728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fencing Parts & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

Our fully adjustable, Adjust-A-Gate system is ideal for repairing and old gate or building a new gate. Equipped with all necessary parts, our gate is assembled onsite to get the job done right the first time.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product58 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(44)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product58 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
Review 1 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Del Norte, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love this gate!

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gate was very easy to install and adjust. It works perfectly and it looks fantastic.
The instructions were easy to follow and all the parts fit together well. We readjusted the tension on the cable, after we applied the fence boards, which lined up the gate and latch perfectly. The gate is very stable and does not sag. We had the job done, start to finish, in about 2 hours.
Because our opening was 87" and angled, and we needed the gate wide enough to get our riding mower through, this gate saved us a ton of hassles and looks much better than anything else we considered.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits the opening that you decide on!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I put our double gate up in an afternoon.
After considering all of the options we decided to install our new RV gate using two of these Three-Rail kits. The deciding factors for us were: great value, ease of installation, flexibility of opening size and the "professional" look of the finished product. We did not use the latch system provided with the kits so that we could open the gates in both directions. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Chapin South Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice product

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have two issues with these adjust a gates. The first is the hardware used to construct the truss wire was poorly made and had to be replaced with better quality items. I contacted the manufacture and they sent replacement parts but they were made the same flimsy material. The second issue is trying to mount the latch when using two door kits to make a double gate. The striker and latch won't line up. Overall these kits were very easy to use and the finished product was a good looking gate. I purchased four total kits and was satisfied with the end result of my first fence gates.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: plan on replacing hardware
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Phenix City AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Gate Replacement Ever!

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the 8-foot gate to replace two sagging 4-footers. Over the last ten years, the older gates had been repaired and rebuilt several times, and all eventually started to drag on the ground.
The best thing about the Adjust-a-Gate is that it uses the same hinges as found on chain link fences. I remember as a kid that chain link gates seemed to last forever. And I don't have any memories of a chain link gate hinge failing.
We installed two new treated 4x4 posts with one and a half bags of Quickrete fast-drying cement per post. Definitely want someone to help, when you are setting up the gate. Once you get the 2x4's attached, the gate frame will stiffen and become more manageable for one person to work on.
We opted for new treated dog-eared pickets, since the old one's were worrn out from so many repairs/rebuilds. Others here mentioned using coated deck screws (great idea!), which is what we did as well. If you install pickets, you'll need them anyway to attach to the front of the 2x4's.
The photos show the gate after we stained the fence and hardware. (The green color is actually easy on the eyes and blends well with the lawn and bushes. It helps eliminate the glare you normally get from unstained or light-colored privacy fences.)
The gate has been up for about two months, with no sag at all. Wish we had known about Adjust-a-Gate sooner. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Easy to Assemble, no sag, quality metal frame
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from El Monte, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent and easy gate.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an 18' wide driveway. I called several fence/gate manufactures and was quoted from $1800.00 to $2500.00. I found this product online at Home Depot, so I ordered two and had them deliveded to my home. I was a bit nervous at first because I had never built a gate before. This product was so easy to assemble it took only 30 minutes. It came with everything except the 2x4's. I am really glad I found and purchased this product and I recommend it highly.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Salem, Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, excellent price and surprisingly strong.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've built a few gates in my day and was skeptical. My gate is just under 8' and figured it would sag. Wow, was I off, it only sagged less than 1". It went together fast and looks great. I would recommend you check this out before choosing another. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, great price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

Easy and attractive

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Easy to adjust to size. I put two of these up alone, with pickets, in about 2.5 hrs. If you are going to put it up alone have some clamps on hand. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect solution to odd gate size requirements

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This gate kit was perfect for making a gate that had to fit in a long off sized space. Easy to install and very sturdy construction.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.

good product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It did the jjob and was pretty easy to install. It should be noted for security and to make sure the finished gate can't be simply lifted off the hinge posts by someone make sure to turn one of these hinge posts in the opposite direction from the other.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from el cajon, ca

does the job

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
On the good side it was easy to work with. I especially like that i now have two 7 foot swinging gates that can handle the weight of the heavy composite fence boards i used. Looks good & seems sturdy so far.
The bad, using there hinge system i could not get the gates to open more then 90 degrees which was needed in order to get my RV turned out of my back yard. So i had to buy a typical door hinge system and drill & install (4ea) with additional hardware. This allowed more opening....
This gate will take longer then expected to install and it does use thin wall tubing that bends easily when using hardware resulting in the thin layer of paint coming off.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Roseburg Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best gate system ever

