728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

This Ryobi One+ 12 in. 18-Volt Cordless String Trimmer features an 18-volt lithium-ion battery that works with all One+ tools and is eco-friendly, with no hazardous materials (other One+ tools sold separately). The trimmer is lightweight for portability and comes partially assembled to help get you up and running quickly. The trimmer includes an automatic line advance system, and the handle telescopes and rotates to enable you to adjust the trimmer height.
Overall rating:
4.018 / 5
4
 / 
5
(284 reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product217 of 272reviews
Rating Breakdown 284 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(157)
4
(59)
3
(16)
2
(20)
1
(32)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product217 of 272reviews
Customer reviews for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
Review 1 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Convenient and works well

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this for light trimming around the yard, and it works pretty well. I have a 1/3 acre lot, and a single charge is plenty to trim around all the trees, flower beds, mailbox, swingset, etc. I kinda liked the old bump type of feeding system, but this works pretty well too. You just have to stop and start the trimmer, or you can manually pull out the line. It works OK as an edger, but I found it a little hard to be accurate, although it could just be that I need practice.
I've had this for nearly a year, and he only complaint I have so far is that the battery will not stay charged on the charger if I leave it for a long time (weeks?). I have to take the battery out of the charger and put it back in. It just means I have to put it on the charger 30 mins or so before I actually use it.
If you just want a weedeater for casual use, this should serve you well.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

Third cordless trimmer...best yet!

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife was able to trim about 75% of the stones in a small cemetery we maintain before the first battery quit. She always complains about the weight of my gas trimmer but loves this one. Read complaints about the safety switch and I agree, as usual it is a nuisance to have to press the thumb button then squeeze the trigger switch. SOLUTION..hold the thumb button in the on position, drill a 1/8" hole in the extended side and slip the head of an unexpanded pop rivet in the hole. This will hold the button in the on position so that just squeezing the trigger operates the tool. Great tool would absolutely buy again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

Good Compromise for Small/Medium Yards

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is for the One+ string trimmer purchased as part of combo along with the blower, P104 high capacity battery & charger.
A bit of background, after a "best value" review in Popular Mechanics for the Ryobi drill, I purchased a 4 piece combo pack (drill, circ saw, ricip saw, worklight + 2 P104 batteries and charger) in 2009. So now I have six One+ tools, 2 chargers and 3 batteries. I have been pleased with the performance of these tools/system.
The trimmer works well. Some people want this thing to defy the laws on physics --18V cannot complete with 110V plug-in or gas for power, but is plenty adequate for my 1/3 acre lawn. Battery life is about 15 minutes. Here are some hints that may be helpful:
1) I purchased the 3-pack of replacement spools - very expensive. Now, I refill those myself at 1/30th the price and always have a couple ready for quick change.
2) Remember, the "safety" trigger need only to be pressed at start up, then you can let go.
4) Heat is tough on all batteries, and lithiums in particular don't like the cold. I keep mine in the basement where is 60-70 degrees & even my 3 year old batteries still work well. I don't recharge a warm battery.
5) I number by batteries (1, 2, 3) with a Sharpie so I can rotate them & make a mental note of any slip in performance.
4) Batteries are expensive. Watch for sales and buy as part of a kit and it's like the tool is free. I have found with 3 batteries and two chargers, I am never without a charged battery and I can treat them gently.
5) The battery release tabs can sometimes be tough for smaller hands. In this happens, depress one side & gently pry apart with a screwdriver, then go to the other side and repeat.
6) Remember, there are two sizes of lithium batteries - P104 with 2.4 amp hour capacity and P103 (compact) with 1.3 amp hour. The both work fine, but make sure you get the one you want
In summary, if you already own one or more One+ tools, the trimmer is a worthy addition (and the blower is OK too). I also heartily recommend the recip saw.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

Very awesome..

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this thing for the entire spring and summer of 2011.. I mow lawns as a business and this was the only weed-eater I used..
I like the automatic line-feed thing, and I like that it also edges too, which I used.. The 18-volt is sufficient enough power for almost any thing..
However, for some of the bigger lawns, I had to use a second battery to get done grass-trimming and edging..
BUT, this year (2012) I am mowing lawns for clients again, but Ryobi just came out with a new 40-volt line of yard tools.. I sold this 18-volt trimmer, and bought their new 40-volt grass-trimmer(also an edger).. It is amazing!.. It has a variable-speed trigger, a LOT more powerful (it can rip stuff apart if you want it to), and I don't need any extra batteries because the battery lasts a LONG time.. I can weed-eat AND edge an entire yard, and the battery will still be at 75% charged after doing an entire normal-sized yard, and still 50% charged after doing a HUGE lawn..o_o So if you are really in to lawn work, I would recommend the 40-volt over the 18-volt.. But for just doing your own yard your self, the 18-volt one actually works very well..
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Florida

