728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saw Blades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Avanti PRO saw blades are the highest-performance saw blades specifically designed for the professional. Its superior blade design produces fast & clean cuts in a variety of materials. The Avanti PRO saw blades contain Durable Construction Carbide for 2x longer cutting life than standard blades. These blades are the best choice for the professional construction worker.
Overall rating:
2.927 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product19 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
48%of customersrecommend this product19 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Review 1 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Great, not at all.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You shouldnt expect much for $50 but you should expect a little more than this. As many have said, does not make a flat bottom. If thats no big deal for you then you can still save some coin over these with a cheap 6in set from China (where these are from as well) and get a spiffy aluminum case even. (since some seem to like the case)
All in all, these are a disappointment. Taking them back tomorrow.
Should have spent a few bucks more on a known good product!
Cons: poor design.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Gainesville, Fl
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont let the nice wood box ol you

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these blades because they came in a wood box which would make storage easy and were $50 versus $100. They are junk. They do not make a flat bottom cut in the middle where they should, one of the 1/8 chipper blades is just a fraction too small for my saws arbor and gets stuck and they are not true fractions. My set of calipers told me that the .60 mm spacers that you have to use between the inside and outside blades are actually like .64 mm and when you stack that up with the chipper that is suppost to be 1/8 but is actually a 32nd bigger, that makes for a larger cut and a larger cut is no good for trying to make precision box joint cuts. Save yourself the time, money and aggravation and buy a quality set of dado blades.
Cons: poorly made, marked sizes are wrong.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
23out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

thank goodness for the return policy

PostedApril 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They looked good coming out of the wooden box but not worth the purchase. I have been using my Delta contractors saw for 25 years and have never had an issue with the blade mounting on the arbor. Not only were the blades so tight, the 1/16" chipper blade is actually shorter than the rest and ground at a bad angle. I got better results with my old wobble blade. Took over 30 minutes to get blades and spacers off the arbor. Taking this back to get the Diablo set.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Connecticut
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my first dado set and I'm very disappointed. As others have noted, the center hole is tight on the arbor and the blades are difficult to remove. The chippers are not all the same size, so there is ALWAYS a ridge between passes. Cutting a dado in Formica covered plywood chipped the Formica out badly. Unless your expectations are really low, I'd pass on this.
Pros: nice box.
Cons: not accurate at all.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Long Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-Performing Dado Set At A Great Price!

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a woodworker with shallow pockets, I've learned to adapt and adjust to get the job done. When my trusty Delta Table saw finally died, buying a new, hi-speed saw was less expensive than rehab for the old one. This meant I had to buy a stacked Dado set, as the wobble-dado I'd used could not be used on the new saw. The low price drew me right in, but despite the less than stellar reviews, it does the job nicely for me. I don't recommend that a newbie jump right into using a dado. The set-up time is critical to the results. This set had complete directions which I followed to the letter, especially the bit about setting the chipper blades with regard to position against the groove blades as well as the 90 degree opposition to each other in wider cuts. I got excellent results. Perfect grooves for gluing and clamping joints. I wasn't making jewelry boxes here, so I didn't need chisel-free, razor glue line perfection, but as it was, it was money well spent. The saw cut smoothly with almost no vibration on a 3/4" cut in pine with knots. I'm very happy with the set.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Strong, Sharp
Cons: complicated setup
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from earth
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A Total Waste of Money

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They should be ashamed of themselves for charging money for this set. They could do be better, but have chosen not to. It's the poorest quality carbide dado set I've ever used. It's worthless if it was free. The fact that it's $50 should be a crime. Buyer beware.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Difficult to Use, poor performer
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Decent Beginner Set

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased this set for a cabinet job that I forgot my Freud set back at the shop. Seemed to cut fairly well and clean. Did leave a small bit of material in the bottom but nothing a chisel didn't take care of quickly. For an economy set of blades these are not bad at all. I did not have any side chip out cutting 3/4 birch plywood or 1/4 panels. I had no problems fitting the blades onto the arbor. I would buy another set as a back-up or second set.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Turn and run!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would like to think that maybe I had a dud. But I tried this set and it was terrible. If you buy this get ready to sand the jagged bottom of every dado you cut. The rakers on the outside blades don't finish off flat. The chippers didn't cut any better. I should have searched the woodworking forums for reviews before I picked this up. I returned this today and will have to find a better set or choose a different option for dado's. After reading a little more about this I found that it is a knock off to a similarly named brand that was a much better product.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Troy, MO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8 inch X 24-tooth stacked Dado saw Blade Set

