728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

The Sunbeam Cool Mist Console Humidifier features the AccuSet digital humidistat to allow you to set and control the humidity level in your home. The 3.23 gal. tank provides up to 24 hours of run time and produces cool mist humidity to the entire house. Dual tanks help the humidifier run for extended periods of time. Provides cool mist humidity for the whole house.
Overall rating:
3.06 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product35 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(8)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product35 of 63reviews
Customer reviews for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
Review 1 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Newman Lake, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very happy with purchase

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the basic function of this product. If you are looking to put moisture into the air this does a great job of it. My wife has lung issues that dry air irritates and this humidifier as helped completely! But if you are looking for bells and whistles on this to work perfectly you may be disappointed, woks great / best on manual mode. Had a small vibration issue, but resetting base and water tanks cured it.
Yes it is plastic, welcome to the 21th century. Has a large heavy duty fan motor that is plenty of over kill for the job. Water tanks are of heavy plastic and work well. On high mode we are able to put over 3 gallons of water into the air, which with wood heat helps greatly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

A real lifesaver!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this humidifier because our baby has had serious allergy and congestion issues. Other humidifiers we have bought don't really effect the air much at all, but instead left us with sopping wet carpet. This thing leaves the air noticeably more humid throughout a very large space! We do not use the auto cycle because it is a bit too sensitive, but you still have 3 settings for a constant flow so you can still adjust your desired humidity level. If you are gentle with the filter when you clean it, it will last for quite a long while and replacements are about $9. That's not a bad once to twice a year maintenance fee if you ask me! It's really helped our overall health and I highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

I like it

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This humidifier is simple and easy to use. I do not use the timing and bells and whistles. Got it because friends, who have tried several different ones, have this one and also liked it very much. It's quiet and does its job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Don't buy just because it says permanent filter as it is not permanent

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a console humidifier and wanted something smaller that would work for the whole house. Not very attractive unit but liked how it humidified the house. After first cleaning of the filter it started to fall apart; inner filling was coming out in rinse. Was able to use again and the second cleaning the filter came apart in my hands; no way of salvaging it this time. The main reason I bought this humidifier was because it said permanent filter on the box. False advertising. I have e-mailed Sunbeam and asked them to replace the filter for free. Will see what their response is.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Winter Park Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly Engineered Humidity Control

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main reason that I bought this humidifier is that it had a programmable humidistat to maintain a set level humidity in our condo. We live in the mountains of Colorado and the inside air is extremely dry in the wintertime which makes the use of a humidifier a near necessity. Unfortunately, the Sunbeam unit that we purchased from Home Depot is poorly engineered and, as others have noted, cycles on and off continuously. Not only is this very annoying and inefficient electrically, but is also unable to reach the set-point for the overall humidity of our living room. The basic problem is that the humidity sensor is located directly in line with the air outlet and the on-off cycle is set within one percent humidity differential. Guess what happens? The sensor calls for moist air when it detects that the room is too dry and turns the humidifier on for ten seconds after which it shuts off for thirty seconds when it thinks that the room has same humidity level as the outlet air. This goes on and off continuously and never is able to reach the set level of humidity in the room. Of course you can always run the unit in the manual mode and constantly turn it on and off yourself as your nose goes crusty to runny. That's not what I thought I bought and it is going back to the store tomorrow.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: poorly engineered
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Extremely disappointing!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have said, the 'permanent' wick/filter is anything but. This was the ONLY reason I bought another evaporative type humidifier, so I was very unhappy to learn that it is the same as most other wicking humidifier elements: If you have hard water, they do not last! This one is completely worthless after less than 2 months, despite several cleanings to remove lime deposits. (Washing it in dish soap - as recommended - doesn't do anything at all for hard water deposits.)
To be fair, my humidifier worked well before the element 'hardened'; it is quiet with the fan on low speed & it never leaked. This is the only reason I gave it any stars at all.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Hampton Roads Virginia

So happy with the first I'm buying a second

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this model for the first time about a year ago and have been very happy with it. Yes it does cycle on and off frequently witht he auto settings, but the fan is quiet so this doesn't bother us even though it is in our family room where we spend quite a bit of time. We live in a two story home that is just over 2000 sq ft. and will be buying a second one of these for upstairs this season. I have seen others comments about the filter being "permenant" but not lasting. I will say I have replaced the filter on this one this year and did not have any problems finidng a compatible replacement (model number to look for is HWF-75 without the P on the end). I have had other humidifiers in the past with "permenant" filters and from what I have experienced none of them are really permenant, especially if you have hard water. This humidifier has made a big difference for me and my family in the fall and winter and I think that replacing the filter once a year is worth it for my family's health and comfort.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

A maintenance pig makes it moist.

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I do want to echo everything James from Prescott, AZ said about this, as I've had exactly the same problems and concerns:
* 1 tank never drains unless I wiggle it. The other will be bone dry, the refill light will be on, and the other tank is completely full. Makes no sense.
* the filter isn't nearly as reusable as they would have you believe.
* in the dry Colorado air, this is usually a refill both tanks 2x a day. This eats up about 10 minutes of each day, all total.
* the 'auto' modes will cycle the fan off and on at 10 second intervals which is incredibly annoying.
* I have to wash this filter out about once every other week to maintain absorbency.
Now, where it earns its stars back, is the quality of the air in this house has improved quite a bit. I also never use the auto settings and leave it on a constant '1' (it goes as high as 3). Upwards from 20% to 35-40% when everything is running at a full-clip.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Quality Issues, Store Service Great

