728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Carpet Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)

Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)

Its a snap to change the decor of your room with versatile, easy-to-use Shaw living carpet tile. The look is clean and contemporary, and the process is simple. Quick stik backing means no adhesive is needed for a fuss-free installation of the 12 inch x 12 inch squares. In fact, the only tools required are a carpenter's square, a chalk line and chalk, utility knife with sharp blade, and a measuring tape. Just peel the protective backing off, and press the tiles into place. Feel free to combine colors and change configurations; go for a wall-to-wall or area rug look the possibilities are endless. Shaw living carpet tiles are easy to clean and maintain, because 100% olefin is inherently stain resistant. But if there is ever a stubborn stain, no problem, simply replace the tile with a new one. Its all about straightforward simplicity with style. A DIY dream.
Overall rating:
4.16 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product141 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 175 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(83)
4
(65)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product141 of 160reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Review 61 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Tina1316
from Pasadena, MD

Carpet squares

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
The adhesive carpet squares were the perfect fit for our basement. They were super easy to use and fit very nicely against each other. The squares were easy to trim with just a pair of scissors.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Ms123
from PA

Good product

PostedMarch 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Berry 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
Rug is very easy to install and stays in place as described. Looks good and nice to walk on.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
RachelD
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Carpet tiles are an affordable quick fix..

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Golden Wheat 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)-DISCONTINUED
I purchased the carpet tiles to go over a very tired wood floor and found them very easy to install and they feel nice underfoot. The color was a bit darker than expected, I had hoped for a lighter straw or natural jute look to them and they are a dark ochre. I decided to install them anyway and they work just fine in the room.They do pick up debris as the weave has a velcro like quality to it, but I am very happy with the finl result of our quick fix.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
pvlv98
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is great!

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
This was a great product. It only took me a couple of hours to install this in an average size bedroom. I couldn't find my utility knife, so I ended up cutting the pieces to fit the corners with my 10 year old's "child" scissors. It looks wonderful! I installed these tiles in a basketweave pattern, and it looks professional. Easiest DIY project ever, and if my kids and dogs mess it up, I can just pull one tile up and install another one! (Be sure and order extra tiles so you can replace as needed).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
moocity4
from Massachusetts

shaws carpet tiles

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Hunter Green 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
I bought these carpet tiles to put down in our basement. Though only once in the 27 years that we have lived here have we had any water problems, I wanted the option of just taking out any affected tiles and drying them, or in the case of a spill, washing them. They arrived just in time for Thanksgiving and the arrival of 7 youngsters. My husband was able to lay these carpet tiles down in the matter of a few hours and they look fabulous. We are very happy with the quality and ease of installation. We definitely would recommend this product to our family and friends.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
IowaB2

Used to be better

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Berber Smoke Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
Years ago when these were still Bretlin I did 2 basement rooms and they were great. Now that they're owned by Shaw I'm much less impressed. I put down 500 sq feet on a basement concrete floor and was amazed at the variation between boxes in the adhesive integrity -- even within a box. Almost 20% were nearly impossible to get the plastic off the adhesive and doing so actually removed a lot of the backing along with it. On the other hand, over 30% were barely tacky and had trouble sticking to my concrete floor. I had mopped the floor and let it dry, so dust wasn't the issue -- they were barely tacky as soon as the plastic was removed and before setting. Quite disappointing. I had none of these issues before when a Bretlin product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Anonymous
from crofton, maryland

great product at this price point- easy to install

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Smoke Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
I did lots of research knowing I had to be in this price point. I was pleased with the quality of the tiles , they are fairly thick and nice construction. My 17 year old son and I installed them in our basement and it was quite easy. With a sharp exacta knife we were able to make all of the cuts and the finished product looked great. We found all of the glue/backing to work just fine. I noticed that earlier complaints were about that but the manufacturer had addressed it and I'm pleased to say every single carpet tile peeled and set perfectly for us.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
JackLaw
from Kentucky

Worked Out Great!

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
I ordered these with great skepticism. I was prepared for the worst but since it was for the basement I thought it was worth a go. I have to say I was wrong about press on carpet tiles. They look great. Very professional! They installed easily and quickly. Very easy to cut to fit around the hearth and door trim. Took about 3 hours to lay out the majority of the 375 square feet and another 2-3 hours to complete the cutting for the trim pieces. We rotated every other tile as suggested on this forum. They look great! Now let's hope they stick!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Linda
from London, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Smoke Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
These carpet tiles were just what I wanted. I installed them in a small office/pet room. They went down really easy and the backing peeled off without any problems. Some of the reviews I read had complained about the backing but I did not have any trouble. The tiles were very uniformly shaped and fit together perfectly. I did the install without my husband's help and he was really impressed with the results! The room looks great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
blockatvalpo
from Ashburn, VA

