728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

The Sunbeam Cool Mist Console Humidifier features the AccuSet digital humidistat to allow you to set and control the humidity level in your home. The 3.23 gal. tank provides up to 24 hours of run time and produces cool mist humidity to the entire house. Dual tanks help the humidifier run for extended periods of time. Provides cool mist humidity for the whole house.
Overall rating:
3.051 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product41 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(20)
3
(9)
2
(12)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product41 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
Review 1 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Baltimore MD

RE: "Permanent Filter" Claim

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sunbeam will replace filters if you complain. Call 888-264-9669, and tell them that you purchased the unit because it was supposed to have a permanent, lifetime filter. They have revised their instruction manual, and currently suggest filter replacement every 4-6 weeks, but that was not in the manual when I purchased this unit. They will ask you for the manufacturer date code which is stamped on the metal prongs of the plug where it plugs into the wall outlet. They have supplied me with filters at least twice, and last time told me they would continue to supply them until the 6-year warranty expired. You may have to ask for a supervisor when you call, but they are very well familiar with this feature that does not work as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: filters need constant replacement
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Newman Lake, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very happy with purchase

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very pleased with the basic function of this product. If you are looking to put moisture into the air this does a great job of it. My wife has lung issues that dry air irritates and this humidifier as helped completely! But if you are looking for bells and whistles on this to work perfectly you may be disappointed, woks great / best on manual mode. Had a small vibration issue, but resetting base and water tanks cured it.
Yes it is plastic, welcome to the 21th century. Has a large heavy duty fan motor that is plenty of over kill for the job. Water tanks are of heavy plastic and work well. On high mode we are able to put over 3 gallons of water into the air, which with wood heat helps greatly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Only good for one season's use

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this humidifier last winter and it worked very well. Cleaned it regularly and used a de-mineralizer and bacteriostatic treatment. Once winter was over, I used vinegar and soap and let it sit out for days until it was dry, then put it away. When I got it out of storage to use this year, the gaskets had almost completely disintegrated. Found out that replacement gaskets are $6.99 a piece plus shipping. Shouldn't a product that costs this much out of the package be able to be used more than one season before falling apart?? Very disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Don't buy just because it says permanent filter as it is not permanent

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a console humidifier and wanted something smaller that would work for the whole house. Not very attractive unit but liked how it humidified the house. After first cleaning of the filter it started to fall apart; inner filling was coming out in rinse. Was able to use again and the second cleaning the filter came apart in my hands; no way of salvaging it this time. The main reason I bought this humidifier was because it said permanent filter on the box. False advertising. I have e-mailed Sunbeam and asked them to replace the filter for free. Will see what their response is.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Extremely disappointing!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have said, the 'permanent' wick/filter is anything but. This was the ONLY reason I bought another evaporative type humidifier, so I was very unhappy to learn that it is the same as most other wicking humidifier elements: If you have hard water, they do not last! This one is completely worthless after less than 2 months, despite several cleanings to remove lime deposits. (Washing it in dish soap - as recommended - doesn't do anything at all for hard water deposits.)
To be fair, my humidifier worked well before the element 'hardened'; it is quiet with the fan on low speed & it never leaked. This is the only reason I gave it any stars at all.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

A real lifesaver!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got this humidifier because our baby has had serious allergy and congestion issues. Other humidifiers we have bought don't really effect the air much at all, but instead left us with sopping wet carpet. This thing leaves the air noticeably more humid throughout a very large space! We do not use the auto cycle because it is a bit too sensitive, but you still have 3 settings for a constant flow so you can still adjust your desired humidity level. If you are gentle with the filter when you clean it, it will last for quite a long while and replacements are about $9. That's not a bad once to twice a year maintenance fee if you ask me! It's really helped our overall health and I highly recommend it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Hampton Roads Virginia

So happy with the first I'm buying a second

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought this model for the first time about a year ago and have been very happy with it. Yes it does cycle on and off frequently witht he auto settings, but the fan is quiet so this doesn't bother us even though it is in our family room where we spend quite a bit of time. We live in a two story home that is just over 2000 sq ft. and will be buying a second one of these for upstairs this season. I have seen others comments about the filter being "permenant" but not lasting. I will say I have replaced the filter on this one this year and did not have any problems finidng a compatible replacement (model number to look for is HWF-75 without the P on the end). I have had other humidifiers in the past with "permenant" filters and from what I have experienced none of them are really permenant, especially if you have hard water. This humidifier has made a big difference for me and my family in the fall and winter and I think that replacing the filter once a year is worth it for my family's health and comfort.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Homer Glen, IL
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not what I expected

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this humidifier because it had a good sized water capacity. I've had it for a little over a year and only use it in the winter. I've had problems with the water not draining from the tanks the way it should. I frequently find it running with the filter dry. I replaced the filter a month ago at a cost of $12. It did not make a big difference. If I use it on high speed, it makes the room cold. I wish I had read the reviews before I bought the unit.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: doesn't do the job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

A maintenance pig makes it moist.

