728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor for Fall or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed

Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed

It is the only double-walled storage shed in its class (horizontal storage sheds with 25 - 40 cubic feet of space). The Large Horizontal Storage Shed is durable and weather-resistant. An easy, hassle-free storage solution, it comes with a heavy duty, impact resistant floor and has a storage capacity of 32 cubic feet. The shed can accommodate one wood shelf (not included).
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product76 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(65)
4
(10)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product76 of 82reviews
Customer reviews for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
Review 1 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Norwood, PA

Perfect!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to put together in about 15 minutes. No tools required (maybe a rubber mallet). Just remember, you should "slide" in the bottom piece so the sides mate properly. Good to have two people but with some twisting, one person can do it. I can't believe it fit my 36" tall trash barrel! Only con is that it's a tad flimsy with the doors and lid open. Just don't leave them open on a windy day. Other than that, perfect for two large trash barrels, +36" tall by +27" wide.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from King of Prussia

A nice product with a major defect

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought one of these a few years ago to store my pool supplies. It's just about the right size to hold everything, and the doors make access easy. After a couple of years, I noticed that the roof was beginning to warp upwards at the ends. At first I though I wasn't closing it properly, but I started checking it carefully ever time I closed it and it continued to get worse. I also noticed that my neighbor had an identical unit, and his roof was also warping. It has gotten so bad that if I don't tie down the ends with bungee cords during the winter, snow blows inside and everything gets wet when the snow melts. I'm pretty sure the warping is caused by shrinkage of the upper surface, probably due to sunlight.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Los Angeles, California

Great Product!

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading many reviews of this and other storage sheds and weighing the pros and cons I selected the Rubbermaid shed. This shed was delivered the very next day, as promised by Home Depot. First you most definitely read the directions because once you start clinking this item it would be hard to disassemble it with out someone helping you. However, very easy to assemble. You definitely have to have someone helping you. After I removed the parts, read the instructions, it took, with the help of my grandson less than a half hour to put together. A couple of days later it rained and that was my biggest concern, the weatherproofing. But, everything remained dry. The only problem that I see is that the area where you would put the lock did accumulate a little water, but, I plan on insulating that one little area. The look is great and my yard looks a lot neater. I plan on buying one more to finish off my storage needs.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Surprise AZ

So far, so good

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had two of these up outside for about a month. So far, so good. I could not put together by myself, my husband had to help me. We got two, the second one was much easier to put together than the first, since we knew what we were doing. They are a great size. Using them to store plastic storage containers/boxes. I can store nine in one container.
Would definietly recommend. Just remember to put it together where you will place it. Difficult to move after it is put together.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Wilton, Connecticut

Functional and easy to assemble

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This outdoor storage unit is perfect for two large trash cans and makes it easy to recycle and discard trash without using space in your garage. It was/is very easy to assemble and indestructibly sturdy. however, it is a bit expensive and there is a delivery charge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from NYC, NY

Excellent quality & a Great price from Home Depot

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased September 2010. Went through a harsh New York Winter so far. As good now, as the day we assembled it. Double wall thick, very sturdy. Looks great, too. Assembly wasn't too difficult. We've owned the larger Rubbermaid walk in storage shed for 5+ years as well. Will be purchasing another one of these for a second location.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Santa Barbara, ca

does the job

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
using to hide all the misc garden products, works well, lid stays open when you reach inside without opening the doors, we put plastic shelves inside to make more use of space still left room at end for taller items
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from rcharlestown, rhode island 02813
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just the right size for my needs

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product was exactly as i ordered. easy to put togeather. delivered right to my door and earlier than i expected.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed

Don't Buy

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm shocked Home Depot is still selling this thing and I don't understand any of the positive reviews. I bought one of these a few years ago and after putting the doors back on again yesterday I decided to write a review. My assessment is that this"storage" unit is not actually meant to be used. It's meant to be assembled (with difficulty), strapped down securely somewhere indoors and never used. It is not durable. They should stop selling it. I also bought the taller, vertical version of this product and it has been nothing but trouble.
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Just what I wanted

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a storage shed small enough to fit in a specific location yet big enough to hold the things I needed hidden away. This shed fit the bill. I like the fact that I can open it from the top and the front. It feels sturdy enough to last a long while. Its color is neutral so it blends in with the house and landscaping. So far I like it but time will tell its durability. You do need more than one person to put it together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Lake Hopatcong, Jefferson, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, easy assembly! Perfect for discretely storing garbage cans.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The storage shed assembled in less than 20 minutes, without needing any tools. It's sturdy and looks great on my patio. It does a good job of discretely storing two 45 gallon garbage cans. I had hoped to store three cans, but there isn't enough room for three. It stores two well, with a little room to spare.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Los Gatos, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value for the price.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Access (top and front) very handy.
Fit the available space. Good use of interior space for storing large articles.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Baldwin, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Rubbermaid Is a reliable product

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already have had this model shed for 8 years .Decided to get another style & features have changed for the better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from East Marion, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product was easy to assemble

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was easy to assemble and met my requirements. Looks to be of a good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Hulmeville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easey to assemble

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very Pleased with this purchase, would recommend to a friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
from Colorado

Nice, solid, small

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice solid storage shed, although it runs a bit small for most storage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Horizontal Plastic Storage Shed
Based on the average of (68) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
62 out of 67 recommend this product
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5