728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Jobsite Radios or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Powered by all Milwaukee 12-Volt-28Volt batteries including M series, V series and NiCad; the jobsite radio delivers the highest reception accuracy and signal clarity in its class with an exclusive AM/FM tuner and digital processor. In addition, the radio features premium speakers that produce a rich, full sound and a built in weather sealed MP3 compartment to protect MP3 players and other audio devices. Backed by legendary Milwaukee durability, a shock absorbing ABS polymer and steel construction protects internal components from weather and abusive job site conditions.
Overall rating:
4.116 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 171
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product132 of 160reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(92)
4
(42)
3
(18)
2
(6)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product132 of 160reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 130 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from hilo hawaii
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

loud.solid.reliable signal

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this is the best radio I've ever had. well worth the 100$
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Central Valley California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Stereo for outdoor use

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The radio is loud and has good quality sound. The interior compartment door is weatherstripped and tight. The compartment holds the batteries and your MP3 player. There is a USB charging port for when your plugged in. It will keep your player/cell phone charged while listening. The problem I have with mine is the red color on some of the panels turned almost salmon or pink color from the sun. Clearly UV fading is an issue. This happened within a couple of weeks from purchase. Otherwise I would have given this item a 5 star rating...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: plastic color fades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Rochester, NH
Gender:Male

Awesome jobsite/workshop radio

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After carefully considering the other jobsite radios, I decided to go with the Milwaukee because the price was right and it has a USB plug. I can't be happier. This radio sounds like a home stereo system, the deep bass and crystal clear treble makes this unit sound like an expensive system. Athough it lacks the spare AC outlets, so what? I'm not going to use those anyway, they're more of a bragging option than anything else. One thing I'd like to point out is the new unit does not have a 12v plug on the back. Instead you get a USB plug inside the large water-tight compartment. Just wanted to point that out, in case you're looking for a 12v plug.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Lehigh Valley, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Best radio ever!

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are on our second radio (only because husband left first one in the rain!) and it is the best sounding radio ever. We keep it on our deck all summer and take it to the beach. Can't say enough good things about the quality and sound!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great purchase

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value for the money,wouldn't change a thing,love it
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from frankenmuth,mi

quality radio!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this radio for landscape and construction work. This radio rides in the truck/bed of the truck every day. The sound quality easilly beats the dewalt and bosch radio. A nice bit of information, we work 10 to 12 hour days, and the radio will last all day on the 18V lithium ion battery, much longer than I expected. The ipod/mp3 compatablity is great, this radio will work with anything that has a normal headphone jack, so any mp3 player, and many phones. the radio is plenty loud and the bass and trebble are both very clear. a great product, would recommend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Pretty Much Rocks.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have the Milwaukee M18 set, so it was only natural I received this as a Father's Day gift last year. I wasn't expecting a lot from it sound wise considering it is what it is (a job-site radio). However, I was blown away when I got to first enjoy it that evening with the family at a nearby drive-in theater. During Madagascar 3 I was certain the low end I was hearing was coming from a neighboring vehicle with a sound system, but I was extremely surprised when I muted it and no longer heard the bass. I can honestly say I have never heard a portable, non-jobsite radio sound this good. Listening to music on this bad boy during jobs is a real pleasure as everything sound wise is fairly accurate, from lows to highs. Everyone else is as blown away by it as I was when I first enjoyed it. Aside from looks it is hard to believe it is a jobsite radio. Plus, Milwaukee built this radio like a tank and has durable aluminum handles on all sides, makes lugging it around not too shabby. The locking waterproof/dust-proof battery and auxiliary compartment has come in handy when using it with my android phone many times, especially when sanding drywall or during an unexpected rain storm when working outdoors.
Cons:
It doesn't charge my battery packs, but it doesn't claim to and at its price-point I don't expect it to.
The antenna can be a bit weak for distant radio stations, but if using with MP3 player or other-device no big whoop.
My only real issue is that the USB charging capability is weak at 500mA max output (same as a computer). Meaning if your using your phone to play streaming music (Pandora, iHeartradio, etc.), it's just enough to keep your device alive but that's about it.
Other Thoughts:
I wouldn't give this bad dude up for another brand at all. Although I would upgrade to another Milwaukee if they incorporated a battery charging capability and updated the USB charging option to 1mA or higher. Otherwise, it's near perfect. If your considering making the purchase, I wouldn't hesitate for a second on buying it if I had to. Hands down the best Father's Day gift that I have ever received.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, sound repoduction is amazing
Cons: Limited Features
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best job-site radio out there!

