728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Carpet Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

The TrafficMaster Carpet Tile is the best choice if you want a fashion forward look at a great price. Used as an area rug, hallway runner or wall to wall, this tile provides a solution that does not require an installer or a separate adhesive. You can create a new look in an afternoon with this peel & stick system. The 18"x18" tiles are cut with the "perfect cut" system, which ensures easy installation for a beautiful floor. The only tools you will need to install are a measuring tape, chalk line, utility knife with a sharp blade and a contractor square. The tiles have built in antimicrobial protection to fight the growth of stain and odor causing bacteria, as well as mold and mildew, which makes it perfect for kids or pets. Easily maintained by vacuuming or sweeping. In the event of a stubborn stain or damaged tile, simply replace the tile with a new one. This lightweight, low profile, unpadded tile is so tough it can be used in basements, porches, exercise rooms, workrooms, and even outdoors. The soft to the touch tiles are made from 100% Eco-Fi recycled polyester so you can be comfy & stylish while still being environmentally responsible. Coordinating accent tiles are available in 5 additional colors allowing you to customize your space to reflect your personality and lifestyle.
Overall rating:
3.745 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(368 reviews) 367
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product275 of 350reviews
Rating Breakdown 368 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(136)
4
(122)
3
(38)
2
(24)
1
(48)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product275 of 350reviews
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
Review 1 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Springfield, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly What We Expected

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this product to refinish a bedroom and den in our basement. Budget was a major concern. We have a baby on the way and several family members will be using the space as living quarters when helping us as nannies. The original flooring was very bold 1950s red and yellow tile.
After reading all the reviews, good and bad, we decided to go with the lowest price per square foot. The negative reviews mentioned the thinness of the carpet, unsquare cut of each tile, lack of stickiness and general quality are largely unfounded.
My father-in-law and I installed roughly 600 square feet in eight hours and we had no problems with any of the problems the negative reviewers had.
Yes, the carpet is thin. But it feels thicker than it is. I had no issues with unsquare cuts. I found that even over uneven ground, such as ridges in the concrete or tile, the adhesive was surprisingly good. The only times I needed to supplement the adhesive was on the under portion of stairs where the tile is literally upside down where staples were needed anyway. And regarding the general lack of quality...this stuff is 99 cents a square foot. So that's just nonsense. Those are people who want to complain for the sake of complaining.
The positive reviews far outweighed my decision to purchase. It went down very easily. Installation was a breeze. I used a square, razor blade and scissors to trim to fit. We chose tiles over standard carpet for that reason...ease of installation.
My wife and I are extremely pleased with the entire process. She even said, "We actually have a usable basement now!"
In the end, it looks great. Time will tell if it wears great, but again, the price determined our purchase.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for the price

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for. This is low-cost, low-end carpet - but that's exactly what I wanted, so I'm satisfied. It was easy to install - I did 234 square feet in a few hours, including trimmed pieces at corners and edges and around some obstacles. It looks fine on the floor, and feels good to walk on.
I have no complaints.
Pros: Easy to Install, value
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Woodbridge, Va USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for my needs

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered these for my garage conversion. I converted my garage into a playroom and I wanted my kids to still be able to roll their toys around and lay on the floor to play games and draw. This carpet is perfect for my needs. It is thin enough for my kids to roll race cars over it just fine. It is very easy to install. Me and my 7 year old daughter installed it in one night. It is peel and stick. I bought adhesive to glue it down with but didnt need it because it sticks really well. We have ran the vacuum over it every night (about a week) since we had it and no issues at all. I do not recommend this for a living area unless you are looking for something thin and flat just to cover concrete. It is not plush by any means. I dont think you can put a pad under it either. It looks really good also.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Install

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These were very easy to install. Any cuts we had to make were easily done with a pair of scissors, so no special tools were required. We put them down in our office so that chairs easily rolled over the carpet. I really like the patterned look.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product! Easy to Install

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted this for a high traffic sunroom area. The home is a rental property, and we wanted something that could easily be repaired if needed. This is the perfect option.
It was easy to layout, cut and install. I love the way it looks with the alternating pattern. We are very pleased with the look.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

Exceptionally easy installation + Looks great!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
While it has only been installed for a few weeks in a basement room (w/ some moisture problems) this has been a great all around product! It looks nice and feels decent (pretty thin) beneath your feet. It has really brought a bit of "warmth" to what was once a cold basement room.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: thin
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Hastings, NE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful & Easy to install

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quick delivery, fast install, no glue, very adhesive, beautiful, great value!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

Very pleased with purchase

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered these carpet tiles for our concrete patio. Not knowing if the adhesive would be sufficient for that surface, we bought an additional spray adhesive. We were pleased to find out we did not need it. The quality is good and they are a great value for the money. They've made a boring cold space warm and inviting. Joanne
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from fargo nd
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy as pie!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So simple to lay, hardwearing and good-looking. This is my second purchase of these tiles because they are just so simple to use just inside the front and garage door where all the weather comes inside. They disguise dirt, but are easy-to-clean anyway. Perfect neutral color.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleasant suprise

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little hesitant about purchasing this product after reading some of the reviews, but I am very happy with the product and the results. It is very light in weight, but it is good quality. The adhesive is not very strong, so I followed the advise of a previous reviewer & used a spray adhesive to help with the bond & I have had no trouble. We had our first spill on it ( a can of cola) and it clean up with little effort! It is a good, inexpensive fix in an area where we didn't want to spend a lot of money to put in wall to wall carpeting!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

What I was looking for.

