728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

The MTD Products 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for MTD and Toro Riding Mowers can be removed easily for storage or for adding other attachments (sold separately). Experience the benefits of bagging including quicker clean-up, less raking and reduced thatch build-up.
Overall rating:
3.971 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product27 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Features 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product27 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
Review 1 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost perfect

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You need basic tools to assemble, screw driver/drill and sockets are useful. Took me approx 1 hr to assemble. Basically good quality. Chute does not clog. Works well. The netting used for the bags could be a little more heavy duty in my opinion considering the price. The main problem is the plastic pop-in screws used to connect the bagger chute pipes together. While mowing I brushed the chute against a small shrub and the plastic screws instantly popped/broke in half. The chute pieces disconnected and debris was flying out of the chute pipe toward my face! Not safe. But, I didn't want to return the bagger for a refund since that would mean raking grass clippings for a half acre lot each time I mow. So, I went back to Home Depot and purchased some metal parts and rigged the chute pieces together myself. 2 metal clevis pins; 2 metal cotter pins (cost under $5). Drilled the hole in the chute connector to make it slightly larger than original to fit my clevis pin and then secured the three chute pipes together with the clevis/cotter pins. I'm a little disappointed about the quality of some small parts since I paid close to $400 for this product. I would have liked to not have to rebuilt pieces myself. But overall I am satisfied that I don't have to hand rake a huge lawn anymore. If you already have a few year old mower and need a bagger to fit your model mower there aren't lot of choices. Home Depot online was still cheaper than a direct purchase from the manufacturer, HD had free shipping, HD has a 90 day return policy (compared to the manufacturers no refunds once installed policy), and HD's staff in the store was very willing to help and even offered to GIVE me the small parts to repair it myself.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: some small parts not durable-but fixable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Twinsburg, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rather disappointed with product material

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The assembling of the product was pretty easy.. per my brother. However, I was expecting more durable materials. The screws are of a plastic material. In misjudging the size of the bagger on my mower, I bumped into an object in the yard. One of the screws that hold the large pipes together fell out. I was able to locate the screw. But it was damaged to the point that it could not be used. Since the screws are so fragile, maybe you should include a few extra screws in the packaging. Now I have to go in and try picking up more screws before I can use the bagger again! For the cost of this bagger, I really don't see it lasting for a long period of time. The plastic materials and mesh bags won't hold up for years to come... that's for certain. I don't think you want a picture of my mower showing the bagger pipes disassembled at this time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, plastic screws, plastic materials
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Upland, NE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saves time and work

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The grass catcher was not a perfect fit. But after a little reconfiguring i made it fit and it works better than expected. This unit has saved me so much time and labor.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Long-Lasting
Cons: not a perfect fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Foley, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toro Doble Bagger

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this on-line and it was fairly easy to assemble until I tried to hook the band from the Bagger to the mower. It is no easy task. I had a gentleman help the second time and it took both of us to stretch the band and get it over the rounded screw. When I used it the first two times it plugged up. I decided to give it one more try, so I raised the blade so it didn't cut as deep and it worked well.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: connecting band too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Fort Wayne
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, but much heavier than necessary

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed easily into my Yard-man 38" riding mower. Only used it once but worked fine. Have not tried it on thick grass. Grass chute is large, I do not imagine it will clog easily. Was it worth it? With only one mowing so far, yes, it beats raking. And will be so much nicer to pickup leaves in the fall.
Pros: I like that the bags are extremely lightweight, all plastic, so when bagging grass, the weight of the grass is almost all there is. Whether it holds up to repeated use, we'll see, but they look well-built.
The cons: It is ridiculously heavy for what it does. When installing it (in about an hour with only 4 bolts that required a wrench) it seemed like I kept adding brackets on top of brackets. They are very thick, strong, but heavy, and they stick out about 8" from the rear of the tractor. Uninstalling it when you don't need to bag has several options: 1. Leave the 8" box bracket on the tractor, removing the vertical post with only one knob, or remove the bracket with 2, which requires removing the vertical post and then the box bracket and then carefully re-aligning it to reinstall. And the chute has 2 pieces which are not attached but slide into one another, no doubt to adjust for different mowers, but it makes it more difficult to install the chute. No, it's not terrible, uninstalling or reinstalling it will take you about 2 minutes each, but I also have a John Deere Sabre 38" which is extremely simple to install and remove.
I assume the complexity of the brackets is to allow installation on a wide range of equipment, but I wish they'd simplify for specific riding mowers rather than this setup. Instructions were fairly clear, but as with most directions, after it is installed, you can look back and think, I could do it in half the time now.
Overall, it will save me much time and I'm not expecting any breakdowns. We'll see how further spring mowings go.
Pros: Accurate, Durable
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

