728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Cool Mist Console Humidifier

Cool Mist Console Humidifier

The Sunbeam Cool Mist Console Humidifier features the AccuSet digital humidistat to allow you to set and control the humidity level in your home. The 3.23-gallon tank provides up to 24 hours of run time and produces cool mist humidity to the entire house. Dual tanks help the humidifier run for extended periods of time. Provides cool mist humidity for the whole house.
Overall rating:
3.062 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product34 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(8)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product34 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
Review 1 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
SteveK1953
from Newman Lake, Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very happy with purchase

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the basic function of this product. If you are looking to put moisture into the air this does a great job of it. My wife has lung issues that dry air irritates and this humidifier as helped completely! But if you are looking for bells and whistles on this to work perfectly you may be disappointed, woks great / best on manual mode. Had a small vibration issue, but resetting base and water tanks cured it.
Yes it is plastic, welcome to the 21th century. Has a large heavy duty fan motor that is plenty of over kill for the job. Water tanks are of heavy plastic and work well. On high mode we are able to put over 3 gallons of water into the air, which with wood heat helps greatly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
dhollis

I like it

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This humidifier is simple and easy to use. I do not use the timing and bells and whistles. Got it because friends, who have tried several different ones, have this one and also liked it very much. It's quiet and does its job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
WesC
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very cheaply made with no Quality Control

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The concept is nice: A portable humidifier on wheels with a built in humidistat that can humidify a whole house. However, mine had three problems.
1. The fan was excessively noisy and vibrated the whole unit. When the water ran low the unit would actually scoot across the floor.
2. The humidistat was useless. When the unit wasn't running it would show a reading that seemed to be accurate. But when the unit was running the humidity would instantly shoot high, making the automatic function totally unuseable.
3. The two tanks are made from three separate pieces of cheap plastic. One of them sprang a leak from the weight of the water after I filled it and was carrying it by the handle.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
FicmanS
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor unit

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ours is going back... WAY too noisy, didn't seem to run very well at all. It thought our house was already at 65% humidity, which there was no way. Runs for 3 seconds at a time and then shuts off. My truck is quieter...
Pros: none
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
summertree
from tri cities, washington
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

fan (sound) helps me sleep

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have used this humidifier for about 2 years, still works! It keeps the humidity in the house comfortable. First time I cleaned filter with a little bleach water soak, it turned out like ramen noodles, no bleach on filter :) even tried washing machine, filter didn't like that either! Other than that its been a good humidifier!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: refill a lot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
starkman14
from Canton, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good little unit - expensive maintenance

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Owned for over 18 months now. Used only during winter months. Quiet enough - assuming you don't put it near your television or such. It seems to increase humidity quite fine, as desired, but the filter/wick only seems to be effective for about 14 -21 days of continuous use. Each wick costs $9.00 and is oftentimes difficult to find in local stores; they seem to run out quickly. I now buy them about 4 or 5 at a time when/where I find them.
I think HomeDepot would be well advised to have a "filter of the month" type of promotion where you get price breaks based on your purchases of filters/wicks and other replaceable parts for items purchased at their stores.
Good value, I think, if you don't mind spending the $$$ on the stupid wicks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: replacement wick price, wick durability
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
George123
from Atlanta/Roswell Georgia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product in "OK"; nothing special.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is not in a very large room but still does not seem to humidify the entire room (I actually measure the humidity due to having high-end wooden instruments in the room). The immediate area of this humidifier does stay at a reasonable lever. Additionally, the unit is a bit noisy. I would expect more from a product in the price range.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: too noisy, cost per performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
Keith
from Owasso, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very wise purchase.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidifier did not say anything about being quiet running, but is very quiet when running. Like the low water indicator and the ease of filling water when getting low.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
None
from Chicagoland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Like It!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have to refill a couple times during the day to keep the unit going; doesn't run for 24 hours on low setting for <1000 sq. ft. home, maybe 10 if you're lucky. Poor design with humidistat located right where humidity is disbursed.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
jpfarms
from wv
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

will not buy again

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cuts on and off to much in auto Ikeep mine in manual on low speed not sure about filter yet Hope I can find one
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: can not run in auto
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
Debdyi

Returning this tomorrow

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Purchased on Monday 12/2 returning it tomorrow. Not sure if it's defective but won't run on automatic. Only works on continuous run.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
dandaninc
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't come with wheels.

