728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Faux Finish or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED

1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED

Refresh the look of a bathroom with the Rust-Oleum 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit. The high-performance, epoxy acrylic paint provides a high gloss finish that looks and acts like porcelain and ceramic. This durable refinisher is corrosion resistant and cleans up simply with mineral spirits.
Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(116 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product102 of 112reviews
Rating Breakdown 116 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(33)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product102 of 112reviews
Customer questions and answers:
68 Questions | 166 Answers
Customer reviews for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quick Fix, Great Price!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Rust-Oleum Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit is an excellent alternative to a professional refinisher! The price is incredibly reasonable and we are very pleased with the results. Are the surfaces 100% perfect? No, there are a few spots where the paint bubbled up during the drying process. But, those are few and far between. Honestly, I don't think you could notice, unless you did a detailed inspection. This product is very durable, with no chips or marks on either the tub or counter. The fumes are pretty intense during the process, so I would recommend opening windows and having a fan close by. Aside from that, there are no downsides to this product. Great Product!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: requires multiple coats for even coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

From Peeling Pink to Bright White

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked as described. I bought I house with a nasty pink bathtub and this product turned it into a nice white tub. This kit only comes with the paint. I bought waterproof sand paper to sand the tub and I also used paint scraper for some parts. It is nice to have a shop vac handy so you can suck up all dirt and grime while you are sanding and scraping. When I applied the first coat I when around the edges with a brush and rolled the rest of the tub with a 4" roller. Make sure you buy the rollers that are for "smooth surfaces." I used two kits for my tub. I did four coats waiting an hour between coats. The paint covered the pink very well and it pretty smooth. There are a few spots where the roller lint got stuck in the paint. Over all I am very happy with this product. I allowed six days to dry.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+88points
88out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great option for a quick update

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was purchased as an option to resurface a harvest gold bathtub and surround. Overall we are happy with the result although it did leave a few lap lines so be careful to do a thorough low nap roller over the last coat. Applies very watery but dries to an epoxy finish.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+85points
85out of 85found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Wayne, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to apply and the finish is fantastic

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased a house built in 1975 that had a black bathtub. We had the tub "professionally" refinished, however the job did not last long and looked terrible. I decided to try it myself. I researched on the internet and decided on this product purchased at Home Depot. I spoke with Rustoleum and was told to remove old work prior to preparation - I used a stripping gel from HD. Then, I followed instructions (make sure you wear a good mask!) and applied 4 coats (I purchased 2 quarts - 2 coats per quart) of Tub & Tile Refinisher using a 4" foam roller. It looks great, is holding up well and my wife and I couldn't be happier.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Pretty good!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a professional remodeler (and a perfectionist) who has supervised and personally completed (with my own hands) projects of all sorts, and I'm very pleased with this product so far (it'll take some years to test the durability). I refinished an integrated smooth finish fiberglass tub/shower from 1979, and overall I was pretty pleased with the results. Looks great overall, and even hardened up (that's a good thing!) the fiberglass a bit (it's a thinner/cheaper fiberglass that flexes). I used a foam roller to apply, and managed to just barely get three coats out of the single box (bought two just in case, but was able to return the second). I've refinished lots of kitchen cabinets and painted other smooth surfaces before, both with perfect results, but even with that and a precise hand, it was impossible to not have roller lap marks visible when light catches the paint, and there will also be a slight texture to the paint despite saying it's self-leveling (no, it isn't any better if you use a brush). If you stare at the tub/shower from a normal distance, you can't tell, but at an angle up close you can tell. Not a problem overall, and it looks much better than before, but definitely not the same as replacing the tub/shower unit. This stuff has *very* strong fumes (and it spreads through much of the house and hangs), and if you care at all about your health (you should!) I would strongly recommend using an N95 respirator (HD sells them), and following the directions (read them) by opening all of the windows, turning on all fans in the house, including your bathroom and HVAC fans (not the cooling or heat though), and if you have a portable fan or air-mover, using that too and pointing it from inside the bathroom to outside. Even with all of this, painting for a few minutes and then leaving the room to breath fresh air is advisable). My job was with a vacant house, so I could leave it for a few days until the fumes cleared out, but if you're going to be in the house, keep all your fans on and windows open until it's almost gone.
Some general tips: Do sand (I did by hand) off the gloss on your tub as it instructs, if you want the thing to last well! This takes more time than anything else. Wet/dry 400 grit sandpaper as it recommends, gives a nice smooth finish, and will also sand off anything like rust or mineral buildup. Also if you get some of the paint on a wall, don't fret, it covers up with two quick coats of your regular wall paint. If you get it on a floor it's best to clean up right away. If you're handy, taking off all of your plumbing fixtures and removing all caulking before you paint, makes for a high quality job. If not, just make sure you take your time when you tape everything off.
Overall like I said, if your expectations are accurate, you take care of the ventilation, and you've got a fiberglass tub or shower that needs some loving, but don't want to trash it for a new one, this is a great kit to use! I've used many Rustoleum coating products (garage epoxy, countertop refinishing, spray paint to refinish a metal shower surround, textured stone-look spray paint to refinish brass lamp), and so far I've been very pleased with their quality and durability. I hope for the same with this!
Submitted some clear before and after pictures of the job. Hopefully HD won't reduce the picture quality.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Freeburg, IL 62243, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product - Great Price - Easy to use

