728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rubberized Coatings or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

The Rust-Oleum Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit provides a smooth, hard finish that creates a writeable and erasable surface for dry-erase markers. This paint kit is ideal for use on interior surfaces such as drywall, masonite, wood, cement and metal. Cover up to a 12 sq. ft. area with this paint kit and allow up to 3 days before applying dry-erase markings.
Overall rating:
2.952 / 5
3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product11 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product11 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Claysburg, PA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Overall it's a worthwhile product.

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I painted my dry erase kit over drywall which had three layers of paint on it. I sanded a 6'x6.5' area first with 120 grit then 220. It appears smooth but not as smooth as an off the shelf white board. Erasing works very well but is slightly different process than a typical whiteboard. If you just use a dry eraser it will remove almost no ink at all. Use the Expo dry erase cleaner and it wipes right off like a white board typically does. I did however find that the Expo pink dry erase marker does not erase so well; even with the cleaner. It left an orange tint behind that will not erase even with alcohol. Test all your markers on a scrap piece before testing them on your wall and you'll be fine.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+87points
89out of 91found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Great Results

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this paint for our new office, bought 7 cans of the stuff of cover a 15 x 10 ft area wall. I've read so many reviews about how to apply and want pens to use etc. so I was a little worried but it came out great. We followed the instructions on the tin and actually left it for 5 days after paint to dry even though it said 3 day was sufficient. I have used both low odour and regular dry erase pens in several colours, both types comes off great with a whiteboard eraser and if faint lines are left use the whiteboard care spray and they lift right out.
Happy Doodling.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Utah, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

How to apply to easily erase markers.

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most of the reviews say the markers were very hard to remove. What you want to do is apply one coat and let it dry for 24 hours, then apply a second coat and let dry for 24 hours. Do this 3 times and the markers will wipe off with a cloth or eraser.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+99points
102out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Application is everything

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Before purchasing this product I researched what other people said and mistakes they made. What I found was that everybody loved or hated it. No middle of the road. The way it is applied is everything. This is a great product if you Follow The Directions.
Lessons learned:
1. Sand and primer the wall first! The wall must be smooth. Don't plan on just going over a wall that has been painted or primered with a standard roller. Use a foam roller for smooth application. (614-FOAMQ
at Home Depot). A rough surface will be difficult to erase.
2. The paint has a limited shelf life. If it has separated and is clumped at the bottom, return it and get a new one.
3. Paint it on using the foam roller (again 614-FOAMQ). The can will cover 50 sq ft with 2 coats. Do the 2 coats 30 minutes apart. The paint is a two part mix. Mix it and use it all within 2 hours.
4. Wait 2 days before writing on it.
5. Avoid "Low oder" pens as they are harder to erase.
6. Often erases with a towel, slightly dampted with whiteboard cleaner better than an eraser.
+155points
165out of 175found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Georgia, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but.....

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had sticker shock when considering the Idea Paint product so I was pleased to see a more affordable alternative. We wanted to apply the paint to a wall in the kid's playroom. We had ruled out the chalkboard paint not wanting to have to deal with the chalk dust mess so this seemed an ideal alternative.
I purchased the Rust Oleum product after searching for alternatives to Idea Paint and reading reviews. If it didn't work then I wasn't out a lot of money. The box comes with two small cans and easy to follow instructions. I applied Kilz primer to the wall then sanded it. I applied the dry erase paint with a foam roller. I was expecting strong chemical odor, but it was very minimal if at all. There was enough paint to coat a 5'x5' wall section with 3 coats. I let it dry for 2.5 days before letting the kids have at it.
Seems to work fairly well, but does not erase easily at all. I already had a dry erase brand eraser and that is useless. I tried both regular and low-odor pens with the same result. What works like a charm is an all-purpose spray cleaner (I used Fantastik). Cleans it right off in one swipe. But the drawback is that the spray cleaner has a strong chemical smell so will be looking for another option.
Bottom line is that I'm moderately pleased. It's possible that spending the extra $$ for Idea Paint would be worth it, but this works fine if you're looking to save money and are willing to temper your expectations that it's going to work exactly like a dry erase board (as far as cleanup goes).
I give 3.5 stars.
+46points
49out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

gOOD IF YOU USE THE CORRECT TOOLS

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So to apply this product so it looks it's best use a spray gun. That is what I used and it came out amazing. If you use rollers or foam brush you end up just making a huge mess.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Not worth a dime

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a contractor and I have extensive experience with all types of wall coverings. I followed the instructions for this product exactly. It performs horriblly the only thing that erased common name brand dry erase marker from it was a "magic eraser" from Mr. Clean. I tested and the "magic eraser" works on regular semi gloss too. In other words you might as well write on your wall and use a magic eraser and save yourself money and time. In fact the semigloss held on after the "magic eraser" was used. The dry erase paint came off. I am not a Rustoleum basher either their other products are just fine (at least every other one I have ever used). In short this product is a total waste.
+19points
32out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

amazing !

