728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bamboo Shades & Natural Shades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

Relax the look of any room with the casual and comforting Palisades Mahogany Roman Bamboo Blind. Environmentally friendly, semi-private textured natural shades (also called natural shades, bamboo shades, or woven woods) stylishly filter light and protect your furniture from fading. The rich wood tones of bamboo blinds are complimentary to jute and sisal rugs as well as many hardwood floors and furniture finishes. Bamboo blinds are textured window blinds that are available in many different colors and styles. They are popular window treatments for coastal and beach properties, lakeside or country cottages, and traditional or metropolitan homes. For additional privacy or neutral backing, you can attach a fabric privacy liner to the back side of natural shades. Another option for additional privacy is to outside mount natural shades, then inside mount an inexpensive white black out roller blind. Fabric privacy liners and black out roller blinds both can be purchased on homedepot.com.
Overall rating:
4.246 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product51 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product51 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
Review 1 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful, but...

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really love these shades. They are much more appealing to the eye than regular wood blinds. They are very good quality and are not difficult to install, as long as you have a way to drill into your window frame (read self-drilling screws - even a titanium drill bit won't do the job). My only complaint is that they are not as dark (in terms of shade of brown) as they are pictured either here or on the packaging. Also, the picture indicates a subtle green undertone, which I was really looking forward to, but the actual product does not have this. In addition, these shades are actually 26.5 inches wide. All these shades are half and inch shorter in terms of width than specified; they are designed to fit a window that is 27 inches wide. Lastly, these shades do not block out sunlight, so if you are looking for room-darkening shades, these aren't for you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the shade. Very natural looking with great colors.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Hillsborough, NC

Great for what I needed

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed a blind to just slightly shield us from the sun setting in the summer at dinner time. These blinds did the trick. We can still watch the sun go down and enjoy it's warmth through the blinds, but not me BLINDED by it's rays, unable to see our food. I was able to install them by myself (I'm a moderate female do-it-yourselfer). My only complaint, and maybe I'm just weird...I wanted these to be installed on the outer side of the trim around the windows, but the screws were not long enough to get through our Drywall and into a stud. I ended up using a longer screw, a normal Drywall screw did the trick.
The color is very rich and looks great with my warm wall colors, reds, oranges and browns. Overall it is a great blind for the price and I'm very happy with the way work and look.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L

BEAUTIFUL!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THESE BLINDS ARE THE BEST! THEY REALLY ADDED WARMTH & DECOR TO MY HOME...THEY WERE EASY TO INSTALL & THEY PROVIDE A GREAT DEAL OF PRIVACY...I PLACED THEM IN MY LIVING ROOM & BECAUSE OF HOW GREAT THEY LOOK I MAY ALSO USE THEM FOR THE REST OF MY WINDOWS...YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Phila. PA.

ROMAN BAMBOO SHADE

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product: installs easily, provides light & privacy;
easy usage. Color is warm...can be used as accent color,
or can blend in with decor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Deering NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just love them

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 29 in. W x 72 in. L
I did not know what to expect, however after installing them in my beedroom, I am quite happy. Install hardware had options and was easy. Very well made. They remind me of the tropics.
Pros: Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Downingtown PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Best Blinds Ever

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 29 in. W x 72 in. L
Did my whole house with these blinds, except for one room, excellent quality and value, plus they look gorgeous.Going back for more
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very nice bang for your buck.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 23 in. W x 48 in. L
Very easy to install and use. Good price for product.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Houston, TX

Bamboo roman shade

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 35 in. W x 72 in. L
This bamboo roman shade is beautiful. It lets just enough light through, yet provides enough coverage. However, it does not provide total privacy. The mixture of bamboo and matchsticks are well balanced, giving it a perfect soft look. Since it's natural bamboo, some are curved and not straight. This doesn't bother me because it's hardly noticeable from the distance. The color is brown, not mohagany as the name; which works out perfect for my home. I bought this for my bedroom and loved it. I'm ordering more for my living room. It was very simple to put up. I followed some simple instructions found on the internet to shorten the length, saved me hundreds of dollars from custom orders.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Minnesota
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great shade for the money