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product to refinish a worn, stained 60 year cast iron tub. Amazing transformation..I used the feedback to guage whether the product was worth a try before ripping and replacing. Product instructions were very good, product was easy to use. I did have a spot or two where I screwed up, either to heavy or not enough, but that was my fault no the products.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+55points
69out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I liked it so much, I've done two showers!
My shower: brown 70's flowered tiles. Did the shower walls and a whole wall that was tiled in that great scheme. This was the first I used it and learned a few things to do different (user error). But I am so happy with the results! My user error btw was not changing rollers between coats which left a bumpy texture to parts.
Just did my brothers shower which was off white and stained from the previous owner and I'm actually very jealous how it turned out. It looks amazing.
DO: Follow the steps, sanding & cleaning. DO: Get the exact paint brushes etc. Change rollers between coats. Use ventilation and we used masks. I wasn't woozy like the first time when we didn't use masks.
Make sure to cover anything don't want painted. It starts out very thin and drips easily. Get your drips as you're painting because once they start drying you will not be able to fix completely.
The price alone was great, my brother and I have new looking showers without the remodel price. The directions were very accurate and user friendly. I did use two boxes both times.
I recommend it to anyone who complains about their showers.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+110points
130out of 150found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED

Epic Transformation

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A long time ago, in a hole in the ground called a Basement, there lived a bathroom. The bathroom was an ordinary bathroom, with a toilet and a sink, and a bathtub, but this bathtub was special. This bathtub was no ordinary bathtub, but a top of the line, early 1980s deep jetted soaker. This bathtub was granted magical powers by the high elves of the ancient land, those powers were comfort, high velocity jets, and the unique ability to take the stress of even the most stressful day away, much in the same way that a finely brewed ale would do, though not quite as effective as soutfarthing pipe-weed. This bathtub was placed on the earth to watch over and protect from stress and evil, and was called Bathtub the Blue, or Bathtub Blue-haim in the common tongue. IT was know by others under various other names, among them, "The ugliest robin's egg blue bathtub I've ever seen".
Bathtub the Blue served many people for many long years, until darkness stirred again in the world, and the chant was heard, "One remodel to rule them all" from Home Depot stores and contractors. The time of robin's egg blue bathroom fixtures had come to an end, and only those with the courage to fight would survive.
Bathtub the Blue was challenged in the depths of the bathroom by the mightiest of ancient fears. The beast was the shape of a man, but larger. On his hands were protective latex gloves, his closely shorn hair covered with a dirty bandana, and his face hidden behind a protective ventilator mask. His eye glimmered evilly from behind safety goggles as he raised his weapons to do battle with the trusted Bathtub the Blue.
Into the darkness of hard work they fell, the ferocious beast assaulting the bathtub with the wet, acrid tang of CLR, the grit of Comet with Bleach, and the endless grind of Scotch Brite scouring pads, when at last Bathtub the Blue triumphed, and smote his enemy's tired body in ruin upon the bathroom floor. And the bathtub strayed out of thought, and the night was as a life age of the earth as ales were consumed in honor of the memory of the bathtub that the friends thought was departed.
But it was not the end. A new warrior arose, a mighty, goodly man, with strength of the elder race, and though his armor was similar to the destructive beast, his mission was one of restoration. From behind his protective mask he whispered to the Bathtub, "From the shadows a fire shall be woken, Rustoleum products again will be king!" And he labored long and hard to bring the Bathtub back from the abyss of scrubbing, sanding and cleaning products. He struggled to carry the wounded Bathtub through harsh and noxious fumes, and at last emerged victorious.
The Bathtub looked at his old friend and said, "I am Bathtub the White, and I have been sent back to provide peace, relaxation and comfort to all who inhabit this house, until the end of another time."
And to Bathtub the White, adorned in gleaming white robes of Rustoleum Tub and Tile Transformations, with all decorative fixtures glimmering darkly in Rustoleum Oil Rubbed Bronze spray, became a source of pride and beauty, and will adorn our bathroom for another age. For less than $100, I turned a hideous and outdated tub and fixtures into a stunning, modern fixture. I'd recommend spraying the two part epoxy paint to avoid ANY chance of roller shed (the fibers actually hurt when they dry into the shell).
Bottom line, it's great result for the price, and can make a truly EPIC difference in a bathroom.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Looks Great, Good Coverage, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+74points
109out of 144found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
Gender:Female

