728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Multi Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit

4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit

The Dremel 4000-5/36H 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit features a variable speed rotary tool that offers the highest performance and most versatility of any Dremel rotary tool. The increased strength of its motor plus electronic feedback circuitry enables consistent performance at all speed levels. Dremel 4000 can use all existing Dremel accessories and attachments plus high-performance attachments to complete the widest range of projects. A slim, ergonomic body provides a 360-degree grip zone for comfort and control in any grip position. Powerful, user-friendly, and built to last, this handy little tool helps you complete a range of crafting, hobby, and artisan projects.
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product61 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product61 of 65reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
Review 1 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dremel Rotary Tool's just keep getting better!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have many years of experience using rotary tool's - My previous Dremel recently "died" after MANY hours of operation and I can't get along without one. My old one was good, this model is GREAT! I'm a classic car enthusiast that owns about every hand tool and power tool available to man, but there are some "job's" that can ONLY be done with a rotary tool. What I appreciate most about this model is the variable speeds that it can be set to, and the location of the on/off switch. A "top of the line" tool. I highly recommend it.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great multipurpose tool

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to cut away a plastic wind break in my engine compartment. Must of used the wrong cutting wheel because the wheel broke an flew off. Luckily the plastic I was cutting was in a semi confined area at full ARM length away, so I didn't get injured. I recommend reading the book, and choose the RIGHT attachment for the job. Also used the tool to smooth/ and slightly widen a toggle switch hole in my dash. Worked excellent. Of course I've used the lawn mower blade sharpener several times. One suggestion is to start off with a low rpm setting on the tool, and increase it until you get the desired results. My cutting wheel couldn't handle 35 rpm speed, which I believe is the reason it broke the wheel while working in the engine.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Dallas, GA

4,000 Series Rotary Tool Kit

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
How does Dremel know when a user purchases a Dremel product? They must have extra sensory perception. Although, that should not be a surprise to anyone. Thus far, every Dremel product I have purchased or received as a gift, has worked perfectly for the jobs they were designed for and even a few more. I have operated a large factory with machines capable, for instance, of planing a 20 foot long by 2 & 1/2 foot wide length of Monel (a very tough steel product). Simultaneously, we used Dremel products to adjust, repair and modify many of the components withing the large machines we manufactured. The Dremel 4000 is similar in operation to the Dremel rotary grinder that have been on the market for years. However, with the 4000, the motor runs cooler and longer before a rest is needed. A more powerful model of the standard grinders has been something that toolmakers, engineers and plant owners have needed for years. The 4000 fits the bill to a tee. I hope that Dremel sells a million more every month.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Newnan, Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I GOT A BAD ONE

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The second time I used this product it quit. I heard something rattling inside and I thought it might have been one of the brushes had come apart. After pulling one out I noticed that one section of the armature sections had turned loose from the armature. By then I didn't have the receipts or sales slip from the original purchase so I was stuck with a nonworking product. I took it apart and confirmed that it had indeed come apart on the inside and the cost of a new armature was cost prohibitive to fixing the tool. I'm sure this was a fluke and just a lemon but that was my experience and I'm now giving a warning to keep your receipts and sales tickets after purchase........just in case
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good deal

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The variable speed is very handy. Over all, the tool is a must have. I say that as I live on a boat and think long and hard about using up storage space and adding weight.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does many different things

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product has many different functions, worked great at removing tile/grout
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: attachments are not cheap
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best of the small rotary tools

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Performance is great, the tool maintains the speed selected ( using a saw blade ) I have 3 other brands that bogdown using the saw blade.
The one thing that I do not like is the power cord, it is not long enough, and it is a cheap plastic coated cord, I like the rubber cords that flex .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Santa Cruz, CA.

How did I make it without this tool???

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my dremel about 5 months ago or so. I have no idea how I got by without it! I had heard so much about them from other people I just never bothered to really check them out.
I bought this model - the 4000 with the 5 attachments. I can not express how happy I am that I did!
I have used my dremel so far to - router wood, cut of bolts/screws, cut pvc pipe, cut pvc rain gutters/downspouts, sand some edges of woods, used the brush to take off rust from some metal barrel bands, clean off old grill rakes, and the list goes on and on!
This is such a great tool to have around the house! I am always finding new things I can do with it, and if you add attachements to it - the list would be endless! I have purchased the router attachment, the router table attachment, as well as many bits and tips. This makes this one very handy tool!
The attachments that come with this one, I would have to say that the straight edge/circle guide and the detail handle are the two I favor most. The handle makes the detail work extremely fun and easy to do.
I would recommend this to anyone who needs a tool that can do so many different things. Its great for any home or DIYer and has so many functions and variables for use - the price can not be beat!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Laredo, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always heard about ppl talking about their dremel so I decided to get one. I brought it home and honestly didn't use it for months. Had a few things come up lately that needed some precision customizing (macgyver-ing). It did the trick. Its definitly a tool that I would say is unconventional. You can't quite describe what its "common use" is. But its definately a tool that comes in handy when a precision problem arrises and you then say to yourself "i can fix this with my dremel". It will pay its worth ten fold long term.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DREMEL 4000 SERIES-4/36 ROTARY TOOL KIT

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use, however the tool case is limited to the tool, 4 attachments and doesn't have a lot of space or inserts for the 36 accessories/bits, etc that come with the DREMEL 4000-4/36 or any additional attachments/accessories.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: tool kit case
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Green Bay, WI

You need this tool

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this tool for 5 years and still haven't done everything its capable of. A good sound rotary tool for grinding, polishing and more. I have used this countless times to cut off nails and screws but get the reinforced cutoff wheels if you do that, they last longer and work better. The more detailed the work the better this tool performs. We all have those tools that are a must in the box, the one we have no clue how we lived without. This is that tool for me.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit

Better than my old one.

