728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smoke Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

FireX i4618 alarm is a 120V hardwire smoke alarm and battery back-up feature. Utilizes ionization technology that may detect fast flaming fires sooner than photoelectric. Install this alarm in your home to provide you and your family an early warning in the event of a fire. Battery back-up feature provides protection even during power outages and the smart hush feature will silence false alarms.
Overall rating:
4.211 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product87 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(65)
4
(27)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product87 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
Review 1 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent purchase

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The installation was non-sense. Just remove the old wiring harness (from the previous or old detector) and replace with the new one. Replace the mounting plate and install the new detector. Finally remove the battery protection tab, close the battery compartment and press the test button. As simple and quick as that. The battery backup feature is a nice addition tho the detector, so you still has protection during a power outage (you may be using candles to light your house). I bought four. Excellent purchase.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Chevy Chase Maryland
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product but keeps going off if it is near a cooking area. It also was chirping every 30 seconds and it was chirping at midnight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Battery Length, Nice Design
Cons: Short Battery Life
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from South Jordan, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great basic smoke alarm.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great basic smoke alarm at the right price. Easy installation and looks good. I have had no nuisance alarms. This alarm is interconnected to all the alarms in my house. If one alarm is activated, they all alarm.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

2 of my 6 i-4168 firex alarms failed within one year

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed 6 of these firex smoke alarms and two have failed within 1 year. The defective alarms started chirping about every 2 minutes. The batteries were tested good and there was no dust present.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Northwood, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smoke Detector

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the smoke detector works fine, the associate at Home Depot was very helpful.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Topeka, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Continuous false alarms

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is a reason for a "Quick Hush Feature for False Alarms" on these units. I would not recommend this smoke alarm to anyone that likes their sleep. It constantly went off with false alarms. And with them being hard wired together, the whole house rang out when one would go off. After following the directions from the company and from posts of people who complained, I still kept getting them. Although they may be fairly priced, they are not worth the headache.
Pros: Loud
Cons: too many false alarms
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Big Spring TEXAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

SMOKE ALARM

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST BUY ON THE MARKET TODAY! Easy battery change. Interconnectable Is a must In any home or office, and battery backup is a life saver too. Superfast ship out by seller too!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Hollis, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everyone should own these

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recommend that everyone hire a licensed electrician and get there house hard-wired for smoke detectors. I have installed this product in 4 different houses.
Pros: Loud, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reliable, functional product at a reasonable price.

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install, simple to test. I now have them in each major room of my home. I check the batteries a few times a year.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Surprise, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Priced right. I recommend this product. It is stocked in my local store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Dallas, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value - Works Great

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace an old smoke detector in the garage. It was easy to replace and wire up. Works great and the alarm is synchronized with my other smoke detectors.
Pros: Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Davison, MI 48423, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Many good features

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Replaced aging ones with these. They installed very easily and the battery back-up is a great safety feature. LED indicators give you a status update at a glance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: no "beep" to indicate a/c power failure/restore
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

