728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Jobsite Radios or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Powered by all Milwaukee 12-Volt-28Volt batteries including M series, V series and NiCad; the Jobsite Radio delivers the highest reception accuracy and signal clarity in its class with an exclusive AM/FM tuner and digital processor. In addition, the Job Site Radio features premium speakers that produce a rich, full sound and a built in weather sealed MP3 compartment to protect MP3 players and other audio devices. Backed by legendary Milwaukee durability, a shock absorbing ABS polymer and steel construction protects internal components from weather and abusive job site conditions.
Overall rating:
3.961 / 5
4
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product71 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(27)
3
(17)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product71 of 91reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 55 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Justin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best radio I have ever bought for work.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I work in a machine shop and it can get a little noisy. I can crank this thing about halfway up and hear it a 100' across the shop, Not only can I hear it but the sound quality is amazing! We have a few other guys in the shop with a couple other brands of Jobsite radios and have compared them sense I bought this one and it has the best sound quality out of the 5 different ones we have. A few of my coworkers have went out and purchased this radio as well cause the price is right and the quality is the best. I would have given this product a 5 star rating if it would have has a remote. That was the only down side but I think I'll live.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Morgieporgie

Awesome!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow! This radio is Awesome......You can't beat the price....I can't believe the quality of performance.
You will love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Bassfearmee
from Rochester, NH
Gender:Male

Awesome jobsite/workshop radio

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After carefully considering the other jobsite radios, I decided to go with the Milwaukee because the price was right and it has a USB plug. I can't be happier. This radio sounds like a home stereo system, the deep bass and crystal clear treble makes this unit sound like an expensive system. Athough it lacks the spare AC outlets, so what? I'm not going to use those anyway, they're more of a bragging option than anything else. One thing I'd like to point out is the new unit does not have a 12v plug on the back. Instead you get a USB plug inside the large water-tight compartment. Just wanted to point that out, in case you're looking for a 12v plug.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
mikey
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Blown away, literally!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this radio as a replacment to a competitors branded radio. This Milwaukee radio is absolutely worth every penny! The volume is loud and has depth and remains clear at even a higher volume. Love the sealed port for mp3 and battery compartment. If youre on the fence for a job radio go with this puppy. You wont be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Lisa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great sound

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been very glad I purchased this for my husband for Christmas. It has good sound, and it is very durable. I like the fact it is IPOD compatible.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
JoeyTheDIYer
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Pretty Much Rocks.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the Milwaukee M18 set, so it was only natural I received this as a Father's Day gift last year. I wasn't expecting a lot from it sound wise considering it is what it is (a job-site radio). However, I was blown away when I got to first enjoy it that evening with the family at a nearby drive-in theater. During Madagascar 3 I was certain the low end I was hearing was coming from a neighboring vehicle with a sound system, but I was extremely surprised when I muted it and no longer heard the bass. I can honestly say I have never heard a portable, non-jobsite radio sound this good. Listening to music on this bad boy during jobs is a real pleasure as everything sound wise is fairly accurate, from lows to highs. Everyone else is as blown away by it as I was when I first enjoyed it. Aside from looks it is hard to believe it is a jobsite radio. Plus, Milwaukee built this radio like a tank and has durable aluminum handles on all sides, makes lugging it around not too shabby. The locking waterproof/dust-proof battery and auxiliary compartment has come in handy when using it with my android phone many times, especially when sanding drywall or during an unexpected rain storm when working outdoors.
Cons:
It doesn't charge my battery packs, but it doesn't claim to and at its price-point I don't expect it to.
The antenna can be a bit weak for distant radio stations, but if using with MP3 player or other-device no big whoop.
My only real issue is that the USB charging capability is weak at 500mA max output (same as a computer). Meaning if your using your phone to play streaming music (Pandora, iHeartradio, etc.), it's just enough to keep your device alive but that's about it.
Other Thoughts:
I wouldn't give this bad dude up for another brand at all. Although I would upgrade to another Milwaukee if they incorporated a battery charging capability and updated the USB charging option to 1mA or higher. Otherwise, it's near perfect. If your considering making the purchase, I wouldn't hesitate for a second on buying it if I had to. Hands down the best Father's Day gift that I have ever received.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, sound repoduction is amazing
Cons: Limited Features
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
covo
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product sounds great clear and crisp sound!!

