728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench

The Buffalo Tools Dr Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench features 150 ft.-lb. of torque and 40 impacts per minute. This versatile impact wrench also features an 11 ft. cord that plugs into a cigarette lighter and a 2 ft. adapter cable that hooks directly to a car battery. The impact wrench also features a LED light to illuminate your work area.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
Review 1 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from new rochelle, NY

Wouldn't recommend

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I tried to use the product the motor kept spinning but when it was supposed to engage to un screw the nut it just stopped. then the motor spun again then kept stopping all the time.
I even cracked the bolt manually and it was still too weak to unscrew lug nuts and other nuts
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from Montana

Eh...ok I guess

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was hoping for something that would make the job faster of taking off and putting on tires. This might, by a few seconds.
The gun takes a second (or two or three) to spin fast enough to then engage and hit the hammer once. Then it has to start over, rev up and hit again. Usually takes about 4 to 5 hits in order to get off one lug nut. That adds up to about 10 to 15 seconds. Don't know if it is faster, but it is a little less work. You do have to factor in the battery on your car. Would be better if the car is running and producing more than 12v. Then the gun runs faster. In my garage, however, I didn't want to do that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from Hot Springs Arkansas

12 volt impact wrench

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is really a great tool to have when on the road, or for that matter, even at home. It easily took the lugs off that had been hand tightened to my maximum strength. A real plus is the click system that it uses. By putting it on tighten and then counting the clicks until the lug begins to move, I was able to see exactly how many clicks it would take to tighten the lugs to my hand tightened setting. A real plus IMHO
Having said that, the main reason that I bought it was to do my own at home tire rotation. It just makes something that I used to dread doing, no longer a problem! It's a great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from Poplarville, Mississippi

great buy!

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the 12 Volt DC 1/2 in. Dr Electric Impact Wrench, a week or so ago, and wondered when i would get the chance to try it out. This past Friday, on my way home from work, i came upon a car parked halfway in the highway with a flat and a car full of children. Parents were stressed, and having a hardtime getting the lugs loosened. I pulled out the impact and plugged it in the power outlet in thier vehicle, and in a matter of seconds they were on thier way and happy i came along!!! The dad wondered if his lugs were tight when i tightened them, letting the wrench click, or tap 5 times, and he couldn't tighten them with the tire tool any tighter!! He wanted to know where i got the wrench, so i told him!! Great tool, great buy! Thanks Home Depot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from Wappingers Falls, NY

Lackluster performance

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does work,but rather poorly.If you're looking for fast removal of a tire better have patience it will take while,may have to possibly break nut with a lug wrench first.I found that when I replaced lugs back on tires I had to torgue it down further with lug wrench for safety reasons.10mm socket split when using to remove Honda wheel lugs.Had to buy a replacement 10mm socket,much better grade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from Reynoldsburg, Ohio.

Portable impact wrench

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing may look cheap, but it works great! I own 2 and I have used it to change tires on many cars. And I have used it for anything an impact wrench is needed. Especially when doing auto repair to replace brakes or other parts that only an impact wrench will work for. You will be glad to own one when you or someone you know has to change a tire in the winter time, this thing gets the job done fast! I have one in each car.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from Queensbury,NY

It Works!!

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing really works! It is very cheap for what it does and it acts like a self dectruct mechanism but it surley takes the nuts and bolts and gets them loose. It will be great for flat tires and remote projects with out power readily available. Any other comparable impact is four times the cost. Thanks for seaching out things that work that are reasonibly priced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench

A solid tool at a great price.

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Paid for itself the first time it freed a stubborn bolt on my car's exhaust. In the past, I would've taken drastic measures to take these bolts loose. For example, I had to use a cutting torch or a hack saw to get the job done. Saved me a lot of elbow grease and time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electric 1/2 in. Impact Wrench
from FL

Uses 12 volt Cigerret lighter Power

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good but have to drage everthing over to truk or car to use except on THE CAR OR TRUCK YOU ARE IN TO CHANGE TIRES, on it...All other uses very diffcult.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.