728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 160:20 Caulk Gun

160:20 Caulk Gun

The Workforce 160:20 Caulk Gun is designed to hold standard-size 10 oz. tubes. The gun is made with steel and has an aluminum alloy handle and trigger to help ensure strength. It has an ergonomic trigger grip for added comfort during use and features a rounded skeleton frame to help ensure quick cartridge loading and removal.
Overall rating:
4.662 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product68 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product68 of 72reviews
Customer reviews for 160:20 Caulk Gun
Review 1 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from logan utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I use this type of caulk gun on a daily basis

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Kendall at the contractors desk is familiar with me and my work and is very pleasant all the times that I go in. He knows me by name and he bends over backward for me and for the guys that work for me.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Extra Drip Caulk Gun

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm not overly impressed with this gun. I'm a professional contractor and do lots of caulking, and I actually prefer my old $6 HDX drip-less gun to this one. This one is certainly better quality and more comfortable to use, the rotating barrel is nice, but the moment you stop applying a bead it vomits caulking all over the place. Takes both hands to retract the pushrod, so you end up wasting a lot of time and caulk, and generally making a mess all over the client's house. It does lay a very smooth bead, but the mess factor is a real downer. And for some reason they put the seal puncturing rod in the most inconvenient and awkward place possible.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
Cons: messy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Charleston, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dual purpose caulking gun

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ok, not the intended use, but makes one heck of a clamping fixture with a little modification. These clamps are the bomb!
As a caulking gun, they are very reliable and can stand abuse and constant use. They do continue to push caulk even after pressure is relieved if you are doing sensitive stuff...other than that, they are great!
As an added bonus, if you save the other parts, can still be used as a caulking gun!
Pros: Well Made
Cons: oozes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Central NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quality, great controll, great flow even when using Quad brand caulking

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used to buy the cheapest caulk guns and replace every few years when they bend. This method worked, but 2 years ago I noticed my contractor was using Quad brand clear caulk. I asked him about it and he explain why he uses that for outdoor applications and it's ability to be applied even during rain. Long story short, I bought a tube for sealing something on the outside. I noticed that I could not squeeze the trigger. If I tried hard, I a little caulk out but the gun was slowly bending. I first thought that I had a bad tube. I returned that and purchased my next tube at a building supply store. I had the same results.
One day I was at HD and noticed this caulk gun with a long handle and a high torque conversion ratio. At first I thought this was just another marketing ploy and walked away to look at caulk. A tube of Quad caught my eye. And that make me think, what if it was the caulk gun that was at fault and not the tube. I decided to purchase a tube of clear quad caulk and this gun. First installed the tube in my $2 caulk gun and confirmed the same results as before. Then I transferred the tube to this $14 caulk gun. I will be honest, I was still a bit skeptical, but then I squeezed the trigger, and WOW! The caulk started to flow as if it was the soft cheap caulk. What a difference this gun made. Also, the gun is very stable, regardless of the type of caulk you use. This gives you excellent control. With this gun I was using very little energy in my squeeze, and more in controlling the gun. If you have some experience using caulk guns, you will likely get excellent results with this caulk gun. It's solid built with a thicker gauge of metal than cheaper guns. I recommend this gun to anyone. I feel the solid construction of this caulk gun make make it last longer than other caulk guns at HD.
Please remember one thing though: If your caulking skills are really bad, then please do not expect that to change with this caulk gun. But if the issue is lack of control and a hard trigger press on the old caulk gun, this is your likely solution. Remember, a $1000 golf club will not make you a pro, but if you are a pro, the $1000 club make a difference between finishing first vs a second or a third. This caulk gun is golf equivalent of a $1000 golf club.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Even Application, Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

No bull caulk !!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great ergonomics on the handle linkage. I usually get cramped up on the old traditional styles. The extra length on the handle mechanism seems add additional leverage. A must when your stretching to get the last two inches in place hanging upside down on a ladder 20 feet off the deck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Caulk Gun

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Its a bit heavy but this is because it was well made. love it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from houston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good price/quality

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to use, smooth handeling. good material quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Bitter Lake, Seattle, WA 98133, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only caul;king gun worth using

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This caulking gun has the great feature that it doubles the power of the lever, in comparison to other caulking guns. In other words, if you compare this gun with others by measuring the travel distance of the piston for each squeeze of the lever, you'll see that this gun's piston travels only half the distance, which means you have double the power transmitted from the lever to the piston, like driving in low gear. If you are working with cold materials, that extra power can make an enormous difference. Also the shaft is a greater diameter and the rachet mechanism is very reliable, never slips. I would never use another caulking gun, since this one is only a few dollars more, but will last a very long time.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Soooo much better than any caulk gun I've used

