728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saw Blades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Avanti PRO saw blades are the highest-performance saw blades specifically designed for the professional. Its superior blade design produces fast & clean cuts in a variety of materials. The Avanti PRO saw blades contain Durable Construction Carbide for 2x longer cutting life than standard blades. These blades are the best choice for the professional construction worker.
Overall rating:
2.886 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product16 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product16 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Review 1 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Gainesville, Fl
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont let the nice wood box ol you

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these blades because they came in a wood box which would make storage easy and were $50 versus $100. They are junk. They do not make a flat bottom cut in the middle where they should, one of the 1/8 chipper blades is just a fraction too small for my saws arbor and gets stuck and they are not true fractions. My set of calipers told me that the .60 mm spacers that you have to use between the inside and outside blades are actually like .64 mm and when you stack that up with the chipper that is suppost to be 1/8 but is actually a 32nd bigger, that makes for a larger cut and a larger cut is no good for trying to make precision box joint cuts. Save yourself the time, money and aggravation and buy a quality set of dado blades.
Cons: poorly made, marked sizes are wrong.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my first dado set and I'm very disappointed. As others have noted, the center hole is tight on the arbor and the blades are difficult to remove. The chippers are not all the same size, so there is ALWAYS a ridge between passes. Cutting a dado in Formica covered plywood chipped the Formica out badly. Unless your expectations are really low, I'd pass on this.
Pros: nice box.
Cons: not accurate at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Whitesburg Tn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice case , very sharp blades, and good directions. What else would you want?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good for the money

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well I read the reviews of the negative post. I cant tell you that the people that posted the negative accounts of there use, must not have ever uase a set of dado blades before, or did not read the instructions.
I got very good resules and a smooth bottom cut on this set.
To the post about tear out on plywood you need to buy a special set of dado blades for cross cutting plywood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Midwest City, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Dado set for the $$$

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good set. Cut very cleanly. I used it to cut dados for some 1/4" plywood that was used in some cabinet panel style doors. Of course the plywood really isn't 1/4"! The set has quite a few spacers of varying thicknesses that I was able to use in combination with the blades to get a very good fit. I have a wobble dado blade but trying to fine tune it for this type of finish work is VERY difficult. This set allowed me to get a precise dado fairly easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Rough

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These blades make a very rough cut. The outer blades cut about 1/16" to 1/32" deeper than the center chisels. Also, with the required spacers, there are obvious (but minor) ridges between the chisel cuts. The overall result is a crude dado cut that is fine for some applications, but not very good for precision work.
If the price were lower, these blades would meet expectations. These blades would be appropriately priced at $20. The blades were returned to the store.
Pros: storage case
Cons: too expensive, lacks precision
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Turn and run!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would like to think that maybe I had a dud. But I tried this set and it was terrible. If you buy this get ready to sand the jagged bottom of every dado you cut. The rakers on the outside blades don't finish off flat. The chippers didn't cut any better. I should have searched the woodworking forums for reviews before I picked this up. I returned this today and will have to find a better set or choose a different option for dado's. After reading a little more about this I found that it is a knock off to a similarly named brand that was a much better product.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly made, providing a rough cut. Low price is appropriate.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality! Center holes are too small to fit arbor without some light reaming. Tooth edges visibly roughly machined. Bottom of cut much worse than my 40 year old Craftsman wobble dado. Even the wooden box is poorly made - a plastic box would give much better protection to the carbide tips. Will be going back to the store tomorrow.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, not precision made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Aiken, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The worst yet

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money on this stacked dado set. Claimed to fit on a 5/8 arbor. Not without a lot of work. I know the price is cheap, at $49.00. The chippers are narrow and shims are flimsy at best. Spend the extra money and buy a Frued. The price is double at HD, however there are buys if you really look. I purchased the Frued dado and its great.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Crude

