728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top Freezer Refrigerators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White

Dependability and convenient size describe some of the attributes of this top mount, 2 door, 10 cu. ft. auto-defrost refrigerator. Other features are reversible doors, can dispenser, clear smooth back and vegetable crisper.
Overall rating:
2.26 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
34%of customersrecommend this product32 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(11)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(55)
Features 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
34%of customersrecommend this product32 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Review 1 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Kuma
from Manassas, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is what it IS...a SMALL refrigerator

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit went to our basement to minimize the traffic and fits serves the man cave well. Keep in mind, it's built as an INDOOR refrigerator & not designed for the garage, unless your garage is climate controlled - I've seen a few of those & the owners don't buy a SMALL refrigerator.
The freezer & refrigerator independently controlled; however, like full-size models, keep the circulation flowing by keeping items off the back of the shelves. Items on the shelves in the far back, experienced frosting or freezing. The door compartments are fixed but offer two additional locations to accommodate various sized items. The clear plastic fruit & vegetable bins make know what's left & 're-order' simple. It's a great secondary frig when used be design; small, light weight, easy-to-move, frost-free value WITH rear wheels -- great value!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Energy Efficient
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Penny
from UNH Institute on Disability
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect for our office!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We are a small non-profit office that has doubled in size over the past year. We were desperately in need of something to accommodate as many as 40 people on a daily basis, but in a very tight space, and on a very tight budget.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
ampm
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

very poor item

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this a little over a year ago to replace an old fridge that failed after 30 years of reliable service and it worked great at first then the auto defrost went out just after the warrenty was up, wish I had looked at the reviews for this thing before buying it.
do not buy this thing unless you like being frustrated.
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
warmbeer
from Folsom, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Compressor dead at 2.5 years

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought for garage fridge for beverages. Worked OK, but loud. Compressor died and was told $550 to repair even though still in warranty
+25points
27out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
paulayanne
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poor quality

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i did not want to even give it a 1 star.....
i bought this fridge about 1 1/2 years ago... already had it serviced 2 times.... now i am going to get an American made fridge... yes i said American made.... even though this has the name of magic chef its made in china!!!! parts are extremely expensive if you can find them.....
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
nothappy

A cooler would be more reliable.

PostedApril 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A piece of garbage. Has broken twice in 2 years. I'm on the website now searching for a replacement, and sure as heck won't purchase this again. First breakdown was under warranty, 2nd was not. Not happy, would never buy again.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Independent1
from Kittery, Maine

non-functional

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this refrigerator ices up every few weeks, in the summer within days, and I get tired of defrosting. The regulator seems to be just a placebo because turning it in any direction has no effect at all. The temperature can not be adjusted, and once it starts icing up - which is always - it will barely cool the refrigerator compartment. I never had really solidly frozen food in the freezer! Ice cream is soft even one day after deicing - why I did not return it right away I don't know. Well - It's a lot of work to bring it up the stairs, then down again to return it and then up again another model!!!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
winthrop

Run Away From This Product, Don't Walk!

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don’t walk, run-away from this product. On the average, you will have to defrost this refrigerator once-a-month or loose your food in the lower compartment. Basically this refrigerator runs continuously on the medium cooling setting. Matter of fact, it runs continuously on all settings. This refrigerator will frost up inside the interior back wall of the unit and then will not allow the cold air from the freezer compartment to circulate to the lower unit. Nothing but junk!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
greg
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not satisfied

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought one for my Office. three years and it is gone. poor quality and loud
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
georgejv
from st petersburg

product works well and is economical however

PostedJune 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have 11 of these in apts which i pay for utilities -have learnt to change out defrost timers when the refrig stops working and freezer frosts up--in the back of the refigerator in the rear left bottom corner 2 screws hold a little container in the container is a defrost timer with 4 prongs -2 screws hold the timer onto the small container-bring to appliance repair shop who sells parts-universal defrost timer is $25-same prongs -should have extra wire put over no 1 prong-defrost refrigerator over night -built up inside behind plastic-empty overflow at rear bottom-
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Evangeline
from fargo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great size

