728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed

Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed

Easy to assemble with 325 cubic feet of storage capacity, the design of the new Big Max compliments your home and yard. Its double-walled construction provides extra protection for items stored inside. Durable, all-weather resin ensures no rot, no rust, no problems. Our new wall anchor system allows easy installation of shelving, pegboard and other accessories.
Overall rating:
4.405 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(242 reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product218 of 231reviews
Rating Breakdown 242 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(139)
4
(81)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product218 of 231reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Review 1 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
JPRH96
from Merrimack, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The dam thing did not leak

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As you can see i installed this on a wood deck 2"X4" PT and plywood , than on top of 6" of 1.5" stone so there will not be anything liveing under this unit .It also gives it some good drainage. I did not like the way it snaped the walls to the floor so i screwed long deck screws in the walls into the floor so it will not blow away in a strong wind.
All in all it is a good clean unit went together in about 5 hours with my son and a few saints.Don't try doing it alone however it can be done. Merrimack ,NH
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
hntoh7
from Columbus, OH

Just as advertised!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reviewing dozens and dozens of shed kits, we bought the Big Max for our hunting property in southeast Ohio. As so many reviewers have pointed out, having a flat, stable foundation for the shed is very important. We cleared out an area large enough for the shed and built a platform out of 2x6's and 3/4 plywood, supported by cement blocks. That was by far the hardest task. Putting the shed together was simple and relatively uncomplicated. Because of recent eye surgery, I had my fiance read the directions, while I did the manual work; that actually really sped process up. It does take two people to get the roof and doors on, but other than that, one person can easily handle the work.
This is a great shed. It's very sturdy, doesn't leak during severe rainstorms, and very secure on the platform (although I did secure it to the surface with lag bolts). I would highly recommend this shed to anyone with the need for one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Bonzai67

Great Solution

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have waited a few months before writing this review. The assembly was fairly routine and somewhat quick, I had a couple of other people help me out. The hardest part seemed to be attaching the roof but it only took a few extra minutes to figure out what the instructions were talking about. I anchored the shed to a wood platform I made myself. On one of the first weekends after assembly we had a torrential rain and wind storm and there were no problems. This past week end it held up to Irene, the same cannot be said for my tree and fence about 10 feet from the shed. I do not know how it will perform w/ a heavy, wet snow but so far it has been great.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
NewjackCop
from Torrance, CA

Easy to build and solid!

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built this shed behind my garage in a cramped space- I was worried it may be problematic- but it mostly assembles from the inside! And when fully built, you can still slide it around a bit on your concrete- I love this shed. The worst part of the experience was getting it out of the back of my pickup truck and onto my driveway- I only needed the help of my pregnant wife for about 2 minutes to hold the first gable up while I screwed it in. IT's mindlessly easy to build and if you take your time and do it right- really read the directions - do exaclty what it says- you can do it alone and to great success- I would recommend this awesome shed to anyone- and I already have. Took me all day at my leisure to build- I could have done it in about 4 hours flat. Great shed. Great eperience. Better than an Ikea bookshelf!!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Dipper99
from West Chicago, Illinois

I Love My Shed

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this shed a few months ago. I built a level 8'x8' deck using treated lumber (2x4 & 1x6), which was a huge help in the install. My neighbor has the same shed, sitting on bricks & gravel and it's an issue for him with door & roof alignment(he's now building a deck for his shed). Take the time to make sure everything is solid & level and you won't be disappointed. The actual assembly of my shed took just under 2 hours with the help of my brother-in-law. Overall it was very simple with not a single issue. The screws that are provided are more than adequate, no matter how much they feel like they're not "biting" into anything, they are. The only tools we used were a cordless drill, screw driver, rubber mallet and a socket set. I also anchored the shed to the deck using carriage bolts & washers, which I recommend. Last but not least I'm extremely impressed with the shipping company, Nonstop Delivery, Inc. I purchased the shed online with "curbside service" being the only option. The day of delivery I was late getting home and was surprised to find that my box (shed) was sitting in my backyard. My Home Depot experience was 5 stars for sure and I love my shed.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Tropicanagrl8
from Palatine, IL

