728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass

Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass

Tafco Hopper Vent, Tafco’s solid main frame hopper ventilation vent can be used for both new and existing construction. Excellent for use in masonry applications. Throughout the year you will enjoy the security of the maintenance-free hopper. Convenient and secure these good-looking vents are easy to install. The removable screen keeps insects out. The water weeping system drains water away from your structure. Careful consideration has been given to both the builder and homeowners needs.
Overall rating:
3.7 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product22 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Appearance 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product22 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Review 1 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
DJ3099
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the money

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
OK for the money and one of the few available at that size
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
nutheastah
from South central MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did the job, used in wood construction

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I expect these windows were designed for concrete or blocks by their looks however I used similar hoppers in my addition (second bathroom & wood construction) three years ago and they have worked so well I didn't hesitate to repeast the use . I had replaced my garage door with a 5 foot french door and wanted ventalation for the area. I chose to use three of these hoppers vertically stacked beside the door because they were the only thing I could find that would work without having to have them custom made. I spent much time making sure that the framework to hold them was square and routed the sheathing so the windows sat against it on the outside. The windows are made to be mortared in but because I was putting them into 2X6 studs I leveled them using plastic dowels then used sealing /insulating foam to set them in place. I sealed the wood frame on the exterior with protecto wrap and routed the outside sill flush with the stud to prevent trapping water. Then I built the outside frame/ brick molding out of 5/8"X1+3/4" plastic molding strips from HD gluing them together with clear PVC cement. I have used this method before with good results. I just nail the frame to the sheathing calk the inside and sealed the outside, flashed the top and used 3/8" X 1" plastic molding on the inside to hold the hoppers in place. My bathroom windows are done the same way and have worked perfectly for over 3 years. A word of caution . be careful to use inside molding that allows the windows to open. When I did my bath windows I had to re-do the inside molding because they looked nice but the couldn't be opened. (to me woodworking is throwing wood into a stove) I would love to had found these windows with nailers however the finished job looks great and the extra work only took me about an hour for all three. All three work slick and today it is 20 degrees and they feel warm and draft free. I have solved my ventalation problem and added more light to the room I'll probable find out that they could have been bought with a nailing flange
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: don't have a nailing flange provision
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
familyman

Just what we were looking for.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appears to be good quality. Just what we were looking for, but didn't realize that it is not clear glass - guess that's what dual glass means! But it is ok that it is not clear since it is for light and airflow - not to look out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
areeeff
from phila pa

Just right

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS WINDOW IS VERY SIMPLY ENGINEERED AND WELL BUILT FOR WHAT IT IS. I DO NOT KNOW THAT IT WILL HOLD UP TO A LOT OF ABUSE BUT I INSTALLED 3 OF THESE ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND JUST ORDERED ANOTHER FOR A ANOTHER APPLICATION. MADE FOR A MASONARY INSTALLATION--WOOD ROUGH-IN NEEDS TRIM.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
awela
from TEXAS

PERFECT

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
wanted particular size window, not big not too small and with good ventilation, Found it and its light weight and easy to install. Bathroom ventilates good. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Garrett

Window replacement for existing older basement windows.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
I was initially hesitant to purchase 2 units due to the negative reviews and the low price (do we have a quality issue on these windows...hmmm).
These were inset into masonry, let to set up for 1 week and viola! They work and perform as expected.
Additional rubber weather stripping was applied to the lower hopper window frame for a tight draft resistant seal and works perfectly.
For the price, these are decent windows for a masonry installation.
Home Depot is the only place online (that I could find) to offer this product with a tight size fit requirement.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made
Cons: Appearance, not thermopane
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
bpsteacher
from Boston, M
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding....

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
I needed to place a small vent window and found that the low profile (8 inch opening) did not allow me any choices. Thank goodness I found this window!! It looks good and is quite functional.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Steve
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought 2 windows to repair poorly construction by contractor

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
We needed 2 8" tall windows that were about 2' long to repair of a poorly contructed window by a contractor from a prior owner of our house. While I knew I would need to make some adjustments, your windows fit the bill. They were generally what I expected and the right size, unlike anywhere else. As it turned out, some of the original framing was damaged by leaking water, so I had to cut out and remove more wood than initially expected.
Your windows did not come with installation instructions and no predrilled holes. Fortunately, I have installed other windows and made the application work. The other issue was the glass was frosted and I was expecting clear. The weather stripping is not the tightest, so there are some points of light coming through the stripping. However, the windows were about $37 and were shipped for free, so overall, I'm happy with the outcome. For my application, the windows were just right, but I wouldn't expect a truely, well sealed windows for just $37.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Fit, right size for small opening
Cons: not energy efficient, No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
rkerwood
from Montgomery, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price.