worth the cost

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bag all of our lawn waste. In the fall the leaves are usually the worst to deal with. I've used a lawn sweeper for several years, it worked well, however,you still had to dump the leaves on the ground before bagging them. With the bagger, I can dump the leaves directly into the disposal bags.I'm sure that it will work just as well on grass clippings next summer. Glad I purchased it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Fits like a glove

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 2008 Troy-bilt rider and this bagger fits perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from aurora. il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

38 IN. AND 42 IN. DOUBLE BAGGER FOR TORO AND YARD MACHINES

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
easy install works great should have bought it sooner kind of costly now though
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Lexington SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install and works real good. Makes leaf season a lot easier.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Ohio

Directions need help, you will need more space

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Took about two hours to assemble - mostly because directions don't identify parts clearly. Sometimes by name sometimes by part #. No cross reference.
Mower works great. Does need more space between bushes, fence, etc and behind if you backup. Also picks up a lot more grass than pull behind style so need larger compost pile.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

2nd shipment all parts there!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great onced installed. Just keep an eye on missing bolts in the box. Google this on YouTube to see this product review and then installation video if your missing the manual
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Michigan

It does the job....with some modifications

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit fits up to my crastsman 36" riding tractor very well.But I had to modifly the chute to the deck, but it works on dry grass. Wet grass tends to plug up the chute.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Fairly easy to assemble & install

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Does the job fairly well.
Will be a great help removing the leaves in the fall.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Decent bagger/easy setup

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have a 42inch Yardman rider. When reading he specs it mentioned that it would fit what I have. There was only one issue was I had installing it but very minor, mainly because I'm not sure it was the exact bagger for my mower, but it was all I could find. Beside a few minor things it fits nice and work well.
One big issue is that the grass blows into the bagging area so fast that the one bag fills all the way and the other is empty. So I'm always emptying that one bag, while the other one has nothing in it. The only way the other bag fills it that the full one has to overflow into the other one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Double Bagger for MTD riding mower

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tired of raking grass and leaves after using your riding mower. The double rear bagger does excellant job picking up your grass clipping and leaves. It saves alot of time doing it manually.
I reccommend it highly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not fit

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Make sure this mower is for you had it fully assembled and found out that the chute was 5in to small. Did not say anything in listing that it did not 2011 42in mowers atleast they took it back
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines

Works fine

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit was easy to assemble and does an excellent job with leaves and dry grass. Wet grass clogs the tube and is a pain to clean out but every bagger I have ever had does not do well with wet grass.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Moorestown

This product seems to work ok. But not completely satisfied.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was easy to install but seemed to not fit right. For the money that I paid I thought that I would have got some thing that was built alittle better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Kelowna BC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick install, fits perfect.

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a 7-8 year old MTD tractor, finally bit the ~$400 bullet. The installation took about 40 minutes. Fit is perfect, no problems.
Positives:
-40 minute install and I save more than that every week on raking (when I have time/bother)
-Save frustration looking at overage of cuttings on lawn
-No mess around rock areas from flying clippings
-Perfect fit
Negatives:
-That said regarding perfect fit, I found the brackets could be simpler, but assuming this had to be done to fit multiple units.
-The unit is heavy on the back end. Nothing to do with the catcher, all catchers likely the same, but it almost pops wheelies when I pop the "clutch" going forward. Eventually I'll likely build a custom aluminum bracket to lighten up the assembly to replace all 5 lower steel pieces (what I do for a living, so no big deal).
-Grass fills up farthest bag first. I plan to make a deflector to remedy this somewhat. No big deal.
-Motor has to be run at higher speed to prevent clogging at bottom of chute. No problem.
Love it! More time for family and other things...
Pros: Accurate
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 38 in. and 42 in. Double Bagger for Toro and Yard Machines
from Ramsey mn.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dusty first time used

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was only missing 1 piece in box and was able to get that piece from store stock
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>