot store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Pawcatuck, Stonington, CT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Posts

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Excellent product, sturdy, and stronger than I expected. Zip-ties are a must for this product as there are no holes, lips, or bends to attach fence product to. I would definitely purchase this product again.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from ronaoke, va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product-- stronger than anticipated

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
only issue was driving the posts as to be expected being 8 foot and am only 6'3" . but worked it out. extremely well built and will out last me by a generation.
Pros: Easy to Clean, extremely strong and durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Irving, tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks very Strong

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These look very strong. I bought them for installing a 6ft flat trellis, only time will tell how it handles. for now i am very satisfied with the quality. These are hard to find in store
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect for the job

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every year we plant a garden. Every year the deer help themselves to the bounty. These posts, along with some 6' fencing, protects our garden so we can reap the benefits.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Economical
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Bothell WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Ok quality

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I rate 4 stars simply because the v piece at the bottom has fallen off some of my posts as i drove them into the ground!! I had soft tilled garden soil and pounded these in from the top!! Amazed to see 3 of 10 fall apart on the first use!! If they hold together ...they are strong and thicker gauge then they used to be back in the day! So basically its hit and miss on these post! Still not too bad for the price though! But once the v piece falls off they no longer hold straight in the ground as u add fencing!!!! Kinda a buger when that happens!!
Pros: pretty sturdy
Cons: lacks a little quality, some fall apart
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Good for deer fence

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are building deer fence for our garden and these T-posts are high enough to hold 6-foot tall fence. Since we do not have a truck, free delivery is very convenient. Sturdy and good price.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

1-3/4 IN. X 3-1/2 IN. X 8 FT. STEEL T-POST ARE A GOOD VALUE

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Although the 1-3/4 IN. X 3-1/2 IN. X 8 FT. STEEL T-POSTS I purchased from Home Depot are a good value and are what they say they are ... they're not the T-Posts of yesteryear. My old electric fence snap on insulators, that I took off the old 6' T-Posts that my dad purchased two or 3 decades ago, would not fit the new T-Posts, so I had to buy all new insulators. The steel T-Posts made today are made of lighter guage metal and the distance from the face/front of the steel T-Post to the backside of the steel T-Post is noticably shallower (skinnier) which is why the old plastic snap on insulators would not work. All in all, the new T-Posts did the job that I wanted them to. I just wish they were made heavier so I could have used the old plastic electric fence insulators, which are still in great shape (as they were shedded for many years).
Cons: lighter weight than the steel t-posts of yesterday
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Elmendrof, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

steel T post

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Once in the ground they are strong and hold the fences tight.
Pros: Multi Use
Cons: standing on a 10'ladder to drive them in the groun
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Met all of our requirements for metal posts.

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These posts were of higher quality than we had expected. Strong and well suited for wire or Deer fenceing.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Kitsap, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for the price

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These things are not available at the H.D. stores but the free shipping makes up for that, just need to plan ahead a bit. For the price they can't be beat. Local building supply stores that carry 8' posts wanted anywhere from $4-$6 MORE than H.D. My only complaints are that the flange height from the bottom of the post varies, rarely the post is slightly bowed from the flange installation, and that the paint seems a bit thin.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, Reliable
Cons: Inconsistent, thin paint, can be bowed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from Pahrump Nv
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used these to elevate a tarp for animal shade,and they worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post

Exactly what I needed

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The posts arrived on time, were in perfectly good shape, and now I have the best deer fence in my neighborhood!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-3/4 in. x 3-1/2 in. x 8 ft. Steel T-Post
from detroit, mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

sturdy steel posts

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
8 foot posts to be used for a temporary fence - sturdy posts, product as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>