728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

The MTD Products 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for MTD and Toro Riding Mowers can be removed easily for storage or for adding other attachments (sold separately). Experience the benefits of bagging including quicker clean-up, less raking and reduced thatch build-up.
Overall rating:
3.846 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product19 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product19 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
Review 1 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost perfect

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You need basic tools to assemble, screw driver/drill and sockets are useful. Took me approx 1 hr to assemble. Basically good quality. Chute does not clog. Works well. The netting used for the bags could be a little more heavy duty in my opinion considering the price. The main problem is the plastic pop-in screws used to connect the bagger chute pipes together. While mowing I brushed the chute against a small shrub and the plastic screws instantly popped/broke in half. The chute pieces disconnected and debris was flying out of the chute pipe toward my face! Not safe. But, I didn't want to return the bagger for a refund since that would mean raking grass clippings for a half acre lot each time I mow. So, I went back to Home Depot and purchased some metal parts and rigged the chute pieces together myself. 2 metal clevis pins; 2 metal cotter pins (cost under $5). Drilled the hole in the chute connector to make it slightly larger than original to fit my clevis pin and then secured the three chute pipes together with the clevis/cotter pins. I'm a little disappointed about the quality of some small parts since I paid close to $400 for this product. I would have liked to not have to rebuilt pieces myself. But overall I am satisfied that I don't have to hand rake a huge lawn anymore. If you already have a few year old mower and need a bagger to fit your model mower there aren't lot of choices. Home Depot online was still cheaper than a direct purchase from the manufacturer, HD had free shipping, HD has a 90 day return policy (compared to the manufacturers no refunds once installed policy), and HD's staff in the store was very willing to help and even offered to GIVE me the small parts to repair it myself.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: some small parts not durable-but fixable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

worth the cost

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bag all of our lawn waste. In the fall the leaves are usually the worst to deal with. I've used a lawn sweeper for several years, it worked well, however,you still had to dump the leaves on the ground before bagging them. With the bagger, I can dump the leaves directly into the disposal bags.I'm sure that it will work just as well on grass clippings next summer. Glad I purchased it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Kelowna BC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick install, fits perfect.

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a 7-8 year old MTD tractor, finally bit the ~$400 bullet. The installation took about 40 minutes. Fit is perfect, no problems.
Positives:
-40 minute install and I save more than that every week on raking (when I have time/bother)
-Save frustration looking at overage of cuttings on lawn
-No mess around rock areas from flying clippings
-Perfect fit
Negatives:
-That said regarding perfect fit, I found the brackets could be simpler, but assuming this had to be done to fit multiple units.
-The unit is heavy on the back end. Nothing to do with the catcher, all catchers likely the same, but it almost pops wheelies when I pop the "clutch" going forward. Eventually I'll likely build a custom aluminum bracket to lighten up the assembly to replace all 5 lower steel pieces (what I do for a living, so no big deal).
-Grass fills up farthest bag first. I plan to make a deflector to remedy this somewhat. No big deal.
-Motor has to be run at higher speed to prevent clogging at bottom of chute. No problem.
Love it! More time for family and other things...
Pros: Accurate
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Ramsey mn.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dusty first time used

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was only missing 1 piece in box and was able to get that piece from store stock
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Ohio

Directions need help, you will need more space

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took about two hours to assemble - mostly because directions don't identify parts clearly. Sometimes by name sometimes by part #. No cross reference.
Mower works great. Does need more space between bushes, fence, etc and behind if you backup. Also picks up a lot more grass than pull behind style so need larger compost pile.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Double Bagger for MTD riding mower

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tired of raking grass and leaves after using your riding mower. The double rear bagger does excellant job picking up your grass clipping and leaves. It saves alot of time doing it manually.
I reccommend it highly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Michigan

It does the job....with some modifications

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit fits up to my crastsman 36" riding tractor very well.But I had to modifly the chute to the deck, but it works on dry grass. Wet grass tends to plug up the chute.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Decent bagger/easy setup

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have a 42inch Yardman rider. When reading he specs it mentioned that it would fit what I have. There was only one issue was I had installing it but very minor, mainly because I'm not sure it was the exact bagger for my mower, but it was all I could find. Beside a few minor things it fits nice and work well.
One big issue is that the grass blows into the bagging area so fast that the one bag fills all the way and the other is empty. So I'm always emptying that one bag, while the other one has nothing in it. The only way the other bag fills it that the full one has to overflow into the other one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Fairly easy to assemble & install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does the job fairly well.
Will be a great help removing the leaves in the fall.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not fit

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Make sure this mower is for you had it fully assembled and found out that the chute was 5in to small. Did not say anything in listing that it did not 2011 42in mowers atleast they took it back
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Washington, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not what I was hoping for

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had no trouble with assembly. Once i started cutting the grass is when I became disappointed. I figured it must be because my grass was a little on the long side, so I raised the deck to see if that would help. No matter what I tried it clogs up right at the bottom, and hardly any grass gets into the bags. I tried again a few days later when the grass was short and had the same results. No matter how short the grass or how very slow I moved it would end up clogging the bottom chute... Not very happy,
Cons: it just doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Works fine

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit was easy to assemble and does an excellent job with leaves and dry grass. Wet grass clogs the tube and is a pain to clean out but every bagger I have ever had does not do well with wet grass.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Moorestown

This product seems to work ok. But not completely satisfied.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was easy to install but seemed to not fit right. For the money that I paid I thought that I would have got some thing that was built alittle better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product adequate for my use

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the baggers are somewhat small and require frequent emptying. the hose easily is dislodged from its connection to the mower deck in spite of the rubber tether when on rougher terrain. there is no easy way to determine when the bags are full. the hose fills the far bag easily but relies on overflow to fill the near bag. all-in-all function is adequate and product will be useful.
Pros: Mulches Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Decatur alabama

Somewhat expensive

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rather than leave grass clippings on the lawn, I purchased this to collect the clippings. It collects great but I'm having a difficult time deciding on the knotch to leave the collector on. To low and the yard looks scalped yet, too high and it appears that it still needs to be cut. I'll get use to it eventually!! It just doesn't cut like my SNAPPER that is a manual 20" lawn mower. But, I can cut the lawn in less than half the time the SNAPPER does.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Chesapeake,Va

parts missing

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Parts missing and it did not fit. Paid to have it installed..then had to pay to have it uninstalled!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, parts missing, did not fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

This product works great.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it with wet grass and the system didn't clog! I have an older tractor so installation took a little longer than I expected. The system overall seems to work great and it seems to be very durable. Good product for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Flint, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this is a very easy product to use

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The install instructions are easy to follow, the bagger works great and great addition to my mower.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Fit ....

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this item for my Bolens 38 in riding tractor, and with very little effort and easy to follow instruction, I had it up and running in no time .
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Toledo, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great without breaking the bank or my back

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed easily, bags fill quickly & empty just as smooth.
I felt it was a fair price, the construction seems solid & it's not cumbersome to open/empty. No regrets & would purchase another MTD product in the future...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>