728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bamboo Shades & Natural Shades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)

Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)

The bamboo construction of the designview 27 in. x 72 in. Bamboo Palisades Roman Shade provides a natural elegance for your decor. The mahogany color creates warm tones for your space, and the classic Roman design is light filtering to suit your needs. This shade is a perfect complement to your room, and the alternating bamboo-and-matchstick design adds a touch of style to your windows.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product44 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(13)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product44 of 48reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Review 1 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful, but...

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really love these shades. They are much more appealing to the eye than regular wood blinds. They are very good quality and are not difficult to install, as long as you have a way to drill into your window frame (read self-drilling screws - even a titanium drill bit won't do the job). My only complaint is that they are not as dark (in terms of shade of brown) as they are pictured either here or on the packaging. Also, the picture indicates a subtle green undertone, which I was really looking forward to, but the actual product does not have this. In addition, these shades are actually 26.5 inches wide. All these shades are half and inch shorter in terms of width than specified; they are designed to fit a window that is 27 inches wide. Lastly, these shades do not block out sunlight, so if you are looking for room-darkening shades, these aren't for you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Hillsborough, NC

Great for what I needed

PostedMarch 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a blind to just slightly shield us from the sun setting in the summer at dinner time. These blinds did the trick. We can still watch the sun go down and enjoy it's warmth through the blinds, but not me BLINDED by it's rays, unable to see our food. I was able to install them by myself (I'm a moderate female do-it-yourselfer). My only complaint, and maybe I'm just weird...I wanted these to be installed on the outer side of the trim around the windows, but the screws were not long enough to get through our Drywall and into a stud. I ended up using a longer screw, a normal Drywall screw did the trick.
The color is very rich and looks great with my warm wall colors, reds, oranges and browns. Overall it is a great blind for the price and I'm very happy with the way work and look.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)

BEAUTIFUL!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THESE BLINDS ARE THE BEST! THEY REALLY ADDED WARMTH & DECOR TO MY HOME...THEY WERE EASY TO INSTALL & THEY PROVIDE A GREAT DEAL OF PRIVACY...I PLACED THEM IN MY LIVING ROOM & BECAUSE OF HOW GREAT THEY LOOK I MAY ALSO USE THEM FOR THE REST OF MY WINDOWS...YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Phila. PA.

ROMAN BAMBOO SHADE

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product: installs easily, provides light & privacy;
easy usage. Color is warm...can be used as accent color,
or can blend in with decor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very nice bang for your buck.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 48 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Very easy to install and use. Good price for product.
Pros: Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good looking cheap blinds

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 48 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I really liked the blinds look and they look awesome in my apartment, great set for someone just starting out. (I graduated college this past May)
I am a little OCD, the blinds are cheaply made so they aren't exact replicas of each other. most people can't tell the difference when they are over unless I point it out.
only other thing is these do not block out viewing from the outside world (both looking out and in!) so if you are someone trying to have some privacy I would suggest a different set or add some curtains to cover up when you want to.
Overall I am pretty happy with my purchase, its been about a month now and I do not regret it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: not all exactly the same.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Houston, TX

Bamboo roman shade

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
This bamboo roman shade is beautiful. It lets just enough light through, yet provides enough coverage. However, it does not provide total privacy. The mixture of bamboo and matchsticks are well balanced, giving it a perfect soft look. Since it's natural bamboo, some are curved and not straight. This doesn't bother me because it's hardly noticeable from the distance. The color is brown, not mohagany as the name; which works out perfect for my home. I bought this for my bedroom and loved it. I'm ordering more for my living room. It was very simple to put up. I followed some simple instructions found on the internet to shorten the length, saved me hundreds of dollars from custom orders.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Minnesota
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great shade for the money

