728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw

One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw

The Ryobi One+ 10 in. Electric Cordless Chainsaw is cordless for portability and features a lightweight design to help remove dead and unsightly branches. This 10 in. Chainsaw features an 18-volt Lithium-ion battery that is eco friendly and compatible with all One+ series tools. The Chainsaw also includes a battery charger for convenience.
Overall rating:
4.025 / 5
4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product31 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product31 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Review 1 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Mriley007
from Rhode Island

Excellent for small jobs

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for small lawn projects, Works great, quiet, cuts very well.
Pictures say a thousand words. Very Happy with results. Not a heavy duty chain saw but works great for this type of cutting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
TMHH
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

convenient and tough

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This winter I've been clearing Chinese Privet from 3 acres of woodland and have found this saw to be a big help. I'm able to cut and clear easily with a battery saw, rather than a gas model that I would have to continually pull-start. I use lopping shears for plants less than an inch, then use the Ryobi for bigger cuts. I usually work for 2-3 hours before running out of battery, but we have other Ryobi products with batteries I can use if I still have energy myself. The small Lithium-Ion battery that comes with the saw last much longer than the old Ni-Cad batteries. I like the size because my hands reach easily around the battery to pull it out.
The size and weight make this saw perfect for a woman, however a firm grip is needed for the occasional grabbing, and it is a little bouncy on smaller Privet trees, but that could be expected. It is so quiet, I don't think my neighbors know I'm in the woods when I'm working. It's tough also. No trouble with the chain coming off or anything. I'm very pleased with my saw.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
DIYer
from Kirkland, WA

If you're Paul Bunyon, you'll be disappointed....

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
But, if you need to do some pruning, cut up some thicker tree branches, or general yard clean up, this is for you. Admittedly, I have other Ryobi cordless tools, so I'm a little biased. But, it works just like I thought it would--dependable and gets the job done. Used it for about an hour cleaning up some branches and taking out a bush (wife didn't even know because it doesn't make noise).
So I'm giving it a 5-star rating because it met (and somewhat exceeded) my expectation of what a cordless chainsaw suppose to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: not powerful but powerful enough
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
DocD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to cut down a few small trees and this worked perfectly. It may not have the power of gas chainsaw, but it much easier to use and great for small jobs.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
kumfykozy

exceeded expectations

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went back and forth about buying this or a gas powered chainsaw. I bought this and was extremely close to bringing this back until my "brilliance" kicked in and I realized that the assemblers put the chain on backwards. Once I had the chain on going the correct direction, this was an incredible buy! The battery lasted well over an hour cutting a 7"-8" tree to pieces -even though the instructions say no more than 5". The only thing I would recommend is buying a quart of bar and chain oil because the oil included in the box will not last long. Highly recommend this saw! Don't believe the naysayers! However, don't go buy this chainsaw thinking that this is equal to gas powered. If your career is not in tree work, this is a great investment!
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
BB2SWEET
from Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Light weight easy to use

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first chainsaw and I love it. Short blade to use in a wooded area without worry. I have a lot of ankle size trees to remove and this little saw does the job. When sitting it does drip oil as mentioned in other posts, but I had seen that prior to buying it. A great value and a great first timer saw for women. It lasted 1 1/2 hours for work which is more than enough. It did kick a bit at first, but it was a first time use issue. Great value for the purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: drips oil
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
wildliferlife
from Madison, WI

It's not a chainsaw, it's a hand saw on steroids

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Or at least some type of performance enhancing drug. With an actual 9" cutting edge, this little chainsaw with a rather slow chain speed cuts through 3"-4" diameter branches with ease. If you are hoping to tackle bigger projects (the backyard stump, logs, splitting firewood) this is not the size or speed saw you are looking for. This saw is near ready right out of the box. After pouring oil into the saw, I suggest taking the hex key (located on the saw) and tightening up the saw bar. Great for weekend projects!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
frontkampfer

GOOD SAW FOR YARD CLEANUP

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a chain saw to cut up some large branches I had piled up in the corner of my yard. I did not need a regular chain saw and I did not want to have to drag an extension cord around. The reviews for this saw swayed me into buying it and I used it today and it worked great! It was exactly what I was looking for. As others have stated, its not a gas powered chain saw and it does cut slow, but those are the reasons I bought it. The battery lasted about 1/2 hour but charges quickly. Long story short, it did the job the way I wanted it and that's all that counts. I have had good luck with Ryobi products and this saw lives up to my expectations-not contractor grade equipment but I'm not a contractor.
I strongly recommend this chain saw for small yard cleanup!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Charlie314
from Central NC

Ryobi Cordless Chainsaw

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
OK, first off, nobody should realistically expect this item to compete with larger, gas engine chain saws. On the other hand, it is far better for trimming limbs than a hand operated pruning saw. For its intended purpose, it works well, as long as one understands and accepts its limitations.
I like the light weight and its ease of use -- no fussing with fuel mixtures or balky cranking so common among real chainsaws. I own a full size gas engine saw, but sometimes it can be more trouble than it's worth to crank it up for just a few cuts. So, to me, this little saw is worth having for the convenience factor. I use it for any wood smaller than my wrist--for larger limbs it's time to get out the real chainsaw.
A major factor in my purchase of this particular model was the Lithium/Metal Hydride battery pack. It is far superior to the Ni-Cad batteries found on other models.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
BeLong2011
from Morongo Valley, CA

Just right for this Grandma!!!

