728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower
Overall rating:
3.247 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(461 reviews) 461
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product248 of 427reviews
Rating Breakdown 461 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(154)
4
(100)
3
(29)
2
(62)
1
(116)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product248 of 427reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Review 61 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk Battery

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great mower. When I bought it, I may even have given it a good review. However the batteries stink, hence the poor quality rating. I've already gone through the original battery, and the replacement just quit after about a year.
This mower already cost me over $500, and I'm not about to spend another $129 for a battery
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Batteries do not chage, and run time is very limited

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I got this lawn Mower as I wanted an environmental friendly mower, without messing with gas and oil. Since I have a flat 1/3 acre lawn, I ordered another battery just in case. I have charged each battery overnight, and went on to cut the lawn. With both batteries I was only able to cut only 75% of the lawn. The mower is very heavy, and uncomfortable to maneuver. I tried to recharge the batteries. Both batteries did not charge, while the charger indicator was green – battery fully charged. I returned the unit and the spare battery to Home Depot and with half the refund I got a Toro Gas powered self-propelled mower. Based on my experience, I would not recommend this unit on any size lawn, due the batteries charging and runtime issues I have experienced.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

very poor battery

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this lawn mower in the spring. Having a great deal of problems with the battery. I charge it and the 4 lights come on but not long after I start mowing the charge is gone. I wish I had read some of the other reviews before purchasing this mower. It takes me about 3 days to complete the yard and my yard is not that large.
Cons: very bad battery
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Poor Value for the money

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in southwest BC and our grass cutting season is usually around 6 months. This mower lasted one and a half seasons before the battery died. My lawn is a city sized lot and not a huge area When new, the mower did an effective job. I followed the battery charging directions carefully since new, so having the battery last for only 9 months of actual useage is pathetic.
Pros: Powerful, Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Denton TX

Great Mower

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my Father who didn't want to mess with gas or electrical cords for mowing his yard. He loves this mower so much that he went out and bought the Cordless Weed Trimmer the next week.
The rear wheel drive is a bit of an adjustment after years of front wheel drive mowers, but once you get the hang of that, it's really easy to control.
I was concerned about the weight that the battery might add, but this is not noticable while mowing. It feels like a Gas mower when you are driving it around the yard.
The Cut is great as well. Pleanty of power. After using it once myself, I think it has more cutting power than my 5 year old gas mower.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great when it worked

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower is easy to use and intuitive. I have a fair amount of lawn in downtown Phoenix and the mower could cut the front and back in one charge. The lawn is flat with Bermuda. The self propel feature was useful to get it going in the direction you wanted as the lawn mower is heavy due to the battery.
The problem is the complete lack of Ryobi customer service and the incredibly poor battery life. I echo the many other reviews in saying Ryobi customer service is nonexistent. The charger will overcharge your battery if not careful and then you are paying $130 a year for a battery as a year is the expected lifespan.
If anyone in Phoenix is interested in this lawn mower for parts, I've got one. I bought a lawn mower from Sears yesterday where I know where I can get my mower repaired if needed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Self-Propelled best feature plus easy start

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeps a full 30 minute charge. Easy to use with self-propelled feature. Good looking and not too heavy to store in shed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

What is taking so long for batteries to come in?!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It looks as though I am in the same boat as some others when it comes to the battery. I bought the mower in Mar 11 and the battery charger ended up being defective and caused the battery to become defective. I've been waiting for about 6 weeks now and Ryobi said its going to be another 3 weeks. Not happy at all. Was happy at first but how can I be happy now when I can't even use it? I do love all their the other Ryobi products especially the One + system so the lawn owner debacle will not deter me from buying more Ryobi products. I do believe Ryobi needs to compensate us for our inconvenience. A free tool or something.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Update to 5/4 review

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
On May 4, I gave a review critical of the battery/charger for the mower. While pleased with the mower, I had issues with the batter/charger. Within 2 days of my review, I was contacted by the manufacturer apologizing for any inconvenience. I was sent a new battery and new charger free of charge. Since I initially liked the mower and, in light of this excellent customer service, I am upgrading my rating to 4 stars.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from O‘ahu, Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Undependable, does not always start, quirky and wouldn't recommend this mower. Self-propelling features is good idea if the mower would ever work.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Difficult to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Utah