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put 2 eight foot gates together to make a 16 foot opening. This work well, was easy to assemble and put the fencing on. only had to take the first gate apart one time at the very start after that not to bad. assembled both gates and cut the fencing and installed all in one hot day with a short nap.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Tulsa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was easy to install. I used two for a 15' gate. I used 6' pickets and it did not sag. I was worried before I bought that it would be a waste of money but it was well worth it.
Pros: Easy to Install, fence does not sag
Cons: a little hard to nail pickets close to edge
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed, but made it work.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was disappointed the first time the minute I opened the instruction and learned that these gates were designed to open inward! Did I miss something in the advertising of this product? Opening inward was not an option for me...but I made it work. The second time I became disappointed was when I went to tighten one of the cable clamps and it would not tighten. It was as if the nut was bigger than the u-bolt! A trip to the hardware store gave me four good quality cable clamps and I tossed the cheap junk provided in the gate kits. The THIRD time I became disappointed was when I went to tighten one of the turnbuckles and, like the cable clamp, the threads slipped. Another trip to the hardware store got me beefier turnbuckles. Needless to say, I did not have a good day! Granted, I created one gate almost 8' wide and another 6.5', but I did not exceed the advertised limits of the product, and I did not try to "lift" the heavy gate up to level, merely tried to maintain level wit the cable/turnbuckle. In conclusion, the concept is wonderful, the frames nice, but the enclosed hardware is cheap junk! It would have even failed had I only been creating a 3' gate! I'm pleased with the final product, but it took two trips to the store and some extra expense!
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Holiday, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was one of the easiest projects to complete, thanks a to simple design and great easy to follow instructions. The gate is very strong. Recommend having a helper to hold 2/4's in place. For the gate latch I had to do a little out of the box thinking, but it works. (wife approved performance).
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Colorado
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a breeze!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This gate is a snap to install and it is well built with everything you need for it to function in the box. If I need another gate this will be it
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Gulfport, Ms.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As easy as it gets!

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This made a very difficult job as easy as it gets. It looks and works perfect. One of the best ideas I have seen in a long time. This is the only way I will ever install a gate until someone invents a better one.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: wish they offered more sizes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Eastlake, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very versatile

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
made a few mistakes at the first attempt, but next time will be a breeze to assemble now that i know what im doing! you can be very creative or just plain and simple. I LOVE THIS!!
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from California

BUY THIS PRODUCT, DONT BAY FOR A FENCE COMPANY

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super easy to install, fully adjustable up to 96 inches
this is the best way to create a sturdy RV gate.
These gates come in many sizes to fit your appliction.
Dont pay hundreds of dollars for a fence company to
install wide gate, Use this product ! highly recommended
All metal frame high quality USA made
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product for Oversized Gates

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use Adjust a Gate frames for every wide driveway gate I install. It is just the better route to go for oversized gates. Wood framing will warp and/or sag over time (sometimes not very much time). These gate frames are great for preventing sagging on wide gates and cost wise they are virtually the same price as framing with pressure treated lumber.
As for this model I would suggest that #1) They add one additional hinge for each gate frame because at 8' wide the frames do start to flex slightly on the hinge side. I added one more hinge near the top to counter this problem. And #2) I would suggest different spacing on the hinges whether using the 2 provided or even when adding a third hinge. The instructions say to install the hinges 16" up & down from the center of the post. This works, but as I mentioned before, the hinge side starts to flex a bit when going the full 8' width. The top hinge being located higher would help with this, or adding a third hinge up higher too. Personally I would suggest 3 hinges equally spaced with the top one as high up as possible.
Other than the flexing at the hinge side I swear by these gate frames. They are adjustable to fit virtually any width and I've had very good results using them. Oh, one other thing that deserves mention is the screws that are provided are not very good quality and I've found that virtually ALL of them snap and break once any substantial weight is put on the frames. So I also would suggest using your own (separately purchased) screws for the job. I use deck mate 2 1/2" coated screws to replace their 3" wood screw and the deck mate's haven't broken in my experience.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Cost Effective, Durable
Cons: poor quality screws/fastners
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 Rail Gate Frame Kit- Adjusts 60-96 in. by 60 in.
from North Myrtle Beach, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, worked well over a large span and maintained weight of a bamboo fence panel with no drag
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>