728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop PEX Pipe & Fittings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

SharkBite PEX is a cross-linked polyethylene tubing best suited for potable water supply application. PEX Pipe is durable, flexible and corrosion resistant. SharkBite PEX features a repeating SharkBite imprint pattern that provides a visual aid to help you determine whether the tube has been fully inserted when using the SharkBite push-fit fitting range. In addition to Potable Water Supply SharkBite PEX meets UL Standard for Plastic Piping in Fire Systems.
Overall rating:
4.516 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product52 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product52 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
Review 1 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

great product

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product with options for evryone for connections.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from tilly arkansas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

i think that the price is the best feature since pesx pipe is pex pipe

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is the best price i have found.the pex pipe is of the same quality as found at higher prices
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Clarksville, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first time using PEX tubing rather than copper and I will use PEX for all future projects. Along with SharkBite push fittings, plumbing jobs couldn't be easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, lightweight and strong

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I will be doing my whole 1923 basement replumb with
PEX and am really excited.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
Gender:Male

Pex

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just finished my first pluming job with pex pipe, very easy to use and install, plus its very flexible don’t need any elbows.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product Easy To Use

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 5 ft. Red PEX Pipe
I used SharkBite PEX to replace copper line running to my Water Heater. The red and blue colors make it easy to distinguish Hot and Cold lines after install is complete. Using a SharkBite coupling I easily transitioned from Copper to PEX, the PEX is more flexible than copper and easy to work with, it is also a great value at much lower price point. PEX is easy to cut as well and can be done with a PEX Cutter sold at Home Depot. Great product very easy to work with and use for an average DIYer.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

CAUTION: very brittle

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Sharkbite tubing is brittle and will break off (snap off) if flexed beyond it's (minimal) elastic limit. I used Sharkbite tubing purchased from HD for potable water in a new house on a concrete slab foundation. The Sharkbite tubing broke off (snapped off like a dry twig) flush with the concrete slab, even though it was properly shielded (per code) within a 3/4 flex conduit in the area where it emerged from the concrete slab. I have been forced to abandon Sharkbite tubing which was carefully placed under the slab, and install other tubing in the walls, above the slab. Plumbing contractor remarked that he would not use this tubing again.
Pros: none
Cons: minimal deflection causes breakage
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 25 ft. White PEX Pipe
I was going to use some copper piping I had on hand for a small job but I noticed that my HD also had 3' length of this available so I grabbed one of those and it made the whole job much easier and cheaper since I did not have to use two 90° elbows...
Such a simple system with Sharkbite fittings.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, flexible
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. PEX Pipe in Blue
PEX is wonderful to work with. This Sharkbite brand pipe is flexible, good quality, and a great value for the money. I was able to install a new water line under my house at a fraction of a cost of hiring a plumber to do it. Even after the install, I still have A LOT of pipe left for future work/repairs. Just make sure to do your research and have the correct tools in place first before you work with PEX pipe.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from So Cal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just re-piped my whole house with PEX

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Back story:
I discovered I had a slab leak on my hot water line under my bathroom and upon further investigation discovered a cold water leak under my entryway. Being in Ventura County, CA our water is hard and my tract home was made cheap. It was built 30 years ago with copper in the slab foundation. The plastic sheathing they used to isolate the copper from the concrete was super thin and subsequently eroded as the pipes expanded and contracted with temperature. This lead to major corrosion of the copper (especially in the hot water line) from the outside and the predominance of minerals in our hot water corroded the insides of the copper. I knew this would be a problem when I bought the house, as I have lived in the neighborhood for a while. Many neighbors have all had similar issues and paid big money to patch or re-pipe.
My background:
I am an avid DIY-er with just about every type of project. Electrical, plumbing, heating/AC, appliances, etc. I have patched and repaired many types of plumbing including copper, galvie, ABS, and PVC. I was new to PEX.
What I did:
I did a lot of research before making the purchase and weighed all of my options. I considered paying a plumber, doing it myself, using copper, and using PEX. I decided on PEX and wanted to do a manifold system so I can easily remodel my bathrooms in the future without turning off the whole house water supply. My house is a 1550sqft single-story house with 2 full bathrooms. I opted to replace the 1" copper line where it comes in to the garage from the shut-off valve outside and run it to the manifold location near the water heater. I split the 1" copper with a "T" and reduced it to 3/4" copper to the water heater supply and the cold-water side of the manifold. I used 3/4" SharkBite PEX stubs to feed into the manifold for a little flexibility. I ran 1/2" PEX to each fixture. I used red PEX for hot and blue PEX for cold. I wanted to reduce the amount of fitting and connectors in the system, but used 1/2" PEX to used copper stub-outs with new compression fitting valves to lead to each fixture; I didn't like the idea of the PEX sticking out of the walls. I used the stainless cinch-ring clips because the crimper is a bit smaller and fits in tighter spaces. I opted for the 100' rolls of the PEX so I could have a direct shot to each fixture without any unions along the way.
The Review:
PEX, though flexible, is still fairly rigid and a bit tough to uncoil, but much better than copper. With a little patience and coercion, I was able to thread it through the headers and down the walls with minimal drywall cutting. I used 90-degree angle guides to protect the bends. Using the cinch rings at the connection points was easy. It took me 53 hours of work over the span of 4 days to complete the project (drywall repair included). It would have been a bit faster, but I had to cut a hole in part of my roof to access a header above the kitchen sink.
Bottom Line:
I am beyond thrilled with this product and how easy it was to install. I was able to re-pipe my entire house by myself in a few days for less than $1000. The copper portion alone cost me $300, so that puts the PEX at $700.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe

good product

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:1 in. x 500 ft. White PEX Pipe
if you get the 500 ft roll, make sure u have enough help....really difficult to work with, it was like playing with a 500ft spring.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Allentown PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+ Product for Easy DIY Installation