my shower looks shiny and new, just make sure not to use a paint brush...

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a pretty small shower stall which was very dated and very ugly w/ rose colored tile. i ordered 2 and I used 1.5 kits and the coverage was ok but only due to the fact that i used a brush...it dripped ALOT and dried too quickly to smooth over the drips properly. However I had a completely different experience using a roller! It looks amazing and didnt drip nearly as much and the self leveling properties do work. The odor was tolerable, however, i can still smell it a little, even after using the product about a month ago. I would recommend this product my shower looks shiny and new, just make sure not to use a paint brush...
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean, dries too quickly
+65points
65out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An amazing alternative to a full refinish

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My porcelain tub was is pretty bad shape- pitted around the edge; the finish was completely removed by years of scrubbing; and plenty of lime and rust staining. Three simple and thin coats of this paint, it was perfect. Or at least as perfect as one's do-it-yourself project can be. I followed all of the directions explicitly and used recommend products. The material is self-leveling, so there is a degree of faith that one must have in the first few coats. The product was slow to dry in the can, so I didn't feel any rush, but it did manage to dry completely between coats. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
+49points
49out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Final Product- Looks Great

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First, I read EVERY SINGLE review for do's and don't and made notes.... The smell is terrible!!! Can get lightheaded and dizzy. I needed 3 boxes. I was painting fast but not fast enough. I used roller and paint brush... Roller looks better but brush was easier. Learning Process.. Paint SUPERT FAST and buy 6 to 8, or more brushes- Take unused ones back. Cover your tile floor. Caught havic trying to remove the epoxy off AND wear protective gloves.. USE AN INDUSTRIAL STRENGTH RESPIRATOR
Pros: Very Adhesive, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Tub Looks Amazing! - from someone who doesn't know anything about home repairs!

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Let me first say that I am NOT very handy when it comes to home repairs! We just bought a house, and the tub was dingy looking and stained on the bottom from a bathmat being left there for so many years. We decided to try epoxying the tub instead of buying a new one. I bought two boxes to be safe, and one box ended up being the perfect amount for 2 thick coats (tub only).
Following the preparation instructions very carefully- down to the sanding! After I cleaned and cleaned again and sanded, I let the tub dry almost a whole day before I taped around the edges and epoxied it. I removed the drain cover at the bottom of the tub and taped over the metal ring that was left (as well as the hole). I unscrewed the cover for the drain stopper and just taped it to the water faucet (so it was dangling in the air) instead of removing the whole thing- that worked just fine. I also placed trash bags on the floor around me and had a fan just outside the bathroom pointing at me to reduce the smell. Oh, and acetone works well to remove the epoxy from your skin (I accidentally rested my entire forearm on the tub lip and the paint dried to my skin instantly!).
I purchased a high quality, short nap roller just like the box suggested (the roller "mechanism" I bought was very, very short- it would take rollers that were only about 3" long. I decided to buy this tiny roller since the space in the tub is small. It worked better than a standard-sized roller). I did not have ANY problems with the nap coming off onto the tub. I used one roller for the first coat and a second roller for the second coat and discarded them both. For the paint brush, I bought a high quality 2" angled brush used for staining. There was also no transfer of paint bristles onto the tub. I only used one brush but bought a second just in case.
Be sure to work in sections- the epoxy does dry after 5 minutes or so. I mixed the whole container of epoxy at once (it says to use within 6 hours), but I poured it into the paint tray a little at a time so it wouldn't start drying in the tray. I used the brush to get the tub lips and where the tub meets the shower wall. I used the brush to get around the drain and drain plug. I also used the brush to get the curved area where the tub "wall" meets the tub "floor"- the roller can't get that area because of the curve. I made sure to paint in the same direction on the whole tub. I started around the drain plug and worked my way around, saving the tub "floor" and the front of the tub for last.
It will look VERY uneven and splotchy after the first coat! Don't stress over it like I did! After the first coat, I threw away the first nap roller and left the paint brush on the paint tray and covered with a trash bag. After an hour, I started on the second coat (the outside of the tub will be dry, so you can lean against it to paint inside the tub) and worked my way around the inside of the tub, then the floor, then the outside.
While you're painting the second coat, it makes it a lot easier to do the trim work with the brush if you REALLY saturate the brush. Don't barely dip the brush into the epoxy to do the tub lip or the curved part at the bottom of the tub- you really need to make it so that the brush is literally dripping with paint. The paint self-levels, but I found it looked more even if I used a lot of paint in those areas because it meshed better with the areas I used the roller. And how it looks after you start to paint the second coat on is how it's going to look after it dries, so if you see bare spots or streaky spots, you need to make sure to touch them up before the epoxy dries (with a very saturated brush- if the area you're trying to touch up has started drying, using a very saturated brush will make it so that the paint already on the tub doesn't start coming off onto the brush).
My tub looks brand new! Looking closely, I could see a couple drips I missed under the drain plug, but it is unnoticeable unless you squat down inside the tub and look. I used white caulk to go around everything, and it looks perfect.
The smell wasn't nearly as bad as other reviewers stated. After we were all finished, we brought the fan inside the bathroom, pointed it at the opened window, and shut the door. We weren't living in the house yet, so we had to shut the window before we left that night. The next day we did the same thing, and the smell was virtually gone!
It has only been two weeks since we began using the shower, so I can't comment on how well the epoxy holds up. I will revise my comment in several months to comment and wear and tear.
I HIGHLY recommend this product! For someone just learning about home repairs, it was a breeze to do (preparation took about an hour, and it took about an hour to paint each coat- so three hours total). Honestly, I don't care how long the epoxy lasts- you can't beat this price to get a brand new looking tub!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
+158points
160out of 162found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Clarita, CA

