728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric

6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric

The YARDGARD 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-Gauge Chain Link Fabric has been galvanized before weaving to help eliminate sharp edges and burrs that can cut or scratch you. This chain link fabric can be used for building a fence around your home or even business. This fabric is made of galvanized steel and has a silver finish.
Overall rating:
4.091 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
Review 1 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Medford, Oregon

Chain link

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have never installed a chain link fence before so this project was a learning experience. The chain link "fabric" is heavy and unwieldy for one person to muscle around - but I managed it for the most part by myself. Stretching the fabric tight between poles was the most difficult as I didn't purchase the tool designed for this purpose. Having said that - I believe I managed to get the material stretched plenty tightly enough. Unwinding one wire in the fabric to ensure a custom fit between poles was difficult -- until I learned that you can simply grab the wire you wish to break (with pliers) and break it off by twisting it hard. This process made the job much faster and easier than attempting to unweave the fabric. All in all the fence truned out good and the product was easy to use - I do recommend gloves however!
+58points
66out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't use this if you want strength

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product at the zoo I work at and this 11.5 gage is not as strong as products I've purchased from other companies. It's fine for residential use and great for someone learning how to install their first fence. I noticed someone said they didn't have the right tools. Don't even attempt this if you don't have a means to stretch the mesh. Fence puller and a wench of some type.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Cape Coral, Fl

fencing

PostedApril 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great Prices, the staff was very helpful! I would definetely recomend this product to anyone looking for a fence for there home.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Artesia, n.m.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Strong product. Easy to adjust length. Had a few minor problems with bent wire I thought was a tie wire. All in all it works great. Make shire you buy a fence stretcher to install.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from HVL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

GOOD PRODUCT

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
VERY GOOD PRODUCT AT A RIGHT PRICE, HARD TO GET 6' HIGH
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Huntsville TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More saving more doing

PostedApril 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought four rolls marked 50' for a two hundred foot fence. When I got to the end I still needed 66" to make the terminal post. Used the tool sold in the store with a cable come along to stretch. Pro Contractor had to splice pieces from one roll to the next in order to make the 50' terminal post. I know a 2"x'4" is short on measurement but I had no idea it applied to chain link fence.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Dingmans Ferry PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good all purpose fencing, great price !

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this fencing is easy to work with, great price, very durable in harsh winter climates.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, great price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Carmel, NY 10512, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great product - though heavy it is a one person job
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Good Shape
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from west paducah, ky
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's fencing..... It works fine. cheaper than anyplace else.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's fencing..... It works fine. cheaper than anyplace else. I'm going to need some more and will buy this product again. It's only been up for a few weeks so I can't comment on if it's going to rust in a few months.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from North Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked this fence fabric up at the store so I would not have to wait at home for the delivery . The store had it bundled on a pallet and loaded it easily on my truck . Most chain link fabric has one twisted pointy end for an anti-climb feature . This does not . Each roll has the wire to connect two rolls together and it was easy to do . I have installed some and it looks very clean and orderly . It will keep my dogs in and my livestock and also varmints out .
Pros: Multi Use, good value
Cons: no anti-climb barbs
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. x 50 ft. 11.5-gauge Galvanized Steel Chain Link Fabric
from Newton,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Picture shows green, text says silver.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Went to the store to buy green fencing and they ony had silver, Came home and discovered the picture was inaccurate.
-35points
5out of 45found this review helpful.