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My entire life, I've hated caulk guns. As a woman, my hands are smaller and less strong than guy's are - and caulking anything was a pain. I was contemplating a large caulking project and looking in the reviews - and you will simply be amazed at the power of this gun. I was using both caulk and liquid nails, and it came out like warm butter - easy as pie. I will now proceed with my project and will probably be able to finish in a single day, because my hands won't hurt at all. Thanks for the other reviews, very helpful. Spending $14 on a caulk gun was so worth it.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Pinson, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good heavy duty caulking gun.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to load, use, start, stop, and store. It's all inclusive, cuts the tip, opens the tube, easy.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THe gun to go into the OK Corral with

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wow! Ever have that thought "where have you been all of my life?" Ever once in awhile I come across a tool that is head and shoulders above the rest. This is such a tool. I have always bought the lower priced medium duty guns..even repairing them when they broke.
I was having trouble getting the (Quad QSI) caulk to come out and had to use two hands on my old gun. At 65, I thought there has to be something better out there...caulking shouldn't be painful! Very happy I did a little research and bought this. Heavy duty.. I have no clue as to what the "160:20" means, but the trigger requires less hand strength.
I would give this a 4.5 rating, but they don't allow you to do that. The two minor problems I have experienced: the spout cutter doesn't cut cleanly and the puncture rod isn't long enough to puncture the caulk tube seal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks High End
Cons: spout cutter doesn't cut cleanly, puncture rod too short
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from menomonee falls wi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works good

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it is good quality and feels sturdy / long lasting.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Even Application, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from seattle,wa

feels rugged

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This caulk gun feels very rugged and very easy to use. It is also the heaviest caulking gun I have ever used. This product should last a lifetime.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

5 stars for sure

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The people that gave this gun 1-2 stars obviously don't know what they are doing. It is worth the extra money. I can see this tool out lasting my work career.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $14 ever spent

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used to think that all caulking guns are equal until I met Quad brand caulking. A good quality thick caulk like Quad needs a lot of control and a ratio that helps minimize the effort. A cheap 2 to 3 buck caulk gun will bend if you are using Quad type high quality caulk. At least that is what I experienced. This gun is a bit heavy, but that is due to the thick metal construction. Now that caulk flows easily, you will have more controll of the gun and less fatugue in your hands. End result, you will be in control and will have a great looking end result.
I used this gun with Quad Clear caulk to seal around all the windows, garage doors, etc. After a total of 8 tubes of Quad, I can say that this was the best use of 14 bucks at the home depot.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Chihuahuan Desert, SW Texas

Worth Every Penny

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If there's any chance you'll use a caulk gun more than once, or for more than one tube of goo, this is worth the extra money. I just finished a project using 6 tubes of construction adhesive. A friend helped and brought this model caulk gun. After 1 tube with my old gun, we finished the remainder of the project using only this one. Here's why:
1. Tip Cutter - so much handier than a razor knife
2. Tube Punch - easier to keep track of than a nail
3. Thrust Ratio - this should have been number 1 on the list. My el-cheapo caulk gun had only a 3:1 thrust ratio and this gun is almost 3 times that. Less squeezes of the handle to get the goo out of the gun.
4. Longer Handle - provides more torque so it takes less grip strength to squeeze the handle
5. Ergonomic Shaped Handle - I never thought that the flat shaped handle on my old gun was uncomfortable, but the shape of the handle on this gun with places for each finger sure did feel better during use
Now that I've checked these are in stock at my local Home Depot, I'm on my way to get one today!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Changes Hard Clay into Soft Butter

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I felt near dead after emptying a tube of ISO Quad Sealant using my old caulking gun. Standing on a ladder, squeezing the gun with all of the strength of both hands - and sometimes pushing the cardboard tube itself to help the inside empty out - reminded me of the exhausting labor of giving birth! After finishing the first tube, the job was still not done - but I had no strength to continue. There had to be a better way. I searched online and saw power-driven caulk guns - so expensive. Then I found this caulk gun (SKU 656 157) at the Home Depot website. I liked the comments, I liked the price and the fact that it was in stock at my local store, so I bought it. ..... I LOVE this caulk gun! The next day, I put the second tube of ISO Quad in it and pressed. Wow! The material came out so fast - like the difference between hard clay and soft butter - how could it be the same stuff?! I took the previous day's tube out of the trash and compared it with the new - exactly the same. And on the wall the sealant felt the same - so it was the same material. What a difference the right gun makes!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short n sweet

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I won't go into an incredibly long, technical review of this product, but I'll simply say that I've broken 3 of the standard duty Stanley caulk guns, either by bending the rod holding clip, warping the handles, or seperating the welded tube from the handle (all of which came from trying to force sealant through a clogged tip), but this one has held up to anything I've done thus far. It is substanstially built and as solid as I've seen one. Hold a standard duty then this one and you'll gladly pay the extra money. Great value.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Looks High End, solid build
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good quality

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Much easier to work with a quality caulk gun than the typical cheap ones.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Kansas City
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Gun

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Stands up to heavy use. Provides an even flow of product out of it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>