728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER

70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER

Improve home health and comfort by eliminating dampness, mold and mildew growth with the Energy Star rated Danby Dehumidifier model DDR7009REE. With a 70-pint capacity, this model will cover up to 3,800 sq.ft. This dehumidifier is a market leader with its R410A coolant that makes it eco-friendly & EPA recommended. It also offers electronic controls, remote control, automatic humidity settings, two fan speeds, removable air filter and casters for easy portability.
Overall rating:
4.289 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product95 of 104reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(29)
3
(10)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product95 of 104reviews
Customer reviews for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
Review 1 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Racine, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good value for the money

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've never owned a standalone dehumidifier and am very happy with its performance. It is fairly quiet, and has dried my 2,000 square foot basement really well. It was pulling 2 full buckets of water every day before I decided to attach the drain hose. Works well!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from The Atlanta area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well designed & good value

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit replaced a 20+ year old Kenmore that finally died. The reason I chose this unit over other high rated systems was because it had a defrost feature. Our basement has been much cooler in the winter time after sealing the a/c ductwork (less warm air leaking into the basement). The cooler basement caused the coil to freeze up more often on the old unit, which probably hastened its demise.
The unit appears to be well designed and has worked well since I purchased it a few weeks ago. The fan does run all the time which should help maintain better humidity control. I based my review on the fact that I have over 35 years of experience in the HVAC industry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Nice unit, time will tell

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After going through three LG units in 5 years (all replaced under warranty). I decided to give Danby a shot. All of the units in this price range are made in china, including this danby unit. As with all portable dehumidifiers, longevity is the key as none seem to last. Notwithstanding longevity, I've been impressed with this unit in the few weeks I've had it. First, it comes with a 26 month warranty. Second, the connection to a garden hose is the best I've seen as it connects directly in the back of the unit, no adapter needed. It does not leak. It sucks water out well. You set it at the desired humidity level and once it gets to that level, the compressor kicks off. When humidity rises 5 degrees from your setting, it kicks back on. The fan runs continuously, by design. When compressor runs, warm air kicks out so expect it to heat your room a bit, but it is a dry heat so feels comfortable. It's not loud. I have it in my basement and can watch tv without really noticing it. One thing I didn't like was the lack of an extended warranty available as I easily would have paid for it.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Harrisburg, Pa. 17109
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall I Recommend This Unit

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
WORKS GREAT, HOW LONG, IMPORTED
Did my research to the point where I have to much Info. about Dehumidifiers. A Consumer Tester doesn't rank this model tops, but I don't always rank them tops either, since I have to subscribe to a magazine to be able to pay more to subscribe online.
Back to the DANBY,
I bought the 70 pint monster for my Finished 5 Room Basement, if your gonna one for a large area or several rooms? get a big one) It does the job and won't work up a sweat and only needs to run a limited number of hours a day!
About the Negatives: NONE FOR ME YET ! But some people who have negatives, sometimes don't really know how to use the unit correctly !
FAN RUNS CONTINUOUSLY : but that is good, when humidity level near the unit is down to unit setting, compressor shuts down but humidity level at other locations may still be too high?
Fan running creates a constant air flow similar to Central AC or auto AC (in & out), pulling new moist air to the unit and pushing dried air up and away from unit. Some other units will draw moist air in from front of unit, dehumidify it and exhaust it out the back, the dry air can bounce off a wall (if unit has to be placed near one) and tell the Dehumidifier sensor it is not needed to run the compressor, while other areas of your basement or living area may still be somewhat damp?
The DANBY INTAKES FRONT and Exhausts OUT TOP ( SENSIBLE IDEA ).
Figure out how long your unit needs to run to do the job you want it to, then set the TIMER to run, 2,4,6,8,10 hours @ night when energy costs are lowest for you. unit will automatically shut on or off by your settings. Hook up the direct drain (longer hose if necessary) Now you are good to go and forget emptying the bucket.
I have a dry basement but in humid weather this sucker will take a gallon a day out of my 5 Room FINISHED basement. Buy a couple of inexpensive Hygrometers to use to TEST the Humidity in the areas that you want to Dehumidify.
NEGATIVES ? NONE FOR ME !
Exhaust Creates Heat: NOT EXACTLY, humidified air will feel somewhat warmer (couple degrees) since their is no moisture in it.
If your whole area feels a tad warmer? your unit is doing a swell job !
Short Drain Hose: Get a longer one (Garden hose works) .
Drain Bucket Awkward To Empty: Learn how to do it, it takes a little practice for some ! If you can't? use DIRECT DRAIN Feature, I did.
Noisy: The bigger the COMPRESSOR, usually the more noise. You will get used to it, although NOT EXCESSIVE TO ME, especially on low fan setting. High Fan Setting Will Move More Air From Longer Distances !
Continuous Fan: GREAT FEATURE ! You can learn how to CONTROL THIS if it bothers you, WITH THE TIMER.
Value versus Price: only 4 0f 5 stars because: Quality is probably as to be expected for the year 2012 and the world we live in.
Don't expect this or any of the newer units to be running 10 years from now !
If you get 5 Years? you will be lucky.
Overall after just a week I have removed at least 6 gals. of water from my DRY BASEMENT.
Now I am experimenting with using the TIMER to run just enough hours as needed, at night only.
If my unit was in my bedroom or living area I would set TIMER to do the job when I was at work or away.
NICE WARRANTY BUT you must transport unit to nearest authorized Service Center.
My 1st unit lasted 30th years, don't expect that in 2012 but the Danby 70 Pint Unit has met my expectations and more to date !
I RECOMMEND THIS UNIT !
THE WOODMAN
+112points
114out of 116found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from The humid East Coast

