728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mowers with White Glove Dealer Delivery or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower

The Ariens Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower has a 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton single-cylinder engine for high productivity and powerful cutting performance. The 42 in. cutting deck mows more grass in fewer passes, and the zero-turn radius helps you to easily mow around obstacles. This versatile riding mower has 7 settings to allow you to select cutting heights ranging from 1 in. to 4 in. to suit your needs. The platform offers a low center of gravity for stability, handling and hill-holding capability, and the low-back seat provides operator support.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product21 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product21 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
Review 1 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Avon Park, FL

Worth the money

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Believe it or not, I started out buying a self-propelled walk behind mower. After 3 weeks it wouldn't start and I took it back to the store and upgraded to the Weed Eater One riding mower. This is the cheapest and smallest riding mower available and it acted like it. A plastic part in the steering column cracked and I ended up with no steering. Home Depot was great about me returning it. While I was at the store I spotted the zero turn radius Ariens riding mower, and the 42 inch model was reduced to the same price as the 34 inch with the smaller engine. I decided to spend the extra money as I have a really big lot to mow, and with all of the rain and Florida sunshine, I'm mowing every single week. I've mowed twice now, and despite the learning curve I'm still going through, I'm very happy with this machine. You have to be careful on the tight turns - if you have thin grass it may tear up the ground. But on thick grass it works flawlessly. Starts every time, and steering is becoming instinctive now that I've used it a couple of times. It takes me about an hour to do what used to take 4, and it's really fun.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from New Jersrey

Mulching Kit Review

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well, here I am back as promised posting feedback in reference to mulching kit install.
After receiving the mulching kit box, I opened it up and read instructions. There were many components that needed to be un-installed in order for the mulching kit to be installed. The 3 blades, many screws and small steel components as well as the chute needed to be unistalled in order for mulching kit to fit in.
I personally didn't feel going thru the hassle and decided to return part back to HD store and got my refund.
The Zoom experience itself still a stellar one... This is my 3rd time cutting my lawn with awesome results. Very satisfied with the machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from san benito, texas

great mower

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the first time i owned a zero turn mower... wow.. i love it.. i have 5 acres and use a combo of three riding mowers ( all getting old ) .. two push mowers.. various weed eaters and blowers.... i just mowed my property after june and july heavy rains ... this mower worked great.. the grass (weeds ) is tough and all i had to do after a long run was use the zero turn and mow the previous one over cut... with this method the grass looked fanstasic.. believe me i have one tough yard to mow.. it is a continous project.. looks like i have it under control now.. thanks for this great mower.. and affordable too !! flat out .. SOLD !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from san benito, texas

UPDATE

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
well i still am loving this mower... we have had record rain fall in south texas this year.. several tropical storms dumped lots and lots of rain.. my grass has been growing faster than i can cut it.. even with the zoom 42..lol.... mostly cuz its been standing water alot.. grass holds lots of water and i must clean mower deck underside several times duing mowing time.. but once cleaned she cuts great... would like more motor power but again.. it has rained alot and normally this would not be cause for concern.... stilll this is the best mower i have ever bought... still lovin' it.... lol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Gladstone Mo

Better late than never

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can’t believe how quickly I was able to mow my yard. Even thou I had trouble mowing in a straight line the yard looked great. I talked about buying a 34” but was told I would be happier with the 42” since I have no gate to go thru. Then the price was dropped on the 42”. WOW, I should have brought one last year when it was on sell. I agree with all the reviews. It’s fun to use and well build for home use. Thank you Home Depot for you pomp service and advice.
Tim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from New Jersrey

Awesome machine!!!

PostedMay 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first zero turn machine and loving it... I have about an acre with many trees and tight areas where trimming was always needed after mowing. It definitely cut my mowing time in half and eliminated the need to trim thereafter.
Very easy to use even my kids are begging to take care of the lawn!
I got the mulching kit delivered on yesterday and haven't gotten a chance to intall it as of yet. Will post back documenting "mulch kit" install experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Brewerton, NY

