728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank

20 lb. Empty Propane Tank

The Worthington Pro Grade 4.7 gal. Empty Propane Tank is made of steel and features a tough, weather resistant powder-coat glazing. It is refillable and has an overfill prevention device (OPD) for safety.
Overall rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Review 1 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
HDCustomerCT

Pleasantly surprised

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one at the local HD and was surprised to find a sticker on it saying that it was pre-purged. Saves you a couple of bucks the first time you fill it. Nice!
The price was lower than any googled price I found, internet or local.
+49points
50out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Tanner
from Westminster, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best price around for a new tank

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a propane tank for my new grill. Looked around for the best price, and this was the lowest I could find for a new empty tank. Once again Home Depot hits a home run for consumers, keeping the price down.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Superior Craftsmanship
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Auxiliary

Quality

PostedJune 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm writing this review as I just finished off my propane tank while slow cooking ribs. It was holding 250 degrees until it was empty. I hooked up my backup from Amerigas and I am having a hard time keeping my grill at 250. I don't know if it is because the tank is old. I grilled all winter long until today with my Worthington so it looks like I am getting another one and just refill it at my local club.
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
neahkahnie
from North Coast Highway, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product. I now have four 20 pounders

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I had two and bought two more. I probably will buy one or two more for disaster prep. Good price and the free shipping really saved money. I would recommend this to anyone who cannot get to the store.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: shipping time a bit long
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
RednexToyz
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits all my needs

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit's all my needs from the BBQ to the propane patio tourch. Just take it in to my local propane shop to have it filled as needed.
Pros: Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
astonman
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Preferred Option over Exchange Services

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently received my first propane grill after swearing by coals and wood for over two decades. I did a little research into propane tanks and found that the exchange services only put 15 pounds in the 20 pound tanks.
I read that when gas prices went up, so did propane. In order to not increase the price, exchange services decreased the "fill" to 15 pounds of propane. So no price increase but less product. Exchange services are convenient but that convenience comes with a price. The place I went to charges by the gallon, so you pay for exactly what you get. When I filled this tank it took 4.4 gallons of propane which cost me $12 and change (the attendant gave me the vehicle price).
My tank was a little over a year old at the time of purchase. It was in excellent condition but the label (which you removed anyway) was a little torn. I looked around and this was the best price I could find. The tank was even pre purged so I didn't have to pay an extra fee. I highly recommend this tank.
Pros: Easy to Clean, can fill to max
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
GrillGuy
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

holds propane like a boss

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All my propane stays right where it should now that I have this tank.
Pros: Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, awesome manly grey color
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
willie
from Bethlehem, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice tank

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to fill,holds five pounds of gas. very strong tank,
built to last,easy shut off valve,nice collor
Pros: Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Rick
from La Vergne, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product is up to date on inspection.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have it filled in gas filling station and the tag was inspected. the product is up to date.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Tanglefoot47
from Tulalip, WA 98271, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what I wanted

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
What can you say about a propane tank? they are all about the same but there are a few differences, I have a Weber gas grill and it has the hanger to let you know how much fuel is left. I bought a tank at Lowes and it didn't fit my needs the Hone D is what I needed. It's all about the handles the Home D will fit the grill better on the hanger. It's all about the grip on the tank where it curls that fits the hanger
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Captmike
from Lewiston, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Need To Purge

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
5 Star for price only. One of the two tanks purchased looks like they spray painted over dirt. Order on line pick-up at store. What can you say about a 20# (pound) Propane Cylinder; It does it's job.
Pros: no purging required, price
Cons: poor paint application
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
dude
from Hale, MI 48739, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good tank for the price

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have bought one before, the valve gets hard to seal after a couple of years.
Pros: Distributes Heat Evenly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Ignacio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has good features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Maybe I try to get moré options in colors or graphics, something more modern. The white color si too simple
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
JoeS
from Louisville Kentucky
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Old Stock

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Old stock, the newest that I found was 18 months old. One was over 4 years old. The reason that this is important is because that date stamped on the tank is the start of a 12 year life. When that 12 years is up the re-fillers will not fill the tank. Look at the date which is in the month-Year format. ie 05 12
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 lb. Empty Propane Tank
Bill
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks good

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought it and space heater at same time. Before I even left the store I turned it in toward a filled tank ready for use. Nice box...
Pros: nice box
-47points
2out of 51found this review helpful.