Great product for the price

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
We finished installing these on Saturday and so far, we love them. My biggest complaints are the glue and the plastic that was on the back of them. Some had arrows and some did not so we had to figure out which way those tiles went. Some peeled off easy and others took some effort. Overall I would get them again and even the ones we had to pull the back off are sticking to the ground.
You can tell we used carpet tile, but I'm ok with that since they are in our basement. They transformed our once concrete living room into a nice cozy living room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Drew1
from Traverse City, MI

Good product, reasonable cost

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Ocean Blue 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
I have used three different colors of these Berber tiles to carpet my basement, and a couple of bedrooms. When applied as directed, they have a very nice, good-quality look to them, and the adhesive on the back makes the application much easier.
The only problems I found are that the plastic backing sometimes sticks to the tile, tearing away the adhesive; the carpet adheres to the ground over time as it is walked on. Also, I applied them on concrete, so the edges were under the baseboards. Having padding under would keep feet warmer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Badokole
from New York, NY, USA

Carpet, yes. Tile, not so much.

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Berber Golden Wheat 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)-DISCONTINUED
I tried this tile because I thought I couldn't afford the more expensive brand of floor tiles... But you get what you pay for and in this case, it's not a whole lot!  They're going back ASAP! I've used carpet tile before so I was expecting something more substantial than this product. When other customers  noted how "thin" it is, I chalked it up to having the usual vinyl backing and a very low nap. But this tile has NO vinyl backing to speak of at all! 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
stward
from Scotrun, Pa

Excellent Product

PostedAugust 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
This has got to be the easiest way to update a room. Installation was a breeze, instructions were clear and precise and the price is amazing. I just redid a bedroom on a budget and the room looks very stylish with these tiles. The color is a grayish beige and very neutral for any decor.The tiles fit together so easily and there was no problem with with them sticking. What amazed me was that once their placed, they stay put with no shifting yet, you can still pull them up, if needed, with no sticky residue and they go back down on the floor and re-adhere so simply. They also come with a 3 year warranty. I like the fact that in addition to being stain resistant, they're also odor resistant. I'm planning to redo a guest room next and I definately will be ordering these again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Mickey

Cheap

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Berber Golden Wheat 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)-DISCONTINUED
These carpet squares were bought to replace others that were about 12 years old. What a difference between the two! Comparing them, the new ones were extremely thin and lightweight. Several squares out of each box were already frayed at the edges. Got my money back at the store and bought a large, decent rug which will be cut to fit - more work but, at least, the result will be satisfying not embarrassing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Chad88
from Lancaster, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product has great features

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
This product is a great value for a do it yourselfer who has a small budget. It was delivered with no damaged boxs and in a timely manner. Easy to instale just take your time to make sure the piece is were you want it. A great product for playrooms where carpets get dirty because you just pull up stained or damaged tile and replace it instend of the whole carpet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
StevenP

Neat and quick

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Sand Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 Tiles/Case)
Bought and installed the tiles to replace old berber carpet in the basement. Worst part of the job was getting old carpet glue off the floor. (best method for me, boiling water on the glue, wait a few minutes, scrape up with a scraper). Carpet tiles went on quick, and looked neat. 12X12 in allowed for easy addition of a decorative stripe around the wall. I didn't have a single bad tile in the +20 boxes I used. I would definitely use again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
SMDM
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to work with. Looks great

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Golden Wheat 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)-DISCONTINUED
The tiles were easy to work with. I used them for the floor inside my front door and on the steps as stair treads. They look great. If one tile gets dirty beyond cleaning you could just pull it up and replace it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Evan

Good for the money

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Ocean Blue 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
Works as advertised. Colors do not always match even within the same box. Good product for a utility room or closet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
Lisa030
from New Jersey

PostedMay 18, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Berber Smoke Loop 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20-case)-DISCONTINUED
The plastic backing was hard to remove and took most the adhesive off with it. The tiles stuck for a few days, but then started coming up in the areas without adhesive. My puppy was able to pull off the rest of the carpet off within seconds after she discovered one lose corner. For the areas where the adhesive was on, that portion leaves a residue that I now cannot get off the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy Customer Servicehomedepot.comNovember 20, 2009
Based on this review and other feedback, the manufacturer investigated the problem and found that one of the machines used in the manufacturing process was out of adjustment. In June, they made the necessary adjustments and assigned an inspector to ensure that this issues does not resurface.”
Review 80 for Berber Black 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)
GCous
from Vermont

Berber Golden Wheat Tile carpet

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Berber Golden Wheat 12 in. x 12 in. Carpet Tiles (20 tiles)-DISCONTINUED
This carpet is about what I expected, after reading reviews.
It goes down good. It's best alternating the pattern otherwise lines show. I would have liked more cushioning. This carpet goes down good. I like the idea of replacing just one square if something damages the carpet. I would do it again just for the ease and not having to pay extra to have someone install it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 9 >>