728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscape & Deck Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED

Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED

The Malibu Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit comes with 4 walk lights, 2 flood lights, a transformer and cable. It is an ideal exterior lighting solution for your home. The kit's lights use LED bulbs for energy savings and feature clear glass for unfiltered illumination.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product10 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
bionchis
from San Diego California

so beautiful

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I truly love these lights. They are stunning! At first i thought maybe the low wattage would be too dim, but from what the guy at homedepot was telling me the LED will appear brighter....SURE ENOUGH, they glow wonderfully.
The description states that thee is no timer, but there is a button on the transformer which allows you to progra the buttons to go on and off from 1) dusk till dawn, 2) 4hours 3) 6 hours 4) 8 hours.
thes lights give a crips white light instead of the usual yellow. So to make my house match change my patio light to an LED as well. AWESOME BUY, very hppy with it.
i sometmes pass my house up just to look at my littl lights. :)
the only negative would probably the spot lights, when my newly planted baby queen palms become mature, im not sure if these light will be powerful enough to illumiate the palm.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Mark
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Attractive lights but LED's to white for us

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought these lights because of the design of the path lights. The bronze color and the colonial look fit our home perfectly. However, when they arrived we plugged one path light and one spot light in and tested them at night. The LED lights were way too white. It washed out the brick color and made the house look cold and uninviting. So we returned the lights to the store and are shopping around for incandescent low-voltage lights. So far we haven't found any as attractive, but the LED lights are too ugly to use for our purposes.
Pros: Functional, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: led's too cold looking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
PapiLou
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Malibu Aurora 6 piece LED set

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This set has been perfect for our needs. We have a small (20'x10') flower bed in our front yard beginning from the porch. We purchased an additional pathway light and used them to illuminate the outermost edge of the bed. The two floodlights produce enough light to sufficiently illuminate our two stone columns on the porch. The brightness is also pleasing and not too overpowering.
The transformer included in the set is a 45 watt model but you never want to go over 80% of the maximum wattage. All of the other sets that we saw in store only offered 20 watt transformers; inconvenient if you plan to add additional lights. If you plan to cover the cable with mulch, instead of burying, it helps to use landscape pins. the connectors aren't the best on them market but they do the job well. The only dislike I had was that the transformer only had one mounting hole on top; one on bottom would provide a more secure mount. I ended up using a one hole strap and modifying it.
Alone this set produces useful light for both walking into the house at night and illuminating the front of the entryway. Accompanied with the downlighting on the house its a perfect match.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: transformer only has one mounting hole on top
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
1HomeHandyMan
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I expected and they look great.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The LED technology was a bit surprising since these are the first of it's kind that I've owned. The light is brighter and more white than yellow as well as more exact. The spot light is more defined vs other broader softer non LEDs and the lanterns cast a unique shadow given their design. It's not the same glow you'd get from a traditional landscape light. It's a bit to get used to but the end product is very very nice. Regarding customer service, there was some breakage during shipping but HD customer care replaced the items asap and I was able the install the following week. My only question now, what happens when the LED goes? Do I replace the whole light since there is no bulb although the LED aren't supposed to go out. I guess I have some homework to do but be sure to consider this when buying.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Darron
from Macomb, Mic
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to Install, Professional Look

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had read numerous reviews on this product as we were looking to improve our landscaping with some quality lights. I was very surprised at how easy the installation of lights was - not only putting them together but also attaching them to the lighting. I bought three sets and the spotlights plus standard lights give our house a bright surrounding to show off at night. I did get a larger generator to accommodate all of the lights (12 regular, 6 spotlights as we bought three sets), but all run off the same wire without issues. In the past, I've had issues with Malibu lights (black plastic) with the bulbs going out or not generating enough light. These lights, so far, have been amazing and looking forward to the LED keeping them good for a while.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Logan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks absolutely amazing!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First the color of the led light matches our other exterior lights, and does not have the blue led color. Second these are really nicely made using metal not plastic. Third they were incredibly easy to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
builder
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It was easy to install and a lot brighter than the old 4 watt system I had.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Better than expected. Delivered on time to my door.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
CaptBigD
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pricey, but worth it

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and works flawlessly. Because it is metal rather than the cheaper plastic, it should hold up better over time in sun/weather. More expensive than other units, but worth it based upon our experience. Very low power usage makes this an excellent green solution to exterior lighting. Biggest problem is that it doesn't come with enough line for most installations. I just bought 100' of line so I could install without splicing and add a couple of extra fixtures.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Cons: not enough line for most installations
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
SlightlyDisappointed

Beautiful...but

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These lights are absolutely wonderful...until I just had 3 die on me after a little over one year of use. Of course, the warranty is one year, and therefore no help. I am going to attempt to bring back to Home Depot to see if they will stand by this LED product since the LED's just died but my guess is I am out of luck. Not what I expect for LED's that are supposed to last forever. They were only on about 6hrs per night.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: didn't last!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Mike
from Durham, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

a nice looking light but too many flaws

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I looked forward to this purchase enthusiasticly. Actually I thought I had done my homework in regard to other reviews and problems with Malibu lighting. The assembly went well until I began connecting the individual lights to the wire. Only two lights on one line and two on the other lit. After changing transformers and reconnecting,
changing the lights that didn't light to the cable that had more lights lighting, in frustration, I called Malibu for suggestions. I had tried most of their suggestions, so I began inspecting the wire connections on the lights. This seemed to be the problem; however, there are still two lights that are not working. I even rewired the right side with new cable. I bought a replacement coach light in desperation, but I still need two more. A return of the two faulty lights may help. One of the lights that does
work is broken; I tried to straighten the light while in the ground, and it snapped without any resistance..
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: faulty wiring; brittle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Charlie
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

They are easy to install and look great.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks great, easy to install. What more could you ask for.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
Bainn

These lights look really nice

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights are pretty simple to install, look really nice, and the LED lights are brighter then I was expecting. All in all a great product so far.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage LED Tarnished Copper and Black Coach-Style 6-Piece Kit -DISCONTINUED
pdchung
from NJ

nice set of lights but pricy

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install. Transformer lacks features like timer, on, off etc. I ended purchase my own. lights are brighter than I thought they will be given the low wattage. will buy more to finish the front of my house
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.