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this humidifier, this morning 12/13/2013, due to dry winter in New Hampshire, and also due to my first live Christmas Tree dying quicker than it should because of the dryness in my house. I owned this model when I lived in a slightly smaller condo and loved it. HOWEVER.... I opened the box, put it where I wanted to in my house, went to go put on the wheels and yeah... they were NOT in the box. Hopefully this wasn't a returned unit because I have purchased products in the past where that was the case and they always needed to be exchanged for a different one. There were 3 on the shelf and I honestly wish I picked one of the other boxes. Hopefully when I call the store they will let me grab a different set of castors out of another box since it's already set up in my house and the air was already better after 30 minutes of running it on high. I set it to low because I left for work and hopefully will still have plenty of water in the reservoirs.
It's a great product and just needs to be cleaned occasionally with vinegar to keep it mold free. Yes you need to purchase filters but that is a small price to pay for livable air and a cheaper heating bill. You get what you pay for and this humidifier is under $100. If you pay more you get a better product. I thought about ordering a different humidifier online but it wouldn't have arrived until December 22nd, my Christmas Tree would have already died, and my wife and children would be devastated.
I will revise my review after speaking with the stores customer service department, to add the outcome of the missing wheel issue, and rave about the customer service that I always receive from this company. Again... it wasn't a big deal to me because I didn't want to use the wheels anyway but might have in the future and would have stored them.
We will see...
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, it's under $100
Cons: didn't come with wheels., filter needs to be replaced., will need to be cleaned often with vinegar.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
BabyGirl
from Hickory, NC

This product has Pros and Cons

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The unit itself works great. I use it for the kitchen, family room, living room and dining room - approximately 1100 sf. The fan does have a vibration which causes it to rattle - very annoying. The humidistat shows a somewhat accurate humidity level but the auto function needs some improvement. When it falls 1 degree below the set level, it turns on for a brief moment then turns back off. It does this repeatedly so I run it in manual mode. I haven't had any problems with the water tanks due to the fact I carry it using both handles as stated in the directions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
mike
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

simple to use

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It look good easy to clean and to refill with water, durable and quiet and worke,s well for homes 1,500 sq. ft. or less
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
WVUknitter
from Hampton Roads Virginia

So happy with the first I'm buying a second

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this model for the first time about a year ago and have been very happy with it. Yes it does cycle on and off frequently witht he auto settings, but the fan is quiet so this doesn't bother us even though it is in our family room where we spend quite a bit of time. We live in a two story home that is just over 2000 sq ft. and will be buying a second one of these for upstairs this season. I have seen others comments about the filter being "permenant" but not lasting. I will say I have replaced the filter on this one this year and did not have any problems finidng a compatible replacement (model number to look for is HWF-75 without the P on the end). I have had other humidifiers in the past with "permenant" filters and from what I have experienced none of them are really permenant, especially if you have hard water. This humidifier has made a big difference for me and my family in the fall and winter and I think that replacing the filter once a year is worth it for my family's health and comfort.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
SweetPea

Don't buy just because it says permanent filter as it is not permanent

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a console humidifier and wanted something smaller that would work for the whole house. Not very attractive unit but liked how it humidified the house. After first cleaning of the filter it started to fall apart; inner filling was coming out in rinse. Was able to use again and the second cleaning the filter came apart in my hands; no way of salvaging it this time. The main reason I bought this humidifier was because it said permanent filter on the box. False advertising. I have e-mailed Sunbeam and asked them to replace the filter for free. Will see what their response is.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
smithski

Extremely disappointing!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have said, the 'permanent' wick/filter is anything but. This was the ONLY reason I bought another evaporative type humidifier, so I was very unhappy to learn that it is the same as most other wicking humidifier elements: If you have hard water, they do not last! This one is completely worthless after less than 2 months, despite several cleanings to remove lime deposits. (Washing it in dish soap - as recommended - doesn't do anything at all for hard water deposits.)
To be fair, my humidifier worked well before the element 'hardened'; it is quiet with the fan on low speed & it never leaked. This is the only reason I gave it any stars at all.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
DryGuy
from Cadillac, Mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Something wrong with design.

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I initially plugged it in it read the humidity level at 32%. I set it on auto low at 60%. Immediately after it started running the humidity level read 58% and now it cycles on and off every 10-15 seconds. I believe the humistat is reading the output air, not the input air as it should. It is fairly quiet but from 20 feet away in another room I can still hear it. Very annoying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
JohnT
from Columbus, NC 28722, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Engineering mistake?

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The humidifier works fine on manual setting. However, I don't understand why they put the humidistat sensor on the output side of the unit. It appears to be measuring the humidity of the output, not the input. This makes the automatic feature worthless, unless you like constant cycling on and off.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: poor engineering makes auto mode unusable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cool Mist Console Humidifier
Westy

Works good except for the following

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a hard time getting the waters jugs to drain down into the bottom of the humififer. But other than that it seem to work fine. Yiiyu hve ti get the water contaners to set just right to get them to drain. Thanks Harold.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>