728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior & Closet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

Give your home a custom look with Plantation styled Bi-fold Doors. With unique 3 in. louvers, this factory finished Bi-fold door unit is ready to install and looks great in any room. Multipurpose, use for closet, room divider, pantry, laundry area or storage room. 29-3/4 in. x 78-3/4 in. x 1-1/8 in. Factory finished Mahogany louver and panel maple Bi-fold door kit. Opens left or right. Fits 30 in. x 80-5/8 in. opening. Adjust height up to 3/4 in. using hardware provided. Up to 1 in. can be cut from the bottom edge to fit opening.
Overall rating:
3.648 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product86 of 122reviews
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(52)
4
(29)
3
(15)
2
(14)
1
(18)
Appearance 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product86 of 122reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Review 1 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Martinez, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what we were looking for, even the color!!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy, easy, easy on every count. We were not even sure exactly what we were looking for, except to close off the living room for guests staying overnight. These are perfect!!
Now we even close off the living room at night just to save on heating.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Forest Grove, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plantation 3" louver/panel door

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Looks pretty good, kind of flimsy in my opinion. Had a bit of trouble getting it lined up properly. The top track could be a bit stronger, can bend fairly easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doors OK, Delivery & Manufacturer Not So Much.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver Golden Oak Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I was in a hurry to get two of these 28" bi-fold faux-oak doors for a 58"x80" closet. My wife and I were about to take photos to go with the listing of our house for sale, and I had no doors for the space. I paid $50 extra for expedited delivery direct to my Southern California home from the manufacturer, Home Fashion Technologies in Houston, TX. The doors arrived promptly as promised, and I installed one with reasonable ease. However, I then discovered the second door was maple, not oak, and came with different color hardware that did not match the hardware that came with the already installed oak door. Both boxes identified their contents as oak, not maple, so I assume some inattentive employee at Home Fashion Technologies put a maple door in an oak box. So much for quality check.
Home Depot handled my distress call well. They rebated the expedited shipping cost and had a replacement door shipped overnight. However, since my call to Home Depot was on a weekend, it was a few days before the replacement door arrived from Houston. Although I had no problem installing the replacement door, the new package included a knob that did not match the door color or the other knob. I called Home Depot again and asked them to replace both knobs so I might have a 50-50 chance of getting them to match each other and/or the doors. Home Depot agreed to do so, and the replacement knobs are currently on the way from Home Fashion Technologies. I will believe they match each other and the doors when they arrive, and I can see them with my own eyes.
I should also mention that the bracket mounting screws provided with the doors were wholly inadequate (not long enough) to go through drywall securely into the door frame. I had to find screws to replace the ones provided and had trouble doing so as the screw heads had to be very flat to clear the door guides. I ended up having to grind down the heads and the guides to permit clearance. None of this was particularly difficult, but all of it was unnecessary. I like the doors. Although they do look nice and work reasonably well, installing them took far more of my time and energy than it should have.
Home Depot gets an A for their handling of this matter, but a D for carrying goods from Home Fashion Technologies, which should do us all a favor by going out of business. Indeed, if they remain on their present track, they will.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Peachtree City, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 IN. LOUVER/LOUVER WHITE COMPOSITE INTERIOR BI-FOLD CLOSET DOOR

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Door was very easy to install. It is vinyl so there is some "bounciness" to it but it is also very light weight. It is perfect for the application I need.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from West Chester, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not wood -- plastic junk

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
If you want a bifold door that lasts more than 6 months, don't order "Wood Classics." They're not wood. This one, like the one I ordered in 2012, is made by Home Fashion Technologies, If you go to the manufacturer's website (which I just did), you'll find that they don't make WOOD doors -- they use plastic. And here's what happened to me -- the screws holding the hinges between the two bifold panels pulled out. I discovered, they were essentially screwed into air. I tried to fix the situation by inserting small pieces of wood into the screw holes and putting it all back together, but it came apart again and is now in two pieces, completely unusable. Complete junk.
Cons: Quality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The door is well made with a bonded plastic over aluminum frame.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
The components are precisely fitted and the door seems strongly constructed. The product took primer and paint well. In our application we needed to reverse the folding action to created the privacy we needed ( with the louvers facing the right way for privacy) ; the product allowed for that very easy transition. The only problem with any component was that the guide roller for the leading edge in the track seemed too tight. This was alleviated with some very minor filing of the hard plastic guide. The door arrived in the time frame we expected.
Pros: Multi Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Fits in Various Rooms, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Cons: shipping carton was not strong enough, guide rollers stick in track
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

looks like real wood

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel Dark Teak Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Love these doors. Used them on the new laundry room. The color matched our new kitchen cabinets perfectly. Just a little hard to open and close. Think of putting wax in track.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Delta, UT 84624, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Manufacturer stands behind its product

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Bought 2 of these in Dec 2010, 1 of them broke on me (after being loose for a couple of months between 2 parts that weren't staying together correctly). It took a wonderful Home Depot customer service rep, Assantae, to help me get ahold of the manufacturer. As soon as they got my message, they sent me a new door the next day as part of their lifetime warranty. These doors may be cheap in price, but they look nice, and there is a lifetime warranty on manufacturer defect. That and Home Depot's customer service make these worth the money.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
Cons: took some time to get warranty
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Kailua Kona, HI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Very good quality product, with easy to follow assembly and installation instructions.

