728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop PEX Pipe & Fittings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

SharkBite PEX is a cross-linked polyethylene tubing best suited for potable water supply application. PEX Pipe is durable, flexible and corrosion resistant. SharkBite PEX features a repeating SharkBite imprint pattern that provides a visual aid to help you determine whether the tube has been fully inserted when using the SharkBite push-fit fitting range. In addition to Potable Water Supply SharkBite PEX meets UL Standard for Plastic Piping in Fire Systems.
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product57 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(50)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product57 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
76 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from tilly arkansas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i think that the price is the best feature since pesx pipe is pex pipe

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is the best price i have found.the pex pipe is of the same quality as found at higher prices
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

great product

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product with options for evryone for connections.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
Gender:Male

Pex

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished my first pluming job with pex pipe, very easy to use and install, plus its very flexible don’t need any elbows.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Clarksville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first time using PEX tubing rather than copper and I will use PEX for all future projects. Along with SharkBite push fittings, plumbing jobs couldn't be easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, lightweight and strong

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will be doing my whole 1923 basement replumb with
PEX and am really excited.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Cleveland
Age Range:25 to 34

Water tastes like plastic

PostedApril 27, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. PEX Pipe in Blue
I did all the plumbing in my house with this.
My complaint is that the water tastes bad from the faucets that have the longest length pipe going to them. You can definitely taste the plastic. The upstairs bathroom water is undrinkable, and you can even smell plastic in the shower when you turn it on. You have to leave the water running a while until you get decent water.
It wasn't too difficult to install, but is more stiff than I expected and tries to go back into the coil shape. For the entire house, there was two leaks that I had to redo. I used the "better" stainless crimps and the tool from HD. Not a big deal, but it scares me because I drywalls over a lot of pipe before pressurizing the system.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Sabetha, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sharkbite PEX

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. PEX Pipe in Blue
This is my first time using PEX. Cutting it is easier than I expected. There's no ratcheting cutter needed for this stuff, Buy a decent single-action tubing cutter and you'll be happy. When I cut the tubing originally I don't believe it was cutting square because of the curve of the pipe. The best way to cut it is to lay the tubing in sideways to the curve (if that make sense).
Uncoiling the tubing is a little bit of a challenge. Make sure you leave the wrapping on and uncoil from the center.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product Easy To Use

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 5 ft. Red PEX Pipe
I used SharkBite PEX to replace copper line running to my Water Heater. The red and blue colors make it easy to distinguish Hot and Cold lines after install is complete. Using a SharkBite coupling I easily transitioned from Copper to PEX, the PEX is more flexible than copper and easy to work with, it is also a great value at much lower price point. PEX is easy to cut as well and can be done with a PEX Cutter sold at Home Depot. Great product very easy to work with and use for an average DIYer.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Las Vegas, New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

True Time Saver

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1 in. x 100 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
This was my first experience using a pex product. I used this tubing as a supply line from my well to my cistern and from the cistern to my home, over 200 feet. I warmed the tubing by laying it in the bed of my truck which helped with the plyability and was able to install it in my trench with ease. Much quicker then using PVC and has a wall thickness comparable to schedule 80. Because the pipe is underground, I did not feel comfortable using plastic push on fittings, and the brass push on fittings were a little pricey, so I invested in a crimp tool and utilized lead free brass fittings.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 25 ft. White PEX Pipe
I was going to use some copper piping I had on hand for a small job but I noticed that my HD also had 3' length of this available so I grabbed one of those and it made the whole job much easier and cheaper since I did not have to use two 90° elbows...
Such a simple system with Sharkbite fittings.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, flexible
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Allentown PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+ Product for Easy DIY Installation

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 100 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
Don't doubt yourself if you are thinking about a plumbing job with PEX. It's super easy. This product is way cheaper than copper and fittings are easy to complete. I am a financial advisor with no plumbing experience and I refit my whole house in a day. Two points to pay attention to: First, if you use copper rings, get the tool for the job, don't try and use the cheap crimper that uses vice grips close (and remember that it's hard to crimp in certain angles). Also, when you fit the PEX to your hot water supply, make sure that you don't have to keep some copper touching the unit, per your building codes. Other than that, super easy!!!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from So Cal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just re-piped my whole house with PEX