Good product, battery life isn't so great

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love that we don't have to worry about gas and oil for this lawn mower. It's really quiet, which is also awesome. The wheels easily adjust to the height desired. It starts so fast, and I love that you don't have to pull start it. The drive power is really strong, which makes for quick moving on long stretches.
There are 3 things I don't like about this mower.
1. Battery life isn't that great, and our yard isn't even that big. So halfway through we have to stop and recharge it.
2. The bag isn't that big so you have to empty it a lot, which really annoys me.
3. There is a gap at the top of the bag so when you are mowing with the bag on glass clippings fly up at you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

don't waste your money

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this mower from Home Depot last May. It worked for 2 months before the charger died. It took 4 months to get a new charger because it was backordered. Or I could pay for one if I didn't want to get a free one under my warranty. So they had chargers to sell but none to honor their warranty? So I've used it 2 times and now the charger is not charging again. Wish I could get my money back. Don't waste yours.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Wilson, NC

Pleased but it could be better

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far I've only used the mower once but it appears to be a good product - certainly up to Ryobi tool standards. The two concerns I have are (1) the self-propelling is actually too robust - I find myself having to hold it back, and (2) the cutting is not as even as it should be - I sometimes have to go over a spot a couple of times. But those are minor inconveniences. This is so much better than using gas powered mowers and more convenient than the power cord electric mowers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Coto De Caza, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will be the last Ryobi product I purchase

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The mower works fine except the battery is poorly designed and manufactured. After only 4 months of using it, the battery leaked and went dead. I took it to the service center and the replacement battery is still in back order after 5 months of waiting. The Ryobi customer service rep offered no help and blamed me for not having a back up battery. The mower has been in my garage enjoying its early retirement. May be I'll receive the battery someday. May be.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio

A good, easy-to-use electric mower

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Initially, I chose this mower over other cordless electric mowers because of other positive reviews. Sure, it was more expensive but, it didn't seem as cheaply made as other mowers with more negative reviews. Remember the adage "There is nothing more expensive than a cheap tool."
Now, having used the mower for a few months, I can honestly say that I made the right decision. There is virtually no assembly right out of the box, only the handle has to be straightened out. The battery does take a while to recharge (around 18 hours) but that simply requires a little bit of planning ahead to make sure you have a fully charged battery when you want to mow. This is easily solved by putting it on the charger right after mowing.
While the mower has three discharge options (side, mulching, and bagging), I find that I don't use the side discharge because I don't want to rake the grass. I tried the mulching option and believe it leads to reduced run-time on the battery due to the extra resistance. To be fair, I don't mow my grass that often and so the fact that it's a little thicker is probably not the best for mulching anyway.
I prefer the bagging option and generally have to empty the bag twice while mowing our .25-acre yard. Removing and replacing the bag couldn't be easier. Since I started using the bagging option I can almost get two mowings from a single battery charge instead of only one when mulching.
The self-propelled option is a nice amenity. Height adjustment couldn't be easier and they use a pretty robust mechanism for that purpose. There is lots of metal and little plastic in this mower. It's well made.
My only real complaint is in the tightness of the fit for the fuse key. It is almost absurdly tight to the point that we don't remove it even though the manufacturer says to for safety. Aside from that, this is a great mower that I hope to use for many years and recommend purchasing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be great, quality not there, has been a nightmare!

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is almost a great lawn mower but I have found one thing after another failing. This at times has been pleasant to use, quiet, powerful, picks up grass and leaves well and will do about half my 1/2 acre lawn before it dies, but ...
First the charger failed, then the battery failed, the bottom of the bag came apart at the edge, then after about 8 times mowing the lawn the drive shaft split in two. Maybe I just got a lemon but this has not worked well for me.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from CT, USA

Works great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I store my mower in an attached garage so it's nice to have a mower that doesn't use gasoline. It's also cool to the touch after 40 minutes of mowing. Although the mower is heavier than my previous gas powered mower, the way the handle is mounted makes it easy to raise the front when turning. I don't leave the drive engaged when turning. I push down on the handle to tilt up the front, make the turn, set the front back down, start pushing forward, and then engage the drive. I figure that will help the drive system last longer. Walking speed is a little slower than my usual mowing speed, but not pushing the whole time makes it easier than my old mower without the self-propel. My 70+ neighbor also has one, she says the speed is a little fast for her but she keeps up. So, it's probably a good middle speed for a range of users.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego, CA

BUY IT!