Great Shed

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far it's been a great shed. Took us about 4 hours to put together, most pieces snapped into place and then were drilled together. We did make sure to have a level bottom after reading previous reviews. It rained the day after we installed and all was dry inside. Hopefully it will continue to hold up well after our snow season. I do have coworkers who have also purchased Rubbermaid sheds and they seem very happy with their quality.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
godrwings
from Plano, IL

Well designed

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My daughter and I (61 year old female) put this together ourselves. It went well until we got to the doors - they don't line up properly, I'm not sure why and short of taking the shed back apart, I'm not sure how to get them close properly. Everything is very level but they have to be pushed, pulled and tugged on to open and close them.
Other than that, the shed was well designed and fit together very well. Others have said they had trouble with the roof but we didn't. The main thing is you must have two people - one to screw in screws and one to hold down the roof for the screws to go in and connect to the roof. Overall I am happy with the shed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
OrangeJello
from Hyannis, MA

Two and a Half Men

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this on the advise of Joy in Wareham.
Trailer to get it home, THD does NOT ship this for Free. :(
4 pallets made the perfect foundation.
Walls dont seem to 'click' into the floor.
*** Keep the 'truss' loose, the pins go in easier, as well as the roof.
A screwdriver and needlenose pliers work better than a knife on the 'wall slot tabs'.
HR is inside DR.
The Barrel Bolt HH (top) needs to be longer to lock properly.
KK Could have stronger Magnets.
Everyone says it is an easy vinyl shed to put together. The extra time you will put into it will assure it lasts as long as your orange Rubbermaid 10 Gal Water Cooler.
Oh ya Max was the other .5
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Jason
from Simpsonville, SC

Great product, don't forget a sturdy base

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the product! My only drawback was my own shortfall. Don't forget this needs a very sturdy base. Either solid ground, concrete, or a very well built deck style foundation. It is very roomy and practical, love the versatility.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
HappyJack
from Tehachapi, CA 93561, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hands-down BEST storage shed, ever.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a BIG MAX in 4/2003. It went up quite easy. The quality is outstanding; it's almost like new still.
And most importantly, Rubber Maid really does stand behind their products. I needed to replace the lock lasp on my BIG MAX, and Rubbermaid sent my an upgraded new one for FREE!
Now for the most important part: Today, I am going to Home Depot and buy my second 7 X 7 BIG MAX!
Quess what? In 2003 I paid $498.00 and today I am going to $499.00! And it holds lot of stuff.
I just spent the last 2 hours comparing quality and prices for other sheds.
If you need a storage; this is the one for you.
Trust me. I know.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Whitewolfyeti
from Oregon

Worth the time and money

PostedMay 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Okay, I didn't want to write a review until I had time to see how well of a product it was. It has been a year since I bought this shed. It took my wife and I an hour and a half to put it up. She decyphers the directions and I build it. Anyway, we have had a record breaking winter here in Oregon. This shed went through high wind, rain, snow, hail, and just about everything else that Mother Nature could throw at it. It held up awesome! Not one leak or blemish. It still looks like we put it up yesterday. This is a great buy for the money.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
Tony
from Franklin,NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great Shed!

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Myself ,my daughter, and a friend of hers put this sturdy shed together in about four hours. There were a few minor struggles with the included plans, but all went well as we got rolling. This shed is a great deal for the price and built very well!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
daves2
from Bergen County, NJ

