728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Area Rugs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug

Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug

This 6 ft. x 8 ft. Area Rug is a convenient and beautiful carpet solution specially engineered for both indoor and outdoor residential installations. Install this rug as a runner in an entry way or hallway or use to dress up any outdoor space, including patios and lanais. This all-weather rug features durable nonwoven construction and is solution dyed throughout the fibers to resist fading, even in direct sunlight.
Overall rating:
4.166 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(542 reviews) 541
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product430 of 505reviews
Rating Breakdown 542 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(292)
4
(135)
3
(58)
2
(27)
1
(30)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product430 of 505reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
Review 1 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Lewes, Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fine for my needs

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This rug is for a small condo deck. Painted a 6" trim in raspberry for a pop of color. Perfect base for my furniture with floral cushions! Happy Summer!
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Lincoln, NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a DIY project

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the in-store pick up option and it went smoothly. Very light weight rug. I have it on our back deck and I put planters, chairs, etc. around the outside of it to anchor it down so it doesn't fly away. I didn't realize it was textured until I picked it up. From the pic on the website, it looked completely flat. I actually like the texture, it just made my project a little bit more difficult. I used black, exterior paint and added a monogram. laurel and border. I plan on buying another one.
Pros: Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Grand Haven, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Low Cost solution

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought two and placed them side by side to protect the new (BEHR) stain on the deck. For the money, these porous rugs are a bargain. Know that they are rather light, and strong winds can roll up the corner, but that rarely happens. We plan on taking them up in the fall, so the lightness has its advantages as well. Wish there was bigger sizes so we could get by with just one instead of two side by side but again, for the money its a simple and elegant solution in our case.
Pros: low cost
Cons: a bit light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Crescent City, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Will Work

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Live in Pacific Northwest and old deck getting slippery from being wet. I used 30 Second Moss Killer to get rid of slime and that helped. Ordered 2 of these for 8 x 12 deck. Look so good and effective I will do the porch too so ordered extra one. Total of 3. Ordered on-line and UPS delivered. I unpacked one and threw it on deck. It's staying in place and has good traction. When weather permits I will paint deck and cut rugs to fit.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wanted

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just what I was looking for, inexpensive, but sturdy patio rug. Feels great under bare feet, covered up an ugly deck and it was a great price. I expect it to last at least a year and for what I paid, that seems about right. It's attractive and the beige blends right in. Stays in place when I run a vacuum over it and has dried quickly after summer storms.
It was also easy to cut to fit.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Marietta, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Economical Indoor/Outoor Carpeting

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had been searching to an inexpensive outdoor carpeting to place on the back deck. Almost anything would have been better than the current state it was in. The wood that is on the deck now is not in bad shape but it does need to be pressure washed and repainted. Spend most on my life at work and wanted something quick and easy. Ordered 4 of the taupe carpets and they have worked perfectly...very comfortable in bare feet and easy to install
Pros: Looks Great, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: can't think of any
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Porter Ranch, CA

Great for outdoor seating area. Not good for indoor.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a few of these to put on the outdoor deck and looks great. The color is also nice. Bought a grey and taupe.
I had also thought of putting this in my living room as some of the reviewers did but I simply could not because of how thin and cheap it looks.
Even though it says indoor / outdoor - Do yourself a favor and only use it for Outdoor.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
37out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug

For the price this is 5 star all the way.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It doesn't look expensive but to be honest is way better than I expected for this $ amount. It's substantial enough to stay put in the wind and drys out after rain in a reasonable time. FYI - If you live up north where temps are cooler and have this on a deck in a location that gets wet it will need some sun to dry out or you will have soggy feet for a day.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: drys slow in cool temps after rain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Melrose, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frequent purchase

