728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window

15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window

Tafco Hopper Vent, Tafco’s solid main frame hopper ventilation vent can be used for both new and existing construction. Excellent for use in masonry applications. Throughout the year you will enjoy the security of the maintenance-free hopper. Convenient and secure these good-looking vents are easy to install. The removable screen keeps insects out. The water weeping system drains water away from your structure. Careful consideration has been given to both the builder and homeowners needs.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product36 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(12)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Appearance 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product36 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
Review 1 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Central VA.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ideal for job.

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got these window's for a pool changing room I am under my patio deck so no one has to track inside wet. The windows look like they will work great so I don't have to put a light in the room.
rk
g
r
e
a
t
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Bedford Ma.
Gender:Male

Good purchase

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For it's low cost it's an excellent value. Easy to install and provides the venting needed
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from South central MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did the job, used in wood construction

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I expect these windows were designed for concrete or blocks by their looks however I used similar hoppers in my addition (second bathroom & wood construction) three years ago and they have worked so well I didn't hesitate to repeast the use . I had replaced my garage door with a 5 foot french door and wanted ventalation for the area. I chose to use three of these hoppers vertically stacked beside the door because they were the only thing I could find that would work without having to have them custom made. I spent much time making sure that the framework to hold them was square and routed the sheathing so the windows sat against it on the outside. The windows are made to be mortared in but because I was putting them into 2X6 studs I leveled them using plastic dowels then used sealing /insulating foam to set them in place. I sealed the wood frame on the exterior with protecto wrap and routed the outside sill flush with the stud to prevent trapping water. Then I built the outside frame/ brick molding out of 5/8"X1+3/4" plastic molding strips from HD gluing them together with clear PVC cement. I have used this method before with good results. I just nail the frame to the sheathing calk the inside and sealed the outside, flashed the top and used 3/8" X 1" plastic molding on the inside to hold the hoppers in place. My bathroom windows are done the same way and have worked perfectly for over 3 years. A word of caution . be careful to use inside molding that allows the windows to open. When I did my bath windows I had to re-do the inside molding because they looked nice but the couldn't be opened. (to me woodworking is throwing wood into a stove) I would love to had found these windows with nailers however the finished job looks great and the extra work only took me about an hour for all three. All three work slick and today it is 20 degrees and they feel warm and draft free. I have solved my ventalation problem and added more light to the room I'll probable find out that they could have been bought with a nailing flange
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: don't have a nailing flange provision
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the money

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
OK for the money and one of the few available at that size
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from phila pa

Just right

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
THIS WINDOW IS VERY SIMPLY ENGINEERED AND WELL BUILT FOR WHAT IT IS. I DO NOT KNOW THAT IT WILL HOLD UP TO A LOT OF ABUSE BUT I INSTALLED 3 OF THESE ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND JUST ORDERED ANOTHER FOR A ANOTHER APPLICATION. MADE FOR A MASONARY INSTALLATION--WOOD ROUGH-IN NEEDS TRIM.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window

Just what we were looking for.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appears to be good quality. Just what we were looking for, but didn't realize that it is not clear glass - guess that's what dual glass means! But it is ok that it is not clear since it is for light and airflow - not to look out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window

Could be a good product if it was the right size

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by the dimensions stated. This product is only 15.5" by 15.5" I needed one that was 15.75 by 15.75" and what I received does not fit.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Topeka, kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in the bathroom.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The window arrived in record time. installation was a breeze.
Pros: Great Value, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install, Great Detail, great deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from TEXAS

PERFECT

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
wanted particular size window, not big not too small and with good ventilation, Found it and its light weight and easy to install. Bathroom ventilates good. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Yelm, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:15.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
We bought these to go in the top of our chicken coop to provide ventilation. They were the perfect size and reasonably priced. They were a little bit tricky to install in wood, since they are designed for the basement. They are easy to open and close, and are perfectly suited for the job, once the contractor figured out how to install them.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from La Grange, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good fit for the money.

