728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Jobsite Radios or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Powered by all Milwaukee 12-Volt-28Volt batteries including M series, V series and NiCad; the Jobsite Radio delivers the highest reception accuracy and signal clarity in its class with an exclusive AM/FM tuner and digital processor. In addition, the Job Site Radio features premium speakers that produce a rich, full sound and a built in weather sealed MP3 compartment to protect MP3 players and other audio devices. Backed by legendary Milwaukee durability, a shock absorbing ABS polymer and steel construction protects internal components from weather and abusive job site conditions.
Overall rating:
4.015 / 5
4
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product100 of 125reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(37)
3
(17)
2
(4)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product100 of 125reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Central Valley California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Stereo for outdoor use

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The radio is loud and has good quality sound. The interior compartment door is weatherstripped and tight. The compartment holds the batteries and your MP3 player. There is a USB charging port for when your plugged in. It will keep your player/cell phone charged while listening. The problem I have with mine is the red color on some of the panels turned almost salmon or pink color from the sun. Clearly UV fading is an issue. This happened within a couple of weeks from purchase. Otherwise I would have given this item a 5 star rating...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: plastic color fades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Great product

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this radio last weekend, so far I am impressed. The radio has good sound quality with little distortion when it's to the max. At first my intention was to plug it into my garage outlet but gave the battery a shot to test it out, I am using the smallest 18v 1.5 amp battery that milwaukee offers and through out the whole week for a few hours at night the battery is still at 4 bars battery strength. The only niche I have with it is that the seek buttons you have to really press hard and it tends to skip the digits you are after by doing so. Over all I would defiantly recommend this to someone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Rochester, NH
Gender:Male

Awesome jobsite/workshop radio

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After carefully considering the other jobsite radios, I decided to go with the Milwaukee because the price was right and it has a USB plug. I can't be happier. This radio sounds like a home stereo system, the deep bass and crystal clear treble makes this unit sound like an expensive system. Athough it lacks the spare AC outlets, so what? I'm not going to use those anyway, they're more of a bragging option than anything else. One thing I'd like to point out is the new unit does not have a 12v plug on the back. Instead you get a USB plug inside the large water-tight compartment. Just wanted to point that out, in case you're looking for a 12v plug.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Columbus Ohio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Milwaukee job site radio has been a great investment so far. I bring the radio with me everywhere. It is great to have around whether I am working or partying! It is really loud and produces a high quality sound. It is really convenient that the radio uses the same batteries as my Milwaukee drill/driver set. The only thing that disappoints me about the radio is I wish the USB port would work when the radio was being powered by the batteries. Other than that I love this radio.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Good loud.

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product I thought it wasn't strong but I changed my mind ones I tried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Awesome

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item beats the dewalt hands down. Clearer stations
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Milwaukee radio

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product
Fast shipping
Everything was overall great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Traverse City, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy, well designed and good sound.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit has all of the basic features and is well designed. The battery , sold separately, is very expensive and apparently does not charge in the radio while plugged into AC power. Otherwise, the sound is fair and the unit seems to be good and tough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Nope

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to go along with my Fuel set (amazing btw).
The pros: This is a very sturdy radio that accepts most Milwaukee batteries which is great. Everything design wise seems to be well thought of on the exterior. Antenna folds down and is protected by the aluminum casing. Easy to read display. Backup batteries are AA. Ipod input via aux.
Cons: Unit is HUGE for what it does. It weighs in at 15lbs with NO battery. It has a scan button instead of a seek. Sound quality is pretty poor. I could deal with poor sound if it had volume. You cannot turn this unit all the way up without dealing with severe distortion. 3/4 is as good as you can do without suffering an audio migraine. If you rest the radio unconventionally there is a good chance the battery will not stay in the unit. It will however remain in a sealed enclosure rolling around with your ipod. There is a USB port but this radio will not charge your IPOD or device unless it is plugged into an receptacle. Milwaukee sells an adapter to charge your phone that uses your tools batteries. Why did they not incorporate that feature is a $100+ unit? I know this is a radio but why did they not add the charger feature? Several other companies radio's charge the batteries while playing. Considering the size of the electronics in a charger and the enormous amount of space in this radio I think it could have been easily accomplished.
So if you need a very sturdy radio that must use your tools batteries then yes this is your best option. I am returning mine because I refuse to spend this kind of money on such a poor product. I instead will use my Bluetooth speaker that I can attach to my person and stream all day with plenty of clarity and volume for less than half the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Great radio for the money!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio a few weeks back! It's a great radio for the money. Does all u want and was fairly inexpensive in today's standards! I'd highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

buy this one. dont go cheap with others you will not be happy. Well worth the money.