Danby dehumidifier

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had the Danby 70 pt dehumidifier for about 2 weeks. It replaced another 40 pt unit that failed. So far, we are pleased with it. We use it with the drain hose (provided!), and it operates continuously. The ability to set the desired humidity is a nice feature, and the humidistat does seem to respond to small changes in the humidity around the unit. It is holding the basement at 50% humidity through rainy periods and humid, warm weather. It is a bit noisier than the smaller unit, but that is because the Danby has a stronger/larger fan. It is not so noisy that we see this as a problem.
The information we found suggested that this unit has the best reliability rating of dehumidifiers in the same class. We hope that it will last a good while.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER

Happy So Far

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ordered this unit online, as they only had the 45 pint in store. Delivered with no problems and was easy to set up.
I have had it only for three weeks an so far no prolems. It is a quite machine compared to other units I have had. I do not need to leave it on all the time and it will easily dryout my basement (part finished, part open, part open crawl) to mid 40 degrees relatively quickly, as I don't have a wet basement. Two small negatives. The unit does not have an automatic shut off and the drain hose has limited length. So far I have not gotten an extention so am empting the bucket when needed. I am hoping this unit lasts longer than my LG which quit after 13 months.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Harrisburg, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2nd review ! And Still Satisfied (From "The WOODMAN")

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
From my previous review of this product, I offer this update, still less than a month of operation.
I know that this unit will do the job in my 5 room finished basement, and will get to each nook and cranny because of the continuous fan operation in the on position.
I am running it like 4 or 5 hours by TIMER at night only to determine what my exact schedule will be during normal conditions. Obviously mother Nature can cause this to change from time to time !
Running as I do now at night, the unit will bring the entire basement down into the mid to high 40% range.
Then during the day, without unit running, humidity will creep back up to 53-54% which is pretty much normal.
It is kind of fun working out my schedule, direct drain of course helps alot, except that I really have so many other projects going on all the time.
As of today: 5-22-2012 I STILL RECOMMEND THIS UNIT !
I guess time will tell the rest of the story. TO HELP YOU ! The Woodman
+40points
43out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Florence, OR

Model # DDR7009REE

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More than expected. Shows temp, humidity and even came with a hose. Not as noisy as some of them. I have 4 different models. This one is my work horse and in my stand-a-lone garage. I atch'd the hose, ran it to the corner of the garage door and no longer have to empty a humidifier everyday. The precip shows quick adjustments as it changes in seconds when I open a door. Basically, it's a no worries humidifier. What more can I say? Heck, I live in Oregon!!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Rochester NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Low quality product

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this product for two years. Freezes up when temperature in room is less than 65 degrees. Very hard to keep the drainage hose attached. Just a low quality product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, freezes up at a drop of the hat
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Lancaster, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality dehumidifier!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I decided to purchase this dehumidifier for my basement. I store many things in my basement and I wanted to be sure that nothing got ruined because of mold. This is a heavy dehumidifier, but once it is out of the box, it is quite easy to move as it's on wheels. The machine is noisy, as other people said as well, but it doesn't bother me because I bought it to strictly use in the basement. I bought a hose to connect my dehumidifier to my sump pump so that I don't have to worry about emptying the water tank. (This dehumidifier came with a hose, but I would not feel secure using that hose, as it looks cheaply made and I would worry about water leaking from the hose.) I am very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to other people.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Durable, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER

