728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Smoke Alarms or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

FireX i4618 alarm is a 120V hardwire smoke alarm and battery back-up feature. Utilizes ionization technology that may detect fast flaming fires sooner than photoelectric. Install this alarm in your home to provide you and your family an early warning in the event of a fire. Battery back-up feature provides protection even during power outages and the smart hush feature will silence false alarms.
Overall rating:
4.116 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(86 reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product65 of 79reviews
Rating Breakdown 86 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(20)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product65 of 79reviews
Customer reviews for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
Review 1 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from South Jordan, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great basic smoke alarm.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great basic smoke alarm at the right price. Easy installation and looks good. I have had no nuisance alarms. This alarm is interconnected to all the alarms in my house. If one alarm is activated, they all alarm.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Northwood, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Smoke Detector

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the smoke detector works fine, the associate at Home Depot was very helpful.
Pros: Battery Length, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Hawaii
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Problem with High Humidity

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed six 4618's in my home here in Hawaii. Was easy to do & went in fine ... I thought. Whenever it rains and is cool (i.e. high humidity conditions), they go into nuisance alarm. And because they are all interconnected, they ALL go off (not their fault, lousy code). But the unit that went into "nuisance alarm" is NOT indicated by LED, exacerbating the problem.
I suppose I will pursue the photo-electric variety instead. But buyer beware of use of a 4618 in a humid environment!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Topeka, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Continuous false alarms

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is a reason for a "Quick Hush Feature for False Alarms" on these units. I would not recommend this smoke alarm to anyone that likes their sleep. It constantly went off with false alarms. And with them being hard wired together, the whole house rang out when one would go off. After following the directions from the company and from posts of people who complained, I still kept getting them. Although they may be fairly priced, they are not worth the headache.
Pros: Loud
Cons: too many false alarms
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from conroe,texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product ,good price

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple to install and matched up to old mounting bracket
Pros: Easy to Use, Loud, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

2 of my 6 i-4168 firex alarms failed within one year

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed 6 of these firex smoke alarms and two have failed within 1 year. The defective alarms started chirping about every 2 minutes. The batteries were tested good and there was no dust present.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

"Exact" replacement for builder installed smoke detector

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The old detectors were 11 years old and they kept chirping even after replacing the battery. It turns out that is the "end of life" audible warning. Smoke alarms have to be replaced every 10 years and sometimes sooner.
The i4618 is the "upgraded" replacement for the builder installed smoke detectors. It looks identical to the old ones. The old ones had changed to an ivory color from white. By building code there are 7 detectors in my home (living room, family room, bedrooms and hallways).
Firex was bought out by Kiddie years ago and changed the connector and mount ring. So, I had to replace the mount ring and change the connector...and no more chirping!
Be sure to turn off the AC power before replacing the smoke alarm/detectors.
Depending on how high your ceiling is and tall you are you will need a step stool or ladder, a screw driver, and some wire nuts, just in case.
It was not not a big deal to replace the mount ring and included connector pigtail. Just loosen the screw enough to turn the old ring to the large hole that lets the ring fall over the screw heads. Then pull down the connector, unscrew the wire nuts one at a time and install new connector.
If your detectors are interconnected, connect red wire to the (in most cases) red or third wire. If the detectors are not interconncted, leave the "cap/cover" over red wire. Do not connect red wire to the bare or green wire which is almost always safety ground.
Sometimes DiY'ers to save money (or using some wire they have left over) will use the ground wire as the third wire. Check all the smoke detectors and verify that the bare or green wire is isolated from (not connected to) safety ground before connecting red wire to it.
Connect white wire to neutral (usually white) and black wire to hot (usually black).
Sometimes wire nuts come apart when "unscrewing" them from the wires. It happened this time, but fortunately I have a few wire nuts in my tool box. To take off the inside "heli-coil" off the wire may require a pair of pliers.
If you do not have wire nuts in your tools or stuff purchasing a varity box of wire nuts is a good idea. They are only a couple of bucks and you'll end up spending that on gas going back to the store.
Push back wires into electrical box leaving connector dangling in the middle. Insert new mount ring over screw heads and twist to securing location and tighten screws just until snug. Tighten the screws too much and you will break the mount ring.
Install connector into back of smoke alarm. Place detector on mount ring and twist until detector locks into place.
Remove cardboard battery preserver and close battery compartment door.
That's it, your done with that smoke alarm. Repeat until all alarms have been changed out. And DO NOT FORGET to turn AC POWER BACK ON! Otherwise, back-up battery will have a very short life.
It took about 5 minutes each with my son helping, bring the new detectors and taking away the old ones.
You should not have to change them again for 10 years.
Once a year with the dusting attachment on the vacuum cleaner clean the opening and around the smoke alarm to reduce false alarms and keeping the alarm working properly.
If some "kitchen smoke" gets to the alarm, just use a piece of cardboard to fan fresh air into the smoke detector. This new version has "smart hush". Hold down the button for 3 seconds or so and it silences the alarm for 8 minutes and LED flashes red. I have not had the chance to use the hush feature yet.
A note: the smoke detector come with a carbon 9V batteries, which wil last about 6 months. I purchase 9V alkaline batteries on-line from a place in Brooklyn NY. Alkalines last about a year, that's why I use them...it reminds me to vacuum the smoke alarm when replacing the battery.
If you can afford Lithum, they should last around 5 years. But you will still have to vacuum smoke detector yearly.
This detectors meet the building codes in most areas, but safety experts say you should have a dual ion and photo detector. Ion (this alarm) is good for fast moving smokey fires, where as photo is better for slow or smoldering fires.
I'm a single dad, so I opted to replace alarms with what "meets" code because replaing all 7 alarms with dual detector would cost around $230. I price matched the i4618 and replace all the alarms for under $100.
If you can afford it install the Kiddie PI2020, it installs on the same wires and protects your family to a higher level of safety. The back-up battery installs in the back (lithium might be good choice here).
I can fully recommend the Kiddie Firex i4618. The last ones lasted the full ten years and pretty sure these will last 10 years too.
+83points
83out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Davison, MI 48423, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Many good features

