728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

The 6-Panel Molded Interior door from JELD-WEN is perfectly suited to classic American architecture. This door has a woodgrain surface with a modified cove and bead sticking profile. One way JELD-WEN supports sustainable construction is by using recycled materials in the production of our Molded Interior doors. In fact, these molded door skins are made using 80% recycled content.
Overall rating:
3.681 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product31 of 43reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product31 of 43reviews
Customer reviews for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Review 1 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Monkeywrench
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

POOR FIT

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware! The ad says in three places that the door is 24 in. wide. IT IS NOT. Mine measure 23 3/8. Instructions say allow 1/2 in. on each end. I roughed in 50 in. for two doors, ended up with a huge gap; had to completely rework rough in,
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Functional
Cons: Size
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
mark
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great if you don't have to shorten.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These doors are normally fine but I had to shorten the length of door. I only had to take off about 3/4" off the bottom. Usually there is about a two inch filler however this door only had about an inch or less. So by the time I cut the door I had a wafer thin piece of filler at the bottom. That is normally ok with most pre-hung doors or slabs but these doors need to support their weight and the pin the door rests on. I repacked it as I usually do after stripping the filler piece but because it was so thin It would not hold up door after a couple open and closings the filler dropped out. Oddly enough today I installed two bypass doors today both of which had to be cut. Filler size.... 2" !!!! If this was in the bi fold the problem wouldn't exist. Very disappointed. How hard/expensive would it be to put 3" of filler in every door???!!!!! It would eliminate everyone's headaches with these doors. People wonder why a $30 door costs $125 to install. Wasting our time with these fillers and repacking!
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality, minimal filler/packing on base
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
LCC2013

Great product for the money

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Great value for the money. Would recommend for any do-it yourself type of person. It is a little easier if you have a 2nd person helping.
Pros: Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
FERBB1
from COLORADO SPRINGS COLORADO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They warp after 1-2 years

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have replace twice in 2 different locations for warping, they are inexpensive but just don't hold up
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

no brace for the knob

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
ArizonaGal
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Immediate, inexpensive update

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought four doors, 2- 36" and 2-24" to replace old louver look doors. What an immediate difference. I did not use the knobs provided but bought separately brushed silver knobs. The ease of installation was awesome too, as a single lady I easily handled this task.
One thing to note is that Home Depot doesn't really protect their products from in-store damage so be sure to check out the doors for damage before leaving. Out of 10 doors in stock I chose the best 4 for my project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Cons: h.d. doesn't protect products from in-store damage
+46points
47out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Robert
from Greenville, SC

Warping Issues on the 36" x 80"

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really poor quality; I bought two sets and both where chipped and warped. Returned them to the store, got another two pair in warranty after the issue was acknowledged and yet again warped. I think the low cost materials will render these doors always subject to warping, especially in the bigger 36 x 80" size. Overall, really not satisfied! Be aware!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
kblast523
from Perryton, TX 79070, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bi-Fold door good value and nice finish

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Already had older doors, but 40 years of use had taken toll. These went up without much effort, even had similar although different hardware from the doors I replaced. Exact fit made it easy, although the hinge pins are dainty compared with the old ones. Everything else, great.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
none
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good , Easy to install, looks great, Great value
Price was good
Pros: Great Value, Fits in Various Rooms, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
missyagogo
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't be more pleased!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this door from my local store and was able to install it properly in less than 15 minutes with the help of my dad. It works wonderfully and looks great in our main bathroom. I plan on purchasing many of the larger bi-folds for a few other projects in my house.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
peterrabbit
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple replacement bi-fold

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
parents needed to replace louvered bi-folds for a laundry area. this provides more sound reduction than louvered. may cause some amount of heat buildup if room needs airflow, but we don't completely close these. would have liked to have seen better knobs-we used knobs from old doors. also, never got tensioners exactly adjusted. they look fine, do the job we wanted them to.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Dave
from Lakeside, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for an inexpensive solution to finish a hall storage closet

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As long as the opening is with in specs, and square, it installed very easily and looks good. Of course it's made of composites and is paint grade. Be aware it does take approx. 4 inches from the free opening on each side(I used 2 sets for a 48" opening) when fully open, but that would normal for a bi fold door. great product!
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Jacq
from Elberton, GA 30635, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was easy to install

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My husband installed two sets of these doors in our home on a Saturday afternoon. They were easy to install. All though we have not painted them yet they look nice. The doors were affordable. I wish the knobs were different because they look like something from a child's art &craft project and lowers the quality. I know the knobs can be replaced and will be replaced. I didn't do any comparasion shopping and I hope I don't regret it.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
DIYAK
from Alaska, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not solid wood but very attractive once painted

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Composite material and fake wood grain, but very easy to paint. Not durable for high use or wear and tear like kids room, but for our master bedroom they will be just fine.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: not solid wood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
easyshare

Cheaply made

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cheaply made design, knobs cannot be tightened properly because made of plastic, slide pins wear out and the holes in doors wear out and doors will not stay adjusted.
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
whiner

bifold doors

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree, I have the same problem, the door got bended and the hinges just popped out. there is no support for the knob either, just hollow space, very cheap quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
17out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
UnhappyDoorman
from Downingtown Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap junk

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This isn't the first bifold I've installed or replaced in the house. Every other time I just simply purchase, rip a little off the side if needed and install- an hour's work at best. This door though, what garbage. I needed to cut a little over 1/2" from the jamb side of the door off to fit. They must put exactly 1/2" inch of "wood" on the edges of these doors, because that was enough to expose the hollow interior. So I took the time, cut down a piece and inserted and glued it to fill the hole. Also noticed at that time there was no track included, and all the tracks sold at HD are different than what matches the hardware of this door. So I luck out and find the track at a local store. Go to install the door, and it is an inch and a half shorter than my old door! it measures 77.5", existing door is 79! Doesn't the description online say this is for an 80" opening? I have to remember where I bought my other doors, because I refuse to buy another JELD-WEN. Terrible. 2 hours over two days out of my life and I still don't have a door hung.
Cons: Quality, Size
+9points
19out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
BigEd
from Auburn, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I wanted!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed this in a nook closet for bath towels. This matched the other doors in the upstairs perfectly.
Installation was a breeze fits great.
Not bad for the price either.
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Lewis519
from Tuscaloosa, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I had to return one set of the doors because they were between 1" and 2" shorter than the other pair. Otherwise, OK.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
doors are fine except for the length of one pair. I unboxed the replacement pair of doors in the store to find it's length matched the one hung at home. Store personnel were very cooperative in the exchange process!
Cons: Quality, Size, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
andrey

Good looking door, easy installation.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I replaced louvered doors with this solid door to cut down on the noise coming from the HVAC system. The doors were easy to install and came pre-primed so I just had to paint them and that was it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>