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Perfect Product for our home ~ the Party Pad of Princess & Peace
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, fun
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-4points
10out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Palmer Alaska

What fun!

PostedSeptember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We painted an entire wall in my son's college Condo! The roomates and friends have so much fun leaving notes, drrawing pictures and even brainstorming in study sessions! It's not just for kids!
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Rome, GA

Making a Mess

PostedJuly 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The walls of my 5 year old sons room where always his favorite place to make artwork. Even with the easy clean paint on the walls, it was still a chore. I saw this product in my local Home Depot as I was looking for a dry erase or black board to mount in his room to try to minimize my cleaning. Mixing it was easy, it applied to the wall just like paint, and it solved my little "artwork" problem.
+20points
26out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Worth the Effort

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 13 year old wanted one wall in white board. It came out beautifully. Read reviews and hints before applying. The key is wall preparation. Must prime, sand and then paint. The results are worth the extra time!
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DOESN'T ERASE

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have applied the paint to the wall following the instructions to a T! I have used several different dry erase marker brands and none of them seem to be able to erase the marker. I even tried to use the "magic eraser" to get it off the wall and that won't even work (if anyone has used a magic eraser then you know it will erase anything). Very dissapointed as I was excited to use it for math with the upcoming semester.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Not worth it

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We recently bought the paint kit & followed directions to the T however in one area the paint ripped almost like cloth, when trying to remove painter's tape. Overall, it's not the best & always leaves a marker residue & u have to use the cleaning liquid & SCRUB off the markers!!! Don't waste time & money over it, just buy a whiteboard.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Easy & effective DIY project

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The paint was easy to apply. Markings come off well with white board cleaner.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from pdx

Difficult & Doesn't Work

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this product to drywall beneath our basement stairs in my 3 & 5yr olds "fort". I applied on top of the Rustoleum's magnetic paint. It was a disaster.
The paint took much longer to dry than the alloted time to have the mixed solutions together. So in order to apply a second coat, I had to purchase another can of a paint.
Now that its done, I can't get the ink to erase. I've tried 3 different brands of pens and 3 different types of cleaners/erasers. The worst part is seeing the disappointment in my boys eyes after they waited so patiently for this process to be completed.
-11points
11out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Milpitas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Horrible

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I prepped the surface according to instructions. Wasted money on rollers, sanders, primer paint. Tried on three different surfaces still came out really bad, even with three layers. Total waste of time and effort. DO NOT WASTE your time and money!
Cons: doesn't work
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Should have just bought a white board

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited about painting a white board area in my kitchen for our family to use as a "command station." Despite following the directions, this was an epic fail. The paint apparently continued to drip well after I was done painting, and the next morning I woke to dried drips all down the wall that were definitely not there after I finished! I'm bummed that it looks so poor and may not function as well as I thought after reading other reviews. :( I'm hoping that once the three day waiting period is up, the board will function well even though it looks awful.
Cons: drips after finished
-15points
0out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED

Horrible Product

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used a variety of whiteboard paints and this one is by far the worst. I do not recommend purchasing this.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from PA

Does not Erase.

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others have said - the product does not allow markers to be erased. I tried window cleaner and even that did not work. I don't want to deal with something even stronger than that ever time the kids want to start fresh. So I'm sanding it all down to repaint right now.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Specialty 27 oz. Gloss White Dry Erase Paint Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Parker, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ABSOLUTE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!!!

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Followed the directions to the letter, let it cure for over 48 hours. I was so excited to try it out, wrote on the door and went to ERASE it - IT DIDN'T. Are you kidding me??? I just wasted $20 on this and over two days of time in painting and another two days waiting to write on it .... It is absolutely the worst product. Do not waste your time or money on this product!
Cons: Scratches Easily, does not dry erase as per instructions, expensive for a product that does not work
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 >>