728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Use the Malibu 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit to illuminate your home's exterior. It comes with 6 bollard lights, 2 flood lights, light bulbs, a transformer and 75 ft. of cable. The kit's contents are waterproof and corrosion resistant. This attractive exterior light kit will add curb appeal and an extra level of security to your home.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Fairfax, VA

Great features

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We liked the bollard light style, above all the fact they are NOT solar. The transformer offers extras such as automatic and light sensitive control which although I consider a good feature there was little mention in the specs etc. My only gripe about the product is with the cable, as its physically (fatter diameter) large (the transformer is a 200W) the fittings do not easily clip and engage correctly on the cable. I had to remove a sliver of insulation from both sides to allow the clips to ratchet and clamp onto the cable correctly. Otherwise so far a very nice product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Owensboro Kentucky

Wonderful product

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have the larger kit (400 watt) with the same lights in the front of our house. We have had this kit for 8 years and other than changing a few bulbs, we have had no problems with it. We love them. We decided to put this kit at the rear of our house around our patio.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Professional Design

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good looking set of lights. We have a raised brick flowerbed and I've put the lights just inside of the beds along the edge. The two spot lights shine up either side of the columns on the front door.
They are nice metal, no plastic design. Two things to consider... the bollard lights if twisted slightly will come apart at the base, and the other is that the automatic eye needs quite a bit of light to shut the lights off. I was concerned that we had a street light and it would interfer, so I put it a little bit hidden from the street light. In the morning, it takes almost full daylight for them to shut off. Just something to consider when you install your transformer with auto-eye. Yes the bulbs do burn out quickly... but no problems with the new replacement bulbs I've purchased.
I see that this is discountinued now... I better order my extra flood light now!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from South Florida Metro, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bollard lights have faulty design

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Bollard lights have a faulty design. While they are beautiful and have great light, the bottom of the fixture is open to the elements. Insects, water, and dirt invade the fixture causing the light to burn out. The life expectancy of the expensive light bulb is months rather than years. I can no longer spend increased monies on refurbishing this light bulb.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Miami

LOVE THE LOOK

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Talk about simple, modern and easy to install. I used these in the entrance of my house, surrounded by river rock and the look is spectacular.
The only negative is that the wire they came with seems to be too thick and if the wire moves after installing, the lights may go on and off. (the clamp around the wire is not as snug as it should be). It may be a design issue with the clamp, but guessing a thinner wire may do the trick.
Otherwise, the look is perfect and I am very happy with product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Davie, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This set of lights adds to the appearance of my home.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this set of lights and had a friend install them for me. He removed the clips and spliced the wires. The lights are nice and bright and add to the appearance of my home and landscaping.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from nevada

look great

PostedMarch 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are functional and look great. Gives off just enough light.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED

Good product

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product- my second set. The only gripe is the bulbs included are prone to burn out. Replace them with sealed bulbs and they do much better. This is WAY better than any solar product, even capable of illuminating large trees with the spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8-Light Outdoor Black Bollard Light Kit-DISCONTINUED
from CT

Malibu Bollard Light Kit

PostedApril 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What I like about this kit is that it is all-metal! From the transformer to the lights, there is nothing made of cheap plastic in this kit. I purchased 2 kits about a year ago and have only had two bollard lights burn out (the spotlights are still running strong).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.