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight, very easy to use, simple to adjust chain and clean up. It breezed thru all the branches I couldnt cut with the Tree Pruner. The battery lasted thru four pickup loads of branches before I had to put in another battery. I am very pleased with this electric cordless Chain Saw.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
MikeTheApeman
from Sayreville, NJ

Don't expect a miracle

PostedApril 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this because we had some old lumber in the yard that needed to be cut in for a bulk pickup. I will be the first to admit, I wasn't expecting much. My rationale was I already have a bunch of Ryobi tools, and the battery will always come in handy.
I got home and had a full Ryobi battery fully charged. (Note that this comes with one of the smaller 18v batteries.) Poured in the oil, popped in the battery, went to town on cutting up the 2 4x8's that were back there. I was able to make a total of 8 cuts completely through these monster pieces before the battery was showing a red status. The Mrs. immediately told me to return the thing.
I then tried to cut down a few limbs off a tree that was back there. Went through them pretty easy. She was a little more impressed.
Went to move some of the lumber, heard the chainsaw running. Turns out she was using it to cut more limbs.
All in all, if you're looking for occasional cutting that a sawzall just won't do, this isn't bad. If you're trying to cut a lot of wood all the time, like for a fire pit or fireplace, this is not the saw for you.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Chris1683
from Orange County, NY

A True Performer!

PostedApril 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my doubts about a battery powered chainsaw, however they were quickly gone after a days use with this little gem. I took down a few birch trees in my back yard with ease and also chopped about 50 pieces of post and rail fence into manageable pieces for my truck to take to the dump site and it worked perfectly! Very easy to use and gets the job done. It cuts very clean and I noticed no skipping of the blade while cuttings. I would highlt recommend this to anyone looking to buy!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
xspook
from FL

Works well for me - mostly light/medium duty cuts.

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this to cut small to medium tree branches. Average diameter is about 2~6 inches. It has worked well for me so far after 2 weeks of ownership.
I cut a 5" oak tree root today with no problems.
It doesn't state it on the box, but it does come with a small bottle of chain lube.
I have been happy with every Ryobi One+ tool I have purchased. This is the one I was most concerned about and was pleasently surprised.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
sawman54
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A little saw with GUTS!

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As so many other have already said, it you have really a really BIG job -- go gasoline. I purchased this saw 4/27/12 with the intent of downing a few dead maples in my yard. I had only moderate expectations. WOW! what a performer. I have pushed this saw to the limit on several occasions and it has performed beyond my expectations. Light weight, easy to use, the large Li-Ion gives decent run time, batteries charge quickly! As long as you are not expecting gasoline performance, this is a great little saw. Very gutsy!
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Wizbanger
from Bowie, MD

Light Duty Saw

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suitable for light duty.
I used this saw to cut landscaping 4x4 post. I only had to make four cuts and this light duty saw worked ok. Don't expext this saw to perform like gas powered saw as it won't. For small and quick jobs it is less fuss then more powerful electric or gas. The right tool for the right job.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
rbmontgomery

Great tool for it's purpose

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the reviews prior to buying which was a great help.
I think perception is the secret to this tool. If you think you are getting a full fledged chainsaw, you will be disappointed.
Think of it as a step between the use of a hand saw or reciprocating saw and the use of a full powered chainsaw.
The speed of the chain is slow, but once you get the feel for how it cuts it does an overall good job.
Since the chain speed is slow, it can be a bit jerky. Care must be exercised while using because some kickback can be caused because of the slow speed and the chain wanting to "catch" what you are cutting.
I kept a firm grip on the handles, and made sure to leave some space between it and me while I was cutting, and didn't have any problems.
I have never used an electric chainsaw but certainly as compared to a gas powered type this one is "very" quiet.
The battery that came with the saw held up pretty well before needing to be re-charged. I would recommend that if you were intending to use the saw for a long or semi-continuous duration, it may be wise to invest in one of the extended capacity batteries as a backup to the smaller standard capacity battery that is included.
Also, while I could not find it mentioned on the outer packaging anywhere, a small bottle of chain oil is included.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
GTV6
from Petersham, MA

It's the weight that makes the difference

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I agree with all of those reviewers that say this is a great tool as long as you understand its limits. It's advantage is its light weight and start without a pull, which makes it very easy on those of us who want to save our backs' strength for walks and bike rides.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Penrod
from Enfield, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very limited use saw

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great pruning saw for small branches as many have said but this is for vertical cuts only if you want a hoizontal cut theres no hand bar to hold it in that possition and it kicks back so much that you have push in that trigger safety swiitch after every kick back and start over again.This puppy needs some modifications!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
Bill111
from Wimauma, FL

18v Ryobi Chain saw

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a dozen Ryobi 18v tools. I love most of them, but the chain saw is a dud. I didn't expect too much, but I have 3-1/2 acres covered in oak trees. I have 4 other chains saw so I bought this one to cut an occasional fallen branch when I didn't want to bother with the REAL chain saws.
I used it today for the first time. I was VERY disappointed. The chain travels around the bar so slowly that the branch jumps all over the place. It did eventually cut the branch, but I wish I had saved my money to buy a more useful tool.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One+ Cordless 10 in. Chainsaw
PalmCityFl
from Palm City, FL

Finally! A chainsaw that actually works!

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this Ryobi chainsaw today and used it 3 hours and charged it 3 times. Not once did it throw off the chain, stall or drip oil! Can't say that about the Homelite gas chainsaws! I spent more time reinstalling the chain and trying to start those than I did actually cutting limbs. This little guy actually works as stated! Not to mention no noise! It is great for cutting palm fronds, slices them in seconds. Florida gardeners - this is a must have! Don't waste your time buying the corded electric chainsaws - I tried several. I spent more time replacing cut cords and reinstalling the chain than cutting limbs. I wouldn't use this chainsaw to cut down trees, just palm fronds and pruning limbs. But that's exactly what I had in mind!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>