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 48 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
These shades went up easily and look really nice. The only minor thing that would have been nice to know before we bought them is that they are slightly narrower than the package says. We bought two for a certain size window thinking they would cover nicely, but since they were each about 1/4 inch narrower, we had to adjust the spacing a bit to make them work. They are also "semi private" shades -- so I think a person could see into the house at night if your lights are on. That is fine for us, but just wanted to mention that in case someone is looking for complete privacy. All in all, very happy with the shades. Only one came with the child-proofing cord kit for some reason when we bought two. FYI if this is important make sure you look for it before you put them up.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful shade.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Easy to install and looks very high end. I think all of these natural shades are a bit over-priced, but this one is so pretty in my bathroom.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Rich Looking, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Eads, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I bought the 23" wide blind in the store. When I got home with it, the shade was bunched together with no directions on how to get the shade to unfold. Absolutely no directions come with it other than how to mount it. After drilling holes about the window in our door, I tried untying the only knots I could see at the bottom to get it to open. The whole shade fell apart. I have made custom roman shades out of fabric, so I am familiar with how they work. You get what you pay for. These are cheap for a reason.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By shades expertSeptember 15, 2014By shades expertSeptember 15, 2014
We are sorry that you had trouble unfolding the Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade you purchased. Please contact us at customerservice@lewishymaninc.com, or call 1-800-860-1677 for a link to downloadable directions on how to unfold the shade, to include a diagram that will guide you step by step.shadesexpert
Review 11 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Very happy with this purchase!

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I was hesitant at first because I wanted wooden blinds but they were expensive. This was the next best thing at a lower price, and was bought as a temporary fix but I think I'll have them up for a while! They changed the whole look of my living room. Like one review said, they don't give much privacy but I added sheer drapes (doubled up) and you can't see as much through them at night. However in the day, they let in the light and I love natural light. The only thing was installation. We had to go against the directions and hang them a little differently because I didn't have any wall, just window, for the nails. You can't even tell!
Pros: Rich Looking, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from KENNESAW, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I bought these for a sunroom to replace some Roman shades that were damaged and old. I was concerned that they would be too dark for a sunroom. However, they do an awesome job of filtering out hot sun while still letting light through the (matchstick type) slats in the blinds. I am very pleased with how they look and perform. they were also very easy to install.
Pros: Functional, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By shades expertSeptember 15, 2014By shades expertSeptember 15, 2014
We are glad you like the Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, and are pleased with how the matchsticks lightly filter the sun. We recommend you post a photo!shadesexpert
Review 13 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from ATL

SHEEK!!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Picked these blinds up yesterday for my LR. I'm going back to get more for all the rooms in my house. High quality for a great price...instant transformation!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement parts

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 48 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I bought two of these shades for my kitchen. They look great and were easy to install, however, one of the cord clips broke and I cannot find a replacement part. Home Depot does not carry them and I cannot find the right part online.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Easily Damaged, Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install,look great

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
control the right amount of light,look great in the room,wife is extremely happy
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Reasonable price for the quality

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 48 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
This is a nice shade for the money. It operates smoothly and was easy to install. But it is extremely sheer, and the appearance is very different hanging, than what it is in the box. When daylight filters through the slats and weaving it creates a block pattern. The colors are very pretty, but they are over shadowed by the amount of light that streams through. It looks much better at night.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance, too sheer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Katy, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am happy with it.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 48 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
It works. It is not good for privacy, but better than nothing.
It shipped in a reasonable amount of time.
thats all I got.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Perfect Size, Good Size & Weight, Functional
Cons: had to drill holes in door
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Warwick, NY

good looking, great price, kind of see-through

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I was very happy with these shades because they had the sizes I needed for all my windows, and the color blended well with the wood in the room. Also the price is great!!
One thing you might want to know: these blinds are almost transparent. You can't tell in the picture, but there are dark slats about every four inches, and then all the slats in between are almost transparent in the sunlight. At night, they look more opaque. I put black-out roller shades under them for the summer heat and for privacy and that worked fine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They look great and were easy to install

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
I absolutely love the look of bamboo shades, and these gave me exactly the effect I was going for in my living room. They were pretty easy to install, and the type of bracket that they use actually allows for a little human error... I put my brackets up a little crooked and one was tiny bit higher than the other (I was in a hurry!) and it didn't affect anything. You have some wiggle room with the wingnut posts on the bracket.
The only complaint I have is that I bought two shades of the same size, but one of them was over 2 inches longer than the other. Quite a difference if you want to let them down all the way. My sofa hides the bottom of the shades, though, so it's not a huge deal. Also, I bought these in-store, so I could see the color in person. The color in the photo on the site is way off... they're not nearly that dark. More of a warm, rich brown.
Also keep in mind that all the shades are a half inch narrower than what the size states. My 39 inch shades were 38 1/2".
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: inconsistent lengths
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
from Downers Grove
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful deep color

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Mahogany Palisades Bamboo Roman Shade, 72 in. Length (Price Varies by Size)
Beautiful shades. Installed easily and look very nice.
I modified the length-using tacky glue/scissors and taking my time and they look great! I may use the in another room as well.
Pros: Rich Looking, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Functional, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>