728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fencing Parts & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

Ask for the adjustable, Adjust-A-Gate system every time for your gate needs. This line is ideal for repairing an old gate or building a new one. Including all necessary hardware & parts, our gate is assembled onsite to get the job done right, the first time! The Adjust-A-Gate system comes with all the components needed to build a sturdy, reliable gate that will serve you for years to come. You simply add rails and fence boards, you will have a gate for life. Accessories include an optional drop rod for double drive applications.
Overall rating:
4.63 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product66 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(17)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product66 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Review 1 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Omaha, Nebraska
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Large Gate Product Ever!!

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am Extremely happy with this product! I bought two kits to make a double swinging gate 12 foot wide, and it worked perfect! I used 6x6x12 posts buried 6 foot deep in 12 inch diameter of concrete (Very Solid!) These gates have been hanging for about 6 months and no warping or sagging at all. After reading other reviews I didn't even attempt to use the screws that came with the kit so I can't comment on how well they are but according to others it's best to use your own as I did.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Del Norte, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love this gate!

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gate was very easy to install and adjust. It works perfectly and it looks fantastic.
The instructions were easy to follow and all the parts fit together well. We readjusted the tension on the cable, after we applied the fence boards, which lined up the gate and latch perfectly. The gate is very stable and does not sag. We had the job done, start to finish, in about 2 hours.
Because our opening was 87" and angled, and we needed the gate wide enough to get our riding mower through, this gate saved us a ton of hassles and looks much better than anything else we considered.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits the opening that you decide on!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I put our double gate up in an afternoon.
After considering all of the options we decided to install our new RV gate using two of these Three-Rail kits. The deciding factors for us were: great value, ease of installation, flexibility of opening size and the "professional" look of the finished product. We did not use the latch system provided with the kits so that we could open the gates in both directions. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Akron, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great investment!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this gate frame with treated 2x4's and attached chain link for better air flow and snow dispersion. Easy, easy, easy and came with all the required screws, etc.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Northern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great gate!!

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is just what we wanted, send to us very fast, easy to install. Works just like it should. We will be adding more fence and gates to,our yard soon and will be getting them from Home Depot for sure.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Chapin South Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice product

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have two issues with these adjust a gates. The first is the hardware used to construct the truss wire was poorly made and had to be replaced with better quality items. I contacted the manufacture and they sent replacement parts but they were made the same flimsy material. The second issue is trying to mount the latch when using two door kits to make a double gate. The striker and latch won't line up. Overall these kits were very easy to use and the finished product was a good looking gate. I purchased four total kits and was satisfied with the end result of my first fence gates.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: plan on replacing hardware
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from El Monte, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent and easy gate.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an 18' wide driveway. I called several fence/gate manufactures and was quoted from $1800.00 to $2500.00. I found this product online at Home Depot, so I ordered two and had them deliveded to my home. I was a bit nervous at first because I had never built a gate before. This product was so easy to assemble it took only 30 minutes. It came with everything except the 2x4's. I am really glad I found and purchased this product and I recommend it highly.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Phenix City AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Gate Replacement Ever!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the 8-foot gate to replace two sagging 4-footers. Over the last ten years, the older gates had been repaired and rebuilt several times, and all eventually started to drag on the ground.
The best thing about the Adjust-a-Gate is that it uses the same hinges as found on chain link fences. I remember as a kid that chain link gates seemed to last forever. And I don't have any memories of a chain link gate hinge failing.
We installed two new treated 4x4 posts with one and a half bags of Quickrete fast-drying cement per post. Definitely want someone to help, when you are setting up the gate. Once you get the 2x4's attached, the gate frame will stiffen and become more manageable for one person to work on.
We opted for new treated dog-eared pickets, since the old one's were worrn out from so many repairs/rebuilds. Others here mentioned using coated deck screws (great idea!), which is what we did as well. If you install pickets, you'll need them anyway to attach to the front of the 2x4's.
The photos show the gate after we stained the fence and hardware. (The green color is actually easy on the eyes and blends well with the lawn and bushes. It helps eliminate the glare you normally get from unstained or light-colored privacy fences.)
The gate has been up for about two months, with no sag at all. Wish we had known about Adjust-a-Gate sooner. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Easy to Assemble, no sag, quality metal frame
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from battle creek
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

