728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chain Link Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Fence Post Driver

Fence Post Driver

When installing your fence consider using the YARDGARD Fence Post Driver. The driver delivers 17 lb. of force to fence posts, driving them into the ground without damaging their tops. It is can be used for u-posts and t-posts.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product15 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Fence Post Driver
Review 1 for Fence Post Driver
from Palatka, Florida

Nice Driver

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This driver is sturdy and well made. It easily drives metal posts as advertised, especially when the top of the post is not at a good height to use a sledge hammer. It makes driving posts a one-man operation, and at 17 pounds, it's a good work out for the arms and shoulders.
The only negative is I'd prefer a thicker driving end. It sounds a little 'tinny' when driving metal posts. Add another 1/2" of thickness and I'd give it 5 stars.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fence Post Driver
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Good basic tool

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't have the strength to use the tool, myself, but the two gentlemen I hired to put up deer netting on t-posts used it to get the posts in, and they seemed to make fast, efficient progress. The driver fits over the top of the post with plenty of room inside to lift it without coming off. The top of the driver is very heavily weighted, so when it comes down, it is guided by the open tube beneath to pound the top of the post, driving it into the ground. A hammer or mallet would risk moving the post a bit left or right, front or back, by not coming straight down. The handles are firmly welded in place for good control. They could have been a bit wider to fill the grip of one's palm, and they could have been covered in shock-absorbing rubber to add that width. I'd have paid more to make it so. As is, leather work gloves help prevent blisters.
Pros: solid tool
Cons: needs cushioned grips
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fence Post Driver
from Belvidere, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty and Fast

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Made a laborious job smooth and easy with little effort. May not use very often, but glad I have it now. Perfect weight - as did the job weel, but any heavier would have been difficult. Well made and solid!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fence Post Driver
from Greater Denver Metro
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Worked well. Pounding in T-posts - whee!

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product does what it was designed for. 6.5 foot T-posts were driven into mountain soil (full of very large rocks). Hit a rock, pull the post out and move it a few inches and try again. This tool met my expectations.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fence Post Driver
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does just what it is supposed to do

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have one of these post drivers at home and one at our place up north and it is high-quality construction and drives posts very nicely. As a matter of fact, I drove a relatively shallow well up north and, although it was a bit light for that job (requiring a lot of strokes per foot) it did a fairly decent job driving the point through sand and gravel.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material
Cons: doesn't come with someone to do the work for you!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fence Post Driver
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did the job!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great at pounding in the garden stakes. I live in shale country, where gardens grow rocks and boulders overnight. I finally can drive the stakes in without wounding my fingers.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fence Post Driver
from Escondido, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly

PostedMay 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just the right size to drive the metal posts in deep without a lot of effort. Made my job a lot easier.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fence Post Driver

Did the job perfectly

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thanks to this driver I had my deer fence ready in 2 hrs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fence Post Driver
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am very pleased with my fence post driver.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this fence post driver to drive 50 plus T-post . So far It has worked great. It is much better than using a hammer.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fence Post Driver
from Hayward, CA, USA

Good pounder!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice rugged piece of metal. Did the job of pounding in 20+ feet of pipe and still looks brand new. Affordable.
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fence Post Driver
from Santee, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

its a good tool. gets the job done

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good post pounder. Good material and workmanship. Good value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fence Post Driver
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Tool

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Built well and does the job without problems. It is built well and is sturdy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fence Post Driver
from Everett, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too light; needs better handles & handle extensions

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works ok for driving short posts into soft soils.
Does not work well for driving 8' or 10' posts into any soils because (1) it becomes necessary to dig holes or stand on a platform (2) the driver lacks the mass to work effectively as soil friction on the post increases.
I still had to use a 12lb sledge hammer to finish driving the posts to proper depth, then deal with 1in of smashed metal at the top.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fence Post Driver

worked great

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
simplified the process of pounding in stakes........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fence Post Driver
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-made suiting my needs.

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this item. I needed to ram fence post in the ground and found this helped me a great deal. It has a nice red finish on the outside. For the price, I saved this much money by not straining my shoulders as much as using a small sledge. Good product.
Pros: Multi Use, can also be used to crush rock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fence Post Driver
from West Richland, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to put in a bunch of signs on my property; so I bought a bunch of 5 foot steel posts along with this post pounder. It does not weigh horribly much and really does the job. Placed about 50 posts with no incidents. Expecting to get years of service from this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fence Post Driver
from Washington DC
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very handy, very useful

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use this tool to set a post is so easy! like it a lot.
Pros: get job well done
Cons: coult be a little heavier
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.