728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 160:20 Caulk Gun

160:20 Caulk Gun

The Workforce 160:20 Caulk Gun is designed to hold standard-size 10 oz. tubes. The gun is made with steel and has an aluminum alloy handle and trigger to help ensure strength. It has an ergonomic trigger grip for added comfort during use and features a rounded skeleton frame to help ensure quick cartridge loading and removal.
Overall rating:
4.795 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product35 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 160:20 Caulk Gun
Review 1 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Bitter Lake, Seattle, WA 98133, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only caul;king gun worth using

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This caulking gun has the great feature that it doubles the power of the lever, in comparison to other caulking guns. In other words, if you compare this gun with others by measuring the travel distance of the piston for each squeeze of the lever, you'll see that this gun's piston travels only half the distance, which means you have double the power transmitted from the lever to the piston, like driving in low gear. If you are working with cold materials, that extra power can make an enormous difference. Also the shaft is a greater diameter and the rachet mechanism is very reliable, never slips. I would never use another caulking gun, since this one is only a few dollars more, but will last a very long time.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well but messy

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Caulk gun worked very well in dispensing the caulk at a good rate / volume. Handle is easy to pull and still exerts alot of force to speed up the caulking process. Problem with caulk gun is that the button you press to release pressure does not work well. Even after you push the button repeated times, caulk will still flow from the tip for several seconds causing a large mess and wasted time to clean up the mess.
Pros: Even Application
Cons: very messy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Greenwood, indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Choice

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was very user friendly and made changing tubes a breeze. For the money I highly recommend it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Soooo much better than any caulk gun I've used

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My entire life, I've hated caulk guns. As a woman, my hands are smaller and less strong than guy's are - and caulking anything was a pain. I was contemplating a large caulking project and looking in the reviews - and you will simply be amazed at the power of this gun. I was using both caulk and liquid nails, and it came out like warm butter - easy as pie. I will now proceed with my project and will probably be able to finish in a single day, because my hands won't hurt at all. Thanks for the other reviews, very helpful. Spending $14 on a caulk gun was so worth it.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short n sweet

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I won't go into an incredibly long, technical review of this product, but I'll simply say that I've broken 3 of the standard duty Stanley caulk guns, either by bending the rod holding clip, warping the handles, or seperating the welded tube from the handle (all of which came from trying to force sealant through a clogged tip), but this one has held up to anything I've done thus far. It is substanstially built and as solid as I've seen one. Hold a standard duty then this one and you'll gladly pay the extra money. Great value.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Looks High End, solid build
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Good pro quality

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far meets or exceeds my expectations and no drips
Pros: High Quality of Material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Lakewood, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money - buy it!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past I've always used the cheap caulking guns and just dealt with the issues they have. Then I had a decent sized caulking project come up and I sprung for this gun. I only wish I had done it a long time ago. The trigger mechanism is very smooth, allowing you to control the flow with very little effort. It is sturdily built, and the push rod goes in straight even under pressure. The cheap ones would always bind up. It also has a tip cutter built in which is pretty handy for me, since I never can seem to find my razor cutter when I need it ;-)
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Fairfield, Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Gun...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
How did I get to be 62 and never knew they made a gun like this??
Had to apply some 2 part epoxy last night with a standard gun, had to use both hands to get it out, saw this gun and bought one today, have 8 more tubes of epoxy coming today, this will be nice to do the job with.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Oconomowoc, WI 53066, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Caulk Gun

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this gun due to having some strength issues in my right hand due to a prior surgery. This gun has a real smooth and effortless trigger pull, which makes it easier to run a smooth bead of caulk. I've used it for silicone, latex, and polyurethane caulk applications without problems.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Even Application
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Chihuahuan Desert, SW Texas

Worth Every Penny

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If there's any chance you'll use a caulk gun more than once, or for more than one tube of goo, this is worth the extra money. I just finished a project using 6 tubes of construction adhesive. A friend helped and brought this model caulk gun. After 1 tube with my old gun, we finished the remainder of the project using only this one. Here's why:
1. Tip Cutter - so much handier than a razor knife
2. Tube Punch - easier to keep track of than a nail
3. Thrust Ratio - this should have been number 1 on the list. My el-cheapo caulk gun had only a 3:1 thrust ratio and this gun is almost 3 times that. Less squeezes of the handle to get the goo out of the gun.
4. Longer Handle - provides more torque so it takes less grip strength to squeeze the handle
5. Ergonomic Shaped Handle - I never thought that the flat shaped handle on my old gun was uncomfortable, but the shape of the handle on this gun with places for each finger sure did feel better during use
Now that I've checked these are in stock at my local Home Depot, I'm on my way to get one today!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good caulk gun

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smooth action with a built in cutter and puncture bar, this gun has all you need to get it done - good stop action and I really like the rotating barrel - this is a good copy of a Cox gun at a better price point
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Purchase

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have gone through my share of modest priced caulking guns, only to be disappointed with the performance of such guns. This is a "professional" gun that can take the work in cold weather caulking. I'm so pleased with this product. It has a nozzle cutter installed, puncture rod, and it has the "quick" release plunger.The real beauty of this gun is the true and smooth plunger.Worth the additional cost (It's not that much more) over a middle range price caulking gun.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

This is the caulk gun to purchase

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have broken many caulking guns. This one is solid, very easy to use and clean-up is a breeze. Don't buy the cheap ones - you will end up paying more in the long run.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Watauga, TN
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HD Caulk Gun

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a heavy duty caulk gun. Has built in cutter in squeeze handle, this one will last a lifetime.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Owosso, MI 48867, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better to get a good one than lose the caulk out the end

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After losing a lot of caulk out of the end of the tube because the cheap ones bend .. I bought a tough one..
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from chattanooga, tn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

orange caulk gun

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
built in spike to puncture tube, dripless, best i've found for the $
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Grand Junction, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Caulking Gun

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This caulking gun is great for professionals. It has more flexibility than the other guns.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, flexible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be a Caulk Master

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Opt out of the cheap Caulk gun and get one to last. Nothing like turning a 10 minute job into a 2 hour parts run cause your cheap caulk gun breaks.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Don't skimp on a caulk gun

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Years ago when I was buying my first caulk gun, I was advised to buy the best I could afford. This gun was more expensive but had a neat feature I'd not seen before. The barrel rotates. This helps get the tip in those tight spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Best Caulk Gun I own

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There isn't really a lot I can say about a caulk gun. This pair has all the tools you need to open the caulk and the flow rate is very controllable.
Pros: Even Application
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>