728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

The 6-Panel Molded Interior door from JELD-WEN is perfectly suited to classic American architecture. This door has a woodgrain surface with a modified cove and bead sticking profile. One way JELD-WEN supports sustainable construction is by using recycled materials in the production of our Molded Interior doors. In fact, these molded door skins are made using 80% recycled content.
Overall rating:
3.685 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product37 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product37 of 50reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Review 1 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Very pleased

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These doors were a great fit and have worked great. Just what I expected.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

no brace for the knob

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The door is decent enough. (Let's face it, they are their cheapest alternative.) I do like 6 panels better than slats, though. Quality sticklers may want to opt to order the solid versions. My only real complaint is even though they are hollow core, I expected there to be a solid strip in the center to attach the knob through...there isn't! So, you can't get your knobs to keep from spinning, unless you start crushing the center of the door. Also, because the knob area is hollow, I added fender washers under the knob's screw heads, to feel secure that the knobs wouldn't pull through the door over time.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great if you don't have to shorten.

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These doors are normally fine but I had to shorten the length of door. I only had to take off about 3/4" off the bottom. Usually there is about a two inch filler however this door only had about an inch or less. So by the time I cut the door I had a wafer thin piece of filler at the bottom. That is normally ok with most pre-hung doors or slabs but these doors need to support their weight and the pin the door rests on. I repacked it as I usually do after stripping the filler piece but because it was so thin It would not hold up door after a couple open and closings the filler dropped out. Oddly enough today I installed two bypass doors today both of which had to be cut. Filler size.... 2" !!!! If this was in the bi fold the problem wouldn't exist. Very disappointed. How hard/expensive would it be to put 3" of filler in every door???!!!!! It would eliminate everyone's headaches with these doors. People wonder why a $30 door costs $125 to install. Wasting our time with these fillers and repacking!
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Quality, minimal filler/packing on base
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Immediate, inexpensive update

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought four doors, 2- 36" and 2-24" to replace old louver look doors. What an immediate difference. I did not use the knobs provided but bought separately brushed silver knobs. The ease of installation was awesome too, as a single lady I easily handled this task.
One thing to note is that Home Depot doesn't really protect their products from in-store damage so be sure to check out the doors for damage before leaving. Out of 10 doors in stock I chose the best 4 for my project.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
Cons: h.d. doesn't protect products from in-store damage
+49points
50out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Adequate MDF door

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Looks acceptable with additional coat of primer and 2 coats of paint. As w/ most of the primed composites from HD, the primer coat isn't great. First door didn't have all of the installation hardware, and had to return it for a second one. There is minimal solid composite edging, so if you need to rip or cross cut to size, make sure you take a look to make sure you have enough material. Install is fairly straightforward when you have everything.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Great product for the money

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Great value for the money. Would recommend for any do-it yourself type of person. It is a little easier if you have a 2nd person helping.
Pros: Functional, Beautiful Appearance, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't be more pleased!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this door from my local store and was able to install it properly in less than 15 minutes with the help of my dad. It works wonderfully and looks great in our main bathroom. I plan on purchasing many of the larger bi-folds for a few other projects in my house.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

bifold doors

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree, I have the same problem, the door got bended and the hinges just popped out. there is no support for the knob either, just hollow space, very cheap quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
18out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Clinton, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good value

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
inexpensive way to enclose a closet or replace damaged doors. they are overall good quality and appearance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from aurora co
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy install but meh they are just doors

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installation was easy, although the hardware bag contained too many parts so I unfortunately used some of the wrong screws and had to purchase additional screws for the door knobs and ended up with tons of spare hardware. Better than missing hardware that's for sure. The instruction manual was also not so easy to read, but they never are so not sure what I expected. They look super nice, painting is a pain as you have to paint all 6 sides of the doors, but again that should be assumed. So I give it a meh...it's a closet door...
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from joliet, il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cheap and not worth it

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I haven't bought these types of doors in a long time. I was surprised to see that they have found a way to make them even cheaper and of less quality. I needed to replace some similar ones in my house that were over 10 years old because they had worn out. I went to the store to buy solid 6 panel doors and all they had to offer were these low end ones. If you have to modify them to fit in an older house they will not work. I threw the set I bought out and went to a competitor to find a better door
Cons: Quality, not functional, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

POOR FIT

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware! The ad says in three places that the door is 24 in. wide. IT IS NOT. Mine measure 23 3/8. Instructions say allow 1/2 in. on each end. I roughed in 50 in. for two doors, ended up with a huge gap; had to completely rework rough in,
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms, Functional
Cons: Size
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from batesville, arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement door choice

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very pleased with the end result. bi-fold doors were just the right finishing touch!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from COLORADO SPRINGS COLORADO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They warp after 1-2 years

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have replace twice in 2 different locations for warping, they are inexpensive but just don't hold up
Cons: Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Chester, VT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent Budget Closet door

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm tired of solid wood doors bowing warping and requiring seasonal planing. These hollow core doors remain stable and due to the light weight, produce far less hinge squeal.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good door for the price

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy install and great look for the price. Let's face it, its closet door! The knob area is hollow so be careful in drilling and mounting the pull. I also recommend using a little loctite on the door knob screw. Store wasn't nice to doors as far as shelving, so make sure you look yours over before heading out. Instructions were simple to follow and mine was a new install (did not replace older door).
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Functional, Good Size & Fit
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Downingtown Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap junk

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This isn't the first bifold I've installed or replaced in the house. Every other time I just simply purchase, rip a little off the side if needed and install- an hour's work at best. This door though, what garbage. I needed to cut a little over 1/2" from the jamb side of the door off to fit. They must put exactly 1/2" inch of "wood" on the edges of these doors, because that was enough to expose the hollow interior. So I took the time, cut down a piece and inserted and glued it to fill the hole. Also noticed at that time there was no track included, and all the tracks sold at HD are different than what matches the hardware of this door. So I luck out and find the track at a local store. Go to install the door, and it is an inch and a half shorter than my old door! it measures 77.5", existing door is 79! Doesn't the description online say this is for an 80" opening? I have to remember where I bought my other doors, because I refuse to buy another JELD-WEN. Terrible. 2 hours over two days out of my life and I still don't have a door hung.
Cons: Quality, Size
+8points
19out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Greenville, SC

Warping Issues on the 36" x 80"

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really poor quality; I bought two sets and both where chipped and warped. Returned them to the store, got another two pair in warranty after the issue was acknowledged and yet again warped. I think the low cost materials will render these doors always subject to warping, especially in the bigger 36 x 80" size. Overall, really not satisfied! Be aware!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door

Cheaply made

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cheaply made design, knobs cannot be tightened properly because made of plastic, slide pins wear out and the holes in doors wear out and doors will not stay adjusted.
Cons: Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Woodgrain 6-Panel Primed Molded Interior Bi-Fold Closet Door
from Perryton, TX 79070, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bi-Fold door good value and nice finish

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Already had older doors, but 40 years of use had taken toll. These went up without much effort, even had similar although different hardware from the doors I replaced. Exact fit made it easy, although the hinge pins are dainty compared with the old ones. Everything else, great.
Pros: Great Value, Good Size & Fit, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>