728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

This Ryobi 20 in. Self-Propelled Cordless Electric Mower utilizes a 20 in. steel deck with an adjustable height of 1-1/2 - 4 in. to achieve your desired look. The removable 48-volt battery is simple to charge. With a self-propelled drive system, the mower
Overall rating:
3.252 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(460 reviews) 460
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product248 of 426reviews
Rating Breakdown 460 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(154)
4
(100)
3
(29)
2
(62)
1
(115)
Features 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product248 of 426reviews
Customer reviews for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Review 61 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Indiana

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this mower for 11/2 weeks and mowed my lot size lawn 3 times. the first 2 times I ran out of juice before I finished. Each time I put the battery back on charge the battery took more charge by way of a longer charging time. This last time I got the whole yd. done but the last part of lawn i had to push along with the selfpropelled. this time it took 7 hr. to charge which is the longest time yet so I hope the battery is still being conditioned. If you run the battery down completely it is supposed to take 10-12 hrs. I will see the next time. the lawnmower cuts good as long as the grass is not wet and the battery still has a good charge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Eastern Pennsylvania

Best price for a 48V self-propelled cordless electric

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best price is from the minimal construction (metal housing arrived our-of-round, but thin enough to reshape with force). I can mow a good hour using the self propulsion up-hill only, does well on heavy grass. The speed on self propelled operation is fast and no choice about it. The CPSC safety switch that forces two hands to start the motor no longer works (3 weeks!) but I don't miss it, so this product may not have good longevity. But avoiding a gas engine is almost priceless! The blade, as on all mowers, is noisy; it just doesn't have the gas engine atop that.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 63 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago

Easy to use and gets the job done!

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 1st lawn mower. I am a middle aged single woman. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. I did the minimal assembly with no problems. It cuts the grass beautifully - and it starts at the touch of a button! I have not needed the self-propelled feature - it's light weight and easy to push, and everyone needs an upper arm work out now and then. Buy it!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 64 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Great replacement for gas mower

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had the mower for 4 months now and I love it. As long as your yard isn't too big, you can ditch the dirty gas mower for this. I've got a 1/5 acre yard, that is mostly flat with an incline at the back, and during the summer I was able to mow the entire yard, with the mower propelling itself, on a single charge, although the battery is almost completely drained at the end. I'm a little lazy and don't mow as regularly as I should, and the mower has no problems cutting through somewhat thick grass, no need to go back over the same path.
The self propelled feature is pretty powerful and even when the charge is low it can easily go up the incline in my yard. I've seen other reviews complain about difficulty cutting around corners with the mower. You can't really use the self propelled when you need to turn around, as the mower is going too fast. But it's real easy to turn it around yourself, I barely broke a sweat mowing in hot and humid weather.
The bagger works really well too, not much gets out until the bag is full. I use it in the fall to pick up leaves and that works great. Where the leaves are thick I might have to go over the same area twice.
The battery takes around an hour to an hour and a half to charge.
I would highly recommend the mower, I'm very glad I got this and not a gas mower.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 65 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great when it worked

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower is easy to use and intuitive. I have a fair amount of lawn in downtown Phoenix and the mower could cut the front and back in one charge. The lawn is flat with Bermuda. The self propel feature was useful to get it going in the direction you wanted as the lawn mower is heavy due to the battery.
The problem is the complete lack of Ryobi customer service and the incredibly poor battery life. I echo the many other reviews in saying Ryobi customer service is nonexistent. The charger will overcharge your battery if not careful and then you are paying $130 a year for a battery as a year is the expected lifespan.
If anyone in Phoenix is interested in this lawn mower for parts, I've got one. I bought a lawn mower from Sears yesterday where I know where I can get my mower repaired if needed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 66 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has been a disappointment

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this lawnmower in May and got to use it three times and then the permanently sealed battery burst during recharging and the company has been unable to get me a new battery so the lawn mower sits in my shed totally worthless to me.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 67 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Batteries do not chage, and run time is very limited