Great shed - very easy to install

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great shed and was extremely easy to install; I've only just put it up but it seems very durable as well and the quality is very good. I spent about 3 - 3 1/2 hours putting it together from start to finish, one person, except for putting the first roof pieces on (needed 2 people, one at each end of the shed), and tightening down the roof also needs 2 people (one outside while the other is putting the screws in). (Note, I am quite handy in general and do a lot of projects, so that may have helped in terms of the project time, but even if I were less so, I don't think the project would have taken tons longer..but I do recommend a drill driver or battery-powered screw driver to save time and your wrist, just be very careful to set it on the lightest torque setting). In fact, I spent far longer time and much more effort building the level platform for it on the side of my house (sloped ground); use pressure treated wood (did this in conjunction with concrete blocks). But, a level, solid site is critical for this product.
Took it home in the home depot rental truck (first hour free if you use the HD credit card for your purchase), needed 2 people to ease it off the truck so it wouldn't get damaged (it's heavy..maybe could have done this by myself but a helper made it easy). Unpacked it at the top of the driveway and carried the parts to the site. The product packing was very good.
The instructions are good - clear and very easy to follow. In fact, I almost always read the instructions through from start to end before starting a project - this rare one I didn't (not sure why, probably b/c they were so simple) and I had no trouble at all with them.
The shed went together extremely easily - very simple to do. For those that complain about cutting out the slots on the floor base, I think this took all of 5 or maybe 10 mins and was a piece of cake; I would bet if the product molds could be tweeked so this didn't have to be done by the consumer, they would, or the price would be higher to pay someone at the factory to do it for you, so no big deal. Same thing with poking out the drill holes on the other pieces (hint - you don't have to poke all of them out if you are installing with a drill driver. But keep the torque setting on its lightest, and do cut out the holes on the top of the wall panels). Also, when you put the 2 small front panels on, be sure all of the tabs are engaged one the sections you are connecting (I had one that didn't and it was a bit of a pain to re-do it; not even sure how it happened since the kit is so fool proof). It did take a little pressure to snap the walls into the floor (some do this with a rubber mallet - I just used full body weight which worked fine and I'm not that heavy). Everything else went exactly according to the plan / instructions, literally.
Only problems were one missing wall connector, and I could not get the protective paper off the windows easily at all (adhesive became strong and the paper is thin), so new ones are on the way from rubbermaid, with no issues. (and I did have to trim the window gaskets, as they were a little too long as shipped). Only very minor thing I would tweek at all about the design is where the 2 metal roof truss brackets meet at the peak of the roof - one should go completely inside the other with a spacer in the center (or just a spacer with the brackets as-is) so that the nut can be tightened down completely (or I did it wrong); but this is so minor. Also, actually, the lock hasp should be metal, not plastic.
FWIW, the doors on the shed are lighter color than the wall panels, but not as stark a contrast as would be indicated by the product photo on the web site or the box (they look white in the photos but are a light cream color), which is fine, and better than the high contrast in the picture (in fact, that may be the only differences between the home depot version and buying the shed elsewhere (hard to tell), but HD's price is better, so I'll take that trade-off).
Also, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the floor - I was expecting the floor panels to be thinner, but they seem nice and thick / durable (they are a resin version of diamond plate).
I will take the time to secure the floor to the site platform just so that it doesn't move in the wind - I wouldn't think it would, but it seems like a good idea. And, like the other reviewer, I'm not sure why the walls don't screw into the floor, but the snap-in design must be secure enough that rubbermaid didn't feel that screws were necessary.
Overall, if you want to put up a shed quickly that's not too expensive, seems very durable, looks nice, and is easy to do, this one is great. The weight and quality of the parts seems very good, and it was simple to install. Again, just make sure your site is level and solid.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
KatVT
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good shed

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I put this shed together in about 1.5 hours. It has gone with us to two houses. Taking it apart and putting it back together again didn't take anymore time than the first time we put it together. The second time he put it together with the help of our two boys age 10 and 12.
It has withstood North Texas thunderstorms and a bitterly cold winter with lows down to 15 degrees. No leaks! We put down a "foundation" of about 1-2 inches of sand to make a flat, even surface. It has worked like a charm. At the new house we put down flat rectangular paving bricks and then a 1 inch layer of sand. This is working great too. No complaints, thinking about getting another one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
jbmh
from Texas

Excellent Value

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an excellent value if you need a medium size storage shed. It is much easier to assemble than a steel shed...and it doesn't rust!
We had trouble getting the roof locking pins in position (have someone press on the roof exterior at the pin location) and we needed an awl to open up and align the hole locations for the roof supports. Follow the assembly sequence if you have to assemble it in a moderate wind.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
LouMac
from Wilmington,Ma

Easy to assemble, great to use.....