good trimmer

PostedSeptember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this trimmer as an alternative to my Ryobi gas trimmer which I am going to trash since now all the available gas in Florida is Ethanol and I am giving up on gas operated machinery as much as possible. This battery trimmer works as presented an has plenty of power but there is a trick to using it properly.
First you must not expect this to perform like a gas edger and if you have a large property to trim it is not the one for you. But for most homeowners with standard sub-division lots it is all you need. The trick to using it is to let the tip of the line do the cutting. If you just jam the head of the trimmer into a thick clump of grass, the grass will just get wrapped around the head shaft which greatly slows down the cutting head speed so much cutting efficiency is then lost. Remember go slow and let the 1/4 in tip end of the line cut the grass before you move it further into the grass clump and it will cut just fine.
The only flaw in the machine I found is that there is no quick way to remove the head from the head shaft to remove grass that might get wrapped around it so you have to carry a tiny pair of needle nose pliers with you to pick out the grass if that happens. Why Ryobi did not simply cover the head shaft with a plastic flange to prevent this is beyond me. Other than that it is a great little trimmer.
I think the people that are complaining about the battery life are not cutting with the end of the line like the instructions tell you so grass gets wrapped around the shaft which is a big drag on the battery. If you keep shaft clear of grass and let the tip end of the line cut through the grass slowly like a saw blade, it works fine.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

Great tool.

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have owned for a month after 7-year old Black & Decker rechargeable trimmer died. Small-to-medium sized suburban lawn, including trimming all along driveway, walkway and sidewalks. Have trimmed entire thing 3x on one charge, and it stays at full power the entire time.
Also, string feed seems to be much better than previous similar tools we've owned. Those would let the line wear down to only an inch or two, then shoot out line. This seems to let line out in increments as it wears down, so the line is nearly always at full length, which means more power for trimming.
Lightweight and battery charges extremely quickly (about an hour, compared to 8-10 hours for NiCad battery models).
Interested to see how well it does over a few years of use.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Kingsburg
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than mixing gas

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had this trimmer for over a year now and will do my small/medium sized yard 2-3 times before a re-charge is required.It also swaps out batteries with my Ryobi cordless drill and vice/versa always have a battery ready to go.Plenty of power for grass..But not for heavy brush,for crying out loud it's not a brush cutter folks;that's what gas units were made for.Highly recomend..
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Marion, IN

A view from a skeptic

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptic at first, looking at a battery powered grass trimmer. But since my wife bought me a bunch of Ryobi power tools, I thought I would give it a fair shake. Now I'm glad I did, great purchase and a really fine product, I'm thrilled.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from RTP, NC

Perfect for most trimming

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This string trimmer is great!
It does a great job of trimming and edging all around my yard. One P104 battery has more than enough oomph to trim my entire yard.
I have a gas trimmer, but now I only pull it out once or twice a year to clear the septic field.
The P2002 is lightweight, clean (no gas or messy oil:gas mix), and always starts the first time. It's so easy and fun to use that my wife likes to get out and use it!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Texas

Way Better Than Buying Gas

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My yard is the average size , about a quarter acre and yes I had some concern about the cost and proformas . all was put to rest when this tool almost finished cutting my yard . I did consider the 24v Ryobi cordless but the only thing is Ryobi, to my knowledge does not have any other cordless tools in 24v so the battery would only be for the weed eater but the 18v lith. battery will fit all my other tools so i went with it and have absolutely no regrets . Has good power like a corded , Great Product and one less Gas consuming tool out of my yard .
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Syracuse Area

Outstanding Trimmer

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this string trimmer with a little apprehension due to the negative reviews, I am so glad I decided to go with the majority of the reviews. This string trimmer performs excellent the battery life is awesome I can trim my whole lawn without issue and still have a good amount of battery life left. I have been without a trimmer for the better part of the spring and purchased this hoping I could get through some of the tall weeds along my stockade fence Well to my surprise it cut through them without issue and never died once. The lithium Ion battery is outstanding and I will not buy anything else now. Highly recommend this trimmer to anyone it is also very well balanced and easy to use..
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Oklahoma City Area

Stringline Trimmer

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer is exactly what I needed. I plug in the battery charger and charge the battery while I am mowing the lawn, it takes 30 minutes to get a fully charged battery. My lawn is 65X200 feet with several flower beds and trees and out buildings to trim around to include my fence line and the battery holds its charge long enough to get the job done and is still not fully discharged. where most people go wrong is when they leave the battery in the charging mode on a continual basis, with a thirty minute charge time you just put it on the charger when you start mowing and when you are ready to use it you just take it out of the charger, put it in the trimmer and go. If I had a larger lawn I would buy an extra battery to put on the charger while I am trimming, but for the lawn I have it works fine with just one battery.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, makes work easy