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I got this lawn Mower as I wanted an environmental friendly mower, without messing with gas and oil. Since I have a flat 1/3 acre lawn, I ordered another battery just in case. I have charged each battery overnight, and went on to cut the lawn. With both batteries I was only able to cut only 75% of the lawn. The mower is very heavy, and uncomfortable to maneuver. I tried to recharge the batteries. Both batteries did not charge, while the charger indicator was green – battery fully charged. I returned the unit and the spare battery to Home Depot and with half the refund I got a Toro Gas powered self-propelled mower. Based on my experience, I would not recommend this unit on any size lawn, due the batteries charging and runtime issues I have experienced.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 68 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from AJ AZ

Good but not great

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchased this mower and it has great power. The only problem so far is I am 63 Years old and when you engage the rear drive you almost have to do a slow run to keep up. I would like to see a 2 speed drive. Oh, hold on tight because when you engage the drive it does a wheelie. If you want a work out while you mow this is made for you.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 69 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Williamsburg, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Update to 5/4 review

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
On May 4, I gave a review critical of the battery/charger for the mower. While pleased with the mower, I had issues with the batter/charger. Within 2 days of my review, I was contacted by the manufacturer apologizing for any inconvenience. I was sent a new battery and new charger free of charge. Since I initially liked the mower and, in light of this excellent customer service, I am upgrading my rating to 4 stars.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 70 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Denton TX

Great Mower

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my Father who didn't want to mess with gas or electrical cords for mowing his yard. He loves this mower so much that he went out and bought the Cordless Weed Trimmer the next week.
The rear wheel drive is a bit of an adjustment after years of front wheel drive mowers, but once you get the hang of that, it's really easy to control.
I was concerned about the weight that the battery might add, but this is not noticable while mowing. It feels like a Gas mower when you are driving it around the yard.
The Cut is great as well. Pleanty of power. After using it once myself, I think it has more cutting power than my 5 year old gas mower.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

What is taking so long for batteries to come in?!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It looks as though I am in the same boat as some others when it comes to the battery. I bought the mower in Mar 11 and the battery charger ended up being defective and caused the battery to become defective. I've been waiting for about 6 weeks now and Ryobi said its going to be another 3 weeks. Not happy at all. Was happy at first but how can I be happy now when I can't even use it? I do love all their the other Ryobi products especially the One + system so the lawn owner debacle will not deter me from buying more Ryobi products. I do believe Ryobi needs to compensate us for our inconvenience. A free tool or something.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 72 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

Self-Propelled best feature plus easy start

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeps a full 30 minute charge. Easy to use with self-propelled feature. Good looking and not too heavy to store in shed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 73 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED

don't waste your money

PostedMay 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this mower from Home Depot last May. It worked for 2 months before the charger died. It took 4 months to get a new charger because it was backordered. Or I could pay for one if I didn't want to get a free one under my warranty. So they had chargers to sell but none to honor their warranty? So I've used it 2 times and now the charger is not charging again. Wish I could get my money back. Don't waste yours.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 74 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Utah

Good product, battery life isn't so great

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I love that we don't have to worry about gas and oil for this lawn mower. It's really quiet, which is also awesome. The wheels easily adjust to the height desired. It starts so fast, and I love that you don't have to pull start it. The drive power is really strong, which makes for quick moving on long stretches.
There are 3 things I don't like about this mower.
1. Battery life isn't that great, and our yard isn't even that big. So halfway through we have to stop and recharge it.
2. The bag isn't that big so you have to empty it a lot, which really annoys me.
3. There is a gap at the top of the bag so when you are mowing with the bag on glass clippings fly up at you.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 75 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Coto De Caza, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This will be the last Ryobi product I purchase