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
give it a 5 if it had blu tooth and charged batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Victoria BC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Product

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought Milwaukee radio today and am more than impressed - blown away with it's quality.
I've owned numerous radios, boom boxes and stereos even Yamaha tuner amps.
The Milwaukee puts them all to shame and surpasses all my expectations at a great price.
Easy and straight forward to operate. Great sound and tuner locks in stations I never knew existed.
Plus the style and features are so well designed.
Looks great (sort of retro) and is exactly what I needed in my den.
Deserves six stars.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Ft.Wayne ,IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The price was not bad for the quaitly

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everyone that see the radio love it and ask me whereeI got it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Pretty Much Rocks.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the Milwaukee M18 set, so it was only natural I received this as a Father's Day gift last year. I wasn't expecting a lot from it sound wise considering it is what it is (a job-site radio). However, I was blown away when I got to first enjoy it that evening with the family at a nearby drive-in theater. During Madagascar 3 I was certain the low end I was hearing was coming from a neighboring vehicle with a sound system, but I was extremely surprised when I muted it and no longer heard the bass. I can honestly say I have never heard a portable, non-jobsite radio sound this good. Listening to music on this bad boy during jobs is a real pleasure as everything sound wise is fairly accurate, from lows to highs. Everyone else is as blown away by it as I was when I first enjoyed it. Aside from looks it is hard to believe it is a jobsite radio. Plus, Milwaukee built this radio like a tank and has durable aluminum handles on all sides, makes lugging it around not too shabby. The locking waterproof/dust-proof battery and auxiliary compartment has come in handy when using it with my android phone many times, especially when sanding drywall or during an unexpected rain storm when working outdoors.
Cons:
It doesn't charge my battery packs, but it doesn't claim to and at its price-point I don't expect it to.
The antenna can be a bit weak for distant radio stations, but if using with MP3 player or other-device no big whoop.
My only real issue is that the USB charging capability is weak at 500mA max output (same as a computer). Meaning if your using your phone to play streaming music (Pandora, iHeartradio, etc.), it's just enough to keep your device alive but that's about it.
Other Thoughts:
I wouldn't give this bad dude up for another brand at all. Although I would upgrade to another Milwaukee if they incorporated a battery charging capability and updated the USB charging option to 1mA or higher. Otherwise, it's near perfect. If your considering making the purchase, I wouldn't hesitate for a second on buying it if I had to. Hands down the best Father's Day gift that I have ever received.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, sound repoduction is amazing
Cons: Limited Features
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from frankenmuth,mi

quality radio!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio for landscape and construction work. This radio rides in the truck/bed of the truck every day. The sound quality easilly beats the dewalt and bosch radio. A nice bit of information, we work 10 to 12 hour days, and the radio will last all day on the 18V lithium ion battery, much longer than I expected. The ipod/mp3 compatablity is great, this radio will work with anything that has a normal headphone jack, so any mp3 player, and many phones. the radio is plenty loud and the bass and trebble are both very clear. a great product, would recommend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Blown away, literally!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this radio as a replacment to a competitors branded radio. This Milwaukee radio is absolutely worth every penny! The volume is loud and has depth and remains clear at even a higher volume. Love the sealed port for mp3 and battery compartment. If youre on the fence for a job radio go with this puppy. You wont be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from NY

This thing ..... ROCKS !!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio the other day and WOW !!!
Very impressed with the sound quality. The 40 Watt amplified speakers are LOUD. I have only turned it up 1/2 way and that is too loud for my 20 x 30 family room. If you want BASS this thing has got it !
The reception is also excellent, as I am able to pick up a few stations my other radio can barely touch.
If you have various milwaukee batteries ( ANY size !) they will power the unit. MP3 hook up included in the weatherproof upper compartment. I also keep my 12V cell phone charger (cigarette lighter style) in the compartment as this thing has a 12v output to charge it..
Overall excellent radio , extremely durable . Great for the worksite .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Huxley, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great addition to our outdoor fun!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great radio/player. It was in constant use over the holiday weekend. My brother in law received one as a gift so it came highly recommended. Best price was here at Home Depot. Thanks!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

The best job site radio

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got my Milwaukee radio for Christmas and I used it for 2 years and love i am a Milwaukee fan and love it more than dewalt dealt is good still but the new Milwaukee radio is gonna be even better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Aviston, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Warranty - Did not hold up

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Researched tools and job site radios. Decided to go with Milwaukee tools and job site radio. Did not like the fact that the radio did not charge the battery, but minor issue. The radio sounded good and the Ipod attachment was very useful. However, the warranty for the radio is only a year unlike five years for the tools. There is a reason for this, two years after buying the radio it no longer works. I am disappointed that Milwaukee does not stand behind (warranty) the job site radio product for five years.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>