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Replaced aging ones with these. They installed very easily and the battery back-up is a great safety feature. LED indicators give you a status update at a glance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: no "beep" to indicate a/c power failure/restore
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to install

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After the first one that was installed, the others went in every 10 minutes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: contained a cheap chinese battery
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Tillamook, OR 97141, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

What's not to like?

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Old smoke detector failed, this was a perfect replacement.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

Needs Adaptor not included not sold at Home Depot

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to avoid re-wiring, these need an adaptor to replace an older Firex and other brand existing AC wiring. Yeh, you can re-wire with what they provide. But it is a heck of a lot easier to save the labor and go the adaptor route. BUY A UNIT THAT INCLUDES the ADAPTOR(s) if replacing a worn out unit that has the older style connection. Home Depot does not sell the adaptors alone.
Cons: extra work to use for replacing old ac wired units
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from San Francisco Bay Area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FireX Smoke Alarm

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My house is 17 years old and ten FireX smoke alarms were installed on two floors. One smoke alarm was broken and had to be replaced. I replaced it with a FireX unit from Home Depot, and the other units started beeping. I talked to a man at Home Depot, and he thought that all of the units on the second floor were hooked together and that I would have to replace the addition five units on the second floor.
I replaced the other units, but the smoke alarms still beeped, I called Kidde, and they told me that the units on the first floor would also have to be replaced because all of the smoke alarms are connected together, and that the 17 year old units are not compatible with the newer units. I replaced the four units on the first floor, and that fixed my beeping problems.
I purchased the $15 FireX unit because I had a suspicion that I would have to replace all of the ten units.
Kidde's customer service is the best that I have every dealt with! I am very happy with their product and customer service.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

25 year firefighter says good product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had 7 of these detectors in a 2 family since 2005. They have worked as I would expect them to without a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Austin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had to buy an adapter to change out the product but it was easy after the adapter was on.
Cons: need adapter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simple installation

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replacing older hardwired smoke detectors with these units is easy. Disconnect the old one, installed the 3 wires of the new connection and install. The advantage of these units that I found above the others was that you can install the wire feed and then the mounting plate. The connection port is large enough to go through the center of the plate so you are not trying to push the wire nuts back through a small hole. That made the entire replacement fast and very easy. Unit is a little larger than some of the older units do it covers any blemishes that may be present under or along the edge of the older units.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
Cons: more expensive than other replacement units
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excelent product

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the smoke alarm and was able to install it without any assistance. Not bad for an 89 year old woman!!!
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from Mesa, ARizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A very good product for the price

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The smoke alarm was easy to install and very becoming in the room
Pros: Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup

i hate these alarms

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We keep getting nuisance alarms. They always seem to happen in the middle of the night. They are all wired together, so when one goes off, they all go off. We have to go from one to the next, pushing the hush buttons. Of course, they are up too high to reach, so I have to drag a stool around from one to the next while trying to plug my ears. Hate them!!! It probably happens at least once a year. Three times in the last week!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement for my older failing alarm

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only thing I had to do was change out the old mount for the alarm, the existing wiring connection from the old alarm worked.
Pros: Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hardwired Interconnected 120-Volt Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup
from New Mexico

Too sensitive.

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Anything that gives off a slight smoke sets off this alarm. The high pitch it sounds off is deafening and hurts the ears. You can't just silence one to silence them all you have to hush every single one. One day while smoking ribs in the back yard I had the window open and the smoke came into the house as soon as I hushed one and went to the next the one I just hushed started again ended up taking all the batteries off and going to the breaker box and shut the power source completely off.
Cons: Complicated
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>