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had bought a billet grille for my pickup, and contrary to what the ad on Ebay said, cutting was definitely required. So, I got out my old reliable Dremel 359 I bought back around '91 or '92.
I started slicing and dicing, and something suddenly gave way in the head. The motor still ran strong, but the collet was no longer connected to the shaft. What to do?
The Home Depot gift cards in my wallet screamed out "Get a new one!" So, since I had to have one to finish the grille install, and I love buying tools, I ran down today and got the 4000 with 5 attachments.
Awesome. That's all I can say. I quickly made friends with the Detailer's grip, and zipped through what would have been an excruciatingly slow process.
I am VERY happy with the power and features of this unit, and look forward to using it again. SOON. :)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from nashua nh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I hate it! i am returning it ASAP

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this tool to accomplish 2 task both of which it failed.
i needed to remove some old electrical boxes but the dremel does not come with the needed bit so, i would have to return to the store to purchase.... nope, i used my sawzall and was done in 10 seconds.
i need this tool to create / expand holes in drywall to allow for new electrical boxes. the dremel is unwieldy at best i runs away from my hand and chops at the drywall. absolute junk.... not to worry i used my $10 drywall saw that i have had for 10 years. done and done
this tool is unsatisfactory
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Albuquerque NM

Pro Dremel Rotory Tool

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the best Dremel rotor tools I've own, it's a little bigger then previous dremels but it feels much stronger, this makes it more adaptable to use in the shop not just as a hobby tool. The speed swicth (Which has indents at different speed setting and works great) is separate from the on/off switch which makes it easier to turn it off and on without having to set up the speed to where you left off. The shaft lock button works very well for losining and tightening the collet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Oklahoma

What a difference.

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I now have a Dremel 4000, WHAT A DIFFERENCE. I've been using the same old Dremel for decades, its starting to complain, its been called upon too many times for jobs way to big.
THink of the 4000 as an industrial grade rotary tool for the home do-it-yourselfer. MORE POWER, TORQUE, SPEED, and CONTROL. Combined with a few new ideas in attachments to aid in control as well as seperate switches for on/off and speed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Cincinnati, OH

Best Dremel Yet

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Dremel during my lifetime and it's the best one Dremel has made yet. I love the new smooth, quiet speed control, more ergonomic grip and a separate on/off switch. Better yet, all my previous Dremel attachments and accessories are compatible with the 4000. When my last one burned up after 10 years of hard use I replaced it with this one. I'm not sure how I would ever live without my Dremel Tools!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product does everything I wanted & is easy to use

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this tool to help construct 5 "houses" for the o/s cats in my neighborhood. Hopefully they will help the cats to get through the coming winter.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from NJ

Bit more beefy than the old

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been replacing the motor brushes every few years on my first gen dremel, and it finally is basically dead. But WoW what a run! used it daily for around 11 years! Was given a gift cert so i figured time for a new one.
First impressions were this is going to be worlds better with the jazz of the electronic consistancy etc. first time out of the box i used a small bit I used all the time with the old one at low speeds. the 4000 was growning and started sputtering, high speeds works fine, it's also much heavier the the "300 or older size" . I'll be bringing it in for an exchange in hopes I just got a dud. But my feelings on it are, it's an everything tool for the house and shop, grind cut whatever you can think of. As far as small crafts go, jewlery, inlay etc. its to big heavy to hold and just can't handle the low speeds as well as the older model.
MAYBE just maybe the flex shaft will fix my concerns, but thats just a step back to the old jewlers dentel type drill I used to use long ago and I'll be stuck weeling a stand around like an I V bag. I'm 6' 4" 250lbs with an iron grip so if i'm having trouble even with the "detail grip" a smaller person will have lots, but for the bigger stuff its equipt finally, to take it on.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
from Davenport, IA

Dremel 4000

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Dremel 4000 is a replacement for a previous Dremel model. The Dremel 4000 is an extremely valuable tool for home repairs as it can get into small spaces and its selection of accessories makes it very versatile. The separate on/off switch makes it easy to stop and start the tool without losing that "optimal" speed setting I just found. The motor seems more powerful as the Dremel 4000 does not loose as much speed under load. Since I always seem to be working in dark corners, one of the more useful accessories is the lighted collar which does not get in the way and does not require a power source.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4000 Series Rotary Tool Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent tool

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The dremel 4000 is very comfortable tool to work with. I bought it to work on my brakes...but seem to keep finding jobs that require this tool. From sharpening mower blades to grinding clearance room for grease connections...I don't know how I got along without it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>