728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

The 6-Panel Molded Interior door from JELD-WEN is perfectly suited to classic American architecture. This door has a woodgrain surface with a modified cove and bead sticking profile. One way JELD-WEN supports sustainable construction is by using recycled materials in the production of our Molded Interior doors. In fact, these molded door skins are made using 80% recycled content.
Overall rating:
3.784 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product96 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 134 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(46)
3
(11)
2
(9)
1
(17)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product96 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Review 1 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEWARE if you are ordering more than 2.

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 2 of these doors in feb when i started a BIG remodel and just installed them last weekend..the model and sku and packaging was exactly the same. However the hardware was a little different on each door and it made them hang differently, which we didn't realize that was going to happen until we had them up. Anyway emailed customer service no response just chatted with customer service who told me that I had to take both doors down take them to my local store get a refund and than reorder the doors. They could easily send me another door and I would keep the one it matches and return the other.....but NO....that make's to much sense. How would I know that I wouldn't get two different doors again....seems like a lot of work on my part to end up in the same spot......SOOOOOO I guess I will take down these doors and return them and get a refund and go ELSEWHERE to buy my doors!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality, Size, Appearance, customer service and online ordering
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

no brace for the knob

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Immediate, inexpensive update

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought four doors, 2- 36" and 2-24" to replace old louver look doors. What an immediate difference. I did not use the knobs provided but bought separately brushed silver knobs. The ease of installation was awesome too, as a single lady I easily handled this task.
One thing to note is that Home Depot doesn't really protect their products from in-store damage so be sure to check out the doors for damage before leaving. Out of 10 doors in stock I chose the best 4 for my project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Cons: h.d. doesn't protect products from in-store damage
+53points
54out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great if you don't have to shorten.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These doors are normally fine but I had to shorten the length of door. I only had to take off about 3/4" off the bottom. Usually there is about a two inch filler however this door only had about an inch or less. So by the time I cut the door I had a wafer thin piece of filler at the bottom. That is normally ok with most pre-hung doors or slabs but these doors need to support their weight and the pin the door rests on. I repacked it as I usually do after stripping the filler piece but because it was so thin It would not hold up door after a couple open and closings the filler dropped out. Oddly enough today I installed two bypass doors today both of which had to be cut. Filler size.... 2" !!!! If this was in the bi fold the problem wouldn't exist. Very disappointed. How hard/expensive would it be to put 3" of filler in every door???!!!!! It would eliminate everyone's headaches with these doors. People wonder why a $30 door costs $125 to install. Wasting our time with these fillers and repacking!
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality, minimal filler/packing on base
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Denver,CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD, SOLID PRODUCT

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We replaced sliding doors in early 50's home. Easy to install. Wish that Ho]me Depot would agree to cut these in their lumber department. We needed 3/4 inch taken off the width and had to find millwork shop.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made
Cons: Size
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Very pleased

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These doors were a great fit and have worked great. Just what I expected.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

bifold doors

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree, I have the same problem, the door got bended and the hinges just popped out. there is no support for the knob either, just hollow space, very cheap quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
20out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Great product for the money

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Great value for the money. Would recommend for any do-it yourself type of person. It is a little easier if you have a 2nd person helping.
Pros: Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't be more pleased!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this door from my local store and was able to install it properly in less than 15 minutes with the help of my dad. It works wonderfully and looks great in our main bathroom. I plan on purchasing many of the larger bi-folds for a few other projects in my house.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Adequate MDF door

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Looks acceptable with additional coat of primer and 2 coats of paint. As w/ most of the primed composites from HD, the primer coat isn't great. First door didn't have all of the installation hardware, and had to return it for a second one. There is minimal solid composite edging, so if you need to rip or cross cut to size, make sure you take a look to make sure you have enough material. Install is fairly straightforward when you have everything.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

POOR FIT

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware! The ad says in three places that the door is 24 in. wide. IT IS NOT. Mine measure 23 3/8. Instructions say allow 1/2 in. on each end. I roughed in 50 in. for two doors, ended up with a huge gap; had to completely rework rough in,
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Functional
Cons: Size
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Greenville, SC

Warping Issues on the 36" x 80"

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really poor quality; I bought two sets and both where chipped and warped. Returned them to the store, got another two pair in warranty after the issue was acknowledged and yet again warped. I think the low cost materials will render these doors always subject to warping, especially in the bigger 36 x 80" size. Overall, really not satisfied! Be aware!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Clinton, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good value

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
inexpensive way to enclose a closet or replace damaged doors. they are overall good quality and appearance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from COLORADO SPRINGS COLORADO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They warp after 1-2 years

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have replace twice in 2 different locations for warping, they are inexpensive but just don't hold up
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good door for the price

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy install and great look for the price. Let's face it, its closet door! The knob area is hollow so be careful in drilling and mounting the pull. I also recommend using a little loctite on the door knob screw. Store wasn't nice to doors as far as shelving, so make sure you look yours over before heading out. Instructions were simple to follow and mine was a new install (did not replace older door).
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from batesville, arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement door choice

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very pleased with the end result. bi-fold doors were just the right finishing touch!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Downingtown Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap junk

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This isn't the first bifold I've installed or replaced in the house. Every other time I just simply purchase, rip a little off the side if needed and install- an hour's work at best. This door though, what garbage. I needed to cut a little over 1/2" from the jamb side of the door off to fit. They must put exactly 1/2" inch of "wood" on the edges of these doors, because that was enough to expose the hollow interior. So I took the time, cut down a piece and inserted and glued it to fill the hole. Also noticed at that time there was no track included, and all the tracks sold at HD are different than what matches the hardware of this door. So I luck out and find the track at a local store. Go to install the door, and it is an inch and a half shorter than my old door! it measures 77.5", existing door is 79! Doesn't the description online say this is for an 80" opening? I have to remember where I bought my other doors, because I refuse to buy another JELD-WEN. Terrible. 2 hours over two days out of my life and I still don't have a door hung.
Cons: Quality, Size
+8points
19out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Irvine,CA

Great material, great value for money

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So we decided to replace all our interior doors and started looking at the ones in Home Depot. We finally purchased 7 of these 6-panel molded doors and we are so happy with our purchase. The Safe and Sound upgrade dramatically cuts the noise - so use it for the bathroom/powder rooms. For the other doors you don't really need the safe and sound (which costs a few dollars extra), but that decision is up to you.
Pros:
+Very good build quality
+Ready to paint
+Custom Order was processed quickly
Cons
None I can think of!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

info is incorrect

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
these doors wound up being too small for my rough in , the specs claim 24" door width but they are not , they are 23.5" wide so when your doing a double for a 48" opening you have more then a 1" gap , they also say you need a 81.5 inch high opening but its too much by an inch , also its difficult to get the adjustments right for the door to stay closed , the bi-fold part keeps popping out. poor quality as stated before including not solid at door knob mount , you really get what you pay for with this product
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Anaheim CA

Great deal for the price

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although the installation instructions were on the back side of a plastic bag, it didn't take long to figure it. Very easy installation. Took 30 minutes or so with a power drill. Great bang for the buck.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>