728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Under Cabinet Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

The GE 1-Light Under Cabinet Light has a white finish and features a linkable, slim-line design. This fixture uses one 13-watt fluorescent bulb and produces energy-saving, warm fluorescent light. The electronic ballast ensures quiet, flicker-free operation.
Overall rating:
4.263 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product29 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 38 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product29 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
Review 1 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Olymic Peninsula, Washington
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light but....

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent and compact light. However, getting them mounted flush with the underside of the cabinet bottom required an effort. Supplied "horizontal" brackets added distance to cabinet bottom creating a more visible exposure below the lower face board. I used the "vertical" brackets screwed into the back of the lower face board, but it was difficult to install them under and behind. End result is great. Also, there is no provision for direct wire installation. I installed duplex outlets on the wall just below the cabinet bottom, then stuffed the excess cord length back into the wall.
Pros: great value.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

most light for the money

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we wanted something bright and low profile. led are expensive and light output is low. these fluorescent lights where cheap and bright enough that we do not need to use the ceiling light if we wanted. bright light at the work syrface and ambiance for the rest of the kitchen.
installation is easy but tricky because of tiny parts.
i wish they had more in between fixture lengths and more connecting cable options.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from East Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good Work Lighting

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I mounted these 2 under kitchen cabinets and my Wife loves them. The light is better than expected and the "warm white" is appealing. I moved them 3" back to reduce direct view to the eyes. Working counter top area is well illuminated now. She approves of the switch "feel" and mounting security. I found the screws to be annoying as they were not true Phillips and fit poorly on every new screwdriver I own making the install a bit frustrating. The alternate mounting options are a nice touch. Watts = 11. If these were metal housings and brackets I would rate excellent but plastic....I can not.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: mounting screws
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Sacramento
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The low price reflects the low quality

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plan was to install these "slim" lights under kitchen counters. The mounting method, which isn't described on the package, has one installing the lights with plastic brackets, that connect to the light box. This results in the light hanging another inch lower than the depth of the light box. So much for a "slim" mount light. They install easily, but look cheap once installed. Thus the price reflects the quality. They aren't very good looking once installed. I removed them and replaced them with the $50 light. I now have a "slim" light that isn't seen under the cabinet. Both lights I might add, are the same depth, but one mounts cabinet flush. This light doesn't!
Pros: Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Install
Cons: Appearance, mounting system
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Commerce, TX

GE 10169 Slim Line Undercabinet Flourscent Light

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great inexpensive light for lighting under the cabinents. The bulb is energy efficent and last a long time. We have three of these low profile light fixtures linked together and they work great and provide plenty of light. I researched many different light solutions for under the cabinets and chose this light fixture. Best of all, Home Depot had the lowest cost for the GE 10169 Advantage undercabinet light fixture that I could find.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from San Luis Obispo, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Flimsy plastic casing is a "deal killer."

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit seems to be sturdy while it is displayed in the plastic "clamshell" packaging. However, once the product is removed from the packaging, the flimsy plastic casing becomes apparent. I worked to use the tiny plastic mounting pieces for vertical mounting to attach the product as an undercabinet light. The reason I do not recommend this product is that the fluorescent tube would remain on for a half hour or so and then the bulb went dark. I found that if I reseated the fluorescent tube, the light would restart for awhile. I believe the problem is related to thermal expansion of the plastic housing as the unit heats up. After struggling with this unit, I purchased a Lithonia 138RLN which is a metal fixture with twin fluorescent tubes for only a slightly greater cost. The GE unit is being returned.
Cons: unreliable fixture
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Tech SupportSeptember 3, 2014By Tech SupportSeptember 3, 2014
SLO9Pro, I have checked this product out and have it sitting on my desk, the casing for the light is very stiff which it has to be to pass certain UL test. As for the bulb turning off after a period of time and then having to reseat the bulb to get it to come back on, I haven’t heard of this and I’m not sure how reseating the bulb would cause the light to start working again. One of the reasons for using a fluorescent bulb is because they don’t produce a lot of heat so the plastic shouldn’t be expanding or contracting unless it was installed next to something that was generating a lot of heat but even then the fixture shouldn’t be expanding and contracting. Not sure why your fixture is so different from the one that I am testing but it almost sounds like to completely different fixtures.
Jasco Products Tech Suport(Manufacturer)GETechSupport
Review 7 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Upstate California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides Warm Undercabinet Llighting