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is hands down the best job-site radio available. At $119.00 I was a little skeptical about the price considering it is just a radio but when i thought about how many other cheaply made radios I've gone through i thought hey you get what you pay for, in this case it is true. Very clear sound I've never had an issue trying to find my favorite stations. The best part is its super tough, mine has fallen off a 12 ft deck onto a concrete pad only to continue playing!! Would recommend this to ANYONE looking for a tough radio on the job-site or even to just keep in the garage! Owned this radio for roughly 8-9 months now used almost every day for 4-5 days a week!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: haven't found one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Tough as it gets..

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Short and Sweet.... This box stands up to abuse and still delivers. Seen it side by side with all of the others ... clearly the best...hands down .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from NY

This thing ..... ROCKS !!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this radio the other day and WOW !!!
Very impressed with the sound quality. The 40 Watt amplified speakers are LOUD. I have only turned it up 1/2 way and that is too loud for my 20 x 30 family room. If you want BASS this thing has got it !
The reception is also excellent, as I am able to pick up a few stations my other radio can barely touch.
If you have various milwaukee batteries ( ANY size !) they will power the unit. MP3 hook up included in the weatherproof upper compartment. I also keep my 12V cell phone charger (cigarette lighter style) in the compartment as this thing has a 12v output to charge it..
Overall excellent radio , extremely durable . Great for the worksite .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Blown away, literally!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this radio as a replacment to a competitors branded radio. This Milwaukee radio is absolutely worth every penny! The volume is loud and has depth and remains clear at even a higher volume. Love the sealed port for mp3 and battery compartment. If youre on the fence for a job radio go with this puppy. You wont be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Appleton, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love the radio

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wanted a radio for outdoors. Reception and sound is excellent.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from usa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good/ needs 100watts rms per channel

PostedMay 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
its a good start im gonna gut the tiny amp and speakers and make it sing..
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Columbus Ohio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My Milwaukee job site radio has been a great investment so far. I bring the radio with me everywhere. It is great to have around whether I am working or partying! It is really loud and produces a high quality sound. It is really convenient that the radio uses the same batteries as my Milwaukee drill/driver set. The only thing that disappoints me about the radio is I wish the USB port would work when the radio was being powered by the batteries. Other than that I love this radio.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Aviston, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Warranty - Did not hold up

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Researched tools and job site radios. Decided to go with Milwaukee tools and job site radio. Did not like the fact that the radio did not charge the battery, but minor issue. The radio sounded good and the Ipod attachment was very useful. However, the warranty for the radio is only a year unlike five years for the tools. There is a reason for this, two years after buying the radio it no longer works. I am disappointed that Milwaukee does not stand behind (warranty) the job site radio product for five years.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Blanket Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Radio

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The radio has better reception than my last radio getting the stations in clearer and louder. It also has a port to plug up a IPOD.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Exelent product

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I definitely recommend this product . You get excellent quality for low price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Age Range:18 to 24
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great radio

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Absolutely love this radio. The durable construction and versatility make it perfect for whatever the situation. You can plug it in the wall or run it off of a Milwaukee battery. I like how the top compartment has a seal around it so a phone/MP3 player can be put in there and you don't have to worry about light moisture or dust getting to it. The USB port inside the top is nice for charging a phone or MP3 player, but you can only play music through the aux cord that's included. Speakers put out great sound and radio reception is pretty good.
The only thing that could be nicer about this product is that is does not charge Milwaukee batteries when it is plugged in the wall.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

very nice radio

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works great except when i turn on the lights in my trailer . There is something in the LED light that blocks the signal. But great radio.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from New York

Well made

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I first need to make it clear my priorities for choosing a radio were, best sound, ipod capable, while keeping it hidden from the dust, and the weight. Did not want something too heavy. I first purchased the smaller Milwaukee. It is well made, with good sound quality. It was just too small for outside work, but for inside one room at a time work, it would be perfect. I returned it and bought the Makita. It was easy to carry around and did not take up too much room in the van. Unfortunately the sound quality was too bassy, and no way to adjust it. I often listen to talk radio so clarity is important. It was returned. Finally picked up the Milwaukee 2790 and I'm happy I did. It is well made, with a simple, thoughtful design. The sound quality is excellent with an EQ button to adjust the bass and treble. The ipod is also very well hidden. It is a bit heavier than I wanted but it is a worthwhile tradeoff. I looked at the Rigid and the DeWalt but did not like the reviews, nor the way they were put together. Also they were more money with options not important to me. The Milwaukee is a good radio and I recommend it highly.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>