728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

The 3-Panel Molded Interior door from JELD-WEN is perfectly suited to classic American architecture. The bi-fold door style helps to preserve valuable space and is perfect for places where a swinging door is impractical. This door has a woodgrain surface and adds a stylish accent to your home.
Overall rating:
3.836 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(195 reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product147 of 184reviews
Rating Breakdown 195 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(79)
4
(65)
3
(14)
2
(14)
1
(23)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product147 of 184reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
Review 1 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEWARE if you are ordering more than 2.

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 2 of these doors in feb when i started a BIG remodel and just installed them last weekend..the model and sku and packaging was exactly the same. However the hardware was a little different on each door and it made them hang differently, which we didn't realize that was going to happen until we had them up. Anyway emailed customer service no response just chatted with customer service who told me that I had to take both doors down take them to my local store get a refund and than reorder the doors. They could easily send me another door and I would keep the one it matches and return the other.....but NO....that make's to much sense. How would I know that I wouldn't get two different doors again....seems like a lot of work on my part to end up in the same spot......SOOOOOO I guess I will take down these doors and return them and get a refund and go ELSEWHERE to buy my doors!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, Size, Appearance, customer service and online ordering
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
28out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Southern maine
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent door

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Doors are quite sturdy and take paint well. Be careful moving them around because the edges and corners are easily marred or dented because of the soft material composition. Be sure to sand edges with 220 grit after first coat of paint to get a nice smooth finish on all edges. The manufacturer should really consider providing more blocking top and bottom to give homeowners flexibility to shorten door for shorter openings. I ended up having to use wooden slab doors for a renovation because the closet openings were shorter than usual. I would have much preferred to keep the doors matching .
Pros: Great Value, Sturdy
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bi-fold closet door

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bi-fold closet doors were easy to install and look great with a coat of paint on them. They glide open very easily and make a nice wide opening so you're able to see clearly into the closet. Good value for the price.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

great door s

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quick and easy to install was able to install them in my house which is 100+ years old and does not have anything square
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

no brace for the knob

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+58points
58out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Englewood, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Control = Poor Finishing

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
It took opening and inspecting 4 of these before there was one that was acceptable. All of them were either damaged at the factory or in transit and I picked the least damaged. Also, the edges were very rough and need a fair bit of sanding to make them paintable. These are not unbranded doors they were manufactured by JELD WEN.
Not much choice out there so with some patience and sufficient choice you should be able to find one that will work for you.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional
Cons: Quality, poorly finished
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Avoid

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You don't get what you pay for with these doors. The doors had a slight warp to them but I installed them despite that flaw as it was in a basement closet. The screws fastening the the hinges to the door pulled out from the "wood fiber" within a week. I would not purchase these again.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Immediate, inexpensive update

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought four doors, 2- 36" and 2-24" to replace old louver look doors. What an immediate difference. I did not use the knobs provided but bought separately brushed silver knobs. The ease of installation was awesome too, as a single lady I easily handled this task.
One thing to note is that Home Depot doesn't really protect their products from in-store damage so be sure to check out the doors for damage before leaving. Out of 10 doors in stock I chose the best 4 for my project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Cons: h.d. doesn't protect products from in-store damage
+60points
61out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

set the standard

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the doors are good quality and match well across the other sizes i have. they fit right into existing tracks so all you have to do is pop in the bottom clip and top clip and you are good to go.
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

bifold doors

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree, I have the same problem, the door got bended and the hinges just popped out. there is no support for the knob either, just hollow space, very cheap quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
22out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great if you don't have to shorten.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These doors are normally fine but I had to shorten the length of door. I only had to take off about 3/4" off the bottom. Usually there is about a two inch filler however this door only had about an inch or less. So by the time I cut the door I had a wafer thin piece of filler at the bottom. That is normally ok with most pre-hung doors or slabs but these doors need to support their weight and the pin the door rests on. I repacked it as I usually do after stripping the filler piece but because it was so thin It would not hold up door after a couple open and closings the filler dropped out. Oddly enough today I installed two bypass doors today both of which had to be cut. Filler size.... 2" !!!! If this was in the bi fold the problem wouldn't exist. Very disappointed. How hard/expensive would it be to put 3" of filler in every door???!!!!! It would eliminate everyone's headaches with these doors. People wonder why a $30 door costs $125 to install. Wasting our time with these fillers and repacking!
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality, minimal filler/packing on base
+21points
25out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Denver,CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD, SOLID PRODUCT

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We replaced sliding doors in early 50's home. Easy to install. Wish that Ho]me Depot would agree to cut these in their lumber department. We needed 3/4 inch taken off the width and had to find millwork shop.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
Cons: Size
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Rockaway, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Doors and Easy To Install

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have an older home and my hardwood floors are not level. I was still able to easy install and adjust the doors with the uneven floors. I also noticed that some other reviews had mentioned a problem with the knobs on the hollow core door. I did not find this to be a problem. The doors are also easy to paint and they looked good.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from joliet, il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cheap and not worth it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I haven't bought these types of doors in a long time. I was surprised to see that they have found a way to make them even cheaper and of less quality. I needed to replace some similar ones in my house that were over 10 years old because they had worn out. I went to the store to buy solid 6 panel doors and all they had to offer were these low end ones. If you have to modify them to fit in an older house they will not work. I threw the set I bought out and went to a competitor to find a better door
Cons: Quality, not functional, Appearance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

Great product for the money

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Great value for the money. Would recommend for any do-it yourself type of person. It is a little easier if you have a 2nd person helping.
Pros: Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't be more pleased!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this door from my local store and was able to install it properly in less than 15 minutes with the help of my dad. It works wonderfully and looks great in our main bathroom. I plan on purchasing many of the larger bi-folds for a few other projects in my house.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good door for the price

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy install and great look for the price. Let's face it, its closet door! The knob area is hollow so be careful in drilling and mounting the pull. I also recommend using a little loctite on the door knob screw. Store wasn't nice to doors as far as shelving, so make sure you look yours over before heading out. Instructions were simple to follow and mine was a new install (did not replace older door).
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door

Good door for the price. Made in PA

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good door for the price. Made in PA. Happy with the construction
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

POOR FIT

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware! The ad says in three places that the door is 24 in. wide. IT IS NOT. Mine measure 23 3/8. Instructions say allow 1/2 in. on each end. I roughed in 50 in. for two doors, ended up with a huge gap; had to completely rework rough in,
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Functional
Cons: Size
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodgrain 3-Panel Hollow Core Molded Interior Closet Bi-fold Door
from Irvine,CA

Great material, great value for money

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So we decided to replace all our interior doors and started looking at the ones in Home Depot. We finally purchased 7 of these 6-panel molded doors and we are so happy with our purchase. The Safe and Sound upgrade dramatically cuts the noise - so use it for the bathroom/powder rooms. For the other doors you don't really need the safe and sound (which costs a few dollars extra), but that decision is up to you.
Pros:
+Very good build quality
+Ready to paint
+Custom Order was processed quickly
Cons
None I can think of!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>