728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Jobsite Radios or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Powered by all Milwaukee 12-Volt-28Volt batteries including M series, V series and NiCad; the Jobsite Radio delivers the highest reception accuracy and signal clarity in its class with an exclusive AM/FM tuner and digital processor. In addition, the Job Site Radio features premium speakers that produce a rich, full sound and a built in weather sealed MP3 compartment to protect MP3 players and other audio devices. Backed by legendary Milwaukee durability, a shock absorbing ABS polymer and steel construction protects internal components from weather and abusive job site conditions.
Overall rating:
4.026 / 5
4
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product85 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(56)
4
(31)
3
(17)
2
(3)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product85 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 69 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Columbus Ohio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Purchase

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Milwaukee job site radio has been a great investment so far. I bring the radio with me everywhere. It is great to have around whether I am working or partying! It is really loud and produces a high quality sound. It is really convenient that the radio uses the same batteries as my Milwaukee drill/driver set. The only thing that disappoints me about the radio is I wish the USB port would work when the radio was being powered by the batteries. Other than that I love this radio.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Central Valley California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Stereo for outdoor use

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The radio is loud and has good quality sound. The interior compartment door is weatherstripped and tight. The compartment holds the batteries and your MP3 player. There is a USB charging port for when your plugged in. It will keep your player/cell phone charged while listening. The problem I have with mine is the red color on some of the panels turned almost salmon or pink color from the sun. Clearly UV fading is an issue. This happened within a couple of weeks from purchase. Otherwise I would have given this item a 5 star rating...
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: plastic color fades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Rochester, NH
Gender:Male

Awesome jobsite/workshop radio

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After carefully considering the other jobsite radios, I decided to go with the Milwaukee because the price was right and it has a USB plug. I can't be happier. This radio sounds like a home stereo system, the deep bass and crystal clear treble makes this unit sound like an expensive system. Athough it lacks the spare AC outlets, so what? I'm not going to use those anyway, they're more of a bragging option than anything else. One thing I'd like to point out is the new unit does not have a 12v plug on the back. Instead you get a USB plug inside the large water-tight compartment. Just wanted to point that out, in case you're looking for a 12v plug.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Sounds Great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I usually don't review items, but this job-worksite radio sounds much better than the rest I've heard. I have always had expensive stereos, so I appreciate a full sound. Yes, this is just a small "boombox" type unit, but it has a really balanced sound and is worth every penny. I'm not comparing features... just basing my opinion on sound quality, which was what I was looking for.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Blown away, literally!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this radio as a replacment to a competitors branded radio. This Milwaukee radio is absolutely worth every penny! The volume is loud and has depth and remains clear at even a higher volume. Love the sealed port for mp3 and battery compartment. If youre on the fence for a job radio go with this puppy. You wont be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Des Moines, IA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Pretty Much Rocks.

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the Milwaukee M18 set, so it was only natural I received this as a Father's Day gift last year. I wasn't expecting a lot from it sound wise considering it is what it is (a job-site radio). However, I was blown away when I got to first enjoy it that evening with the family at a nearby drive-in theater. During Madagascar 3 I was certain the low end I was hearing was coming from a neighboring vehicle with a sound system, but I was extremely surprised when I muted it and no longer heard the bass. I can honestly say I have never heard a portable, non-jobsite radio sound this good. Listening to music on this bad boy during jobs is a real pleasure as everything sound wise is fairly accurate, from lows to highs. Everyone else is as blown away by it as I was when I first enjoyed it. Aside from looks it is hard to believe it is a jobsite radio. Plus, Milwaukee built this radio like a tank and has durable aluminum handles on all sides, makes lugging it around not too shabby. The locking waterproof/dust-proof battery and auxiliary compartment has come in handy when using it with my android phone many times, especially when sanding drywall or during an unexpected rain storm when working outdoors.
Cons:
It doesn't charge my battery packs, but it doesn't claim to and at its price-point I don't expect it to.
The antenna can be a bit weak for distant radio stations, but if using with MP3 player or other-device no big whoop.
My only real issue is that the USB charging capability is weak at 500mA max output (same as a computer). Meaning if your using your phone to play streaming music (Pandora, iHeartradio, etc.), it's just enough to keep your device alive but that's about it.
Other Thoughts:
I wouldn't give this bad dude up for another brand at all. Although I would upgrade to another Milwaukee if they incorporated a battery charging capability and updated the USB charging option to 1mA or higher. Otherwise, it's near perfect. If your considering making the purchase, I wouldn't hesitate for a second on buying it if I had to. Hands down the best Father's Day gift that I have ever received.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, sound repoduction is amazing
Cons: Limited Features
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Chicago, IL.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Sound