Good Finish But Strong Odor

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Color is bright white, the finish is good, but must use good quality rollers and brushes to have a nice finish. Also, spend extra time prepping the shower stall for good adhesion.
The biggest drawback is that this material has strong fumes, so be careful. I have used the shower over 10 times since refinishing it and I can still smell hints of the fumes coming off the shower stall. If you have a window in the bathroom, keep it open to air out the room.
If you're sensitive, consider wearing a respirator.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED

Great product

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used 2 kits to refinish tile in Tub that was dated (glad I ordered 2 kits), looks great used a roller (though I used a good quality one it still shed, for the second coat I lightly sanded and switched to a foam roller and that did the trick). Would recommend though follow the prepping instuctions. This item needs to be stocked at the stores!!.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED

Did what it said it would do.

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pleased with the outcome. Only complaint was that I waited until next day to attempt 3rd coat which product was too thick and lumpy by then - instructions should make clearer that redcoats need to be done within a few hours.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from North Dakota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'd do it again and might need to.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Other reviewers said this product needed 4 coats to cover pink. That is most definitely true. In fact, I think I could use a 5th coat because there is still a slight pink tinge. But I'm so happy to be rid of my ugly pink bathtub. Please note if you use a foam roller, be sure to use a new one for each coat. They do tend to disintegrate leaving you with a mess of little junk on your painted surface that's hard to fix and this was probably my biggest problem. So the problem might be me....not the product!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Use
Cons: poor instructions
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Santa Clarita, CA

Old Fashion Resurfacing Kit

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought this product twice, it is a solid product, but has strong odor during curing period, can last for a week and several showers. It is old fashion in that due to the odor. The surface is decent and this is a cheap way of resurfacing a shower stall.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Pensacola, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old tub made new

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had an old beige looking tub and wanted to Update the bathroom but did not have the money to get a new tub So we purchased the enamel paint from Home Depot and sanded the old Tub And applied the enamel paint to the old tub And the end result was better than expected it looks like brand-new
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Pretty Well

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a house with an avocado green tub in a redone blue bathroom...that wasn't going to fly.
I needed to use a brush instead of a roller, like some reviews said to use.
Also, for some reason, doing touch ups, the paint started to bubble in spots, and if I went back over it again to fix it, it stripped all the paint off. Luckily for me this is on the outside of the tub, so I am going to buy some regular enamel paint to go over this with.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
16out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 qt. White Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Columbus Ohio

Rustolum tub paint

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great product if your tub has seen better day its a low cost fix you just have to make sure you prepare the surface well DON'T try and rush it won't work
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>