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a quick and easy shed to put together. I helped a friend of mine put one up and found the process easy and the outcome was great. A durable shed that does what I need it to do. I'm thinking of buying another one to store bikes and back yard toys. Plenty of room for my lawn mower, snow blower, 6 ft ladder 6ft fold table , golf clubs, 2 wheeler and I still have room,plus the price is right.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
RonD
from Knoxville

A simple, fantastic, sturdy product!!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this shed! I have had it now for about 2 months and it has been GREAT. Was easy to put together (once you make your ground level), taking about 2 1/2 hrs start to finish. It looks great and is VERY sturdy. We have had some huge storms over the last month and the shed is watertight and never budged an inch! Couldn't be happier...
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
granadaCoder
from RDU, NC

Better than paying a self storage

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was paying $100-$125 for some space. Finally I said "All I need a little room, get one of these".
A couple of things. You need to anticipate constructing the shed on a LEVEL area. Your grassy yard is NOT level (most likely). The reason this is important is so that the walls sit squarely on the base. If not, then the walls could get loose.
And the doors will not open/shut properly.
They have kits for putting shelves inside the unit. DO NOT anticipate putting heavy items on these shelves. Very light items are ok. The issue is that the "kits" (fancy rubbermaid hooks that hang from existing holes located on the internal walls) will put pressure on the side walls.
In the summer, with this additional pressure, it will bow out the walls a bit. (I had one wall with one shelf with a old (but heavy) stereo receiver on the shelf. The shelf was about 2/3'rds the way up the wall. This wall bent slightly after a hot summer and even after I removed the shelf, you can still see the slight bend out. The other walls were fine. So using the rubbermaid shelf kits .. and putting anything of significant weight on the shelves could slightly bend the walls. The shed is still fine, but I notice the slight "bump" in the wall.
I got some plastic (6mil thick) and put under the base to act as a moisture barrier. I trimmed it after the install so you don't see it at the base.
So I guess you could use 2x 4.8 sheets of pressure treated plywood as a base. You could dig a little, and put some gravel down, tap it down well, and make sure its level. You could build a small base using 2x4 pressure treated boards as a frame, and then put plywood on that.
Again, having an almost level yard (dirt/grass) is probably not good enough for levelness. You need to calculate some kind of base into the overall cost.
Assembly (just the unit, not including making a level area time) took me 5-6 hours. I took my time. I did it by myself.
My break even point was 6 months (for self storage). So I'm happy about that. Outside of the shelves not working well, I am very happy. I've had mine over 2 years.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
cupcakequeen

A Great Shed!

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I own 2 Big Max sheds and love them. They fit big things like our snow blower and lawn mower perfectly. I bought our first one a couple of years ago and was able to get accessories like shelves and hooks for it, but this new one is a little different and I can't seem to find any accessories for this one which I am a little dissappointed about. The slats are different compared to the older one and the shelves and hooks won't fit in the new shed :( Besides me not finding shelves and hooks for the newer one, the shed is great, sturdy, not too hard to put together but definitely having a second person makes it easier. I also love how it looks like it has siding and shingles on it. Makes it look really nice in the yard.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Big Max 7 ft. x 7 ft. Plastic Storage Shed
stack676
from New Haven, CT

Takes a lickn' and keeps on storing

PostedJanuary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had this shed since the summer of 2007. Buying it was hard for us because it was more expensive then similar metal sheds available. After speaking with a few owners of metal sheds and listening to the nightmares of assembly, leveling, flooring, and later, rust; my wife and I opted to spend the extra dough for the Rubbermaid Big Max (window design is different but dimensions and features are the same).
Assembly was easy until we got to the roof. It was difficult to say the least to snap both sides of the roof into the support at the top. After several attempts, followed by swearing and maybe even spitting, it popped together on a good whack.
We quickly gathered all our outdoor tools and put them in because they were being housed in the basement. We bought a couple of the accessories available on the Home Depot website, because they were not available at the local store, to store hand tools and get the little items off the floor. We also picked up a master lock because the neighborhood we live in requires things locked up.
Now at this point, if your still reading, you are probably wondering why the title of this review is what it is . . . and to this point, we only bought a shed that was shedding things for us but since you've made it this far, here is the punch line. This winter has been horrible in the north east and a few weeks ago we had an ice storm. The neighbor has a large pine tree that loams over our property and shed. The branches that fell out of this tree are large enough to classify as medium size trees. The shed was hit several times and is still covered with branches but the items inside are intact, still hanging from the walls and the structural integrity is still very much in tact. I am so impressed that we decided to write this review. If we had went with a metal shed, things would be flat right now. I have pictures to prove if you want to see them.
The long and short of it . . . don't skimp on the metal shed when, for a couple extra bucks, you can have an indestructible fortress protecting your stuff.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>