728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

Our fully adjustable, Adjust-A-Gate system is ideal for repairing and old gate or building a new gate. Equipped with all necessary parts, our gate is assembled onsite to get the job done right the first time.
Overall rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product51 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product51 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Review 1 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
danswife
from Del Norte, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love this gate!

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gate was very easy to install and adjust. It works perfectly and it looks fantastic.
The instructions were easy to follow and all the parts fit together well. We readjusted the tension on the cable, after we applied the fence boards, which lined up the gate and latch perfectly. The gate is very stable and does not sag. We had the job done, start to finish, in about 2 hours.
Because our opening was 87" and angled, and we needed the gate wide enough to get our riding mower through, this gate saved us a ton of hassles and looks much better than anything else we considered.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
ZonaTravelers
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits the opening that you decide on!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I put our double gate up in an afternoon.
After considering all of the options we decided to install our new RV gate using two of these Three-Rail kits. The deciding factors for us were: great value, ease of installation, flexibility of opening size and the "professional" look of the finished product. We did not use the latch system provided with the kits so that we could open the gates in both directions. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Mbrando
from NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution to odd gate size requirements

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gate kit was perfect for making a gate that had to fit in a long off sized space. Easy to install and very sturdy construction.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Jabba1
from Salem, Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, excellent price and surprisingly strong.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've built a few gates in my day and was skeptical. My gate is just under 8' and figured it would sag. Wow, was I off, it only sagged less than 1". It went together fast and looks great. I would recommend you check this out before choosing another. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, great price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Bobby
from El Monte, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent and easy gate.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an 18' wide driveway. I called several fence/gate manufactures and was quoted from $1800.00 to $2500.00. I found this product online at Home Depot, so I ordered two and had them deliveded to my home. I was a bit nervous at first because I had never built a gate before. This product was so easy to assemble it took only 30 minutes. It came with everything except the 2x4's. I am really glad I found and purchased this product and I recommend it highly.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Michaelp236
from Holiday, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest projects to complete, thanks a to simple design and great easy to follow instructions. The gate is very strong. Recommend having a helper to hold 2/4's in place. For the gate latch I had to do a little out of the box thinking, but it works. (wife approved performance).
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Mike
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed, but made it work.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was disappointed the first time the minute I opened the instruction and learned that these gates were designed to open inward! Did I miss something in the advertising of this product? Opening inward was not an option for me...but I made it work. The second time I became disappointed was when I went to tighten one of the cable clamps and it would not tighten. It was as if the nut was bigger than the u-bolt! A trip to the hardware store gave me four good quality cable clamps and I tossed the cheap junk provided in the gate kits. The THIRD time I became disappointed was when I went to tighten one of the turnbuckles and, like the cable clamp, the threads slipped. Another trip to the hardware store got me beefier turnbuckles. Needless to say, I did not have a good day! Granted, I created one gate almost 8' wide and another 6.5', but I did not exceed the advertised limits of the product, and I did not try to "lift" the heavy gate up to level, merely tried to maintain level wit the cable/turnbuckle. In conclusion, the concept is wonderful, the frames nice, but the enclosed hardware is cheap junk! It would have even failed had I only been creating a 3' gate! I'm pleased with the final product, but it took two trips to the store and some extra expense!
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
jimbo

good product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It did the jjob and was pretty easy to install. It should be noted for security and to make sure the finished gate can't be simply lifted off the hinge posts by someone make sure to turn one of these hinge posts in the opposite direction from the other.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
VIC4186
from Eastlake, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very versatile

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
made a few mistakes at the first attempt, but next time will be a breeze to assemble now that i know what im doing! you can be very creative or just plain and simple. I LOVE THIS!!
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
dww9
from el cajon, ca

does the job

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
On the good side it was easy to work with. I especially like that i now have two 7 foot swinging gates that can handle the weight of the heavy composite fence boards i used. Looks good & seems sturdy so far.
The bad, using there hinge system i could not get the gates to open more then 90 degrees which was needed in order to get my RV turned out of my back yard. So i had to buy a typical door hinge system and drill & install (4ea) with additional hardware. This allowed more opening....
This gate will take longer then expected to install and it does use thin wall tubing that bends easily when using hardware resulting in the thin layer of paint coming off.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
TomCat