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:15.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
I needed to put windows in a Mini Barn that I had purchased. These windows fit well between the stud walls with just a little shimming. They look like they were built into the barn from the factory. Very nice!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window

Cheap Plastic Looking

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
This is made out of very cheap looking plastic. The hinge looks like it could break off at any moment. It's the perfect size for what I need, but I think I have to return - just looks too cheap.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Charlotte, NC

Great Widows

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:15.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
I recently took on a project to transform my crawl space into a basement. When I got to the point where I was ready to install windows, I decided to give these hopper vents a shot. Because of the 8 X 16 inch size they are availlable in, I was able to siimply remove the existing crawl space vents and install these...securing them with mortar. They've been in place for about two weeks and are great. When they are shut they let in a good deal of light but are kind of frosted which provides privacy. When you open the windows they go completely horzontal allowing maximum airflow through the screen. For what I paid for these I have been impressed on all fronts. If I were to do this project over again, I'd purchase these hopper vents without hesitation.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Beckley WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little windows

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:15.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
These windows are great to replace vents under your house. They let light in in the winter, air in in the summer, they are double insulated and hold in the heat of your basement or crawl-space.
These windows are easy to install, took out the old vents, installed and caulked windows flush with the outside blocks of the foundation within an hour.
A really great product, I am glad to have found them.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from bellingham, wa

imagine the cheapest product ever

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
This is the cheapest window product i have ever encountered. might find better manufacturing in the toys you find in 25 cent machines at the grocery store.
This is a very cheap vinyl window without any weather proofing. THE WINDOW DOES NOT SEAL. There are huge gaps that let the elements in. and the screen and glazing is held in place by exposed phillips head screws, visible from the exterior, that are already stripped out of the cheap plastic.
everything the description states is false.
"Pivot operation allows for multiple positions " ...wrong. manf. says to install in one position.
"A heavy duty continuous weather proof rubber seal on the door" .......SUPER WRONG....seal doesnt even close the window completely. around the hinge there are 1/4" gaps that let air and water directly to the inside (used loosely as this window doesn't really have hinges just plastic nubs that snap into place) ... might as well not even have a seal.
"Reinforced ribbed mainframe for additional strength"....wrong.... could bend this window in half...frame is SUPER flimsy.
"Heavy metal hardware provides security"....wrong..unless your main security issue is rodents...but then they might just chew through the cheap frame.
"Manufactured with bright white uv stable material".....wrong..... not white at all...more of a cream.
"They are ideal for use in both new and replacement construction".....wrong..... the only thing i might use this product for is a shed or dog house or a chicken coop. unless you live in an area where heating and cooling your house is not an issue.
+30points
34out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Quite What I Was Expecting

PostedMay 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
This window does not have any kind of overlapping trim, so installing it in a wooden or cement panel wall, etc. will require some pretty precise cuts and maybe a lot of caulk. If you are not already a pro at installing windows DO NOT attempt to install this window yourself. To add to the difficulty, this window does not come with any installation instructions at all, and it is uniform in width from front to back. It might not be obvious how that last "feature" is an installation disadvantage, but it ends up making the unit awkward to affix flush and straight with the wall.
The frame is soft plastic, but otherwise seems pretty decent quality. For the money, I am not too disappointed, but not excited, either. Had to ding it one point on appearance, too, because of the innate installation difficulties. If you don't make a perfect cut in your wall to put the window in, it can look pretty cruddy. Your only options to cover imperfections are to use lots of caulk and paint or put together your own trim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Montgomery, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
Read many of the reviews that trashed this item but quite frankly, for the price it's well worth it. We wanted a transom window above a door I was installing in our mudroom, but didn't want to go real fancy or spend a lot of money on a custom unit. The space was short and this unit fit with minimal trimming. Looks good and serves the purpose for under 40 bucks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window

Cheap for a reason

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
They worked for the shed I was building, but I would not use them in a house. I put them into wood framing, but they're probably better suited for setting in mortar or concrete. No nailing flange or even screw holes in the edge. I made it work, as customer insisted on the product, but I won't use it again for wood framing. Hinge and latch work, and there is a gasket, but quality is low, like the price. Screen is loose in it's frame on all eleven I bought, and therefore not too attractive on the side of my beautiful shed. Packaging probably cost as much as the window. Shipping was excellent, though.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Goodland, KS 67735, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we needed.....

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
This window was perfect we needed a window for the bathroom that was smaller than usual windows since our shower frame went really high....this window was great and its glass is frosted so its perfect for a bathroom....i recommend it....
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15.75 in. x 15.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Westminster
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the price

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:23.75 in. x 7.75 in. Hopper Vent Screen Window
Right size for the shed I was putting them in, are designed for masonry, takes a bit of finagling to fit in framing.
Has plastic latch. Only metal hardware is screws that hold it together.
Overall decent for the price and specific uses.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: only comes with obscure glass
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>