728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Basement Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hopper Vent Screen Window

Hopper Vent Screen Window

Tafco Hopper Vent, Tafco’s solid main frame hopper ventilation vent can be used for both new and existing construction. Excellent for use in masonry applications. Throughout the year you will enjoy the security of the maintenance-free hopper. Convenient and secure these good-looking vents are easy to install. The removable screen keeps insects out. The water weeping system drains water away from your structure. Careful consideration has been given to both the builder and homeowners needs.
Overall rating:
3.683 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(9)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Appearance 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for Hopper Vent Screen Window
Review 1 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from South central MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did the job, used in wood construction

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I expect these windows were designed for concrete or blocks by their looks however I used similar hoppers in my addition (second bathroom & wood construction) three years ago and they have worked so well I didn't hesitate to repeast the use . I had replaced my garage door with a 5 foot french door and wanted ventalation for the area. I chose to use three of these hoppers vertically stacked beside the door because they were the only thing I could find that would work without having to have them custom made. I spent much time making sure that the framework to hold them was square and routed the sheathing so the windows sat against it on the outside. The windows are made to be mortared in but because I was putting them into 2X6 studs I leveled them using plastic dowels then used sealing /insulating foam to set them in place. I sealed the wood frame on the exterior with protecto wrap and routed the outside sill flush with the stud to prevent trapping water. Then I built the outside frame/ brick molding out of 5/8"X1+3/4" plastic molding strips from HD gluing them together with clear PVC cement. I have used this method before with good results. I just nail the frame to the sheathing calk the inside and sealed the outside, flashed the top and used 3/8" X 1" plastic molding on the inside to hold the hoppers in place. My bathroom windows are done the same way and have worked perfectly for over 3 years. A word of caution . be careful to use inside molding that allows the windows to open. When I did my bath windows I had to re-do the inside molding because they looked nice but the couldn't be opened. (to me woodworking is throwing wood into a stove) I would love to had found these windows with nailers however the finished job looks great and the extra work only took me about an hour for all three. All three work slick and today it is 20 degrees and they feel warm and draft free. I have solved my ventalation problem and added more light to the room I'll probable find out that they could have been bought with a nailing flange
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: don't have a nailing flange provision
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the money

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
OK for the money and one of the few available at that size
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hopper Vent Screen Window

Could be a good product if it was the right size

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by the dimensions stated. This product is only 15.5" by 15.5" I needed one that was 15.75 by 15.75" and what I received does not fit.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Topeka, kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in the bathroom.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The window arrived in record time. installation was a breeze.
Pros: Great Value, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install, Great Detail, great deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hopper Vent Screen Window

Just what we were looking for.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appears to be good quality. Just what we were looking for, but didn't realize that it is not clear glass - guess that's what dual glass means! But it is ok that it is not clear since it is for light and airflow - not to look out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from phila pa

Just right

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS WINDOW IS VERY SIMPLY ENGINEERED AND WELL BUILT FOR WHAT IT IS. I DO NOT KNOW THAT IT WILL HOLD UP TO A LOT OF ABUSE BUT I INSTALLED 3 OF THESE ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND JUST ORDERED ANOTHER FOR A ANOTHER APPLICATION. MADE FOR A MASONARY INSTALLATION--WOOD ROUGH-IN NEEDS TRIM.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from TEXAS

PERFECT

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
wanted particular size window, not big not too small and with good ventilation, Found it and its light weight and easy to install. Bathroom ventilates good. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Beckley WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great little windows

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
These windows are great to replace vents under your house. They let light in in the winter, air in in the summer, they are double insulated and hold in the heat of your basement or crawl-space.
These windows are easy to install, took out the old vents, installed and caulked windows flush with the outside blocks of the foundation within an hour.
A really great product, I am glad to have found them.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hopper Vent Screen Window

Not What I was Looking for

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
I ordered this product with another comp. to use as vent windows for my foundation vents. The product wouldn't fit, its was too opaque to let much light through. I actually loved the way the window part opens, but with where I wanted to install them I couldn't use them because there wasn't enough room for the window to open properly.
Pros: Multi Use, Functional
Cons: Quality, not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hopper Vent Screen Window