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Read many of the reviews that trashed this item but quite frankly, for the price it's well worth it. We wanted a transom window above a door I was installing in our mudroom, but didn't want to go real fancy or spend a lot of money on a custom unit. The space was short and this unit fit with minimal trimming. Looks good and serves the purpose for under 40 bucks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Anonymous
from Charlotte, NC

Great Widows

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
I recently took on a project to transform my crawl space into a basement. When I got to the point where I was ready to install windows, I decided to give these hopper vents a shot. Because of the 8 X 16 inch size they are availlable in, I was able to siimply remove the existing crawl space vents and install these...securing them with mortar. They've been in place for about two weeks and are great. When they are shut they let in a good deal of light but are kind of frosted which provides privacy. When you open the windows they go completely horzontal allowing maximum airflow through the screen. For what I paid for these I have been impressed on all fronts. If I were to do this project over again, I'd purchase these hopper vents without hesitation.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
madarchitect
from bellingham, wa

imagine the cheapest product ever

PostedAugust 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
This is the cheapest window product i have ever encountered. might find better manufacturing in the toys you find in 25 cent machines at the grocery store.
This is a very cheap vinyl window without any weather proofing. THE WINDOW DOES NOT SEAL. There are huge gaps that let the elements in. and the screen and glazing is held in place by exposed phillips head screws, visible from the exterior, that are already stripped out of the cheap plastic.
everything the description states is false.
"Pivot operation allows for multiple positions " ...wrong. manf. says to install in one position.
"A heavy duty continuous weather proof rubber seal on the door" .......SUPER WRONG....seal doesnt even close the window completely. around the hinge there are 1/4" gaps that let air and water directly to the inside (used loosely as this window doesn't really have hinges just plastic nubs that snap into place) ... might as well not even have a seal.
"Reinforced ribbed mainframe for additional strength"....wrong.... could bend this window in half...frame is SUPER flimsy.
"Heavy metal hardware provides security"....wrong..unless your main security issue is rodents...but then they might just chew through the cheap frame.
"Manufactured with bright white uv stable material".....wrong..... not white at all...more of a cream.
"They are ideal for use in both new and replacement construction".....wrong..... the only thing i might use this product for is a shed or dog house or a chicken coop. unless you live in an area where heating and cooling your house is not an issue.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
joeT
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This window fits specific purposes of light and ventilation.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
This hopper window is perfect for small first floor laundry area where light , ventilation and Security were required.
Pros: Multi Use, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Appearance
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Nani
from Goodland, KS 67735, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what we needed.....

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
This window was perfect we needed a window for the bathroom that was smaller than usual windows since our shower frame went really high....this window was great and its glass is frosted so its perfect for a bathroom....i recommend it....
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Jdawg57
from Vermont, USA

Good value for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
For what it cost, this window serves it's purpose. I was able to adequately modify it for installation in a wood frame which was handy. Not very draft-tight but security and appearance was the goal with this window, and it serves that purpose.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Rayo

Cheap for a reason

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
They worked for the shed I was building, but I would not use them in a house. I put them into wood framing, but they're probably better suited for setting in mortar or concrete. No nailing flange or even screw holes in the edge. I made it work, as customer insisted on the product, but I won't use it again for wood framing. Hinge and latch work, and there is a gasket, but quality is low, like the price. Screen is loose in it's frame on all eleven I bought, and therefore not too attractive on the side of my beautiful shed. Packaging probably cost as much as the window. Shipping was excellent, though.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Lemons
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Was not the right window for my application

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Ordered this to use the screen and glass to fix my crawl space windows. Must be a different brand or was redesigned, so I could no use it. Returned it to store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Peter

Window looks good

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Also easy to open and lock ,has plastic loose trim for additional window seal,do not know how will perform in winter time.( bought it in summer ,have it for 2 months) it is mountable any way you need to..we have it side way due to room restriction..
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Murano

This product meets my expectation with good quality

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
I installed this window with a wood frame. I am happy with the quality and it's unique design. It would be better if it had a consideration for installation on wood frame. I wish I knew this product before I started finishing my basement. The window was shipped very fast with a very good package of protection.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
skifast
from Upsatate NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, great price!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
I shopped everywhere looking for a window of this size! A great little window for a very cheap price. Installed in 30 min. and works great!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
usnavyredhead

Piece of Junk - don't waste your time or money

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Hopper Vent Windows, 24 in. x 8 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
I read the other reviews about this window and how it wasn't all that great and I thought, well maybe they just got a bad window. Nope. They were right on. Yes, it's cheap price-wise, but then again it's made of cheap plastic so it's not what I would call a good value for the money. The gasket is a joke - it doesn't even seal the window when it's closed - there are holes where the window tilts that allows air and other elements into your house. Over all I guess I shouldn't have been surprised since other reviews warned me ahead of time. Maybe you'll listen to me better than I did to them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>