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use these for camping. We have a few tents set up for the summer and these are perfect rugs that fit in the tents and especially under air mattresses to prevent condensation. They are completely made of spun recycled plastic and are very soft and dry on the bare feet in the tent. At the end of the season they roll up easily like a stiff blanket and store in bins. So much better than the heavy indoor outdoor rug we had before--no mildew or smell ever. I have a couple that have lasted for a few years and you cannot distinguish them from the new. I love these rugs and have told other campers to try them.
Pros: Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Napa CA

well worth the money

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This carpet makes my balcony look really nice. Great color, soft and neutral. Material is easy to cut for a perfect fit.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Villa Rica, GA

Unbeatable price for a large outdoor rug

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My only complaint about this rug is its texture which was difficult to see in the photo. I placed it on a cement patio which is only a foot from my lawn. Because of the texture, every little bit of grass debris and vegetation catches in the fibers of the rug. I think hauling a vacuum outside to remove the debris is a pain. I think this would be an excellent choice for use on a deck (away from your lawn) or a very large patio where grass bits are less likely to blow onto the rug. This was one of those weird things that you could never forsee before purchase. At $17, I found the price unbeatable for this size. Also, it drys very quickly.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Los Angeles CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best carpet for trade shows, portable uses!

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The carpet was so light you could bring it with one hand!
It was great because I used it in a trade show and putting the booth up and taking it down was such
a breeze !
We were even able to fold the carpet afterwards so it fits in the trunk! Didn't have to roll it up.
Another great thing about it is the price!
The trade show was trying to charge me $65 to rent carpet for the booth!
Now I can carry this everywhere and it was just $17.00.
You can't beat that value!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as expected

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I understand that you get what you pay for and for $19 you don't get much. These rugs are extremely light weight and almost feel like the landscaping screen you use for weeds. I was hoping to paint a boarder around the edges to make them more attractive and to blend in with the other huge outdoor rug that I have but the weather has not permitted this to happen just yet... it keeps raining!!!!!! So I can't testify to the fact the wind won't blow these rugs around due to being so light weight... I truly would not have purchased it if I would have seen it in the store first.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Selden, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value and quality

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the rugs look (I bought two). The quality and texture are just as good as higher-priced outdoor rugs. I put the rugs under my new patio set, and it really looks homey. They get wet in the rain and from the sprinklers, and look the same after drying out in the sun. I occasionally run a vacuum over them. I will see how they last long term, but even if they only last a year or two, they would be worth it for the low price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Okay for light use

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought these for a utility area in our shop. They are very thin and cannot handle much weight. I have some shelves propped up on these area rugs and the feet of the shelves are already poking through with the shelf weight. Also, they are not true to size. The two that I bought are both at least a foot short in width. They look nice though. I would recommend these area rugs for light use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Cons: very thin, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Area Rug

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this area rug for our patio and it is a very nice addition. Looks nice against our dark colored furniture. Easy to clean, as well.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Oakdale, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great rug

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The rug is a great size for the price. Its a little light weight but worked out perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug

Great for the money!

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Durable outdoor carpet. Very light, easy to pick up and clean. We ued them to cover concrete. It looks so much warmer and more natural. Much more comfortable to walk on. For the price, the carpet could be used to cover a nice sized area with several of them.
Pros: Looks Great, Comfortable, Great Accent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Lovettsville, VA 20180, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO happy with these rugs!!

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have one of these on my small back deck, to prevent the surface from being so hot when the sun is out and 2 more that I used together to put in a patio gazebo. So far I LOVE them!! Haven't had long enough to see how they perform in the mold/mildew issue. But as quickly as they dry, I don't think it will be a problem. What a great value!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hobnail Taupe 6 ft. x 8 ft. Indoor/Outdoor Area Rug
from Illinois

Great value

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I saw a blog post wherein the author had purchased this rug and painted a design. I was looking for an inexpensive cover for my patio, and this fit the bill. It is much less expensive than almost any other covering I could find. I did find that the texture was such (very knobby) that it made painting a design a bit of a challenge, but I'm very happy with the end result. I was a little worried about ordering something like a rug sight unseen, but I'm happy with the quality and feel (textured and appropriately robust, but not overly scratchy).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 28 >>