Window replacement for existing older basement windows.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
I was initially hesitant to purchase 2 units due to the negative reviews and the low price (do we have a quality issue on these windows...hmmm).
These were inset into masonry, let to set up for 1 week and viola! They work and perform as expected.
Additional rubber weather stripping was applied to the lower hopper window frame for a tight draft resistant seal and works perfectly.
For the price, these are decent windows for a masonry installation.
Home Depot is the only place online (that I could find) to offer this product with a tight size fit requirement.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made
Cons: Appearance, not thermopane
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Charlotte, NC

Great Widows

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
I recently took on a project to transform my crawl space into a basement. When I got to the point where I was ready to install windows, I decided to give these hopper vents a shot. Because of the 8 X 16 inch size they are availlable in, I was able to siimply remove the existing crawl space vents and install these...securing them with mortar. They've been in place for about two weeks and are great. When they are shut they let in a good deal of light but are kind of frosted which provides privacy. When you open the windows they go completely horzontal allowing maximum airflow through the screen. For what I paid for these I have been impressed on all fronts. If I were to do this project over again, I'd purchase these hopper vents without hesitation.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hopper Vent Screen Window

seems perfect for over the shower to ventilate; adds light

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
its a plastic frame and glass window; screen is fine; works fine too; i think for the price its a great buy;
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from bellingham, wa

imagine the cheapest product ever

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
This is the cheapest window product i have ever encountered. might find better manufacturing in the toys you find in 25 cent machines at the grocery store.
This is a very cheap vinyl window without any weather proofing. THE WINDOW DOES NOT SEAL. There are huge gaps that let the elements in. and the screen and glazing is held in place by exposed phillips head screws, visible from the exterior, that are already stripped out of the cheap plastic.
everything the description states is false.
"Pivot operation allows for multiple positions " ...wrong. manf. says to install in one position.
"A heavy duty continuous weather proof rubber seal on the door" .......SUPER WRONG....seal doesnt even close the window completely. around the hinge there are 1/4" gaps that let air and water directly to the inside (used loosely as this window doesn't really have hinges just plastic nubs that snap into place) ... might as well not even have a seal.
"Reinforced ribbed mainframe for additional strength"....wrong.... could bend this window in half...frame is SUPER flimsy.
"Heavy metal hardware provides security"....wrong..unless your main security issue is rodents...but then they might just chew through the cheap frame.
"Manufactured with bright white uv stable material".....wrong..... not white at all...more of a cream.
"They are ideal for use in both new and replacement construction".....wrong..... the only thing i might use this product for is a shed or dog house or a chicken coop. unless you live in an area where heating and cooling your house is not an issue.
+26points
29out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Montgomery, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
Read many of the reviews that trashed this item but quite frankly, for the price it's well worth it. We wanted a transom window above a door I was installing in our mudroom, but didn't want to go real fancy or spend a lot of money on a custom unit. The space was short and this unit fit with minimal trimming. Looks good and serves the purpose for under 40 bucks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Saucier, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Small Window/vent

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
Lightweight compact plastic frame seals up well, but frame has a tendency to warp to the shape of its mounting opening. As long as the frame is allowed to "float" it does just fine.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hopper Vent Screen Window

Nice

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
Great window for the price. Just know that it is frosted in case this matters to you.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Fit
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Illinois
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but sturdy!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
It's not easy to find small basement windows but I needed some that could only be 8" high. I was able to cement these windows into the basement with little to no problems. They seem sturdy and I can't believe they're this cheap. Kudos also on the fast shipping!
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install, Great Detail
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Goodland, KS 67735, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we needed.....

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
This window was perfect we needed a window for the bathroom that was smaller than usual windows since our shower frame went really high....this window was great and its glass is frosted so its perfect for a bathroom....i recommend it....
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This window fits specific purposes of light and ventilation.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
This hopper window is perfect for small first floor laundry area where light , ventilation and Security were required.
Pros: Multi Use, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Appearance
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hopper Vent Screen Window
from New York
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quite flimsy overall

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Hopper Vent Screen Window
I was expecting something a bit more solid, this seemed very flimsy overall.
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>