PostedMarch 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this mower with little or no reviews available because I needed to cut my very long grass before another rain storm hit San Diego. My grass was already at least 8 - 12+ inches high. (gardner did not come for six weeks - fired him). Home Depot told me I could take it back if I didn't like it, so I tried it.
I charged the battery as reccomended and started mowing my lawn of about 1/4 acre. Since the grass was so long, I figured the battery might run out of power if I used the self-propulsion so I pushed it around the entire yard. Also, I feared that since it was an electric mower it would not be able to cut the really long 12"+ crab grass/weeds in my lawn.
This is the BEST and most powerful lawn mower I have ever owned. My last lawn mower was a $500 Honda. This Ryobi electric cordless mower was MORE POWERFUL than my Honda, by FAR. This mower sliced through the long grass as I eased it up and over the longest stuff (leaning the mower on its back wheels and lowering it slowly). This thing chewed that stuff up! The same stuff that would have stopped my Honda cold.
Long story short, I mowed my entire 1/4 acre, pushing it instead of using the self-propulsion, of very long and slightly damp grass on one charge. Amazingly, after I finished I went over the yard for another 10 minutes with the self-propulsion trying to run the battery to zero and didn't have time to reach zero charge. Like the other review said, the mower does a "wheely" when you engage the self-propulsion. I thought the speed was good but not too fast.
I could not be happier with this mower. The mower has a lot of power, battery life, and torque. It seems well built - steel deck, steel height adjustment - very sturdy. The battery weighs about 50 lbs. and is easy to charge, take out and put back in.
Make the leap! I am SO glad I did.
I will add another review if I have any changes in performance or problems.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from NJ

Mower

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a fairly large lawn front and back about 3/4 acre. This mower handled it very well. I Had decided to recharge before doing the back but it could have gone farther on its original charge. Its a little heavy but the power wheels are there when you need them. I like the convience of not having to hassle with gas and its storage and not having the hassle of a cord. This cordless is well worth the money and its less than most gas powered.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Central Florida

Impressive

PostedApril 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a really good mower. My wife and I decided that the hassle of gas, oil, tune-ups and all that just wasn't for us and wanted to go with an electric mower. We debated on a Black and Decker 24 volt and a 36 volt model and then we saw this one. All our power tools are Ryobi and we've had a very good experience with the brand. When I saw this 48V model I knew it was something I needed to look into. I'm glad I did.
I've used the mower twice in the last week and I am impressed with it so far. As we have a relatively large yard (probably between 1/3 and half acre - mowable yard), I was very concerned about battery life. I knew full well I wouldn't be able to power through the entire thing in one charge. However, I needed it to last so I could complete our entire front yard and a good sized strip down the side of our property in one session and it does. I can live with mowing the back at a different time after another charge. This however, the largest portion of property takes between 40-50 minutes to complete and I've had power left, one bar on the battery indicator when done. I'm very pleased with that although I am looking into a 2nd battery, which according to Ryobi will be available in May of this year.
The power of this mower is really quite good. I've had no issues going through long patches of thick weeds or grass. The cut is even and the yard looks very good when I'm done. The mulching capability is just ridiculous. It goes beyond shredding the grass, it pulverizes it!
Like many, I have to say that a Lithium battery would be great to help improve run time and reduce the weight, although the 95 lbs doesn't seem that bad to me. Our yard is anything but flat so I have a lot of ups and downs to deal with and it hasn't been a big issue as of yet. Yes, it's heavy but I don't find it to be like going to the gym as some have suggested.
The self propel feature, used sparingly thus far, is nice albeit a little slow for me. Compared to an old John Deere gas mower, this has been like a leisurely stroll through the park. It's not fast at all, it's a nice relatively slow pace. I've not noticed any jumping or hopping of the mower when this feature is utilized, as some have.
All in all I am extremely pleased with our purchase. As mentioned, I was a little skeptical about actual run time but it just hasn't been an issue for me. Just know the limitations of an electric mower and prepare for them, as I did. Our yard used to get mowed with a rider (push mower for edges and from time to time the entire yard) so this was a massive switch and yet I'm still happy with our purchase and the performance of this unit.
If I were to buy again, this would be the one. I have no complaints when weighing the performance of this machine against my expectations. It needed to cut good, which it does very well, and it needed to provide enough run time to get through 3/4 of our property on one charge, which it does. If you're considering an electric mower and are realistic about their capabilities this is a very, very good choice. Hope this helps and thanks for reading!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 23 >>