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice warm light, not as bright as typical fluorescent lighting. Great linkable lights when number of outlets is limited. I have 6 linked. Last is as bright as the first. Just wish there was a way to link on/off switches so that I only had to flip one switch instead of six.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Sno Co , Wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Lithonia I-beam really illuminates my garage better than I expected. The light fixture is not inexpensive , but Home Depot has the best price by a wide margin . I will be going back for at least 2 more fixtures. The picture shows the garage opposite from where the light is suspended.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product, works great

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used this compact light for a hutch converted into a desk. The light is just perfect in the amount of illumination I needed for the space required. I liked the instant on feature and the no hum and small size.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Macomb Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful light

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this its a great light for my application, used as a under cabinet light in my garage. easy to hook up and plenty of light output.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Installed 6 of these undercabinet lights

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Loved the electrical connections and surplus of additional length cords and very short cords as well. Easy to link and plug in daisy chain style. The lights are bright and modern looking. They could come in more suitable lengths for kitchen cabinets however. The slim plugs were easy to push through drilled holes in the cabinet. The fasteners are solid and work well, but must be precisely predrilled and that is difficult working blind under the cabinet. I would recommend these.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design, slim design makes them invisible.
Cons: sliding fasteners are complicated.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Marietta
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slim Linkable

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, slim profile, and I bought these because they were linkable so that I did not have to use but one outlet to link 3 lights.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

Short Cord

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased these lights to be used as undercounter lighting in my kitchen. I have a simple L-Shaped kitchen. I bought these linkable lights to be used with a remote switch. The problem I have with the lights is the linkable cord is only 16". If the area you have is in a straight line, they will work. If you are putting them in a kitchen where your sink cabinets and over stove are higher, then the cord will not reach. I had to buy extra lights, just to accomodate the gaps between between the spaces. If you are putting in under cabinet lighting, make sure to by the appropriate size, remember, 16" connection cord.
Cons: linkable cord
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good choice for lighting on a budget

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed 5 of these on my cabinets and they provided very nice lighting. Body of fixture isn't the highest quality but mounting them under a cabinet on a switch they'll never be touched so wont be an issue. The mounting hardware is cheap but does so the job. Wouldnt recommend for application that requires fixture to be handled a lot .
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Dewey, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Under cabinet light

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light has provided so much needed light in my kitchen. With high ceilings the existing lights just didn't help, too many shadows in the work area. Now I can see what I am working on. Going to put up another one.
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worth the investment

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a little bit tricky to install where I wanted it, but with a little creative thinking that was worked out. This is a good product so far.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: installation can be tricky.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Nebraska

Excellent

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit was shipped fast, Was easy to install & works well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Winthrop Harbor, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brightened an otherwise very dark kitchen corner.It helps if you have helper.As suggested by another reviewer, including a template would take the guess work out of where the screw holes are needed.By all means use a drill to make pilot holes first.Mounting hardware is cheap and the screw heads can be easily distorted when you try to finish tightening.The light is warm and welcoming and truly does not hum,buzz or flicker.Happy with this purchase
Pros: Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

Slim, easy to install, bright, no flicker, no hum

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Exactly what I was looking for. Very slim profile. Very easy to install. Bright light output. No flicker. No hum. Will be buying more.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Colorado, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good lighting in a slim package

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fixture provides plenty of task lighting. I installed it under a shallow shelf about a foot above a work bench. The slim design and small profile fluorescent bulb mean that this fixture does not interfere with the work area. The only downside was that installation was a bit difficult due to the design of the mounting clips. Installing the one clip is fine, but installing the other one requires a certain amount of guessing. A template or instructions with exact layout dimensions would help.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>