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Back story:
I discovered I had a slab leak on my hot water line under my bathroom and upon further investigation discovered a cold water leak under my entryway. Being in Ventura County, CA our water is hard and my tract home was made cheap. It was built 30 years ago with copper in the slab foundation. The plastic sheathing they used to isolate the copper from the concrete was super thin and subsequently eroded as the pipes expanded and contracted with temperature. This lead to major corrosion of the copper (especially in the hot water line) from the outside and the predominance of minerals in our hot water corroded the insides of the copper. I knew this would be a problem when I bought the house, as I have lived in the neighborhood for a while. Many neighbors have all had similar issues and paid big money to patch or re-pipe.
My background:
I am an avid DIY-er with just about every type of project. Electrical, plumbing, heating/AC, appliances, etc. I have patched and repaired many types of plumbing including copper, galvie, ABS, and PVC. I was new to PEX.
What I did:
I did a lot of research before making the purchase and weighed all of my options. I considered paying a plumber, doing it myself, using copper, and using PEX. I decided on PEX and wanted to do a manifold system so I can easily remodel my bathrooms in the future without turning off the whole house water supply. My house is a 1550sqft single-story house with 2 full bathrooms. I opted to replace the 1" copper line where it comes in to the garage from the shut-off valve outside and run it to the manifold location near the water heater. I split the 1" copper with a "T" and reduced it to 3/4" copper to the water heater supply and the cold-water side of the manifold. I used 3/4" SharkBite PEX stubs to feed into the manifold for a little flexibility. I ran 1/2" PEX to each fixture. I used red PEX for hot and blue PEX for cold. I wanted to reduce the amount of fitting and connectors in the system, but used 1/2" PEX to used copper stub-outs with new compression fitting valves to lead to each fixture; I didn't like the idea of the PEX sticking out of the walls. I used the stainless cinch-ring clips because the crimper is a bit smaller and fits in tighter spaces. I opted for the 100' rolls of the PEX so I could have a direct shot to each fixture without any unions along the way.
The Review:
PEX, though flexible, is still fairly rigid and a bit tough to uncoil, but much better than copper. With a little patience and coercion, I was able to thread it through the headers and down the walls with minimal drywall cutting. I used 90-degree angle guides to protect the bends. Using the cinch rings at the connection points was easy. It took me 53 hours of work over the span of 4 days to complete the project (drywall repair included). It would have been a bit faster, but I had to cut a hole in part of my roof to access a header above the kitchen sink.
Bottom Line:
I am beyond thrilled with this product and how easy it was to install. I was able to re-pipe my entire house by myself in a few days for less than $1000. The copper portion alone cost me $300, so that puts the PEX at $700.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. PEX Pipe in Blue
PEX is wonderful to work with. This Sharkbite brand pipe is flexible, good quality, and a great value for the money. I was able to install a new water line under my house at a fraction of a cost of hiring a plumber to do it. Even after the install, I still have A LOT of pipe left for future work/repairs. Just make sure to do your research and have the correct tools in place first before you work with PEX pipe.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pex pipe is the way to go

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 300 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
Flexible, easy to install, no joints to worry about. Just cut to length and fit.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

good product

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:1 in. x 500 ft. White PEX Pipe
if you get the 500 ft roll, make sure u have enough help....really difficult to work with, it was like playing with a 500ft spring.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CAUTION: very brittle

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Sharkbite tubing is brittle and will break off (snap off) if flexed beyond it's (minimal) elastic limit. I used Sharkbite tubing purchased from HD for potable water in a new house on a concrete slab foundation. The Sharkbite tubing broke off (snapped off like a dry twig) flush with the concrete slab, even though it was properly shielded (per code) within a 3/4 flex conduit in the area where it emerged from the concrete slab. I have been forced to abandon Sharkbite tubing which was carefully placed under the slab, and install other tubing in the walls, above the slab. Plumbing contractor remarked that he would not use this tubing again.
Pros: none
Cons: minimal deflection causes breakage
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from St. Petersburg, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PEX Pipe

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. PEX Pipe in Blue
Light and easy to handle. Easy to install. Buy the good crimping tool to make the job a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from St. Petersburg, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PEX Pipe

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Light and easy to handle. Easy to install. Buy the good crimping tool to make the job a breeze.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

Colour Coded

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. PEX Pipe in Blue
After some experience with the Shark Bite brand of adaptive plumbing connectors, I decided to go to the PEX style of piping when I re-fitted the piping in my single floor 1960s cottage. I used 2 Shark Bite copper manifolds to set up my pipe runs; I was pleased to have cold and hot runs set up so cleanly. You use more pipe doing it that way, but have less connections. Although I still have the kitchen left to do, that will have to wait for the kitchen remodel which is still in the planning stages!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$27 of PEX + 2 Sharkbite Elbows ($17) saved me $950!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Have previous DIY experience with copper pipes, but am a PEX convert now. Needed to run a "bypass" line due to a broken hot water pipe in the concrete subfloor. Plumber quoted me $1000 to run this bypass from one bathroom, up through the attic, and down into the wall behind the Master bathroom plumbing connection. It took me 2 hours, and these $50 in parts. PEX is great!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, good value vs. copper
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>