So far so good

PostedJune 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this dehumidifier to replace an LG model that had started overheating. I chose the Danby because of the Consumer Reports rating and the relatively good reviews as compared to other dehumidifiers. I received the Danby about 3 days after placing my order. It arrived double boxed and I unpacked it immediately. The unit seems sturdy and well made and the only thing to do after unboxing it is to remove some packaging tape and plug it in. I have it in a 1200 sqaure foot basement and it started to bring down the humidity within a hour. I let it run overnight and by morning the humidity level had dropped from 75% to 55% which was my target setting.
Some things I've noticed so far. The fan is a bit noisy on high, but seems powerful and since it is in the basement I don't care about the noise too much. The fan does run all the time, but this is fine as it helps circulate the otherwise stagnant basement air. I am using the included drain hose to drain water from the machine into the condensate pump for my furnace and that was easy to connect and is working without any problems. There is also a remote although I'm not sure why anyone would want it. The only options I wished it had was a cycle timer (on 2 hours off two hours, etc) and non volatile memory. My old LG had both of these options and it the Danby had them I would have rated the unit five stars.
Only time will tell if this was a good purchase, but so far I'm happy with it. I will repost if anything changes.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Statesville, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what i expect it to do

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought unit for basement. Pulls so much moisture out so fast that had to empty reservoir every 6 hours so put drain into HVAC sump pump. I guess quiet is a relative term. Even on low it would be too loud for an occupied room. This is my first dehumidifier so I have no real point of reference. I am happy with the purchase. Appears to be well built.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does everything it claimed to do!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research and this dehumidifier was recommended for cold, damp basements. It arrived nicely packaged and quickly. It is easy to dump out the water.
You would not believe the difference - the basement is normal temperature and so dry!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Vernon, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really sucks water out of the air

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this dehumidifier for my daughters house because she was very sick from allergies for several weeks almost to the point of having to go to the hospital. Within two to three days she was feeling much better.
It came with the outer box wet. The inner box was damp but the dehumidifier was packaged in plastic so it was ok. It started up and ran great. It was very quiet and really sucked water out of the air well. The bucket had to be emptied several times the first few days and now only once a day now that humidity is down to 40% and holding. The musty smell is gone. It was well worth the money to get her better. I would recommend it to any one who has allergies from mold or has a damp room. It is in the basement of a damp 1200 sq ft house and handling it well. I will be getting one for my house as well.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER

Bucket-full Switch Needs Re-engineering

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Received my unit new today.Seems there is a design/engineering failure with this unit. The end of the bucket float has a plastic piece that is supposed to push against the bucket-full switch to permit the dehumidifier to work when the bucket is empty. On my unit, no matter what I did, within 30 seconds of getting the unit to run, it would shut off with the red bucket-full light lit. Even with zero water in the bucket. Luckily for me, I'd intended all along to use the drain hose for continuous running without having to empty the bucket. I defeated the bucket-full switch by taping it in the empty position, after I attached the drain hose. So far, so good, but I'll have to keep an eye on the unit in case the drain hose gets clogged and the bucket fills. No overflow warning anymore. The design needs to be improved.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from New Jersey

Great Quality

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this to dehumidify the basement. The product comes shipped without any extra packaging so that was a little offsetting. But everything in the box was packed well and the quality of the unit seems top notch. The unit is a lot smaller and lighter than I expected after reading the reviews which was great. And since it comes on wheels it was easy to get where I needed. The unit runs exactly as described. Its not too loud but its in my basement where I cant hear it anyway. Its a nice touch that they included the hose for auto draining. The only negative is that the fan runs all the time even when not dehumidifiying and also causes the room to heat up quite a bit. Hopefully it will last beyond the first year.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Milwaukee, WI

Nice Unit

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only had the unit a couple of months. I replaced a Frigidaire model that broke twice in 2 years and I finally got my money back on it.
PRO: Doesn't freeze up in cooler (60F) temps.
Does a good job of removing moisture.
CON: The water bucket is fairly small and needs to be emptied often, but it's not an issue if using the supplied drain hose.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER

Does exactly everything it said it will do and delivered quickly.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a homeowner for 30 years who always needed a dehumidifier for the basement. This one does its job better than any we have owned and is QUIET. Easy to emply and I also like the 2 year warranty.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Hickory, NC USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great in my basement

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is performing with no issues. My basement was at 74% humidity when I turned it on. It is now set to and maintaining 50% humidity in 1450sf basement. I do have to empty it everyday since I have not installed a continous drain yet.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 70 PINT DEHUMIDIFIER
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in one of the wettest places in Florida, in the country, and it's been a very rainy year. The humidity was so high, we had to knock the salt shaker on the table to break up the salt before it would come out.
When we turn this dehumidifier on after not having run it for a while, it sometimes reports the humidity at 85% or 90%. After running it a short while, the humidity get's down to 50% or so. We only run it maybe eight hours a day, but the salt shaker works, the clothes in the closet don't feel damp anymore, and the whole house feels better.
I bought a couple of hygrometers to double check the humidity level against what this dehumidifier reports, and all measurements are in agreement. This thing works well.
As far as the noise level goes, it's not bad. I wouldn't want to try to watch tv quietly with this thing on in the same room. We keep it in the dining room, next to the living room, with an open door in between, and we can watch tv with it running, no problem.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>