Good sturdy frame

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple and easy to install. I liked it so much I ordered another one.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Robert
from California

BUY THIS PRODUCT, DONT BAY FOR A FENCE COMPANY

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install, fully adjustable up to 96 inches
this is the best way to create a sturdy RV gate.
These gates come in many sizes to fit your appliction.
Dont pay hundreds of dollars for a fence company to
install wide gate, Use this product ! highly recommended
All metal frame high quality USA made
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
earpiercing1
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product for Oversized Gates

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use Adjust a Gate frames for every wide driveway gate I install. It is just the better route to go for oversized gates. Wood framing will warp and/or sag over time (sometimes not very much time). These gate frames are great for preventing sagging on wide gates and cost wise they are virtually the same price as framing with pressure treated lumber.
As for this model I would suggest that #1) They add one additional hinge for each gate frame because at 8' wide the frames do start to flex slightly on the hinge side. I added one more hinge near the top to counter this problem. And #2) I would suggest different spacing on the hinges whether using the 2 provided or even when adding a third hinge. The instructions say to install the hinges 16" up & down from the center of the post. This works, but as I mentioned before, the hinge side starts to flex a bit when going the full 8' width. The top hinge being located higher would help with this, or adding a third hinge up higher too. Personally I would suggest 3 hinges equally spaced with the top one as high up as possible.
Other than the flexing at the hinge side I swear by these gate frames. They are adjustable to fit virtually any width and I've had very good results using them. Oh, one other thing that deserves mention is the screws that are provided are not very good quality and I've found that virtually ALL of them snap and break once any substantial weight is put on the frames. So I also would suggest using your own (separately purchased) screws for the job. I use deck mate 2 1/2" coated screws to replace their 3" wood screw and the deck mate's haven't broken in my experience.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Cost Effective, Durable
Cons: poor quality screws/fastners
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
ness
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy do it

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
no brainer , adjustable(very important) arrived earlier than expected. i will recommend this product
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
DIYHomeowner
from North Myrtle Beach, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, worked well over a large span and maintained weight of a bamboo fence panel with no drag
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
HandyNoni

Great product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Would recommend supporting the opposite end to the hinges on blocks of wood to ensure good leveling. Other than that it's a very straight forward and easy installation.
The look and finished product is a great added value to my home.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Respy
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great, easy custom gate maker!!!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only negative is some of the hardware (screws that attach the wood rails) are cheap. Easy enough to use your own. Easy to assemble (relative to making a durable custom gate from scratch), Adjustable to compensate for sag, Sturdy and stable! I made my gate about 7 feet wide and it is rock solid, with no drooping. Used Treated 2 x 4 s and the 5/8 x 5 pickets, which makes it pretty heavy, but it swings like a feather. This is the second of these I used. The first one was a smaller gate and I simply attached the gate panel to the Adjust a gate and it works out just as well.
Pros: Easy to Install, Sturdy, adjustable
Cons: the wood screws are poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
RescueMom
from Hartland, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Fit

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had a horrible time trying to figure out how to get a gate installed for our fence without having to break our concrete. This adjustable gate was perfect for us, as we needed a gate 65" wide. It was simple to install, and seems to be of good quality, and nice and sturdy. The only drawback was the price, it seemed to be a bit pricey... but all in all, we are very happy with our purchase, and our dogs are now free to run wild in the back yard.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Richard
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, received early

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only suggestion I would make is that the holes that attach to the 2x4's be counter sunk. I did that to mine and the wood fence boards were then almost flush with the rest of the boards on the gate. I did router though just to make it perfect.
I used steel posts so lag bolt pins were of no use. I made my own pins for the hindges.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
navy689
from Roseville, CAlifornia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest Gate I Ever Installed

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've built and installed several gates over the years. This "kit" is a great approach to the whole problem. It took about 45 minutes to finish the project. I had a helper and would recommend one as things go much faster.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>