728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler

Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler

The Porta-Nails Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler is designed for professional-level installation of high-quality wood flooring. It is designed to minimize damage to the floor during installation and uses 18-Gauge staple that fastens neatly without splitting the wood. An adjustable shoe enables exact staple placement and the compact, 3-1/2 lb. size allows for use close to the wall. This adjustable nailer is easy to service and comes with a carry case, safety goggles, oil and accessories.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
Review 1 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome gun

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a flooring professional with 26 years of experience.
I own three of these guns and have installed thousands of square feet of engineered hardwood with the 461-a.
These guns are great and the fasteners are inexpensive .
I have another gun that uses smaller fasteners ( 20 gague )
and the fasteners are about $35.00 for 5000 staples.
I can get duo fast brand staples for the Porta Nails gun for about $13.00 for 5000 staples
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Long-Lasting, easy to adjust
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from Wichita, Ks.
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great flooring stapler

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I read some reviews on this flooring stapler before buying, they were mostly positive. I install engineered wood floors from time to time and was tired of renting. (just not cost effective) I just installed 600 sq ft. of 3/8" wood planks. after getting the gun adjusted right and got used to the way it worked it was great. No miss fires at all. The only reason I did not rate it 5 stars is the fact I do not know how durable it will be over the long haul, I will find that out as time goes by. another reason for the 4 star rating is that I can not buy the staples at my local store, only online. when you need them now that is a problem. I would like to see home depot correct this issue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler

Perfect for the job

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought it to install 9/16 prefinished engineered oak. Worked perfectly, we'll worth the money. Makes the install effortless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler

Porta-nails engineered flooring stapler

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing worked great!! Easy adjustment and set up, shot down 1400 square feet without so much as a hiccup!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this stapler to install Bruce 3/8" Engineered Flooring. The initial setup was straight-forward, make sure the base sits firmly on the underlayment and the stapling notch sits flush on top of the tongue. After shooting several boards you'll get a feel for proper placement. I pulled the trigger at the wrong time in a few spots, winding up face-nailing the wood. The only way to correct it is to stop immediately, pull out the board, then pull the staples. Clean up the debris and start over.
So far we've installed about 400 sq. ft. of flooring with only a few staples that didn't go in all the way. What I found easiest was to take a hack saw blade and saw off the staple flush with the vertical face of the tongue. There wasn't enough meat of the staple protruding to pull it with pliers. Overall I'm very happy with this stapler, especially for the bargain price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from Carrikktibm TX

Great Power Tool

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this stapler to install an engineered hardwood floor. This was my first experience at putting down a hardwood floor and this stapler worked great. I have installed approximately 450 sq. ft. and once I got used to using this stapler things went very fast and smooth. I would highly recommed this to anyone.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The right floor stapler for 5/8" engineered bamboo

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not many floor staplers meet the requirements for 5/8" enginneered bamboo. Staplers or nails for the thicker hardwoods seem to use 16 gauge or larger staples/cleats. My bamboo flooring manufacturerer required 18 guage staples or smaller, but the typical 18 gauge stapler is setup for a thinner flooring. The 461A adjusted perfectly.
So far, I've installed about 200 sq ft of flooring without any issues with the stapler at all. I do end up sitting on the floor to set the wood pieces and operate the stapler, so it may not be appropriate for a professional installer. (absolute speed is less of an issue for the DIYer.)
As with most pneumatic tools, the 461A requires an air compressor with pressure regulator. (Read the instructions and be safe.)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product for 3/8" flooring

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My only complaint is that the shoe did wobble a bit, but after some use you will get the hang of it. After a few rows the shoe loosened up and it tended to overshoot, so when you notice this you will have to tighten it up to get it back to optimal performance. Other than that, it was a very handy tool!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from Bartlett, Il

Great Deal for the Money

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had a neighbor give me 2800sqft of bamboo flooring a couple of years ago, I stuck it in my garage, and there it sat. My wife decided it was time to re-do my office and suggested we pull the carpeting and install the bamboo. This tool worked GREAT! I had never installed any hardwood or engineered flooring before, but it went in beautifully -- my office is now a show piece -- next, I'm moving into the hall and then her office. When finished, about 3/4 of my house will have bamboo flooring -- It will go down without a snag using this stapler.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler

Overall great product.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used every brand of engineered wood floor stapler and this one keeps up with all of them. I have put down 1200 sq ft of 1/2" flooring so far with it and it has not jammed, Mis-fired, or had a single problem.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Portamatic Elevator 18-Gauge Adjustable Floor Stapler
from California, USA

Husband liked very much (bought for gift) Have ordered another for him.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Since it is a gift don't know however when I give my huband his ; will let you know
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.