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought these for the unfinished side of our basement and were exactly what I was looking for...something a little nicer looking than a bare concrete floor. The carpet tiles were easy to lay and look fine. I would not recommend them for a finished living area, they are too thin. They have only been installed for a few weeks, so I cannot comment on how they will hold up for the long-term.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Southern CA

VERY THIN

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As parents of four, we really wanted a quick, temp fix for the old existing carpet. Wanting to wait for good carpet for when the kids get older, we decided on carpet tiles so that we wouldn't have to worry when someone spills, or draws, on the carpet. We decided on these, because of the price and color, and ordered 7 boxes to cover two small bedrooms. Shipping was very fast, I must say. Unfortunately, we were shocked at how EXTREMELY thin these were. It's literally like putting two paper towels together and placing them on cement. I called them paper towels with fuzz. On the plus side, the color is beautiful, and they appeared to be easy to place down. For almost $300, we did return them. If you know that you want really, really thin carpet tiles, these are perfect.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Jacksons' Gap, AL 36861, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth the money.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After 6 months, still look good and show no signs of wear. Adhere more firmly as time goes by. Easy to replace damaged tiles. At same time, some individual tiles do not seem to be cut precisely, but not such a big deal
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

Overall this product is what I expected for what I paid, but even though I warned my husband how thin these tiles would be,

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall this product is what I expected for what I paid, but even though I warned my husband how thin these tiles would be, you really don't understand how increadibly thin they are, until they are in your hand. He was so unhappy with the product and thought it was a waste of money, so we returned them to the store before even attempting to lay them. After doing more research we had an in stock carpet with pad, professinally installed for only $150 more than what we would orginally paid for the tiles.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Oro Valley , Arizona
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for our needs !

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I needed to have something installed over the VERY slippery tile put in by the original owner of our home. We both have bad knees and backs and it frightened us to walk out on our covered patio when it got wet from rain.
We ordered these light weight peel and stick carpet squares. For added strength my husband used a little extra adhesive only because that's the way he does things !!
The color is perfect for our Earth tone decor and we are NOT slipping any more !
It has made our patio coordinate with everything else and we just use our sweeper to clean it ! We both can see it was a great buy and appears to be very durable ! Thank you Home Depot ! David and Elizabeth in Arizona
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Greentown, PA 18426, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I regret having purchased this product. I do not recommend this product as it didn't install well and doesn't wear well.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not recommend this product. It did not stick to concrete so we painted it. Still didn't stick well and this was a brand new building. Not all the tiles were cut square so we ended up with gaps all over the floor between the carpet tiles. Since we used it indoors, we are not happy with the product. Also if you drag anything, regardless of weight across the floor it damages the floor tiles. They keep popping up as they don't stick well. We did everything we were supposed to do to find the center of the room and still we couldn't get the tiles to match up to each other very well. Purchased the product because we were covering 1,200 sq ft of flooring in a new building. It was the cheapest solution but in the end wasn't worth it.
Cons: Difficult to Install, doesn't wear well, glue doesn't stick well, look cheap, poor quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

Great tiles for the screened-in porch

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These tiles were perfect for our screened-in porch. They were very easy to install and went in quickly. Trimming the tiles was done easily with a straight razor and sharp-edge. I did find that if they weren't trimmed exactly right (left slightly big), they will buckle so I had to go back and trim some of them better. They look great. Finishes the room nicely. Got many compliments at a large family party recently.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from naples fl

CarpetTiles

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like this product because it was very easy to install.It looks great and very comfortable to walk on.I installed the carpet tiles on top of concreat in my Lanai,Did not need a cusion underlay. You can create your own design.Excellent I recomend this product
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)
from Atlanta

Cheaply priced, inconsistent color and shape, some don't stick well

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We should have known we were getting what we paid for but we did expect better. The color was supposed to be grey but they are actually kind of brown and not even the same shade of brown we have about three different shades and its obvious, about three fourths of the tiles had different types of backing and a fourth of them did not stick. They were not very square and did not line up well, we had to do a lot of trimming to get them lined up and laying flat. For a basement where you just want something quick, easy and cheap they'll do. We lost our carpet in the flood last year and needed to get something down to finish off the room. While I do not like these tiles at all I won't cry over them if we ever flood again. It fit our budget for now and that's our only plus at this point, we'll see how they work over time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bark Ribbed 18 in. x 18 in. Carpet Tiles (16 Tiles/Case)

Good product for the price

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband and I are undecided about what flooring to use in our 1980's vintage home. We would like wood but at this time the cost is prohibitive. In order to rid ourselves of some really old, dirty and germy carpet we ripped it up and layed this product down just as a temporary measure so at least it is new, clean and neutral. We layed down area rugs over it in the dining and living rooms which makes it less noticable for what it is. We have pets that are not always clean so with this product any accidents can be remedied with replacing the carpet tile. Overall I am satisifed with this product as it keeps us from having to invest in the more upgraded flooring product until we can afford it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>