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll get right to the point:
Likes:
Good size
Easy to use controls
Easy out of box set up
Does put humidity in the air quickly
Good price
Dislikes
The unit is defective as it kept cycling when it got to the preset humidity level...very annoying...on/off, on/off...constant
Very noisy, especially in Auto 3 mode
Hard to read filter/condition gauge, kind of small
Very cheap feel
Was supposed to come with casters, none in the box
From reading the instructions, I don't think the permanent filter is really permanent...I have seen on the web where people have had to replace the filter.
The refill light does not go out, even though unit is full and running for hours ( again, another defect)
Overall, when the unit is working, it works well...however the cycling on/off can drive you nuts...so back it goes to the store today. I called my local Home Depot and the dept. mgr said it sounds like the unit is bad. I am going to try a different brand.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Apache Junction
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied Yes & No

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the Unit but the censor seems to be too sensitive.When the unit seaches its setting the Fan keeps turning off and on and drives you nuts.I set the unit at 60% which it can't reach and its running all night.One thing I do not like is that HOME DEPOT sells you something and then you can't get the Filters any more in the store.I hope Sunbeam & Home Depot read this.
PS.Maybe you can help me get a filter.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cheaply made with no Quality Control

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept is nice: A portable humidifier on wheels with a built in humidistat that can humidify a whole house. However, mine had three problems.
1. The fan was excessively noisy and vibrated the whole unit. When the water ran low the unit would actually scoot across the floor.
2. The humidistat was useless. When the unit wasn't running it would show a reading that seemed to be accurate. But when the unit was running the humidity would instantly shoot high, making the automatic function totally unuseable.
3. The two tanks are made from three separate pieces of cheap plastic. One of them sprang a leak from the weight of the water after I filled it and was carrying it by the handle.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Bloomington, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poorly Designed - Doesn't Work

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a week I've discovered the following. When the unit reaches what ever setting you've set it at it cycles on and off continuously, about three times per second, making it impossible to have it running in the auto setting at any number. On day seven the button for setting the humidity level quit working completely. I'm returning it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Owasso, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very wise purchase.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidifier did not say anything about being quiet running, but is very quiet when running. Like the low water indicator and the ease of filling water when getting low.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor unit

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ours is going back... WAY too noisy, didn't seem to run very well at all. It thought our house was already at 65% humidity, which there was no way. Runs for 3 seconds at a time and then shuts off. My truck is quieter...
Pros: none
Cons: Noisy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Returning this tomorrow

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Purchased on Monday 12/2 returning it tomorrow. Not sure if it's defective but won't run on automatic. Only works on continuous run.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Phoenix

filter is not a Lifetime filter

PostedMay 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've owned different ones over the years and decided to purchase this larger cap unit. I recall it mentioned the filter was a lifetime filter. not the case.
it is coming apart. we clean-out unit every month and soak and wash filter as suggested.
good unit, but not as advertised.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't come with wheels.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this humidifier, this morning 12/13/2013, due to dry winter in New Hampshire, and also due to my first live Christmas Tree dying quicker than it should because of the dryness in my house. I owned this model when I lived in a slightly smaller condo and loved it. HOWEVER.... I opened the box, put it where I wanted to in my house, went to go put on the wheels and yeah... they were NOT in the box. Hopefully this wasn't a returned unit because I have purchased products in the past where that was the case and they always needed to be exchanged for a different one. There were 3 on the shelf and I honestly wish I picked one of the other boxes. Hopefully when I call the store they will let me grab a different set of castors out of another box since it's already set up in my house and the air was already better after 30 minutes of running it on high. I set it to low because I left for work and hopefully will still have plenty of water in the reservoirs.
It's a great product and just needs to be cleaned occasionally with vinegar to keep it mold free. Yes you need to purchase filters but that is a small price to pay for livable air and a cheaper heating bill. You get what you pay for and this humidifier is under $100. If you pay more you get a better product. I thought about ordering a different humidifier online but it wouldn't have arrived until December 22nd, my Christmas Tree would have already died, and my wife and children would be devastated.
I will revise my review after speaking with the stores customer service department, to add the outcome of the missing wheel issue, and rave about the customer service that I always receive from this company. Again... it wasn't a big deal to me because I didn't want to use the wheels anyway but might have in the future and would have stored them.
We will see...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, it's under $100
Cons: didn't come with wheels., filter needs to be replaced., will need to be cleaned often with vinegar.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Just tossed after a year

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Initially this humidifier was ideal for what we were looking for and did a good job sending humidity through 1100 sq ft without a problem. However, we noticed some sort of sediment forming on the fan blades but there is no way to clean it and it has a mildew odor to it. We do use an additive to alleviate mildew and build up and throughout the system, it has been fine. Just not the fan blades. You would literally had to disassemble the entire thing. Very disappointing as we had to toss this after a year of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Canton, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good little unit - expensive maintenance

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Owned for over 18 months now. Used only during winter months. Quiet enough - assuming you don't put it near your television or such. It seems to increase humidity quite fine, as desired, but the filter/wick only seems to be effective for about 14 -21 days of continuous use. Each wick costs $9.00 and is oftentimes difficult to find in local stores; they seem to run out quickly. I now buy them about 4 or 5 at a time when/where I find them.
I think HomeDepot would be well advised to have a "filter of the month" type of promotion where you get price breaks based on your purchases of filters/wicks and other replaceable parts for items purchased at their stores.
Good value, I think, if you don't mind spending the $$$ on the stupid wicks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: replacement wick price, wick durability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Hickory, NC

This product has Pros and Cons

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The unit itself works great. I use it for the kitchen, family room, living room and dining room - approximately 1100 sf. The fan does have a vibration which causes it to rattle - very annoying. The humidistat shows a somewhat accurate humidity level but the auto function needs some improvement. When it falls 1 degree below the set level, it turns on for a brief moment then turns back off. It does this repeatedly so I run it in manual mode. I haven't had any problems with the water tanks due to the fact I carry it using both handles as stated in the directions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>