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 100 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
Don't doubt yourself if you are thinking about a plumbing job with PEX. It's super easy. This product is way cheaper than copper and fittings are easy to complete. I am a financial advisor with no plumbing experience and I refit my whole house in a day. Two points to pay attention to: First, if you use copper rings, get the tool for the job, don't try and use the cheap crimper that uses vice grips close (and remember that it's hard to crimp in certain angles). Also, when you fit the PEX to your hot water supply, make sure that you don't have to keep some copper touching the unit, per your building codes. Other than that, super easy!!!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pex pipe is the way to go

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 300 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
Flexible, easy to install, no joints to worry about. Just cut to length and fit.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stuff.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
Easy to work with and much cheaper than hiring a plumber.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Santa Barbara, CA

Just redid my hot water lines with PEX : )

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 100 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
Just redid my hot water lines with PEX : )
If you have a pipe location that is not in the sun and will not be chewed by rodents I reccomend PEX for the do it yourselfer.
We have a relatively small home with 1.25 bathroom. The hot water flow to the shower had been slowing down so it was time to re-pipe.
PEX costs a small fraction of the price of copper (45 cents/ft vs. $3/foot) and since it is somewhat flexible it needs fewer elbows and all Sharkbite PEX can withstand 190 degre water at 80psi.
I read the istallation guide at the manufacturer's website and read professional plumbers who advised against the o-ring based sharkbite quick connectors (they fear the o-rings will get brittle and fail over time)...I went with the crimp-method of attaching the PEX to the connectors.
I emailed Sharkbite as well to ask if there were any prefereed insulation materials and learned that either of the foam insulations sold at HD would be fine.
PEX is thicker walled than copper so the main branch was done in 3/4" PEX and the offshoots to low water flow areas (sinks, toilets, and washer were done in 1/2" PEX
My home has a tight crawlspace and I just tapped into the galvanized pipes in the wall rather than fret getting pipes into the walls.
The installation took me a full day and ~$200 in parts.
My wife and daughters are happy with the improved water pressure and I liked using a material that is supposed to last a lifetime and costs a fraction of copper and was relatively easy to install.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$27 of PEX + 2 Sharkbite Elbows ($17) saved me $950!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:1/2 in. x 100 ft. Red PEX Pipe
Have previous DIY experience with copper pipes, but am a PEX convert now. Needed to run a "bypass" line due to a broken hot water pipe in the concrete subfloor. Plumber quoted me $1000 to run this bypass from one bathroom, up through the attic, and down into the wall behind the Master bathroom plumbing connection. It took me 2 hours, and these $50 in parts. PEX is great!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks, good value vs. copper
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very difficult to get straightened

PostedMay 3, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 100 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
This is a great product but if you need more than the 10 foot lengths like I did, you have to buy it in a roll.
I eventually had to use hand pipe bender mounted in my vise to "reverse" the curve so I could get some straight runs.
Even heating it didn't help much.
I don't know how else they could package long lengths so just be aware it likes to stay curled up.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: hard to strighten
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value, Easy Install

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 5 ft. Blue PEX Pipe
I used SharkBite PEX to replace copper line running to my Water Heater. The red and blue colors make it easy to distinguish Hot and Cold lines after install is complete. Using a SharkBite elbow I easily transitioned from Copper to PEX, the PEX is more flexible than copper and easy to work with, it is also a great value at much lower price point. PEX is easy to cut as well and can be done with a PEX Cutter sold at Home Depot. Great product very easy to work with and use for an average DIYer.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks, Great Value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Gunnison, CO 81230, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

STIFF, but workable...INSTALL tips...

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 100 ft. White PEX Pipe
I purchased this to replace my 1/2" copper lines to install a water softener. Our home has a 3/4" service coming in, but back in the 50's, they thought that it was a good idea to run everything in half inch. Since I had to make a 35' run just to feed the water softener, I thought that I'd replace all the copper with pex and SharkBites. Project went smooth as silk.
DO NOT cut off the outside plastic from the roll of tubing - simply cut the center of the plastic out on ONE side, and then the plastic bands. Find the end of the pipe in the CENTER of the coil, and feed the pipe from there. This way when you feed the new pipe, the coil can simply spin and un-wind as you pull, and the rest of your pipe stays clean.
Pipe CAN be straightened, and has a remarkably low "memory" - meaning that when you bend the pipe in the opposite direction of the natural coil curve, it does not want to immediately snap back to that shape. It will try to return to that shape, but VERY slowly, which allows you to complete your install.
If you have places where you need to make long runs, a small piece of blue masking tape can be placed over the end of the pipe to keep debris out.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: a bit stiff..but ok
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. x 50 ft. White PEX Pipe
from Durham, NC
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:3/4 in. x 25 ft. White PEX Pipe
The real value of this piping is it's lifetime of service. If it develops leaks in the next 20 years, then it's a poor investment, if no leaks then a great investment. This white piping replaced old grey PEX piping that leaked. This white piping has a narrower inside diameter than the grey PEX, this makes it more difficult when fitting to grey PEX fittings. This white PEX is thicker and stiffer than the grey PEX and seems to be of better quality.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: not very flexible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>