728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Under Cabinet Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

The GE 1-Light Under Cabinet Light has a white finish and features a linkable, slim-line design. This fixture uses one 13-watt fluorescent bulb and produces energy-saving, warm fluorescent light. The electronic ballast ensures quiet, flicker-free operation.
Overall rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product40 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product40 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
Review 1 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

most light for the money

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
we wanted something bright and low profile. led are expensive and light output is low. these fluorescent lights where cheap and bright enough that we do not need to use the ceiling light if we wanted. bright light at the work syrface and ambiance for the rest of the kitchen.
installation is easy but tricky because of tiny parts.
i wish they had more in between fixture lengths and more connecting cable options.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Olymic Peninsula, Washington
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light but....

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent and compact light. However, getting them mounted flush with the underside of the cabinet bottom required an effort. Supplied "horizontal" brackets added distance to cabinet bottom creating a more visible exposure below the lower face board. I used the "vertical" brackets screwed into the back of the lower face board, but it was difficult to install them under and behind. End result is great. Also, there is no provision for direct wire installation. I installed duplex outlets on the wall just below the cabinet bottom, then stuffed the excess cord length back into the wall.
Pros: great value.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Enfield CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install and worked out very well for were we purchased it to use.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Austintown, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good light for the money

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Didn't like the mounting brackets, other then that it's a good light for the money. Like the amount of light so I purchased another one.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: mounting brackets
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Alta Loma, CA

Good light for the price.

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to get two.
The 1st. one did not work out of the box and I had to exchange it for another.
The 2nd one was easy to install and is working well. No hum. No flicker.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mr

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great product, a little work on installation. The screws for the bracket are probably the smallest I have ver seen. Be very vigilant, cause if they fall on the floor or a rug It's ove.
Took 10 minutes to find one of them on the counter
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Sacramento
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The low price reflects the low quality

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plan was to install these "slim" lights under kitchen counters. The mounting method, which isn't described on the package, has one installing the lights with plastic brackets, that connect to the light box. This results in the light hanging another inch lower than the depth of the light box. So much for a "slim" mount light. They install easily, but look cheap once installed. Thus the price reflects the quality. They aren't very good looking once installed. I removed them and replaced them with the $50 light. I now have a "slim" light that isn't seen under the cabinet. Both lights I might add, are the same depth, but one mounts cabinet flush. This light doesn't!
Pros: Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Install
Cons: Appearance, mounting system
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from East Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good Work Lighting

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I mounted these 2 under kitchen cabinets and my Wife loves them. The light is better than expected and the "warm white" is appealing. I moved them 3" back to reduce direct view to the eyes. Working counter top area is well illuminated now. She approves of the switch "feel" and mounting security. I found the screws to be annoying as they were not true Phillips and fit poorly on every new screwdriver I own making the install a bit frustrating. The alternate mounting options are a nice touch. Watts = 11. If these were metal housings and brackets I would rate excellent but plastic....I can not.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: mounting screws
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Commerce, TX

GE 10169 Slim Line Undercabinet Flourscent Light

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great inexpensive light for lighting under the cabinents. The bulb is energy efficent and last a long time. We have three of these low profile light fixtures linked together and they work great and provide plenty of light. I researched many different light solutions for under the cabinets and chose this light fixture. Best of all, Home Depot had the lowest cost for the GE 10169 Advantage undercabinet light fixture that I could find.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Utah
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The under the cabinet light seems to work well and was easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice!

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The light is exactly what I needed. It was easy installation and the light was not too bright nor dim. It met my satisfaction. I will be getting the small light fixtures soon yo complete my project
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Pittsburgh PA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Something easy to add light to a dark place.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My bathroom has poor light during the dark periods of the day as well as has no light on your face while looking into the mirror. I installed this light above the mirror. I like that there is a switch to turn it on and off so that I can leave it plugged in as well as use it only when I need it. Appearance is average because its not something that I would consider decor but it does the job and is a great price.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Uvalde, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great light fixture for under cabinet for the money

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a elderly woman (84) and I was able to install myself. No need to call the son-in-law.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Upstate California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Provides Warm Undercabinet Llighting

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice warm light, not as bright as typical fluorescent lighting. Great linkable lights when number of outlets is limited. I have 6 linked. Last is as bright as the first. Just wish there was a way to link on/off switches so that I only had to flip one switch instead of six.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

ge slim

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Not bright enough. Love the slim look and the electrical connection awesome , but could be a bit more brighter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture

work bench light

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to hook up, very bright and just the right price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product, works great

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this compact light for a hutch converted into a desk. The light is just perfect in the amount of illumination I needed for the space required. I liked the instant on feature and the no hum and small size.
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Gresham Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

under cabnit

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
not bad liked that I could hook 2 together but wish it had a master switch that you also could turn both on at the same time
Pros: Functional
Cons: wish it had master switch to turn on both at same
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bright light for under cabinets

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product was just as I expected from photos. Installed easily.
I still need to disguise the cord to enhance the finish look but that my own preference that I chose to deal with. Lights up the area under my cabinets enough that I can actually turn the other lights in the room off.
Pros: Very Bright
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Slim Line 23 in. Fluorescent Light Fixture
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good choice for lighting on a budget

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed 5 of these on my cabinets and they provided very nice lighting. Body of fixture isn't the highest quality but mounting them under a cabinet on a switch they'll never be touched so wont be an issue. The mounting hardware is cheap but does so the job. Wouldnt recommend for application that requires fixture to be handled a lot .
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>