728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 160:20 Caulk Gun

160:20 Caulk Gun

The Workforce 160:20 Caulk Gun is designed to hold standard-size 10 oz. tubes. The gun is made with steel and has an aluminum alloy handle and trigger to help ensure strength. It has an ergonomic trigger grip for added comfort during use and features a rounded skeleton frame to help ensure quick cartridge loading and removal.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product55 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(47)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product55 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for 160:20 Caulk Gun
Review 1 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Olympia, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THe gun to go into the OK Corral with

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow! Ever have that thought "where have you been all of my life?" Ever once in awhile I come across a tool that is head and shoulders above the rest. This is such a tool. I have always bought the lower priced medium duty guns..even repairing them when they broke.
I was having trouble getting the (Quad QSI) caulk to come out and had to use two hands on my old gun. At 65, I thought there has to be something better out there...caulking shouldn't be painful! Very happy I did a little research and bought this. Heavy duty.. I have no clue as to what the "160:20" means, but the trigger requires less hand strength.
I would give this a 4.5 rating, but they don't allow you to do that. The two minor problems I have experienced: the spout cutter doesn't cut cleanly and the puncture rod isn't long enough to puncture the caulk tube seal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks High End
Cons: spout cutter doesn't cut cleanly, puncture rod too short
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Bitter Lake, Seattle, WA 98133, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only caul;king gun worth using

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This caulking gun has the great feature that it doubles the power of the lever, in comparison to other caulking guns. In other words, if you compare this gun with others by measuring the travel distance of the piston for each squeeze of the lever, you'll see that this gun's piston travels only half the distance, which means you have double the power transmitted from the lever to the piston, like driving in low gear. If you are working with cold materials, that extra power can make an enormous difference. Also the shaft is a greater diameter and the rachet mechanism is very reliable, never slips. I would never use another caulking gun, since this one is only a few dollars more, but will last a very long time.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Changes Hard Clay into Soft Butter

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I felt near dead after emptying a tube of ISO Quad Sealant using my old caulking gun. Standing on a ladder, squeezing the gun with all of the strength of both hands - and sometimes pushing the cardboard tube itself to help the inside empty out - reminded me of the exhausting labor of giving birth! After finishing the first tube, the job was still not done - but I had no strength to continue. There had to be a better way. I searched online and saw power-driven caulk guns - so expensive. Then I found this caulk gun (SKU 656 157) at the Home Depot website. I liked the comments, I liked the price and the fact that it was in stock at my local store, so I bought it. ..... I LOVE this caulk gun! The next day, I put the second tube of ISO Quad in it and pressed. Wow! The material came out so fast - like the difference between hard clay and soft butter - how could it be the same stuff?! I took the previous day's tube out of the trash and compared it with the new - exactly the same. And on the wall the sealant felt the same - so it was the same material. What a difference the right gun makes!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Hauppauge, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spend the extra few dollars and get this one instead of the cheaper models

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the cheaper model caulk gun and this one. Hands down this one is better in everyway other then cost. But it is well worth the few extra dollars. The grip is a lot more comfortable and the mechanical advantage is much better. it's easy to squeeze even with thick stiff cold caulks and adhesives. The control of the flow is much better too.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Gatesville, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolute best caulk gun ever.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the very best caulk gun I have ever used. Extremely durable, fits nice in a small hand and is
designed for any job.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks High End, Modern, tile work house and roof caulking
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Sequim
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice tool

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
nice and smooth easy to load and to use. long trigger pull with even pressure.
Pros: Even Application
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from cow-lumbus, oh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works much better than the cheapies

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much easier to use than the cheapies. Go the extra ten bucks. You won't regret it.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Soooo much better than any caulk gun I've used

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My entire life, I've hated caulk guns. As a woman, my hands are smaller and less strong than guy's are - and caulking anything was a pain. I was contemplating a large caulking project and looking in the reviews - and you will simply be amazed at the power of this gun. I was using both caulk and liquid nails, and it came out like warm butter - easy as pie. I will now proceed with my project and will probably be able to finish in a single day, because my hands won't hurt at all. Thanks for the other reviews, very helpful. Spending $14 on a caulk gun was so worth it.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Chihuahuan Desert, SW Texas

Worth Every Penny

PostedMay 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If there's any chance you'll use a caulk gun more than once, or for more than one tube of goo, this is worth the extra money. I just finished a project using 6 tubes of construction adhesive. A friend helped and brought this model caulk gun. After 1 tube with my old gun, we finished the remainder of the project using only this one. Here's why:
1. Tip Cutter - so much handier than a razor knife
2. Tube Punch - easier to keep track of than a nail
3. Thrust Ratio - this should have been number 1 on the list. My el-cheapo caulk gun had only a 3:1 thrust ratio and this gun is almost 3 times that. Less squeezes of the handle to get the goo out of the gun.
4. Longer Handle - provides more torque so it takes less grip strength to squeeze the handle
5. Ergonomic Shaped Handle - I never thought that the flat shaped handle on my old gun was uncomfortable, but the shape of the handle on this gun with places for each finger sure did feel better during use
Now that I've checked these are in stock at my local Home Depot, I'm on my way to get one today!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Harpswell, ME
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caulk one up!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid Caulk gun for homeowner - durable and dependable.
Pros: Even Application
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Downers Grove, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A strong caulk gun.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great! Has a tube cutter built in! Sturdy for use.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Good quality, heavy duty

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is heavy duty and has worked well for me.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short n sweet

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I won't go into an incredibly long, technical review of this product, but I'll simply say that I've broken 3 of the standard duty Stanley caulk guns, either by bending the rod holding clip, warping the handles, or seperating the welded tube from the handle (all of which came from trying to force sealant through a clogged tip), but this one has held up to anything I've done thus far. It is substanstially built and as solid as I've seen one. Hold a standard duty then this one and you'll gladly pay the extra money. Great value.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Looks High End, solid build
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the few extra dollars.

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. Much smoother and easier than the cheaper models. The built in cut-off knife and hole poking pin are great to have always handy.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Oconomowoc, WI 53066, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Caulk Gun

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this gun due to having some strength issues in my right hand due to a prior surgery. This gun has a real smooth and effortless trigger pull, which makes it easier to run a smooth bead of caulk. I've used it for silicone, latex, and polyurethane caulk applications without problems.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Even Application
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from North Fort Myers, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best I ever had

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a really good caulking gun for the job I was doing and got it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Good pro quality

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far meets or exceeds my expectations and no drips
Pros: High Quality of Material
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 160:20 Caulk Gun
from Phoenix
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unit failed but was replaced

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this as a premium calk gun due the amount of work I had to do. The spot welds holding the cage failed in first week. I examined the unit and found poor penetration of the weld as cause. The unit was replaced, and I did my best to pick one out of inventory that had good spot welds. Wish me luck
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: breaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Caulk gun

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Caulk gun works great and was easy to use. Priced right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 160:20 Caulk Gun

Workforce caulking gun

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a inexpensive tool and does an exceptional job! I will buy another one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>