Perfect Size, Speed, Control and Cut

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Zoom 42 on a Sunday night online through Home Depot. It arrived that Wednesday morning, well ahead of the schedule I expected. My yard is just under an acre with the backyard fenced in. With a push mower, I was spending nearly 3 hours at a time mowing. I borrowed a neighbors riding tractor and cut the grass in about an hour, but was frustrated with all of the 3 point turns and loops I had to make to turn around. With the Zoom 42, I am cutting the entire lawn in less than 45 minutes. I also am able to reach more into corners and tight spots which I couldn't get to with the conventional tractor. It truly can turn on a dime. I think 42 inches is the right size deck for your average landscape, meaning it has a good balance of coverage and contour. Any larger of a deck, and you may buzz the high spots in your yard, and any smaller, it likely isn't worth the efficiency gained from a riding mower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Columbus Oh

Ariens Zoom 42

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all Home Depot has really done a great job improving customer service over the last two years. At least at my store, 3828. I bought this mower about 3 weeks ago and the store personnel were great in assisting me with it, letting me test drive it in the lot and getting it loaded in my truck quickly. I have mowed with it 3 times now and this is by far the best mower/tractor I have ever owned. It has cut my mowing time in half and is actually fun to use. I have lots of trees, a pool and other obstacles to get around and this mower is great at cutting my trimming time down. I just got the bagger last week (had to order it off the web because Depot was out). I just tried it out over the weekend and even with all the rain we had and damp grass it never got clogged. This is a winner. I will write back at end of season and keep you posted on how well it holds up after a season of cutting. cant wait until the grass is high enough so I can use it again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Shawnee, OK

GREAT MOWER

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this on-line and receive a awesome deal from home depot (10% off and free delivery.) It took 10 days to get here and the first time I mowed with it I was very pleased. It used to take me all day to mow my place but with this mower i was done in about 2 1/2 hours. TWO THUMBS UP!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Parkesburg, Pa.

Ariens 42" o turn

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This 0 turn is perfect for what I needed.
Picked it up in a crete unpacked look at the book as gone with it.
Have cut the grass a few times now and have not had any problems with it at all !!!
I would recommend this mower to anyone.
Thanks Home Depot and Ariens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Akron ohio

Excellent Mower

PostedJune 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a excellent mower, very easy to operate. Never operated a zero turn mower only took about 15 minutes to get used to the controlls. made my yard mowing 100% easier due to not having to stop and back up. Very easy to do the genral maintence as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Chicago

Awesome mower

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the Zoom 41 6 times and the experience has been great. it is fast and very easy to cut around trees and gardens. I ordered the mulching kit today and hope I am as happy with it as I am with the mower. I also ordered an Ariens gas edger.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Great Deal

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is a great deal and a joy to operate. I have reduced my cutting time, eliminated trimming and look forward to cutting the grass. After shopping around you will not find a better mower at this price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from north carolina

" A great product with a great price!"

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am starting my own lawn business and a friend of mine has this same mower. I tried it and fell totally in love with it. Its a great product with a great price. Im getting one you should too!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Avon Park, FL

Worth the money

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Believe it or not, I started out buying a self-propelled walk behind mower. After 3 weeks it wouldn't start and I took it back to the store and upgraded to the Weed Eater One riding mower. This is the cheapest and smallest riding mower available and it acted like it. A plastic part in the steering column cracked and I ended up with no steering. Home Depot was great about me returning it. While I was at the store I spotted the zero turn radius Ariens riding mower, and the 42 inch model was reduced to the same price as the 34 inch with the smaller engine. I decided to spend the extra money as I have a really big lot to mow, and with all of the rain and Florida sunshine, I'm mowing every single week. I've mowed twice now, and despite the learning curve I'm still going through, I'm very happy with this machine. You have to be careful on the tight turns - if you have thin grass it may tear up the ground. But on thick grass it works flawlessly. Starts every time, and steering is becoming instinctive now that I've used it a couple of times. It takes me about an hour to do what used to take 4, and it's really fun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Tallassee, Alabama

Ariens 42"

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received on 7/24/2010, have never owned a zero turn before but after getting use to, its great. I am very impressed as to the quality at such an affordable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from PA

Good out of box

PostedApril 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this mower today and everything went smooth, I put gas in it and it worked fine,
I will report more later, but it cuts nice and has plenty of speed.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Robertsdale Al.

Ariens Zoom 42

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first Ariens lawn mower. I have been using A Dixon for 12 years wow what an improvement this is A great mower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Eagelville Pa

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is fast and does cut down the mowing. I do have to get use to it. Looking to get a mulching blades for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zoom 42 in. 16.5 HP Briggs & Stratton Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower

great mower

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Smooth cut. Made quick work of our yard. Great price! Slow shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>