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
The product arrived per stated delivery schedule in perfect condition. Unpacking was easy. Assembly and installation instructions were clearly written and illustrated. Appearance and quality of product was as described by Home Depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

Looks nice, but is cheaply made

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
We purchased these doors to hang in a guest bedroom and while they look nice and do the job, if they were to get everyday use, I fear they wouldn't last very long. When they arrived, one of the panels on one of the doors was slightly cracked, but I had already taken the box apart and thrown it away so I hung the cracked part in the corner and its not so bad. The doors themselves are very light and you can feel that they're cheaply made. They don't slide very easily either. Unfortunately, there aren't a lot of options for this sized bi-fold door, so these are okay if you're stuck like we were. They do look nice, just be careful when you open or close them.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from fairfax
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

louvered doors

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
i would give this more stars but the door is missing a bracket at the bottom so the doors don't align correctly when closed. now i have to go to the store and try to find a bracket that is the same size. the door is installed so i can't take it back.
Pros: hard to find size - only one available
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from St Petersburg, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The customer Service alone was enough to purchase this door!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I purchased this door and about a month later, due to no fault of the door, while moving funiture I broke several slats - Amazing the door wasn't destroyed in the process! My couch was tilted in the air and fell on this door. I was mad as heck b/c I figured I needed to buy another 99.00 door, right? Wrong - I contacted Home Fashion Technologies (the manufacturer) by email assuming the slats would either not be available or too expensive - I was pleasantly surprised that I received a response within 30 minutes asking for the color and size of my door, as well as the shipping address for all 20 slats that I needed. HOW MANY COMPANIES REPLACE THEIR OWN PRODUCT WHEN IT WASN'T EVEN DEFECTIVE?!?! Thank you so much, Cassie @ Home Fashion Technologies!
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Great Detail
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Northlake, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks good, but...

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel Cherry Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Thought for the price the doors would be more wood than plastic.
One of the provided knobs stripped in about two weeks time, used about 2x daily. Had to replace.
Can't really speak to installation ease. Hired someone to install. His comment was that I should be careful when opening and closing.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Tampa, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built/good quality/buy online-pickup in store didn't go that well/had no hardware or components

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I needed a white bifold door to replace a wooden closet door. Door was a bit expensive but didn't need painting and lacked hardware to install. Had to go back to store to get hardware and a neighbor helped me install the door. We had to trim off some from the bottom to clear the carpet but it seems well built. Because of the width, I had to order online for store delivery; wasn't sure I'd be home if they delivered it there. After I picked it up in-store, I did some more shopping and went to check out. Elizabeth, the cashier, tried to ring up the door. Even with my buy online/pick up in store documents, she said that it wasn't the right paperwork. I had to insist on getting someone else involved at the St. Cloud, Florida store who understood BOPUS (buy online, pick-up in store).
Pros: Functional, Well Made
Cons: no hardware included
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

Beautiful doors; worst hardware ever!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel Cherry Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Fit and finish of doors is beautiful. Screws that come with the track and base attachment are the worst I have ever seen. On one installation one screw had the Phillips head stripped out halfway in and the heads off two screws actually snapped of leaving the shanks in the floor with no way to get them out. And this was after i drilled pilot holes!!
Bottom line: buy the doors, they're beautiful but use your own hardware and avoid aggravation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Palm Coast, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit is Perfect

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
We were replacing a very old louver door on a linen closet and needed 18" x 80" size. Could not find that size in stores, but we did find it on a few web sites, including Home Depot. We ordered from Home Depot (even though they were $28 more than another site) because we know they stand behind their products and if there was a problem, we could return it into the store. The door is great. It has the wider louvers and it makes the area look more modern than the narrower style. We used the hardware that it came with the door and my husband did the install with just a few tools. Love the way it looks and very satisfied with the free home delivery ... that turned out to be 4 days earlier than what Home Depot had estimated. Yes! Overall nice door and easy transaction.
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from San Bernardino, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, but seems a bit overpriced.

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
These bi-fold doors look really good, and the installation is pretty simple, but unless you're using them for a closet or laundry area, they may not be the right choice for your job. The doors are much more "plastic-y" than I expected. I wanted to reverse the hinges to get the louvers facing the opposite direction, but I could not unscrew them all the way, because of the plastic frame. Also, the movement of the doors within the track is not very smooth. My biggest complaint is the cost - for something plastic, this seems too much to pay for these doors. Again, they look very nice, but they don't open/close as smoothly as I'd like, and you'll pay much more for these than other bi-fold doors.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from st cloud, florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very nice door

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Panel White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
nice bifold closet door; good color and easy to put in
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door

NOT white!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
I ordered this door to match a door I purchased in store and the color was COMPLETELY different! It was more of a gray than white and it doesn't match at all. Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 in. Louver/Panel Maple Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great door for the price!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:3 in. Louver/Louver White Composite Interior Bi-fold Closet Door
Great door for the price. Looks very good when up especially with the 3" louvers. I had to trim an inch off of the bottom of mine to fit my opening. Be careful when cutting the door as it may mark up easily. I used Goof-Off and all marks came off. Also be sure that the wooden insert does not fall out upon cutting and if it does just tack it back in with glue or silicon. You will need that piece to screw back the caps at the bottom which in turn hold the swivel pin. The reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because it is made out of a composite/plastic material and feels that way when opening. It lacks the wooden feel.
Pros: Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Great Detail
Cons: inability to trim the sides
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>