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 23 in. W x 48 in. L
These shades went up easily and look really nice. The only minor thing that would have been nice to know before we bought them is that they are slightly narrower than the package says. We bought two for a certain size window thinking they would cover nicely, but since they were each about 1/4 inch narrower, we had to adjust the spacing a bit to make them work. They are also "semi private" shades -- so I think a person could see into the house at night if your lights are on. That is fine for us, but just wanted to mention that in case someone is looking for complete privacy. All in all, very happy with the shades. Only one came with the child-proofing cord kit for some reason when we bought two. FYI if this is important make sure you look for it before you put them up.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Kansas City MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best bamboo shades I've found

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 31 in. W x 72 in. L
I love this style of bamboo shades. I updated all the windows in my house from standard mini blinds to these roman shades and the difference in look is amazing - from "builder grade look to modern and streamlined. there are 2 reasons that made me give this product a 4 star rating instead of 5 - (1) at night with lights on inside, these become VERY sheer but I get around that by also having curtain. (2) I wish these came in a shorter length for the width I needed. Other windows of a different size come in this shorter length which works perfectly - the longer length makes them shades look a little messy. But overall I love the shades! Well worth the investment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a great product...actually

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 48 in. L
The mechanics on the blinds/shades didn't work properly and I could not hang one of them because of how it was stapled together at the top, took them all back. Cheaply made.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Easily Damaged, Not Sturdy, Poor looking, Difficult to Install, Flimsy Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By HomeDecorExpertApril 17, 2015By HomeDecorExpertApril 17, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for sending us your review on the Palisades Roman Shade. We are sorry that you are experiencing issues with the mechanisms of the window blinds and we want you to know that your comments are very important to us.
In reference to the mechanics of the blinds, that is the child safety feature, when a certain amount of weight is enforced the child safety feature will be applied and if not properly connected the window blind will not raise properly. To assist you with the child safety feature, please call 800-860-1677.
Thank You
Review 13 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Very happy with this purchase!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 35 in. W x 72 in. L
I was hesitant at first because I wanted wooden blinds but they were expensive. This was the next best thing at a lower price, and was bought as a temporary fix but I think I'll have them up for a while! They changed the whole look of my living room. Like one review said, they don't give much privacy but I added sheer drapes (doubled up) and you can't see as much through them at night. However in the day, they let in the light and I love natural light. The only thing was installation. We had to go against the directions and hang them a little differently because I didn't have any wall, just window, for the nails. You can't even tell!
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Brick, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 35 in. W x 48 in. L
For the price it is a good product. It was easy to hang and looks great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from ATL

SHEEK!!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 35 in. W x 72 in. L
Picked these blinds up yesterday for my LR. I'm going back to get more for all the rooms in my house. High quality for a great price...instant transformation!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looking cheap blinds

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 48 in. L
I really liked the blinds look and they look awesome in my apartment, great set for someone just starting out. (I graduated college this past May)
I am a little OCD, the blinds are cheaply made so they aren't exact replicas of each other. most people can't tell the difference when they are over unless I point it out.
only other thing is these do not block out viewing from the outside world (both looking out and in!) so if you are someone trying to have some privacy I would suggest a different set or add some curtains to cover up when you want to.
Overall I am pretty happy with my purchase, its been about a month now and I do not regret it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: not all exactly the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement parts

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 46 in. W x 48 in. L
I bought two of these shades for my kitchen. They look great and were easy to install, however, one of the cord clips broke and I cannot find a replacement part. Home Depot does not carry them and I cannot find the right part online.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from HILTON HEAD, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOOKS GREAT!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 48 in. L
ONLY ISSUE WAS THAT IT HAD BEEN RETURNED TO HOME DEPOT AND ONE PIECE OF THE HARDWARE WAS DAMAGED. WE WERE ABLE TO REPAIR IT AND HANG THE SHADE. LOOKS GREAT.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Miami
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Geat blinds

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 72 in. W x 72 in. L
nice, cheap, great look.. easy to mount .. .great effect with the light
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Unaligned
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 27 in. W x 72 in. L
from Warwick, NY

good looking, great price, kind of see-through

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade - 30 in. W x 72 in. L
I was very happy with these shades because they had the sizes I needed for all my windows, and the color blended well with the wood in the room. Also the price is great!!
One thing you might want to know: these blinds are almost transparent. You can't tell in the picture, but there are dark slats about every four inches, and then all the slats in between are almost transparent in the sunlight. At night, they look more opaque. I put black-out roller shades under them for the summer heat and for privacy and that worked fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>