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The radio sounds great, sounds like a much bigger unit than it is, it is my favorite radio to even play at home.
The only reason I gave it 4 stars is
1.) the battery level meter does not work
2.) does not charge the battery when it is plugged in
3.) no bluetooth
Other than the listed issues I love it
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from apple valley home depot
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST HEAVY DUTY RADIO EVER

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The radio was a gift from the wife for fathers day i reviewed all heavy duty radios and this one by far beat out all the other ones so far no problems and like every thing it has to offer and its water proof which i like was very impressed by the sound quality of the radio .good buy for the money
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sounding Radio

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great speakers for quality sound and volume, great for construction environment where there is a lot of other power tools, generators, & equipment making noises. The digital channel lock is great, especially when you are on the fringe of reception areas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from frankenmuth,mi

quality radio!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio for landscape and construction work. This radio rides in the truck/bed of the truck every day. The sound quality easilly beats the dewalt and bosch radio. A nice bit of information, we work 10 to 12 hour days, and the radio will last all day on the 18V lithium ion battery, much longer than I expected. The ipod/mp3 compatablity is great, this radio will work with anything that has a normal headphone jack, so any mp3 player, and many phones. the radio is plenty loud and the bass and trebble are both very clear. a great product, would recommend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best radio I have ever bought for work.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I work in a machine shop and it can get a little noisy. I can crank this thing about halfway up and hear it a 100' across the shop, Not only can I hear it but the sound quality is amazing! We have a few other guys in the shop with a couple other brands of Jobsite radios and have compared them sense I bought this one and it has the best sound quality out of the 5 different ones we have. A few of my coworkers have went out and purchased this radio as well cause the price is right and the quality is the best. I would have given this product a 5 star rating if it would have has a remote. That was the only down side but I think I'll live.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Strasburg , Va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Tweeter Speakers Blow Out

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the first one and played it for about an hour and both tweeters quit working . Took it back and got another one it did the same thing . I've not seen any other reviews stating this I guess poeple dont know their blown out . Dont buy this radio if your going to play it loud the tweeters will blow !!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great sound

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been very glad I purchased this for my husband for Christmas. It has good sound, and it is very durable. I like the fact it is IPOD compatible.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from wilmington de
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ran the radio for a BBQ. 4 1/2 hours and still didn't have to re-charge. when i did charge the battery, it took about 10-15 minutes. great sound.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from NY

This thing ..... ROCKS !!!!

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this radio the other day and WOW !!!
Very impressed with the sound quality. The 40 Watt amplified speakers are LOUD. I have only turned it up 1/2 way and that is too loud for my 20 x 30 family room. If you want BASS this thing has got it !
The reception is also excellent, as I am able to pick up a few stations my other radio can barely touch.
If you have various milwaukee batteries ( ANY size !) they will power the unit. MP3 hook up included in the weatherproof upper compartment. I also keep my 12V cell phone charger (cigarette lighter style) in the compartment as this thing has a 12v output to charge it..
Overall excellent radio , extremely durable . Great for the worksite .
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty Job Site Radio

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The radio is just what I wanted. have gone through 3 others of other manufacture. This one works and picks up channels others don't.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio

Awesome!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow! This radio is Awesome......You can't beat the price....I can't believe the quality of performance.
You will love it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good sound and ruggedly built

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Radio is very loud with clear sound. The ipod input is easy to use. I hsvr only used it plugged into an outlet so I can't speak to the battery life. One thing I had not thought about until i got it was that it needs a separate battery installed to hold the station pre-sets. All in all a great radio for a shop environment.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, good sound
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Radio has great features

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The radio is fantastic! Has fantastic sound! IPOD connection is a real plus! Very easy to use & a great value!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Job-Site Radio
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sounds good!

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The radio appears heavy duty, although I have not put it to the test. The sound quality is better than expected, and the reception even at fringe stations is very good. My ONLY disappointment is that it does not act as a battery charger when it is plugged in. This is strictly my fault since I did not read the box well enough before buying.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, good sound quality
Cons: no charging function, costly for a radio
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>