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought the price would make it worth a try, but the cut is very rough and inconsistent- took chisel work and sanding to make tenons fit. The worse problem is that the arbor bore is undersized; it is way too snug on a 5/8" arbor- snug enough it was trouble to actually get it off the arbor.
I took it back.
Pros: All In One, price
Cons: Difficult to Use, inaccurate
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Garland, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bade cuts doesn't fit arbor

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Side were fairly straight but bottom was a mess. One of the outer blades was not a flat top and left a good 30 degree angle. No matter how I adjusted the blades with shims and cutters per instructions, the middle of the cut was always a mess. Took forever to get off my ridgid hybrid saw's arbor. Cut way too small in factory. Only good thing about set was return policy. Planning on returning for diablo set.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts are not accurate

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) The cuts are wider than expected. A 1/4 inch cut is actually 9/32".
2) You can not make even finger joints with this blade. When you cut at 1/2 inch intervals, you end up with an unequal pattern.
3) The cut is not smooth bottomed. One side is square and the other sides is angled.
I took it back in less than 24 hrs after I got it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Eighty Four, North Strabane, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for the best price

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was building a large deck on the back of my house. I was using 6"x6" posts for the railing. I needed some way to notch the botton portion of the post 1 1/2" deep by 10" long. I priced other dado blade sets but they were all in the sixty dollar range and up. I just happen to be going through our local Home Depot and I stopped to see what they had in there tool section. I used the Avanti pro stacked dado set with my radial arm saw and had no trouble cutting the notches. It did a very clean professional looking job and I couldn't be more happy with the way this product performed. The price was a lot less than the other dado sets that I looked at.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Lewisberry PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Avanti Pro 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this a couple times and was not Impressed with the cut or the ability to cut nominal slots. maybe a machinist can figure them out but not me.
I found the blades very difficult to mount on my saw and the quality of the cut poor.
I purchased a similar set at Harbour freight and they worked much better for a fraction of the cost.
I also has an old 6 " set of Oldham that I bought over 35 years ago that still worked much better. Not very impressed at all with this set. Not really sure what to do with them. Dust collectors I guess.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, not very easy to mount on arbor
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

DON'T BUY THIS

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE TWO BLADES ACTUALLY MADE THE EXACT SAME DEPTH CUT, BUT ALL OF THE CHIPPER BLADES CUT AT DIFFERENT HEIGHTS. THE WORST ONE LEFT .031 EXTRA MATERIAL. LUCKLY IT HAS A 45 DAY RETURN. I'LL BE BRINGING MINE BACK AFTER1 CUT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Mechanicsville, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for making shelves and also for making gigs for saw

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it to add some shelves to our cabinet and also for making some gigs for my table saw. Will be using it to form many different types of corner joints for looks and the added strong joint.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, came with very good instructions for the spacers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Odessa, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pony up on the tried and true not the low $.

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like Avanti regular blades instead of buying the precision blades becasue I can feel better if I'm feeling lazy and don't want to change my good blade out for a few short rough cuts. So with that mentality I opted for this set and found that no matter how good i was at setting the blades excatly where they needed to be I would get crazy depths of cuts on each blade..?!?! The outside blades are just fine the chippers are assO's. I ended up using my router on most of the material that was long enough. If you do buy this set you can use it in your fishing boat on your next outting, as an anchor! Ooh and guys who can't fit this on your arbor, use a bronze brush to clean your arbor, not a metal knife!!!!!!! Crazies.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Keene, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What A Great Value

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first Stacked Dado set it is easy to use guide comes in a case as a complete set. easy to follow guide for thickness gauge. Used so far a few times and have not been disappointed. I was going to buy a more expensive set as a hobbyist woodworker but glad I went with this set it suits my needs very well!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: case is a little flimsy but makes it affordable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Philomath, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Dado Set

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This set of Dado blades works well. I use them mostly for box joints and they do a good job. They are about 1/2 the price of other sets I saw. They wil do fine in my wood shop.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cuts very cleanly and accurately. Made various width cuts, able to make fine adjustments to cut width.
Pros: Accurate, nice clean cuts
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>