728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Basement Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass

Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass

Tafco Hopper Vent, Tafco’s solid main frame hopper ventilation vent can be used for both new and existing construction. Excellent for use in masonry applications. Throughout the year you will enjoy the security of the maintenance-free hopper. Convenient and secure these good-looking vents are easy to install. The removable screen keeps insects out. The water weeping system drains water away from your structure. Careful consideration has been given to both the builder and homeowners needs.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product6 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
Review 1 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK for the money

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
OK for the money and one of the few available at that size
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass

Could be a good product if it was the right size

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by the dimensions stated. This product is only 15.5" by 15.5" I needed one that was 15.75 by 15.75" and what I received does not fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
from Topeka, kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in the bathroom.

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The window arrived in record time. installation was a breeze.
Pros: Great Value, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install, Great Detail, great deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
from South central MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did the job, used in wood construction

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I expect these windows were designed for concrete or blocks by their looks however I used similar hoppers in my addition (second bathroom & wood construction) three years ago and they have worked so well I didn't hesitate to repeast the use . I had replaced my garage door with a 5 foot french door and wanted ventalation for the area. I chose to use three of these hoppers vertically stacked beside the door because they were the only thing I could find that would work without having to have them custom made. I spent much time making sure that the framework to hold them was square and routed the sheathing so the windows sat against it on the outside. The windows are made to be mortared in but because I was putting them into 2X6 studs I leveled them using plastic dowels then used sealing /insulating foam to set them in place. I sealed the wood frame on the exterior with protecto wrap and routed the outside sill flush with the stud to prevent trapping water. Then I built the outside frame/ brick molding out of 5/8"X1+3/4" plastic molding strips from HD gluing them together with clear PVC cement. I have used this method before with good results. I just nail the frame to the sheathing calk the inside and sealed the outside, flashed the top and used 3/8" X 1" plastic molding on the inside to hold the hoppers in place. My bathroom windows are done the same way and have worked perfectly for over 3 years. A word of caution . be careful to use inside molding that allows the windows to open. When I did my bath windows I had to re-do the inside molding because they looked nice but the couldn't be opened. (to me woodworking is throwing wood into a stove) I would love to had found these windows with nailers however the finished job looks great and the extra work only took me about an hour for all three. All three work slick and today it is 20 degrees and they feel warm and draft free. I have solved my ventalation problem and added more light to the room I'll probable find out that they could have been bought with a nailing flange
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Well Made, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: don't have a nailing flange provision
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass

Just what we were looking for.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appears to be good quality. Just what we were looking for, but didn't realize that it is not clear glass - guess that's what dual glass means! But it is ok that it is not clear since it is for light and airflow - not to look out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
from phila pa

Just right

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THIS WINDOW IS VERY SIMPLY ENGINEERED AND WELL BUILT FOR WHAT IT IS. I DO NOT KNOW THAT IT WILL HOLD UP TO A LOT OF ABUSE BUT I INSTALLED 3 OF THESE ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO AND JUST ORDERED ANOTHER FOR A ANOTHER APPLICATION. MADE FOR A MASONARY INSTALLATION--WOOD ROUGH-IN NEEDS TRIM.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hopper Vent Windows, 16 in. x 16 in., White, with Screen and Dual Glass
from TEXAS

PERFECT

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
wanted particular size window, not big not too small and with good ventilation, Found it and its light weight and easy to install. Bathroom ventilates good. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.