728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smoke Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

FireX i4618 alarm is a 120V hardwire smoke alarm and battery back-up feature. Utilizes ionization technology that may detect fast flaming fires sooner than photoelectric. Install this alarm in your home to provide you and your family an early warning in the event of a fire. Battery back-up feature provides protection even during power outages and the smart hush feature will silence false alarms.
Overall rating:
4.218 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product100 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(75)
4
(30)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product100 of 117reviews
Customer reviews for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
Review 1 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from South Jordan, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great basic smoke alarm.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great basic smoke alarm at the right price. Easy installation and looks good. I have had no nuisance alarms. This alarm is interconnected to all the alarms in my house. If one alarm is activated, they all alarm.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Chevy Chase Maryland
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product but keeps going off if it is near a cooking area. It also was chirping every 30 seconds and it was chirping at midnight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length, Nice Design
Cons: Short Battery Life
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent purchase

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was non-sense. Just remove the old wiring harness (from the previous or old detector) and replace with the new one. Replace the mounting plate and install the new detector. Finally remove the battery protection tab, close the battery compartment and press the test button. As simple and quick as that. The battery backup feature is a nice addition tho the detector, so you still has protection during a power outage (you may be using candles to light your house). I bought four. Excellent purchase.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Buy a better Alarm

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought two of these alarms to replace the orginal detectors that were 30 years old. After only two years of use, one of the alarms started late night and early am false alarms. Following the instructions the alarm was blown out with compressed air on three different occasions. The alarm STILL gives off false alarms. It's made in China and recommended to be replaced every ten years. I only got two years before it failed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

2 of my 6 i-4168 firex alarms failed within one year

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed 6 of these firex smoke alarms and two have failed within 1 year. The defective alarms started chirping about every 2 minutes. The batteries were tested good and there was no dust present.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great smoke alarm

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great looking and fairly easy to install. Removed old alarms and replaced with these alarms
Pros: Easy Replacement, Battery Length, Clear Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Yorktown, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Smoke alarm with Battery Backup

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The smoke alarm was easy to install and works fine. Passed the home inspection with no problem.
Pros: Loud, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Greentown, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Reliable Even When New

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced two seven-year-old First Alert alarms with these KIDDE Firex smoke alarms I4618. Six hours after the install we had our first "FALSE" alarm. It was a cool (70 degrees) summer night with low humidity. We HUSHED the alarms and then about twenty minutes later it happened again. Took them both down and will return them tomorrow and try something else. These alarms are not reliable. After reading reviews on the HD website and Amazon, it seems lots of folks are having this same issue.
Pros: Loud
Cons: false alarms
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Topeka, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Continuous false alarms

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is a reason for a "Quick Hush Feature for False Alarms" on these units. I would not recommend this smoke alarm to anyone that likes their sleep. It constantly went off with false alarms. And with them being hard wired together, the whole house rang out when one would go off. After following the directions from the company and from posts of people who complained, I still kept getting them. Although they may be fairly priced, they are not worth the headache.
Pros: Loud
Cons: too many false alarms
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