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Makes yard work almost fun. No Cords to to take out and put away. Cuts the work time in half.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Valley Forge

Cordless Trimmer

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi cordless trimmer has simplified my weekly lawn chores. I no longer have to mix oil and gasoline. It is easy to start and light weight. The charger is attractive and compact. My weekends are less stressful.
My wife is not able to depress the button while pulling the trigger for an extended time, but for my hands it is very easy to operate.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer

Hunk of junk

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have all these positive reviews been put here by Ryobi? This thing is a piece of junk. The automatic line advance doesn't work AT ALL. And the line breaks the second it touches something that isn't grass. You then have to stop and manually advance the line. I wish I would've known the auto line feed feature was a flat out lie. I would've just stuck with my old Black & Decker that needed 3 batteries to finish my smaller-sized yard. At least I didn't have to stop and manually advance the line with it. The only positive about this trimmer is the battery life. But that's just not going to do it when I'm having to stop and advance the line after every 2 steps. STAY AWAY from this Ryobi trimmer.
Cons: automatic line feeder isn't automatic afterall, line breaks too easily
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Salmon, Idaho

Good for grass trimming

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was much lighter than my old trimmer and easier to use. It does not seem to have as much cutting power for weeds that I would like so I would just recommend it for grass. I like the battery pack which I can remove and put on myself. It ran about 30 minutes before needing to be recharged. My old trimmer took a lot of muscle power to remove the battery pack and eventually the plastic handle broke for that reason. I do not like the power button and both my thumbs are sore today from holding it in to operate the trimmer. This was my first use so I am hoping it holds up for a long time and my thumbs get used to it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electric trimmer

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this product because it support clear air.Not bad,definetly room for improvement. Functionality is great with compact sliding bar and turn and twist handle for ease of use. The CON is the lack of torque in the motor. It is electric but I believe they could do better. Charging time for the battery is reasonable. I have owned this product for over a month, I woudl say it seems pretty sturdy so far. Overall, it gets the job done for small to medium workloads.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from Rome, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Battery Life

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trimmer is lightweight & does a good job for around the house trimming. The only complaint we have is that the battery doesn't last long enough, even when fully charged. 45 minutes on a good day, then re-charge for an hour before you can use it again. I thought about a back-up battery until I saw the cost. $89.00 for another battery. I only paid $99.00 for the trimmer which came with the charger & battery. I would go buy another trimmer with all the accessories before I would buy another battery. Check other manufacturers before buying this model.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from NJ

Decent Product

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a corner lot with a lot of grass and fencing. I bought this to replace a Craftsman gas powered weed whacker that died and the string to start also broke. I got about 9 years out of that.
It is not as powerful as a gas powered trimmer. The string is thinner and if you use it on high grass it takes some time to trim it down. The auto feed is supposed to eject about 1/4 inch of sting if you have it running and stop it for 2 seconds and restart it. It doesn't work for me. There is a black button on the spool that you can push to eject more string and that is what I do.
Those were the negatives. As far as the positives go, I do not have to mix gas with oil, I do not have to buy gas, It starts right up, it works fine as an edger and a grass trimmer,
It worked fine for me to do about 1/2 acre where I did edging and grass trimming where my riding mower couldn't go.I did have to charge it 1 time to complete the job but that may be because my grass was about 14 inches tall in areas where my ride on mower couldn't reach because my gas powered trimmer broke at the beginning of the spring. The charge to a full battery took about 1 hour as opposed to some competitors that that 9 hours to recharge. The charge lasted full strength until it died.
I am overall happy with this purchase because I tended to not do edging and trimming every time I mowed because I didn't want to have to deal with filling up the gas and trying to start my old trimmer. I now charge the battery and pull the trigger and it takes care of the job.
If you have a lot of thick weeds that you would require a string thicker then the .65 that this uses then you will want a gas powered trimmer. For my use of mostly trimming grass and edging it works fine and I prefer it over my gas powered one.
CONS: auto feed does not seem to work, uses thin .85 string, battery lasts about 20 minutes with tall, thick grass.
PROS: No more buying gas, no more mixing gas, starts right up, quieter.
BOTTOM LINE: If you have less than a acre of lawn and not a lot of thick weeds then this is perfect. If you have more then 1 acre and/or think weeds to cut through you may want a gas powered model with thicker string and longer run time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One+ 18-Volt 12 in. Cordless String Trimmer
from watertown, wi

string trimmer

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 1/3 acre lot and was able to trim and edge the whole property and only used half the battery. I also love the auto feed feature.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>