728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Gator Cordless Hand Vac

Gator Cordless Hand Vac

Gator action means your hands never touch the dirt. The versatility of a built-in crevice tool and a detachable power brushroll! The Gator series hand vacs feature a flip open dirt cup for easy emptying. Dump the dirt without getting your hands messy. The power brush roll easily slides on and off allowing you to move from carpet and upholstery to hard surfaces. This Gator hand vac includes smart charging technology that has earned an Energy Star rating.
Overall rating:
3.4 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product18 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(9)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product18 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
Review 1 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Culpeper, VA 22701, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best hand held vacuum

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had another electric hand-held vacuum and it never cleaned/picked up hair or dirt the way I wanted it to. I had a friend who had one of these and I had tried it at his house so I bought one! I absolutely love it! It has strong suction and is perfect for collecting the stink bugs and cat hair around my house!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from albany ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Gator keeps Losing its Head!

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I always have a couple cordless hand helds around to do quick clean ups of cat hair, litter etc that seems to find it's way all over - every day! I have been faithfully using the Shark SV780. I have no complaints about the Shark I just decided to try something different.
As far as the cleaning power & battery life of the Gator I have no complaints. It vacuums just fine, picking up everything I could see anyway. I was able to vacuum the area needed w/o the battery dying which is about 1000 sq feet - touch up carpets, curtains, couch, chair covers, cat beds, misc stuff like that.
I have 2 issues with the Dirt Devil Gator:
1. The roller brush attachment is always falling off! It can be removed so you can pull out an attachment for along walls, corners - which is a nice idea - but with this main piece removable, for whatever reason, it constantly falls off! I just vacuumed & it came off 5 times. They could have easily made it so you could lock it down.
2. The dirt cup is another thing I really don't like. They designed this so you are supposed just open up the cup & hold it over the trash & everything falls out - you are not supposed to have to touch the dirt.. However, When you are vacuuming up dust & especially cat hair it tends to stick to the plastic interior. (Maybe from static electricity.) so you have to use your fingers to pull it all out.
For anyone looking for a cordless handheld I would have to recommend the Shark cordless (get the stronger motor). It's around $60 but it's worth it. I would not get this again & if I had the box I'd return it.
Pros: Performs Well, Nice Design
Cons: Dust Chamber, Clogs, Difficult to Use, Difficult to Empty Filter, brush attachment falls off - a lot!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from New Jersey, USA

Better than a DustBuster!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Weight 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works very well. It does not come with a wall mount which may be important to some. A good alternative to and actually better than a DustBuster. A bit more powerful!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Hayward, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very pleased with the cleaning results

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my Dirt Devil cordless hand vac. It is a great cleaning tool, especially with the added feature of the furniture cleaning tool. It is also great to vacumm the inside of my auto. I recommend the Dirt Devil cordless vac to everyone!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design, perfect cordless vacumm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac

Power to Spare

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is very powerful...it almost jumps out of your hand. Great price. I've had it now for 4 months and haven't noticed the batter draining more quickly. I wish it had a way to wall mount.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from san angelo
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

honestly Not worth it...

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one mainly for my cats litter that she makes a mess out of all the time. the power is really low once you charge it for 24 hours it still dont make a diffrence. I was so not worth my 50$. In general it hardly picks up anything...
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy, low suction
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac

Worth buying

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is worth the money. I would buy it again for someone else.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from New York, New York

Does the job well.

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little hand vacuum is as powerful as some large ones. I use it to vacuum my couch, chairs, pick up crumbs, etc. It is a great product.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Spring, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Will not hold a charge

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I let the battery charge fully before using it for the very first time. As soon as it is turned on, I can hear the battery dying down. Simply will not hold a charge. Will return to store.
Cons: Suction, Performance, Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By DirtDevilFebruary 12, 2014By DirtDevilFebruary 12, 2014
Hi Spring 2014, try running your Gator's battery down completely and then charge the battery for 16 hours. If your Gator does not give you at least 8 minutes of consistent run time, give us a call at 800-321-1134, We'll be more than happy to assist you. Thanks so much.

-Ian
Dirt Devil Customer CareDirtdevil
Review 10 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Battle Ground, WA , USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

This thing works well!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have only used this hand-vac a couple of times but seems to work well so far!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very Good Hand Vac

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Strong pickup power and easy to clean. Wish it had a bracket for hanging on the wall. Charge last longer than others I have purchased.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Lacks Power

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not nearly as powerful as I was lead to believe. I upgraded to get better suction. It didn't happen. Not terrible. Just not that great.
Pros: Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Suction, Performance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Trenton, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Overpriced and disappointing

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the Dirt Devil Gater because of other Dirt Devils I have. This unit seems under powered. It works better on carpet or rugs (with the included attachment) then on hardwood floors. The extend nozzle extends but does not add anything in capability or effectiveness. The dirt collector system is too small. The dirt removal process just plain stinks; the flip opening is ackward and the filter trap requires removal of the cover to properly remove all dirt. My old unit was better, but new batteries were exhorbitent.
Cons: Performance, Difficult to Empty Filter, does not come with a wall mount
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

love the job it does!

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is well worth the money I paid. I am extremely happy with the purchase. I bought a new couch and at the same time, got a new dog. I bought it with intentions on keeping my new couch decent since she's a hairy dog. It does an excellent job! It holds charge very well, has great suction, and is easy to clean. The only negative I can think of is that I wish it wasn't quite as heavy, but it's not super heavy by any means- its manageable.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had purchased another brand cordless handheld vacuum about two years ago. I bought this one to replace it as it is now broken. This is a much better unit in terms of suction, feel and weight. Have to wait to see about the durability but so far thumbs up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Chino Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

This vac sucks

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product with great suction for its size. The beater bar is great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac

the product is good

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the vac has plenty of suction and the brush roller works well. the only downfall is the crevice tool won't stay out !!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac

This product was purchased for vacumming steps but ran out of power before all 12 steps were completed.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Email notification about product status for pickup from store was excellent. Customer Service at pickup was good.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: Suction, Performance, too short charge power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

excellent for pet hair

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have five cats and 3 dogs and this vac works wonders! easy to use on upholstery, plus has an attachment for hair!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gator Cordless Hand Vac
from CA

Great for everyday use.

PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Has the power for everyday use. I can vacuum the car, small dry spills, and the sofas. Still need a a vacuum cleaner for heavy duty use.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>