728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saw Blades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

Avanti PRO saw blades are the highest-performance saw blades specifically designed for the professional. Its superior blade design produces fast & clean cuts in a variety of materials. The Avanti PRO saw blades contain Durable Construction Carbide for 2x longer cutting life than standard blades. These blades are the best choice for the professional construction worker.
Overall rating:
2.793 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
46%of customersrecommend this product13 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
46%of customersrecommend this product13 of 28reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
Review 1 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Gainesville, Fl
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont let the nice wood box ol you

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these blades because they came in a wood box which would make storage easy and were $50 versus $100. They are junk. They do not make a flat bottom cut in the middle where they should, one of the 1/8 chipper blades is just a fraction too small for my saws arbor and gets stuck and they are not true fractions. My set of calipers told me that the .60 mm spacers that you have to use between the inside and outside blades are actually like .64 mm and when you stack that up with the chipper that is suppost to be 1/8 but is actually a 32nd bigger, that makes for a larger cut and a larger cut is no good for trying to make precision box joint cuts. Save yourself the time, money and aggravation and buy a quality set of dado blades.
Cons: poorly made, marked sizes are wrong.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Rough

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These blades make a very rough cut. The outer blades cut about 1/16" to 1/32" deeper than the center chisels. Also, with the required spacers, there are obvious (but minor) ridges between the chisel cuts. The overall result is a crude dado cut that is fine for some applications, but not very good for precision work.
If the price were lower, these blades would meet expectations. These blades would be appropriately priced at $20. The blades were returned to the store.
Pros: storage case
Cons: too expensive, lacks precision
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

Turn and run!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would like to think that maybe I had a dud. But I tried this set and it was terrible. If you buy this get ready to sand the jagged bottom of every dado you cut. The rakers on the outside blades don't finish off flat. The chippers didn't cut any better. I should have searched the woodworking forums for reviews before I picked this up. I returned this today and will have to find a better set or choose a different option for dado's. After reading a little more about this I found that it is a knock off to a similarly named brand that was a much better product.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts are not accurate

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) The cuts are wider than expected. A 1/4 inch cut is actually 9/32".
2) You can not make even finger joints with this blade. When you cut at 1/2 inch intervals, you end up with an unequal pattern.
3) The cut is not smooth bottomed. One side is square and the other sides is angled.
I took it back in less than 24 hrs after I got it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Crude

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought the price would make it worth a try, but the cut is very rough and inconsistent- took chisel work and sanding to make tenons fit. The worse problem is that the arbor bore is undersized; it is way too snug on a 5/8" arbor- snug enough it was trouble to actually get it off the arbor.
I took it back.
Pros: All In One, price
Cons: Difficult to Use, inaccurate
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Mechanicsville, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for making shelves and also for making gigs for saw

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it to add some shelves to our cabinet and also for making some gigs for my table saw. Will be using it to form many different types of corner joints for looks and the added strong joint.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, came with very good instructions for the spacers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Aiken, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The worst yet

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money on this stacked dado set. Claimed to fit on a 5/8 arbor. Not without a lot of work. I know the price is cheap, at $49.00. The chippers are narrow and shims are flimsy at best. Spend the extra money and buy a Frued. The price is double at HD, however there are buys if you really look. I purchased the Frued dado and its great.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Lewisberry PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Avanti Pro 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this a couple times and was not Impressed with the cut or the ability to cut nominal slots. maybe a machinist can figure them out but not me.
I found the blades very difficult to mount on my saw and the quality of the cut poor.
I purchased a similar set at Harbour freight and they worked much better for a fraction of the cost.
I also has an old 6 " set of Oldham that I bought over 35 years ago that still worked much better. Not very impressed at all with this set. Not really sure what to do with them. Dust collectors I guess.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, not very easy to mount on arbor
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Keene, NH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What A Great Value

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first Stacked Dado set it is easy to use guide comes in a case as a complete set. easy to follow guide for thickness gauge. Used so far a few times and have not been disappointed. I was going to buy a more expensive set as a hobbyist woodworker but glad I went with this set it suits my needs very well!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: case is a little flimsy but makes it affordable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Eighty Four, North Strabane, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for the best price

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was building a large deck on the back of my house. I was using 6"x6" posts for the railing. I needed some way to notch the botton portion of the post 1 1/2" deep by 10" long. I priced other dado blade sets but they were all in the sixty dollar range and up. I just happen to be going through our local Home Depot and I stopped to see what they had in there tool section. I used the Avanti pro stacked dado set with my radial arm saw and had no trouble cutting the notches. It did a very clean professional looking job and I couldn't be more happy with the way this product performed. The price was a lot less than the other dado sets that I looked at.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Cuts very cleanly and accurately. Made various width cuts, able to make fine adjustments to cut width.
Pros: Accurate, nice clean cuts
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good price and set

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as it should ! All parts there at good price. Using.to.cut acryluc as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Economy Blade Set

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stacked dado set met my immediate needs. It was well packaged and easy to use. Quality was acceptable but as expected from a lower priced set of blades, the dado and rabbet bottoms and sides were not as sharp as on a more expensive set. If you are just getting into woodworking or are not making super high quality furniture or cutting a lot of dadoes this set will work for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: limited accuracy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

DON'T BUY THIS

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THE TWO BLADES ACTUALLY MADE THE EXACT SAME DEPTH CUT, BUT ALL OF THE CHIPPER BLADES CUT AT DIFFERENT HEIGHTS. THE WORST ONE LEFT .031 EXTRA MATERIAL. LUCKLY IT HAS A 45 DAY RETURN. I'LL BE BRINGING MINE BACK AFTER1 CUT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Odessa, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pony up on the tried and true not the low $.

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like Avanti regular blades instead of buying the precision blades becasue I can feel better if I'm feeling lazy and don't want to change my good blade out for a few short rough cuts. So with that mentality I opted for this set and found that no matter how good i was at setting the blades excatly where they needed to be I would get crazy depths of cuts on each blade..?!?! The outside blades are just fine the chippers are assO's. I ended up using my router on most of the material that was long enough. If you do buy this set you can use it in your fishing boat on your next outting, as an anchor! Ooh and guys who can't fit this on your arbor, use a bronze brush to clean your arbor, not a metal knife!!!!!!! Crazies.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Philomath, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Dado Set

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This set of Dado blades works well. I use them mostly for box joints and they do a good job. They are about 1/2 the price of other sets I saw. They wil do fine in my wood shop.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from DFW, Texas
Gender:Male

Don't bother

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Wasn't doing precision work, nor a lot, so thought a relatively inexpensive dado set would suffice. As others have mentioned, extremely difficult to remove chippers from the arbor, rough cut, not very precise. Makes for a sloppy dado. Returned it the next day for a more trusted brand.
Cons: poor fit/finish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
from Brunswick, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unusable.

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I didn't expect much of this dado set... and I wasn't disappointed. This set is unusable. The outside blades barely fit on the saw arbor and the chippers would not go on at all. The holes in the chippers measured 0.010" smaller than the 5/8" standard arbor size.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

Find something better if you like precision

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hard to fit in arbor at first - there's some plastic metal protection on the blades..
But, worse is that is the blades won't make a flat cut - leaves a crown in the middle of the dado... No thanks.
Avoid, buy something better.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs as well as I could ask for.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a hobbyist, this is the best dado set I could ask for. It may not make the flattest cut in the world, but at the price it does a great job at tasks I would otherwise have to use a router on.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>