"Exact" replacement for builder installed smoke detector

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The old detectors were 11 years old and they kept chirping even after replacing the battery. It turns out that is the "end of life" audible warning. Smoke alarms have to be replaced every 10 years and sometimes sooner.
The i4618 is the "upgraded" replacement for the builder installed smoke detectors. It looks identical to the old ones. The old ones had changed to an ivory color from white. By building code there are 7 detectors in my home (living room, family room, bedrooms and hallways).
Firex was bought out by Kiddie years ago and changed the connector and mount ring. So, I had to replace the mount ring and change the connector...and no more chirping!
Be sure to turn off the AC power before replacing the smoke alarm/detectors.
Depending on how high your ceiling is and tall you are you will need a step stool or ladder, a screw driver, and some wire nuts, just in case.
It was not not a big deal to replace the mount ring and included connector pigtail. Just loosen the screw enough to turn the old ring to the large hole that lets the ring fall over the screw heads. Then pull down the connector, unscrew the wire nuts one at a time and install new connector.
If your detectors are interconnected, connect red wire to the (in most cases) red or third wire. If the detectors are not interconncted, leave the "cap/cover" over red wire. Do not connect red wire to the bare or green wire which is almost always safety ground.
Sometimes DiY'ers to save money (or using some wire they have left over) will use the ground wire as the third wire. Check all the smoke detectors and verify that the bare or green wire is isolated from (not connected to) safety ground before connecting red wire to it.
Connect white wire to neutral (usually white) and black wire to hot (usually black).
Sometimes wire nuts come apart when "unscrewing" them from the wires. It happened this time, but fortunately I have a few wire nuts in my tool box. To take off the inside "heli-coil" off the wire may require a pair of pliers.
If you do not have wire nuts in your tools or stuff purchasing a varity box of wire nuts is a good idea. They are only a couple of bucks and you'll end up spending that on gas going back to the store.
Push back wires into electrical box leaving connector dangling in the middle. Insert new mount ring over screw heads and twist to securing location and tighten screws just until snug. Tighten the screws too much and you will break the mount ring.
Install connector into back of smoke alarm. Place detector on mount ring and twist until detector locks into place.
Remove cardboard battery preserver and close battery compartment door.
That's it, your done with that smoke alarm. Repeat until all alarms have been changed out. And DO NOT FORGET to turn AC POWER BACK ON! Otherwise, back-up battery will have a very short life.
It took about 5 minutes each with my son helping, bring the new detectors and taking away the old ones.
You should not have to change them again for 10 years.
Once a year with the dusting attachment on the vacuum cleaner clean the opening and around the smoke alarm to reduce false alarms and keeping the alarm working properly.
If some "kitchen smoke" gets to the alarm, just use a piece of cardboard to fan fresh air into the smoke detector. This new version has "smart hush". Hold down the button for 3 seconds or so and it silences the alarm for 8 minutes and LED flashes red. I have not had the chance to use the hush feature yet.
A note: the smoke detector come with a carbon 9V batteries, which wil last about 6 months. I purchase 9V alkaline batteries on-line from a place in Brooklyn NY. Alkalines last about a year, that's why I use them...it reminds me to vacuum the smoke alarm when replacing the battery.
If you can afford Lithum, they should last around 5 years. But you will still have to vacuum smoke detector yearly.
This detectors meet the building codes in most areas, but safety experts say you should have a dual ion and photo detector. Ion (this alarm) is good for fast moving smokey fires, where as photo is better for slow or smoldering fires.
I'm a single dad, so I opted to replace alarms with what "meets" code because replaing all 7 alarms with dual detector would cost around $230. I price matched the i4618 and replace all the alarms for under $100.
If you can afford it install the Kiddie PI2020, it installs on the same wires and protects your family to a higher level of safety. The back-up battery installs in the back (lithium might be good choice here).
I can fully recommend the Kiddie Firex i4618. The last ones lasted the full ten years and pretty sure these will last 10 years too.
+87points
87out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Williamsburg
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Top quality manufacturer. Good price. Easy to install. I am really pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Easy Replacement, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from McKinney, tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value in smoke detector

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pretty standard AC powered smoke alarm. Easy to install and worked perfectly right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Northwood, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smoke Detector

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the smoke detector works fine, the associate at Home Depot was very helpful.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Ephrata, Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sensitive detectors!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These units were in the house when I purchased it, but were ready to be replaced, so I purchased new units of the same type, and find them to work well. They are interconnected with one another in the house, and if one goes off they all begin to sound.
Pros: Loud, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Problem with High Humidity

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed six 4618's in my home here in Hawaii. Was easy to do & went in fine ... I thought. Whenever it rains and is cool (i.e. high humidity conditions), they go into nuisance alarm. And because they are all interconnected, they ALL go off (not their fault, lousy code). But the unit that went into "nuisance alarm" is NOT indicated by LED, exacerbating the problem.
I suppose I will pursue the photo-electric variety instead. But buyer beware of use of a 4618 in a humid environment!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Jacksonville, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased to replace 10 year old ones in my home. Had problems with the old ones.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Needs Adaptor not included not sold at Home Depot

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to avoid re-wiring, these need an adaptor to replace an older Firex and other brand existing AC wiring. Yeh, you can re-wire with what they provide. But it is a heck of a lot easier to save the labor and go the adaptor route. BUY A UNIT THAT INCLUDES the ADAPTOR(s) if replacing a worn out unit that has the older style connection. Home Depot does not sell the adaptors alone.
Cons: extra work to use for replacing old ac wired units
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Doylestown Pa.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good item with a great price

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy install I found it hard to believe that the manufacturer did not provide mounting hardware.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Davison, MI 48423, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Many good features

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced aging ones with these. They installed very easily and the battery back-up is a great safety feature. LED indicators give you a status update at a glance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: no "beep" to indicate a/c power failure/restore
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hardwired 120-Volt Inter Connectable Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excelent product

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased the smoke alarm and was able to install it without any assistance. Not bad for an 89 year old woman!!!
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>