728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

The GE 1-Light Under Cabinet Light has a white finish and features a linkable, slim-line design. This fixture uses one 13-watt fluorescent bulb and produces energy-saving, warm fluorescent light. The electronic ballast ensures quiet, flicker-free operation.
Overall rating:
4.244 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(25)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
Review 1 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

most light for the money

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we wanted something bright and low profile. led are expensive and light output is low. these fluorescent lights where cheap and bright enough that we do not need to use the ceiling light if we wanted. bright light at the work syrface and ambiance for the rest of the kitchen.
installation is easy but tricky because of tiny parts.
i wish they had more in between fixture lengths and more connecting cable options.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Olymic Peninsula, Washington
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light but....

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent and compact light. However, getting them mounted flush with the underside of the cabinet bottom required an effort. Supplied "horizontal" brackets added distance to cabinet bottom creating a more visible exposure below the lower face board. I used the "vertical" brackets screwed into the back of the lower face board, but it was difficult to install them under and behind. End result is great. Also, there is no provision for direct wire installation. I installed duplex outlets on the wall just below the cabinet bottom, then stuffed the excess cord length back into the wall.
Pros: great value.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Sacramento
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The low price reflects the low quality

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plan was to install these "slim" lights under kitchen counters. The mounting method, which isn't described on the package, has one installing the lights with plastic brackets, that connect to the light box. This results in the light hanging another inch lower than the depth of the light box. So much for a "slim" mount light. They install easily, but look cheap once installed. Thus the price reflects the quality. They aren't very good looking once installed. I removed them and replaced them with the $50 light. I now have a "slim" light that isn't seen under the cabinet. Both lights I might add, are the same depth, but one mounts cabinet flush. This light doesn't!
Pros: Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Install
Cons: Appearance, mounting system
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from East Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good Work Lighting

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I mounted these 2 under kitchen cabinets and my Wife loves them. The light is better than expected and the "warm white" is appealing. I moved them 3" back to reduce direct view to the eyes. Working counter top area is well illuminated now. She approves of the switch "feel" and mounting security. I found the screws to be annoying as they were not true Phillips and fit poorly on every new screwdriver I own making the install a bit frustrating. The alternate mounting options are a nice touch. Watts = 11. If these were metal housings and brackets I would rate excellent but plastic....I can not.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: mounting screws
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice!

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The light is exactly what I needed. It was easy installation and the light was not too bright nor dim. It met my satisfaction. I will be getting the small light fixtures soon yo complete my project
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Uvalde, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great light fixture for under cabinet for the money

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a elderly woman (84) and I was able to install myself. No need to call the son-in-law.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Commerce, TX

GE 10169 Slim Line Undercabinet Flourscent Light

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great inexpensive light for lighting under the cabinents. The bulb is energy efficent and last a long time. We have three of these low profile light fixtures linked together and they work great and provide plenty of light. I researched many different light solutions for under the cabinets and chose this light fixture. Best of all, Home Depot had the lowest cost for the GE 10169 Advantage undercabinet light fixture that I could find.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Something easy to add light to a dark place.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My bathroom has poor light during the dark periods of the day as well as has no light on your face while looking into the mirror. I installed this light above the mirror. I like that there is a switch to turn it on and off so that I can leave it plugged in as well as use it only when I need it. Appearance is average because its not something that I would consider decor but it does the job and is a great price.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

ge slim

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Not bright enough. Love the slim look and the electrical connection awesome , but could be a bit more brighter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

work bench light

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to hook up, very bright and just the right price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Gresham Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

under cabnit

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
not bad liked that I could hook 2 together but wish it had a master switch that you also could turn both on at the same time
Pros: Functional
Cons: wish it had master switch to turn on both at same
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Upstate California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides Warm Undercabinet Llighting

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice warm light, not as bright as typical fluorescent lighting. Great linkable lights when number of outlets is limited. I have 6 linked. Last is as bright as the first. Just wish there was a way to link on/off switches so that I only had to flip one switch instead of six.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright light for under cabinets

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was just as I expected from photos. Installed easily.
I still need to disguise the cord to enhance the finish look but that my own preference that I chose to deal with. Lights up the area under my cabinets enough that I can actually turn the other lights in the room off.
Pros: Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product, works great

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this compact light for a hutch converted into a desk. The light is just perfect in the amount of illumination I needed for the space required. I liked the instant on feature and the no hum and small size.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good choice for lighting on a budget

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed 5 of these on my cabinets and they provided very nice lighting. Body of fixture isn't the highest quality but mounting them under a cabinet on a switch they'll never be touched so wont be an issue. The mounting hardware is cheap but does so the job. Wouldnt recommend for application that requires fixture to be handled a lot .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

Short Cord

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased these lights to be used as undercounter lighting in my kitchen. I have a simple L-Shaped kitchen. I bought these linkable lights to be used with a remote switch. The problem I have with the lights is the linkable cord is only 16". If the area you have is in a straight line, they will work. If you are putting them in a kitchen where your sink cabinets and over stove are higher, then the cord will not reach. I had to buy extra lights, just to accomodate the gaps between between the spaces. If you are putting in under cabinet lighting, make sure to by the appropriate size, remember, 16" connection cord.
Cons: linkable cord
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Nebraska

Excellent

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit was shipped fast, Was easy to install & works well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Sno Co , Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Lithonia I-beam really illuminates my garage better than I expected. The light fixture is not inexpensive , but Home Depot has the best price by a wide margin . I will be going back for at least 2 more fixtures. The picture shows the garage opposite from where the light is suspended.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from San Luis Obispo, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flimsy plastic casing is a "deal killer."

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit seems to be sturdy while it is displayed in the plastic "clamshell" packaging. However, once the product is removed from the packaging, the flimsy plastic casing becomes apparent. I worked to use the tiny plastic mounting pieces for vertical mounting to attach the product as an undercabinet light. The reason I do not recommend this product is that the fluorescent tube would remain on for a half hour or so and then the bulb went dark. I found that if I reseated the fluorescent tube, the light would restart for awhile. I believe the problem is related to thermal expansion of the plastic housing as the unit heats up. After struggling with this unit, I purchased a Lithonia 138RLN which is a metal fixture with twin fluorescent tubes for only a slightly greater cost. The GE unit is being returned.
Cons: unreliable fixture
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportSeptember 3, 2014By Tech SupportSeptember 3, 2014
SLO9Pro, I have checked this product out and have it sitting on my desk, the casing for the light is very stiff which it has to be to pass certain UL test. As for the bulb turning off after a period of time and then having to reseat the bulb to get it to come back on, I haven’t heard of this and I’m not sure how reseating the bulb would cause the light to start working again. One of the reasons for using a fluorescent bulb is because they don’t produce a lot of heat so the plastic shouldn’t be expanding or contracting unless it was installed next to something that was generating a lot of heat but even then the fixture shouldn’t be expanding and contracting. Not sure why your fixture is so different from the one that I am testing but it almost sounds like to completely different fixtures.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 20 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Macomb Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful light

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this its a great light for my application, used as a under cabinet light in my garage. easy to hook up and plenty of light output.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>