PostedNovember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The mower works fine except the battery is poorly designed and manufactured. After only 4 months of using it, the battery leaked and went dead. I took it to the service center and the replacement battery is still in back order after 5 months of waiting. The Ryobi customer service rep offered no help and blamed me for not having a back up battery. The mower has been in my garage enjoying its early retirement. May be I'll receive the battery someday. May be.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 76 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Wilson, NC

Pleased but it could be better

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far I've only used the mower once but it appears to be a good product - certainly up to Ryobi tool standards. The two concerns I have are (1) the self-propelling is actually too robust - I find myself having to hold it back, and (2) the cutting is not as even as it should be - I sometimes have to go over a spot a couple of times. But those are minor inconveniences. This is so much better than using gas powered mowers and more convenient than the power cord electric mowers.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 77 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be great, quality not there, has been a nightmare!

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is almost a great lawn mower but I have found one thing after another failing. This at times has been pleasant to use, quiet, powerful, picks up grass and leaves well and will do about half my 1/2 acre lawn before it dies, but ...
First the charger failed, then the battery failed, the bottom of the bag came apart at the edge, then after about 8 times mowing the lawn the drive shaft split in two. Maybe I just got a lemon but this has not worked well for me.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 78 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio

A good, easy-to-use electric mower

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Initially, I chose this mower over other cordless electric mowers because of other positive reviews. Sure, it was more expensive but, it didn't seem as cheaply made as other mowers with more negative reviews. Remember the adage "There is nothing more expensive than a cheap tool."
Now, having used the mower for a few months, I can honestly say that I made the right decision. There is virtually no assembly right out of the box, only the handle has to be straightened out. The battery does take a while to recharge (around 18 hours) but that simply requires a little bit of planning ahead to make sure you have a fully charged battery when you want to mow. This is easily solved by putting it on the charger right after mowing.
While the mower has three discharge options (side, mulching, and bagging), I find that I don't use the side discharge because I don't want to rake the grass. I tried the mulching option and believe it leads to reduced run-time on the battery due to the extra resistance. To be fair, I don't mow my grass that often and so the fact that it's a little thicker is probably not the best for mulching anyway.
I prefer the bagging option and generally have to empty the bag twice while mowing our .25-acre yard. Removing and replacing the bag couldn't be easier. Since I started using the bagging option I can almost get two mowings from a single battery charge instead of only one when mulching.
The self-propelled option is a nice amenity. Height adjustment couldn't be easier and they use a pretty robust mechanism for that purpose. There is lots of metal and little plastic in this mower. It's well made.
My only real complaint is in the tightness of the fit for the fuse key. It is almost absurdly tight to the point that we don't remove it even though the manufacturer says to for safety. Aside from that, this is a great mower that I hope to use for many years and recommend purchasing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 79 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from CT, USA

Works great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I store my mower in an attached garage so it's nice to have a mower that doesn't use gasoline. It's also cool to the touch after 40 minutes of mowing. Although the mower is heavier than my previous gas powered mower, the way the handle is mounted makes it easy to raise the front when turning. I don't leave the drive engaged when turning. I push down on the handle to tilt up the front, make the turn, set the front back down, start pushing forward, and then engage the drive. I figure that will help the drive system last longer. Walking speed is a little slower than my usual mowing speed, but not pushing the whole time makes it easier than my old mower without the self-propel. My 70+ neighbor also has one, she says the speed is a little fast for her but she keeps up. So, it's probably a good middle speed for a range of users.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 80 for 20 in. 48-Volt Cordless Self-Propelled Lawn Mower-DISCONTINUED
from NJ

Mower

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a fairly large lawn front and back about 3/4 acre. This mower handled it very well. I Had decided to recharge before doing the back but it could have gone farther on its original charge. Its a little heavy but the power wheels are there when you need them. I like the convience of not having to hassle with gas and its storage and not having the hassle of a cord. This cordless is well worth the money and its less than most gas powered.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 6  ... 23 >>