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I opened the container, all blades and shims were present as listed on the outside label for the set. Following the enclosed directions, the saw setup was easy. When I used it on a current project, the set performed well and I was very satisfied with the results. I thought the price was very good, also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Rough

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These blades make a very rough cut. The outer blades cut about 1/16" to 1/32" deeper than the center chisels. Also, with the required spacers, there are obvious (but minor) ridges between the chisel cuts. The overall result is a crude dado cut that is fine for some applications, but not very good for precision work.
If the price were lower, these blades would meet expectations. These blades would be appropriately priced at $20. The blades were returned to the store.
Pros: storage case
Cons: too expensive, lacks precision
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Midwest City, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Dado set for the $$$

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a very good set. Cut very cleanly. I used it to cut dados for some 1/4" plywood that was used in some cabinet panel style doors. Of course the plywood really isn't 1/4"! The set has quite a few spacers of varying thicknesses that I was able to use in combination with the blades to get a very good fit. I have a wobble dado blade but trying to fine tune it for this type of finish work is VERY difficult. This set allowed me to get a precise dado fairly easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Aiken, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The worst yet

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money on this stacked dado set. Claimed to fit on a 5/8 arbor. Not without a lot of work. I know the price is cheap, at $49.00. The chippers are narrow and shims are flimsy at best. Spend the extra money and buy a Frued. The price is double at HD, however there are buys if you really look. I purchased the Frued dado and its great.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly made, providing a rough cut. Low price is appropriate.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poor quality! Center holes are too small to fit arbor without some light reaming. Tooth edges visibly roughly machined. Bottom of cut much worse than my 40 year old Craftsman wobble dado. Even the wooden box is poorly made - a plastic box would give much better protection to the carbide tips. Will be going back to the store tomorrow.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, not precision made.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Crude

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Thought the price would make it worth a try, but the cut is very rough and inconsistent- took chisel work and sanding to make tenons fit. The worse problem is that the arbor bore is undersized; it is way too snug on a 5/8" arbor- snug enough it was trouble to actually get it off the arbor.
I took it back.
Pros: All In One, price
Cons: Difficult to Use, inaccurate
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Whitesburg Tn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice case , very sharp blades, and good directions. What else would you want?
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very Good for the money

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well I read the reviews of the negative post. I cant tell you that the people that posted the negative accounts of there use, must not have ever uase a set of dado blades before, or did not read the instructions.
I got very good resules and a smooth bottom cut on this set.
To the post about tear out on plywood you need to buy a special set of dado blades for cross cutting plywood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Garland, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bade cuts doesn't fit arbor

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Side were fairly straight but bottom was a mess. One of the outer blades was not a flat top and left a good 30 degree angle. No matter how I adjusted the blades with shims and cutters per instructions, the middle of the cut was always a mess. Took forever to get off my ridgid hybrid saw's arbor. Cut way too small in factory. Only good thing about set was return policy. Planning on returning for diablo set.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Eighty Four, North Strabane, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for the best price

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was building a large deck on the back of my house. I was using 6"x6" posts for the railing. I needed some way to notch the botton portion of the post 1 1/2" deep by 10" long. I priced other dado blade sets but they were all in the sixty dollar range and up. I just happen to be going through our local Home Depot and I stopped to see what they had in there tool section. I used the Avanti pro stacked dado set with my radial arm saw and had no trouble cutting the notches. It did a very clean professional looking job and I couldn't be more happy with the way this product performed. The price was a lot less than the other dado sets that I looked at.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts are not accurate

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1) The cuts are wider than expected. A 1/4 inch cut is actually 9/32".
2) You can not make even finger joints with this blade. When you cut at 1/2 inch intervals, you end up with an unequal pattern.
3) The cut is not smooth bottomed. One side is square and the other sides is angled.
I took it back in less than 24 hrs after I got it.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. x 24-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Lewisberry PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Avanti Pro 8 in. x 24 in. Tooth Stacked Dado Set

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this a couple times and was not Impressed with the cut or the ability to cut nominal slots. maybe a machinist can figure them out but not me.
I found the blades very difficult to mount on my saw and the quality of the cut poor.
I purchased a similar set at Harbour freight and they worked much better for a fraction of the cost.
I also has an old 6 " set of Oldham that I bought over 35 years ago that still worked much better. Not very impressed at all with this set. Not really sure what to do with them. Dust collectors I guess.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, not very easy to mount on arbor
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>