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a new refrigerator for our camper, the one I was looking for was only available on line. They suggested that I look at the Magic Chef that was on sale. It was a perfect fit .It's guiet and runs great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Good Use of Space
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Professor
from My Efficiency
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst Fridge Ever

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I could not imagine a worse refrigerator. I have to unplug it at night so I can sleep because it is so loud, and in the morning my food is warm. Makes a terribly irritating clicking sound constantly. Too small, overpriced, worst thing ever.
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Seayanika
from Vista, CA

Nice size but totally unreliable

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this perfect sized unit for a small apartment. I really liked the size of the freezer. After just over one year (of course), I noticed that it was running ALL THE TIME! And very noisy. Since it was out of warranty I checked online to try and figure out why it was running constantly. Figured it out....and it's not pretty.
The coils behind the removable panel in the back of the freezer are freezing up. Some unknown (to me) part has failed. When the coils freeze, the ice blocks the cold air flow from the freezer to the refrigerator, and the thermostat must be in the refrigerator portion. Therefore the refrigerator portion isn't getting cold and the unit keeps running.
The only remedy I have found is to once a month (or every few weeks), I unplug the refrigerator, remove the back panel in the freezer, and defrost it with hot pans of water. A ROYAL PAIN.....but it's better than losing food and listening to the constant noise of this little nightmare.
I've been told that "apartment" sized refrigerators are mostly all unreliable....but this one seems to be the worst. I'm replacing with a Whirlpool 9.7 cubic foot from a competitor and crossing my fingers.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
LMoss

Not a good product

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like to leave good comments when it is warranted. Unfortunately, this is not one of those occassions. This is not a good product. If you get two good years out of this appliance you are lucky. I learned a costly lesson in purchasing this product. If I can help the next consumer, my advice would be to save your money.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
SHAM
from K-VILLE MO.

10.0 CU. FT. REFRIGERATOR

PostedApril 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
GOING ON OUR THIRD ONE IN FOUR YEARS ALL OF THEM MADE NOISE AND THEN JUST QUIT AND OUR THIRD ONE IS ALREADY MAKING WEIRD NOISES AFTER ONLY ONE DAY
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
JimH1014
from McHenry, IL

Get what you pay for

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these units... Both made very odd noises. One the compressor stopped working and occassionally would work, then shut off, then start up - enough to lose food one day at work, and not allow one to feel it was reliable. Other unit the freezer continues to work but the fridge only area doesn't. GARBAGE - don't buy this fridge!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
DECATUR
from Woodbury,GA

HIGH QUALITY > Nominal Service

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am replacing a 30 years of service, Magic Chief 10ft. unit that had a problem with the defriost-timer one time in all those years, the (parts cost $48.99 + tax and a $ 60.00 service fee are current charges as of 2009.)
The previous reviewer got RIPED-OFF by the service company; being a FACTORY TRAINED servicer for 40 years "I" never riped my customers off intentionally and when mistakes like the previous review > should be referred to the manufacturer or Home Depo!
Small apartments or rec-rooms this unit is an excelent choice.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
JimH
from McHenry, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go to another brand

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product temperature varied even though the temperature setting did not vary. Then it died unexpectedly in less than a year. Go with another brand.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
DocT
from Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

problem common in this model

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This model has problems with the auto defrost cycle. Mine began to fail at about 1.5 years old. The evaporator freezes up so the freezer remains cold but the ice buildup prevents cold air flow down into the refrigerator compartment.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10.0 cu. ft. Top Freezer Refrigerator in White
Anonymous
from Washington, DC

Great value

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for a studio apartment with a small dorm-style fridge. I bought this fridge to replace the smaller one, and couldn't be happier. I've never had a problem. Great for 2 people, or for a basement area.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>