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for such a nice radio sounds great clear and crisp sound it sounds like a house stereo and home depot has the best prices in town.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
CKCRRanch
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty Job Site Radio

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The radio is just what I wanted. have gone through 3 others of other manufacture. This one works and picks up channels others don't.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
RCF1
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sound and ruggedly built

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Radio is very loud with clear sound. The ipod input is easy to use. I hsvr only used it plugged into an outlet so I can't speak to the battery life. One thing I had not thought about until i got it was that it needs a separate battery installed to hold the station pre-sets. All in all a great radio for a shop environment.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, good sound
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
DG48734
from frankenmuth,mi

quality radio!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio for landscape and construction work. This radio rides in the truck/bed of the truck every day. The sound quality easilly beats the dewalt and bosch radio. A nice bit of information, we work 10 to 12 hour days, and the radio will last all day on the 18V lithium ion battery, much longer than I expected. The ipod/mp3 compatablity is great, this radio will work with anything that has a normal headphone jack, so any mp3 player, and many phones. the radio is plenty loud and the bass and trebble are both very clear. a great product, would recommend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
MrK5
from Greeley, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice radio! Great sound.

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had read the reviews here and was encouraged to hear several good comments about the sound quality. I was not disappointed as it really does have good, deep sound with a nice punch.
Love having the digital radio tuner and presets.
I was surprised at the weight of the radio. I expected it to be lightweight but it has a decent heft to it. Not too heavy to carry around but instead makes the radio feel like it's built sturdy. I'm wondering if the weight comes from good drivers for the speakers which results in the sound quality or if it's a bit of weight added intentionally so the radio isn't too easy to knock around.
Overall very pleased with no complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, great sound
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Fred
from New England
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than satisfied.

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I pulled the almost new 6 1/2 skill saw from the trash because the previous owner did not want to pay the cost to replace the V-28 batteries. I contacted milwaukee service and was told if you don't use the battery at least once a week they go bad. I bought an M-28 battery so I could try out the saw and am impressed with it's power. I think it is the best skillsaw I've owned so far. Now I have this expensive battery that will not be used weekly all winter long and this is why I bought the radio. So far the radio has been on for 16 hours and the radio battery indicator has not gone down. This has better FM reception than my Sony receiver with a powered antenna. Sounds good just like everyone is writing. I intend to use the radio to excersize the battery when it's not being used on tools. Now I'm worried that the battery will last to long in this radio. I did not need another radio but the more I listen to this one the more I'm liking it. I only gave it 3 stars because I don't know how durable it is. Is it quality?, Will it last 5 years?.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, great reception
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Duffy3
from NY

This thing ..... ROCKS !!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio the other day and WOW !!!
Very impressed with the sound quality. The 40 Watt amplified speakers are LOUD. I have only turned it up 1/2 way and that is too loud for my 20 x 30 family room. If you want BASS this thing has got it !
The reception is also excellent, as I am able to pick up a few stations my other radio can barely touch.
If you have various milwaukee batteries ( ANY size !) they will power the unit. MP3 hook up included in the weatherproof upper compartment. I also keep my 12V cell phone charger (cigarette lighter style) in the compartment as this thing has a 12v output to charge it..
Overall excellent radio , extremely durable . Great for the worksite .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Sammy
from Aviston, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Short Warranty - Did not hold up

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Researched tools and job site radios. Decided to go with Milwaukee tools and job site radio. Did not like the fact that the radio did not charge the battery, but minor issue. The radio sounded good and the Ipod attachment was very useful. However, the warranty for the radio is only a year unlike five years for the tools. There is a reason for this, two years after buying the radio it no longer works. I am disappointed that Milwaukee does not stand behind (warranty) the job site radio product for five years.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
pacudebbi
from Wakeman, OH 44889, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very sturdy, great sound - LOVE IT!!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas for his garage where we work on cars. This is very well constructed with great sound & protective area for ipod/iphone. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Fred
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sounds Good

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this radio for three days. Purchased this radio to keep my new M-28 battery excercised during the winter months. Battery lasts about 24 hours at medium volume. The radio will never be on a jobsite so if it lasts longer than 5 years I will upgrade to 3 stars, 10 years, 5 stars. The radio sounds excellent and gets better reception than my Sony home receiver with a powered antenna.
Quality unknown at this time.
Pros: battery excercise
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Wahoo
from Davie, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Has great reception and well built

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice looking, picks up stations well, has in put for I phone or I pod. The battery is rechargeable and lasts for a long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Brian

Nice when iot works

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Radio has a habit of shutting it's self off when it feels like it.Found a service bulletin on Milwaukee site that says to unplug it and pull the AA batteries out of it to reset the processor . A real pain.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Ryan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great radio

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really is a great radio, it works off of so many differnt batteries, it has a place to hook your mp3 player up to it to charge it and listen to it at the same time. It lets you plug it in too if you are near an outlet so not to use the battery. The radio picks up many stations very clearly, it had good speakers, very loud. Seems to have very good battery life.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Kaos
from Savannah, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product has excellent sound quality

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After pondering the idea of purchasing a new radio, I decided to give this millwaukee radio a try. I was very impressed with the sound quality. The over all look the radio and its durability is wonderful. I recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>