"Exact" replacement for builder installed smoke detector

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The old detectors were 11 years old and they kept chirping even after replacing the battery. It turns out that is the "end of life" audible warning. Smoke alarms have to be replaced every 10 years and sometimes sooner.
The i4618 is the "upgraded" replacement for the builder installed smoke detectors. It looks identical to the old ones. The old ones had changed to an ivory color from white. By building code there are 7 detectors in my home (living room, family room, bedrooms and hallways).
Firex was bought out by Kiddie years ago and changed the connector and mount ring. So, I had to replace the mount ring and change the connector...and no more chirping!
Be sure to turn off the AC power before replacing the smoke alarm/detectors.
Depending on how high your ceiling is and tall you are you will need a step stool or ladder, a screw driver, and some wire nuts, just in case.
It was not not a big deal to replace the mount ring and included connector pigtail. Just loosen the screw enough to turn the old ring to the large hole that lets the ring fall over the screw heads. Then pull down the connector, unscrew the wire nuts one at a time and install new connector.
If your detectors are interconnected, connect red wire to the (in most cases) red or third wire. If the detectors are not interconncted, leave the "cap/cover" over red wire. Do not connect red wire to the bare or green wire which is almost always safety ground.
Sometimes DiY'ers to save money (or using some wire they have left over) will use the ground wire as the third wire. Check all the smoke detectors and verify that the bare or green wire is isolated from (not connected to) safety ground before connecting red wire to it.
Connect white wire to neutral (usually white) and black wire to hot (usually black).
Sometimes wire nuts come apart when "unscrewing" them from the wires. It happened this time, but fortunately I have a few wire nuts in my tool box. To take off the inside "heli-coil" off the wire may require a pair of pliers.
If you do not have wire nuts in your tools or stuff purchasing a varity box of wire nuts is a good idea. They are only a couple of bucks and you'll end up spending that on gas going back to the store.
Push back wires into electrical box leaving connector dangling in the middle. Insert new mount ring over screw heads and twist to securing location and tighten screws just until snug. Tighten the screws too much and you will break the mount ring.
Install connector into back of smoke alarm. Place detector on mount ring and twist until detector locks into place.
Remove cardboard battery preserver and close battery compartment door.
That's it, your done with that smoke alarm. Repeat until all alarms have been changed out. And DO NOT FORGET to turn AC POWER BACK ON! Otherwise, back-up battery will have a very short life.
It took about 5 minutes each with my son helping, bring the new detectors and taking away the old ones.
You should not have to change them again for 10 years.
Once a year with the dusting attachment on the vacuum cleaner clean the opening and around the smoke alarm to reduce false alarms and keeping the alarm working properly.
If some "kitchen smoke" gets to the alarm, just use a piece of cardboard to fan fresh air into the smoke detector. This new version has "smart hush". Hold down the button for 3 seconds or so and it silences the alarm for 8 minutes and LED flashes red. I have not had the chance to use the hush feature yet.
A note: the smoke detector come with a carbon 9V batteries, which wil last about 6 months. I purchase 9V alkaline batteries on-line from a place in Brooklyn NY. Alkalines last about a year, that's why I use them...it reminds me to vacuum the smoke alarm when replacing the battery.
If you can afford Lithum, they should last around 5 years. But you will still have to vacuum smoke detector yearly.
This detectors meet the building codes in most areas, but safety experts say you should have a dual ion and photo detector. Ion (this alarm) is good for fast moving smokey fires, where as photo is better for slow or smoldering fires.
I'm a single dad, so I opted to replace alarms with what "meets" code because replaing all 7 alarms with dual detector would cost around $230. I price matched the i4618 and replace all the alarms for under $100.
If you can afford it install the Kiddie PI2020, it installs on the same wires and protects your family to a higher level of safety. The back-up battery installs in the back (lithium might be good choice here).
I can fully recommend the Kiddie Firex i4618. The last ones lasted the full ten years and pretty sure these will last 10 years too.
+87points
87out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast and easy to update old smoke alarms!

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I replaced six 16 year old smoke alarms. Used with Kidde adapters so I didn't have to rewire making entire process very easy!
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from conroe,texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product ,good price

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to install and matched up to old mounting bracket
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Problem with High Humidity

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed six 4618's in my home here in Hawaii. Was easy to do & went in fine ... I thought. Whenever it rains and is cool (i.e. high humidity conditions), they go into nuisance alarm. And because they are all interconnected, they ALL go off (not their fault, lousy code). But the unit that went into "nuisance alarm" is NOT indicated by LED, exacerbating the problem.
I suppose I will pursue the photo-electric variety instead. But buyer beware of use of a 4618 in a humid environment!
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very satisfied with the entire experience - installation and use.

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These smoke detectors/alarms were the perfect replacement item for my old alarms. The installation was very basic and as described. If you current alarms are more than 10 years old, you need to get these and they will be just what you need.
Pros: Battery Length, Loud, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Good purchase!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This replacement smoke alarm was very easy to install. Appreciate the compact size, as well!
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Vermont
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good price. Looks nice and neat on the ceiling. Goes off a little too often for me

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does the job for a great price, although I think it's a little too sensitive in that it goes off every time we overcook something (the device is in the kitchen). But at least once you press the cancel button it remembers that and you don't need to keep pressing it every few minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hardwired Interconnectable 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install. Works.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to install 2 of these in about 10 minutes. replacing old ones that were failing. All tests passed the first time. I will by one more for my workshop as soon as I can figure out a way to cover it when I'm making dust.
Pros: Loud, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>