eazy & strong

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
simple, made a double gate 6 ft tall 6 ft wide privacy gate
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Salem, Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, excellent price and surprisingly strong.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've built a few gates in my day and was skeptical. My gate is just under 8' and figured it would sag. Wow, was I off, it only sagged less than 1". It went together fast and looks great. I would recommend you check this out before choosing another. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, great price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

good product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It did the jjob and was pretty easy to install. It should be noted for security and to make sure the finished gate can't be simply lifted off the hinge posts by someone make sure to turn one of these hinge posts in the opposite direction from the other.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from el cajon, ca

does the job

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
On the good side it was easy to work with. I especially like that i now have two 7 foot swinging gates that can handle the weight of the heavy composite fence boards i used. Looks good & seems sturdy so far.
The bad, using there hinge system i could not get the gates to open more then 90 degrees which was needed in order to get my RV turned out of my back yard. So i had to buy a typical door hinge system and drill & install (4ea) with additional hardware. This allowed more opening....
This gate will take longer then expected to install and it does use thin wall tubing that bends easily when using hardware resulting in the thin layer of paint coming off.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution to odd gate size requirements

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gate kit was perfect for making a gate that had to fit in a long off sized space. Easy to install and very sturdy construction.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

easy to install

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put in two gate frames, this one and the 2 rail gates. Looks great with the cedar fencing. Easy to install and will look great for years, no sagging in this gate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Brooksville, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

quick & easy

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Gate kit allowed me to build a 6 x 16 gate at my camp by myself. It was so easy, all parts needed were supplied.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i got what package said i would get and i'm happy with the out come after i installed it myself
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Value of function vs. cost

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional contractor. My particular project required 2 gates, each 7 feet wide forming a 14' wide opening. Tolerances were tighter than a pasture gate where function is more important than looks, which meant I needed something other than a solid wood gate....wood was not going to perform over time....is just not as strong as metal. This kit solved my dilemma, providing sub structure rigidity, at a good budget point....and the finished gate still has a custom wood look.
In my design application, I wanted the gate flush to the face of pickets, so I had to improvise the hinge type supplied, by sourcing other hinges, as the hinges supplied are designed to be closer to center of post. Supplied hinge kit is a great value, (my second hand hinge purchase cost more than this entire kit) works just fine, just would not function as my circumstance required. It should be noted that supplied hinges, because of how they anchor to post, limit the amount of opening to gate....90 degrees is always possible....but the gate will not open to 180 degrees.....exact opening beyond 90 degrees is dependent upon particular circumstance.
I did notice more than one customer pic from reviews web-site,showed the turn buckle assembly to be installed wrong. It should be high on hinge side of gate, to low on gate latch side, to function as engineered....it is useless installed the opposite manner....homeowners beware....or hire a professional....but this gate is designed for most anyone to install without "reinventing the wheel" .
Overall this gate support system is a good value, and functions as stated. I would purchase again for a similar need. I would have liked to have an option for stainless steel....nothing wrong with quality of this system relative to price.
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
Cons: hinges work well....just limit gate opening size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Holiday, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest projects to complete, thanks a to simple design and great easy to follow instructions. The gate is very strong. Recommend having a helper to hold 2/4's in place. For the gate latch I had to do a little out of the box thinking, but it works. (wife approved performance).
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

Easy and attractive

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Easy to adjust to size. I put two of these up alone, with pickets, in about 2.5 hrs. If you are going to put it up alone have some clamps on hand. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3-Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from California

BUY THIS PRODUCT, DONT BAY FOR A FENCE COMPANY

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install, fully adjustable up to 96 inches
this is the best way to create a sturdy RV gate.
These gates come in many sizes to fit your appliction.
Dont pay hundreds of dollars for a fence company to
install wide gate, Use this product ! highly recommended
All metal frame high quality USA made
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>