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I do want to echo everything James from Prescott, AZ said about this, as I've had exactly the same problems and concerns:
* 1 tank never drains unless I wiggle it. The other will be bone dry, the refill light will be on, and the other tank is completely full. Makes no sense.
* the filter isn't nearly as reusable as they would have you believe.
* in the dry Colorado air, this is usually a refill both tanks 2x a day. This eats up about 10 minutes of each day, all total.
* the 'auto' modes will cycle the fan off and on at 10 second intervals which is incredibly annoying.
* I have to wash this filter out about once every other week to maintain absorbency.
Now, where it earns its stars back, is the quality of the air in this house has improved quite a bit. I also never use the auto settings and leave it on a constant '1' (it goes as high as 3). Upwards from 20% to 35-40% when everything is running at a full-clip.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Smart Purchase

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to understand the different settings. Also the water containers have handles so makes it easy to refill and carry back to the unit. I had one just like it and it lasted 25 years. So will not be replacing this on any time soon.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

I like it

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This humidifier is simple and easy to use. I do not use the timing and bells and whistles. Got it because friends, who have tried several different ones, have this one and also liked it very much. It's quiet and does its job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Rockland, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Does the job

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The humidifier does its job. My only complaints are how often I must fill it and it can be difficult to program when it is in certain modes.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Quality Issues, Store Service Great

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll get right to the point:
Likes:
Good size
Easy to use controls
Easy out of box set up
Does put humidity in the air quickly
Good price
Dislikes
The unit is defective as it kept cycling when it got to the preset humidity level...very annoying...on/off, on/off...constant
Very noisy, especially in Auto 3 mode
Hard to read filter/condition gauge, kind of small
Very cheap feel
Was supposed to come with casters, none in the box
From reading the instructions, I don't think the permanent filter is really permanent...I have seen on the web where people have had to replace the filter.
The refill light does not go out, even though unit is full and running for hours ( again, another defect)
Overall, when the unit is working, it works well...however the cycling on/off can drive you nuts...so back it goes to the store today. I called my local Home Depot and the dept. mgr said it sounds like the unit is bad. I am going to try a different brand.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Palatine
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect console humidifier for 1200 - 1300 sf.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only assembly is installing the roller in the slot on bottom of unit. The individual water tanks make adding water easy and fast. Had my last unit for more than 10 yrs
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great...

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy setup, easy water fill, quite with humidity auto on and off.
This takes care of kitchen, dining / living room. .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only a temporary unit

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this to use in Colorado over the winter when humidity drops to 10%. Was a wonderful unit for the first 4 months. After that we noticed water leaking out one of the tanks. After a wet mess found out that the bottom had pulled away because of the weight of the water. Cheap plastic with cheap plastic weld. Just waiting until the other tank goes to purchase a different humidifier. Also occasionally the nozzle at the bottom of the tank will not line up correctly with the pin and wont release the water.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Sunbeam Brand TeamMarch 3, 2015By Sunbeam Brand TeamMarch 3, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. For further assistance, please call us at (800) 435-1250. We are open Monday through Saturday from 8 AM to 8 PM, EST. Sunbeam
Review 17 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Apache Junction
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Satisfied Yes & No

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the Unit but the censor seems to be too sensitive.When the unit seaches its setting the Fan keeps turning off and on and drives you nuts.I set the unit at 60% which it can't reach and its running all night.One thing I do not like is that HOME DEPOT sells you something and then you can't get the Filters any more in the store.I hope Sunbeam & Home Depot read this.
PS.Maybe you can help me get a filter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Muskegon, mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good when I have filter.

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I find that the unit works well were I have it. The problem is finding the right filter since I purchased it Each time I have been to the store where I purchased it, I can not find the correct filter. I get the same answer every time. They are on order and don't know when they will come in.
Hve been without filter and trying somewhere else besides Homwe Depot. Not a happy camper.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: can't find filters in store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Sunbeam Brand TeamFebruary 27, 2015By Sunbeam Brand TeamFebruary 27, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. This information will be forwarded to the appropriate department. Sunbeam
Review 19 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cheaply made with no Quality Control

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept is nice: A portable humidifier on wheels with a built in humidistat that can humidify a whole house. However, mine had three problems.
1. The fan was excessively noisy and vibrated the whole unit. When the water ran low the unit would actually scoot across the floor.
2. The humidistat was useless. When the unit wasn't running it would show a reading that seemed to be accurate. But when the unit was running the humidity would instantly shoot high, making the automatic function totally unuseable.
3. The two tanks are made from three separate pieces of cheap plastic. One of them sprang a leak from the weight of the water after I filled it and was carrying it by the handle.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.23 gal. Cool Mist Console Humidifier
from Bloomington, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poorly Designed - Doesn't Work

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a week I've discovered the following. When the unit reaches what ever setting you've set it at it cycles on and off continuously, about three times per second, making it impossible to have it running in the auto setting at any number. On day seven the button for setting the humidity level quit working completely. I'm returning it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>